Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sunday In House Gists - Degree You Graduated With And How Far It Has Brought You

Sunday, March 07, 2021

Sunday In House Gists - Degree You Graduated With And How Far It Has Brought You

What is your level of Education? Primary? Secondary? University? Masters? Or you went further?

Did you get up to University level? what did you graduate with? How has your University degree made your life easier? Or are you still searching for a Job?

Is there anyone that graduated with a Pass from the University?

Anyone with a third Class like me? Are frustrated, depressed or Jobless because you had a 3rd class? I heard some people who graduated with a third class are still lying about not collecting their results yet...LOL

Do you think having a University degree is a big deal in Nigeria?

Lets gist....

87 comments:

1. I did a degree in a social science and I didn’t like it so went on to do my masters in oil&gas management and now I work in the industry for the past 6 years. I live in the abroad tho.

God has been faithful and life is good but don’t get it twisted I started from the bottom in the industry.

1. I had a 2.1 in my first degree, went on to do my M.Sc in the UK. I've worked before for years now I've been out of job for a while.... very sad. All my mates i used to teach in school are highly placed. I have tried every connect i know, prayed, fasted, gotten depressed, still trying though. People trip wen they see my world class cv. I don't know what else to do. The humiliation from friends and family that i used to help and put before myself wen i had.... is unbelievable. I have no choice but to keep trusting God. I have cried for hours unend. All would be well one day.

2. I have an engineering degree, started my career with it,did well in it,but had to quit the profession for something else in education. Currently doing my pgd so can do my masters in education. That's my retirement career.

3. My degrees are helping me... I have been in payed employment and the corporate world from the time i was 23.
      Some jobs i hated,some i have enjoyed. I have never been a business person so i really dont have a choice but to use the degrees.
      I took off a year at some point to have my baby, i must say i got sick of sitting at home. I wont say it has been smooth sailing cos iv done some jobs i absolutely hated,had horrible bosses and was underpayed but atlst its part of work experience on my CV.
      Nigeria isnt easy,if you dont know people or have connections,getting a job can be daunting. Thankful for ppl dat have helped me along the way.

2. Finished with 3rd Class from University. Looking back I wish I made my books my priority instead of focusing on very less important things. I currently have a job but I am looking to improve on the result by going for my post graduate studies them my masters degree.

1. My dear, the 3rd class was continuously hunting me even after doing a PgD and Masters abroad. I had a science degree in Unilag.
      I had to go and do a Bachelors degree again abroad as I practically couldn't do anything academically. I had good jobs but needed to move into the education sector so I had to do another bachelors degree as 2:2 was the lowest grade they wanted.
      All is history now.

2. My coursemate did that...she graduated with 3rd class but went to a private University and did another Bsc. Masters abroad after. And she is now the Head of HR...the truth is many ppl are young and dont have anyone to guide them when doing their first degree hence the 3rd class or many are even given a course they dont like or are good in.

3. As far as Nigeria is concerned, getting a degree is not a big deal anymore, millions of these certificates are gathering dust in the drawers where they have been forgotten. I have a university degree, but I am yet to see what it has achieved for me, no jobs even with the uncountable applications. I am only grateful for the exposure and knowledge it gave me and it'll also be a stepping stone for further academic pursuits.
    I am in a place where I sometimes feel angry, stuck, uncertain and just wanting desperately for my life to be purposeful.

1. I love how you feel bout the degrees being a stepping stone for you.
      You will be fine.Things will will get better

2. Thank you so much SpongeBob SquarePants 🙏

3. You just wrote what I had in mind down to the way I feel,we will be alright by God's grace

4. We are together on this.
      Countless applications but I'm happy for the exposure my University education gave me.

4. Graduated with a 2:2 then went for MBA. But haven't worked with any ever since... 10years and counting

Education is an investment though but mine hasn't yielded any profit

5. With my full chest i graduated with a sharp 2.1 from university of Benin. After all my night class and reading with boring life in school no flexing.

Now i have resigned January and thinking of doing skill. If i know! I for don learn skill or do business as early as possible and probably just take part-time. In this country! Certificate is useless. Graduates now na organic cream sellers! Human hair! Wig making!make up😓.

God go epp us.

6. Chai,nna certificate good ooo...it put me where I am now with no regrets.
    Shout out to my mum who put my course as supplementary after jamb did their own abracadabra...now a practicing registered dietitian 😍😍😍
    My course mate graduated with 3rd class yet got a job in FETHA as a consultant dietitian.
    Na grace of God sure pass and pls if you are still an undergrad,study hard cus na future be the koko.
    Stella na PhD we dey target oo,to read ain't easy biko kwa!

7. Masters degree. It helped me to relocate to Canada

8. B.Sc, 2.1 jobless wife mom #sighs... God dey sha

9. Degrees see overrated in Nigeria. In addition to your degree, please get a skill in you area of strength and develop it. That's the sure way now

10. There's a little boy called Degree... No jokes.. That's his real name. His grandmother named him Degree because her daughter got pregnant whole in the University and dropped out. "Degree" was the result she came home with 🤭

1. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 it's not funny though....

11. I studied English
    Graduated with a third class (honours 😅)
    I have moved on, though it hasn't been so easy.
    I'm currently running my MBA in University of Ibadan.
    I won't give up on myself.

12. Graduated with a B.Eng. It wasn't a waste as it helped as a stepping stone in my career which has helped care for my family's needs and sometimes our wants.

13. Graduated with a BSc in physics, got a PhD in nuclear physics. I now work as a Research nuclear physicist in a university.

