Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sunday In House Gists - The Cost Of Managing A Household Monthly...

Sunday, March 21, 2021

Sunday In House Gists - The Cost Of Managing A Household Monthly...

This is for both Single and married...

How much you spend every month to run the home? Do you write out a list or like me you just take it as it comes and spend as you go? Food is so cheap here that i dont need to make a list at all.

Do you have money mapped out for food, clothes, school fees, makeup, toiletries, eating out? taking out kids? etc?

Lets gist!

81 comments:

1. It should be within the range of 20-30k for me

2. Waiting for bvs so that I read .In my own case hubby buys all,we live in our own apartment but I do but few things and also take care of my self.I earn 125k,I buy Pampers,sugar,stockfish,egusi,ogbono ,kpomo and make my hair,my pad,kerosene .but amazingly I don't have a single savings because of my families wahala.we all earn o but they always have projects to execute and collect loan which they don't pay.So this 2021 ,I started 50k contribution.I give 10k to parents,30k for the things I listed above,12,600 tithe,I also join cooperative that we contribute 5k. to be shared in nov.If anyone has another opinion help pls,let me know I am on the right path.I have worked for 7yrs now.

1. Please can you increase what you give your parents with another 5 or 10k? Ignore If your parents have a good source of income, bless you. You are doing well.

2. Yes, u are on the right track with your savings.
      You set aside something for savings before spending, it helps.
      15k/monthly is deducted from my salary for cooperative savings and I get dividend at the end of the year. My contributions remain in the cooperative account to enable me access loan if need be.
      I also do a 5k departmental contribution, we start October and end October of the following year. These I use to buy bag of rice, pasta, beverage etc.
      I honestly don't know much I spend a month but less than 50k aside from fuel o.
      Aside from savings, u should also try out investing ur money to avoid inflation

3. You even give your pastor more than your parents. Open your eyes.

4. parents are retirees but earn 130k both,they retired as directors in state ministries.Amd they live in thier own apartment too.No dependant as last born is 32 married sef.No help because they are both strong ,they had 4 of us early and trained all of us as professionals.Though I intend to get a help to be paid monthly for them.

5. So your pastor dey chop your money pass your parents?

Truly ife n'eme.

6. Anony 15:33
      Get a domestic staff for them to run some errands and close at 7pm, pay with the N15k @ms Abroadian is suggesting. That's what they need.

7. She has siblings who are also earning an income. They should do their part for the parents too. 126k is not much. It doesn't leave room for meatpie and ice cream

3. We earn at least a million and half in a month. We save at least "the half" (after sending our tithes to missionaries and helpless widows and their kids) in a month.
    a quarter of the remainder is for running the home; bills, servicing the cars etc. Another quarter is for the kid's school fees (they would have gone to public school like we did but we needed the after school services when we are not home yet).
    Food takes less than a tenth of our earnings; we've trained ourselves to;
    eat no breakfast, we eat fruits and vegetables at noon and a wholesome balanced meal and desert at night. We give to charities as we both decide in a month. And the last quarter is for settling our relatives and friends in need.
    That's how we spend in a month for a family of eight. 😚😚😚

1. Seriously, how????? I'm single but have dependent family members. Hence I'm struggling financially despite a reasonable good salary

2. I dont believe you earned that much with the way you write

3. Wow! I love ur meal arrangements and you are intentional in your giving. I actually give but have never really planned it out in this way.
      Learning. Keep it up. God bless you and yours. You all must be healthy and fit

4. But science says breakfast is the most important meal of the day and should not be skipped to avoid health issues later in life.

And what of the children??. No breakfast too?. I am just curious.
      Or is it a religious fasting lifestyle 🤔? .

5. You don't belong to any church or pay tithe?
      Your children don't eat before they go to school?
      I guess they are used to it but how is that okay for their concentration and energy as they need a certain amount of calories for the energy they use as young ones. Fruits us good but small portion balanced diet will be better or even vegan diet if you're very health conscious.
      This is Interesting I'm a doctor by the way.

6. I like how you spend your tithe. More blessings.

7. @14:59
      Science says, really? What does the word of God say (Eccl. 10:16-17)?
      @15:09; Church and tithe, really?
      We do go to church but our church do not have "list of widows" (they care for)
      and the Word of God forbids me to give them my tithe.(Acts 6:1-6, 1 Tim. 5:3-9, Deut.26: note vs 13-16)
      You cannot pray for God's blessings if you did not give your tithe to the proper recipients.
      Note that I said "we earn" not "I earn": Talking about our combined income.
      Our kids are tops at school. The first one earned a college scholarship based on academic performance.

8. The whole ‘breakfast is the most important meal of the day” thing has been debunked. There’s no proof for it really.
      Thought you should know

4. For me, I take it as it comes and spend as we go while taking into consideration our income, needs and general cost of things. Honestly it has not been easy since 2015. I have cut down on a lot of things despite having an increase in income, yet there is little or no impact on savings. This Nigeria is not just conventional. Might just give up and relocate.

5. For food, around 15k. I write a list and buy in bulk cause 1minute you buy for 100naira, the next day it's 200. But it differs, one month I might spend less if I still have my supplies, so all I do is cook soup and stew to last 2weeks

6. And for clothes, I don't buy every month. I plan the month I buy and I make sure it doesn't fall in the month I have to buy bulk food

7. I usually buy things in bulk, I shop when there are crazy discount, pls if you will like to do this check for expiring dates.
    I don't make a list, I just refill.
    Same with clothes.
    For my children school fees, it's completely free, their lunch and books all free.
    I save and support family and friends.
    I spend 1,600euros every months, including rent, fuel and any pending issues.

8. Feeding,toiletries etc 300k monthly, Phcn 65k, Alternative power 35k, Fueling for cars 40k, Outings, Philanthropy etc 120k. Total 560k. Actual budget is usually 600k. This our country is something else jare

1. It is not our country, it is the citizens. Nigerians are very greedy and retailers in some areas really hike price. In this same lagos, I buy a basket of tomatoes for 2500 and it lasts me and my family for 2 months. I buy a carton of hake fish for 8500 and it lasts for 2 months. 7k meat last 2 months too. I live in the heart of Ikeja. It is very possible. Drop your email and I will contact you to show you small way

9. The moment one start making list or documenting how much you spend on managing the household, that moment is when the person start seeing problem in living a normal life. For me, I spend as the need arises and never take note of my expenses. Taking note can make you stingy to yourself.

1. My dear, I don't even like to think about it, cus mehn the day you sit and really calculate enh, headache.

I have a huge Budget for a whole lot of things, let me just keep ticking things off jejely.

Nigeria enh.

2. You are right.
      I wonder how people are able to calculate that.

3. If you have a family, you will write a list because every penny counts. If you're single, it can work but married with kids???? You have to plan, plan, plan

10. I’m that type of person that will right maggi and salt but once I enter market,I will forget about my list and start buying brooms and packer.
    Before I get to the place they sell salt,I will start looking for the money I entered market with sometimes I think I’ve lost part of the money and everyone besides me in the market becomes a suspect. Sometimes I will get angry with God and ask Baba why allow this people ka fa richawuom even after all the tithes I’ve paid in the church.

1. Fan o😃😃😃😃... Always looking forward to your comments...
      I still remain your number one FAN ☺️

2. Richie omalicha nwa I love you 😘😘😘😘😘😘

3. Fan! Fan! Fan!!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣
      You are naturally funny.

11. Is it wrong to stop serving my partner food because he doesn't give me any money for upkeep. He has but doesn't leave anything. Always talking about project project.

1. What are you still doing in the partnership naw? Have a serious conversation with him and if he doesn't change, you may have to move on

2. It's wrong to deny one of food. Please look for a way to make him give you money for the home.

3. Is your name on the project? Does he pay any other bills? If the answers are no, then you borrow sense and save for the rainy day.

4. No... we are not married but have 2 kids together. He already built 3 houses in Nigeria. Now on another project. I'm tired of carrying all the responsibilities, working but have nothing to show for it. Isn't it better to be a single mother. I'm 40yrs this year. Been with him since I was 26yrs and he doesn't belive in wedding be it traditional or court.

5. Madam you are playing a very risky game.
      Are you sure your partner does not have another family here in Nigeria seeing as he has unending projects?
      See the way he's deliberately stacking up properties in a place where you can't easily win with the law if things go kaput, you ain't even married so can't lay legit claim to any property in his name.
      Are those properties he's acquiring in your name too? (as per your first name inclusive not just Mr and Mrs his surname).
      Madam wisdom is profitable to direct. Be watchful and very guided, sounds fishy.

6. So he's using his money to invest while using your own for day to day expenses. Is your name on the properties? If no, I'm sorry but you're being used.

7. He has three houses you know nothing about.
      Aunty it's like you don't want to build your own house.
      14years of working gone like that, no savings?
      Please it's time to be a little selfish o

8. Why are you doing yourself this disservice? Why??

You wrote “I have been with him since I was 26 and he doesn’t believe in marriage” and the tone I can sense is one of resignation. This isn’t what you want but you have resigned yourself to this nothing that this man is giving you.

That man is a user and you get zilch for all your service. You bore him kids, you perform duty of both woman and man while he builds his wealth in Nigeria and spends your money abroad. You don’t even get to have your name signed on a piece of paper. I can bet your name isn’t on any of his property.

What benefit do you get in this union? Why do you stay? Does what you want not matter to you? Did you come to this life to be a beast of burden for another human being?

9. Anon 16:12. You need to set yourself up for rainy days .You are 40 yo it is never to late to start over again and start saving ."Where your treasure is there lies your heart" from your partners actions you are not his treasure and he is SELFISH....Sending you love and light..It is time for you to step up for yourself and children...

10. Some humans are wicked sha. Please stop feeding him.

Make up stories for your money too

Invest in your own name too

He doesn't believe in marriage cos he already has all he needs

11. Thanks alot everyone for your kind words. So much appreciated ❤

12. Pls give him food for sometime and towards mid month, intentionally complain that money is finished. Don't stock up the house like you use to. When it's time to cook beans, tell him there is no beans and the like. He'll hopefully drop money but if you keep on doing everything, he'll keep on enjoying without any responsibility. I learnt this the hard way and it has been working for me.

12. Making the necessary sacrifices makes things very easy. A very prudent wife counts. Live within what you earn and make sure you save a fraction of your income regardless of your income. Life is beautiful only when you plan for it. Husbands, the money you spend on alcohol, side chicks and cigarettes can help you care for your home. You cry you don't have money but you have to indulge in nonsense at the expense of your family.

13. I make about 5 million naira a month. By the time bills are paid including mortgage, gym, housekeeper, food, spa etc I usually have about 2.7 million naira left. My expenses aren't much cos I'm single with no kids. It's all relative

1. Dont convert to naira.

2. Let us know how much you earn in foreign currency. Which one is #5,000000 you be CEO. Upon your salary u still paying mortgage why not outright buy.

3. Good question. Before taxes, $17k a month. After taxes, I'm left with $11K. Buying outright is not advisable because my rental property is already paid off.

4. Abeg which work you dey do wey you dey earn 17k.. Just curious though...

5. Anon,19:12 good question, me sef wan know.

6. Ndi obi ufu @saphire and co

14. I save my lists, both groceries and toiletries in my phone. I always make a budget, so I don't over spend.

15. #StopKidnappingOurSchoolChildren Phoenix21 March 2021 at 15:03

For me monthly upkeep in my house(my parents and 3 siblings) is between 60 -70k. I usually draw up a list and take stock of what we have and restock on the ones going low.

16. I buy in bulk every 3months where i spend huge sum,but monthly is as the need arises. But with just the twins and i, hubby drops 100k,but with full house money increases. The money is strictly for food. Fuel phcn and any other bill is handled by hubby. Clothes we buy when we travel.

17. I'll read comments jare. The N15k people budget for monthly feeding is not enough for 2 cartons of Titus sardine.

What I know is that extended family is now my biggest problem. Ndi Aunty nyem ego,aunty nyem ego is killing me.
    In all these, I don't give my parents Kobo, they're self sufficient: investments, pension and family purse from siblings.
    I don't have any sibling I give Kobo, infact they give me when I try to obtain them.
    Yet, expenditure kalili income.

Monthly stand for us: the pantry must be fully stocked.
    Charges for services must be paid.(too many).
    Our 2 DStv HD exploras are on full free pay courtesy of employers. We only pay 2 Zappa Extra view of about N6k monthly.
    Diesel in the dump is a sort of PR, a truck per 4months so we're good with NEPA light alternative.

Cannot summarize the figure because it's eye popping.
    *Heaves a sigh*

1. 😂😂😂😂 Let our eyes pop biko.
      I was just discussing this exact topic with my hubby this money, the spending no dey end sha.
      I don't have a strict budget, basically spend as the need arises (I do this because I am generally not wasteful when it comes to fund management, I rationalise before buying things I don't consider necessities).
      But I just realize house keeping/groceries/feeding takes a good chunk of money for us, e dey gimme headache.
      I tend to reserve my extra spending for months when I get incentives (about 4 times a year) so our spending vary from month to month.

2. Fuel for my car alone gulps 40-50k monthly, omooo😭😭😭

3. I love you.

4. Dainty hahaha.
      Honestly,if I type the figure some people will have my head for dinner.
      We're striving to give our kids a life better than what our parents gave us ,yet it isn't even at par,not with all these inferior foodstuff and groceries but we're pushing it.

If I tell you my kid is reading for an entrance exam to grab a scholarship and you give me side eye, nne I'll give you back o, no time to waste time.
      Me got no N5m to pay in an Ivy School after these huge spendings. You gats to eat your books and pass.

For fuel I nearly had a heart attack when they rumored that fuel will sell at N212 per liter. Haaa. Currently, filling tank with N14k so how much would it have been? A friend using a V8 was sending me text that she needs names of people selling power bikes. Kikiki.
      Nigeia is not easy.

Anony 17:29
      I love you too.
      Kisses.

18. I earn roughly 5million per month (though housing and other allowances of 3.5million are paid upfront at the beginning of the year). Monthly take home is 1.5million - 600T feeding and housekeeping, 200T PHCN and genset, 600T for tithe and other charity works and balance for self-enjoyment. Vacation expenses taken up by employer. Upfront allowances are for school fees and investments (locally and offshore).

19. A lot of you are doing well in this platform. No budget for those of us who hustle without monthly income...we hardly plan...You spend as it comes... sometimes you pay credits when the next hustle pay...This life no balance sha

20. I try to buy in bulk, cook in bulk and store in the freezer but sincey husband joined us in our location I stopped because he still gives me same upkeep as before which I have complained advised still no change. He goes to,the freezer and take,out food at any time of the day, cook what he feels,like eating when he doesn't want to eat what I cooked for myself and the kids thus making me spend more on food and so I decided no more bulk purchase or storing food in the freezer. Funny enough he will not use his own money to cook. Imagine 15k for three adults and a child fa.

1. Tell him to add what he was spending monthly at his former end to chop money

21. I don't know what I spend monthly. I only know what I save and invest.

We are three adults in the house. I foot the bill and fulfil my social as well as Christian charity.

22. As you complain, remember some of us have sick people we care for and pay caregivers with average monthly expense around 500k care only. going on for almost half a decade😥 nothing to show for it. It's well.

23. Feeding (bulk purchases, order ins, take outs, snacks and every yum yum😀) 10%, cosmetics and slay mama things(perf & spray, Creams, cleanser, spa salt, monthly spa visit, makeup products if necessary, wipes and other hygiene products) 5%, Relatives 10%, Charity works(hospital visits, orphanage, anonymous donations) 10%, savings 20%, investment (real estate, agriculture, gold, online and transport business) 25-30%, flexing and jolly(alternate weekend hotel lodging, tourist sites visitations and annual vacay) 5%, home maintenance (essential consumables, diesel, repairs,payment of helps) 5%, miscalleneous ( car maintenance, events, unexpected expenses?) 5%. Percentage varies sha, sometimes savings or investments go up to 40%. hubs has very simple needs, man just wants to be a serious billionaire, so I run the budget. Joint income monthly 5-8m.

24. Take home pay for me is $12000-$13000 per month. Contribute to a pension plan, health insurance and a health savings plan otherwise take home would be $20,000.
    Hubby makes maybe $6,000 .. I’m not sure. We split things 50:50. I have an excel spreadsheet and track all our household expenses.
    Rent - $2200 per month
    Water, power, county bill: $200-300
    Food,miscellaneous items like kids clothes etc $1200-$1800 per month
    Charity: St Judes, ETWN, don’t keep track of these, but $200 or less .
    Phone bill: $25 ( im a cheap skate)
    Gas for the one car: drive 30 miles one way to work , so top off my tank every week with $22, so ~$80 per month
    Preschool: $1000 per month . Other child goes to free public school
    Share Netflix, and Disney password
    Miscellaneous: sending money prn to my mum, not that she needs it.. she retired as a nurse in Nigeria and was extremely hard core frugal woman and saved up to build a hostel which plus her pension is enough to sustain her .
    Dad: has a business also and likes to boast that he doesn’t need help .
    So I’m all we spend maybe $5000 per month.
    -Rest of our income is being saved for a house, kids college fund and for a second car

25. I always have a monthly budget and I try to stick to it - come rain or sunshine. It has worked for me in over 20 years of marriage and has helped me save, invest and live a relatively comfortable life with my husband and three children. I try to save at least 50% of my earnings. I also ensure I invest in property and my personal "pension fund". Apart from the money I give others, I spend very little on myself. I will spend on myself when the children have graduated from the University. For now, I have to invest in their education as I pay the bulk of the school fees as the children school abraod. It is a huge investment but worth every kobo. Quality education isn't cheap. I spend about N100k a month on food and grocery. Oga takes care of other household expenses like electricity, fuel for generator etc. I also pay rent as Oga decided some years ago that he will not pay again. Long story. Anyway, I do what I need to do and God has been faithful. My advice - plan your expenses, keep your expenses at a minimum, avoid unnecessary frivolities, save, invest and plan for your old age. You cannot work forever and money is unpredictable. When you see money, spend it wisely. God will continue to grant us the grace and wisdom to make the right decisions.

26. Omg I love this blog live,, Stella God bless you!!! I couldn't sleep because of misquotes and heat,,, I decided to read these two remaining post that I skipped in the day time, Testimony and this one,,,
    God,,it has really encouraged me. I tapped from all the miraculous testimonies that sound like a lie. Come next Sunday I'll testify. Amen!!!

Reading this post has given me a goose bumps,,,, people are supper rich. Someone that's not a politician earning 5mill and above,, some people spent 3.5mill in a month,,, while I manage 700 hundred naira (#700)yesterday to cook a pot of soup.
    God!!! I'm sorry to swear but let me just swear in your name,, as long as you live in this life I must get rich..., I shall spends millions for my upkeep, dash people millions. Gosh!!!!
    I tapped from you people riches o. God bless you all my rich brothers and sisters!!! Please extend a helping hands to the needy. I heart you all.

I'm happy I read this....my mentality has changed.

1. I don’t know if it’s a mentality. I’m one of the high earners. I’m a medical doctor here in the US and I turned down a $450,000 per annum job to take a $290,000 per annum job because I want to be present for my family! And I worked my ass off to get to where I am! From age 5 to my 30s I’ve studied my ass off! Minimal partying! I read famous fives and adventure stories , Sidney Sheldon as a kid ,where women were powerful and always believed that I could create my own destiny! My dad trained all his kids to believe that all man in responsible for himself. It helps that we are Igbos and he told us about how his dad lost everything in Biafra war and had to start from scratch. In medical school I had abroadians seek my hand in marriage but I refused as I knew I wanted to go abroad on my own terms. Even now no one even knows that I’m a doctor. People think I’m a nurse and I like it that way. I dress modestly, don’t buy designers, still driving the same old car. My husband is even worse than me.. our eye is on generating more income to build a legacy for ourselves. We held the needy . I randomly gave a lady $1000 . She was shocked to the core as I look like a poor somebody. And she dresses better than me .. etc. Just to let you know that it takes many many dedicated years of hardwork, and sacrifices to get there. It’s not a matter of tapping my blessings because when I come out in public the sleepless nights I spent reading, suffering in Nigerian Med school, suffering in the US and taking craps and insults doesn’t show on my face and could have easily broken someone else. So tap into yourself and not someone else. I’ve faced so much hardship to get to where I am . So my journey is mine. If you tap into my blessings be ready to tap into my sufferings and better have the balls to face them when they come and don’t give up. You don’t need anyone to make a 6 or 7 figure income abd you don’t need to spread your legs as a lady.

27. I earn 130k every month and after tax, pension and Health insurance, I get paid 113k, I pay corporative contribution of 10k, pay NEPA, security, compound cleaner, dstv, internet provider (cos I need it for work online when I don't go to the office), Netflix, fuel, foodstuff,my dog food and some other small utilities.Also, I have a fiance that support with 50k every month.I used to give family members money when they ask and I realised that I don't really have any real savings so I decided to block some family members from reaching me cos when I say I don't have, they don't believe me. I've tried to cut down but I need all the things listed earlier. I don't even shop for clothes and stuff like I used to. It's been one issue or another. Abeg Problem no dey finish.

28. Nawa o everyone is earning in smillions... God is Great 😊