14. Always a good investment to go through College or Education, no matter what course.The may reason to me is to be able to stand shoulder to shoulder with anyone without feeling insecure.And to be able to express yourself without grammatical error.I read Estate Management in Nigeria but came to UK,worked as a retail supervisor then re-trained as a Counsellor,now working as an Advisor.
    Younger generation are lucky because parents are now enlightened enough, not to force their children to read what we called professional courses when we were growing up

15. Well, i graduated with a third class degree back then and i am holding a high profile position equivalent to a director.
    I am a high flyer, a go getter and well respected in my organisation as one of the think tanks. I am successful. I have been in my organisation almost 30 years now and graduated 30 years ago. I was never ashamed of my third class as i was a victim of circumstance. But i knew the world was my oyster

1. I retired as a director after 35 years of service. I graduated with a 2.2 in industrial chemistry. Did analytical chemistry in my masters. I started working with my WAEC certificate, I went to the University 2 years after.

16. I graduated in 2004 with a degree in classical Studies from University of Ibadan.I had a second class lower.

I never chose the course but Law and found myself there cos I was advised to take it that I could chaybut I couldn't eventually.Worked few months in private sectors but ended up leaving the jobs for beefing things.

2010 I went for my Masters in same UI ,studied ,I made up my mind to come out excellent,which I did,cos I love the course,I graduated with a Phd grade,meaning I can automatically enrol for a PhD .

I obtained the form but I never went for the interview when I was called coz I was having some personal issues and didn't want to go and mess up.

I have not worked with the masters degree though I have attended interviews but none pulled through.

I am just happy I have my certificates ,just believe it will be useful some day.

I am now into fashion designing and it's showing I went to school cos I grab faster .
    Certificates in Nigeria are becoming less profitable in Nigeria.

Sometimes I wonder why I didn't go for fashion designing instead of the masters,I would have been a CEO by now but this year by God's infinite grace I will achieve it.

17. PhD in view..but the admission process is slow.

1. Same...

PhD candidate.

Will graduate later this year.

18. Lol..
    This one go be Anonymous Day Post oh..
    Comman see people going on anon mode soon to talk about their results and all 😄☻☻

1. You lie!!!
      Answer the question and stop being petty playing comment police.

2. You nko? Tok ya own nau.

3. I don't blame them. If they posted with their ID it will be used against them later

19. This comment has been removed by the author.

20. I had third class and was able to get a federal job. Though no job satisfaction but i am being well paid,close to a million as monthly take home. I have everything i need but not too happy with my job as a lot of politics come to play.

I do not have a god father but i am grateful to God for giving me the job when i had when my mates were all pusuing bank job. I am not sure i would have gotten the job with my 3rd class if it was now. I had 3rd class as i had no sponsor and couldnt concentrate.
    I am stll working with the third class, no additional qualification but i am doing well in life. All glory to God who never fails

21. Graduated with a 2:1 in Microbiology in 2018. Now working as a teacher in a primary school. In sha Allah I hope to get a better job soon

1. Oh my...working as a primary school teacher?

Nigeria is toast.

22. I have a degree in accounting,i looking for a job for five years now but none is forthcoming..I wish I learnt a trade earlier... No money to even do that one again

23. You don't have job satisfaction in federal job that most people are looking for?that's why its federal job and you can still do other things with the plenty time you have.You can even get another job,I work with the ministry and still work in a private firm

24. I graduated with a 2'1 for past 7yrs still nothing to show for it.

25. HND. PGD associate member of CIIN. I don apply for job tire. Attended interviews without getting the job. The last one made me cry because l was certain l did well in the interview. If l see where they are breaking stones. I will join because l am TIRED. Living without knowing where the next meal is coming from is depressing. Las las. I thank God for life and good health. Na God win. My hope is alive

1. God will surprise you soon dear Anon,I pray He opens your eyes to that opportunity that will bring a great change to your story. Amen

26. Education is the key . Though the government has changed the padlock with increasing rate of unemployment that is every where, I will still advise everyone to please go to school. You might need it later.

I support vocational studies too. In all thy getting, learn a skill, take up a course, attend seminars... It will pay soon or later.

27. I graduated with a third class in Law,job hunted for a while and also practicing in a law firm,4yrs after got an employment with my state government,in state government class of degree doesn't matter,three years after my first appointment I was appointed a magistrate,indeed my Law degree is payimg,though I intend to go for masters but still thinking Sha.Although I made a 2.2 in law school but most employers accept University degrees.Having a degree in Nigeria is no big deal now as I recently got to know that one fruit seller in my junction makes 5k daily in only water melon cuts of 100# when 50 people buy his watermelon,he makes 150 a month on watermelon only.

28. Graduated with 2.1. I have Masters which is not even useful at the moment. Currently working but not with the masters. Grateful for the certificates.

29. Anon where did she mention federal job? Mtchewwww

30. I've realized that having a university degree is not enough in Nigeria, so I'm pursuing a degree and learning a skill as well.

31. MSc microbiology, haven't achieved anything with it yet. Planning to go for Pgd, hoping it will make getting into academics easier. So discouraged to put in for PhD,I refuse to be frustrated. God is faithful

32. I studied animal science but currently a private school teacher.. Looking forward to masters because I love school and want more degrees

33. I no fit shout but like say I do one course wey my papa been dey tell me that year e for make sense based on job and travel matter.
    Now my degree na just to answer say I get degree even if day na 2.2 I get. I been like am that year but now I just dey look dey try things

34. Graduated with a 2.1 in Computer science from Delta State University, and I didn't stop there. I obtained a Master's degree in Computer Science in the USA, and now currently studying for my PhD in the same field in the USA (all of my graduate studies have been fully funded through scholarships). I really love my field of study and this has been my driving force to furthering my studies. God has been faithful!

1. Anon,I studied computer science too, i'd really appreciate it if you can give me tips on how to get scholarship as I would like to further or get other professional certs as job isn't forthcoming, but I'm financially incapacitated at the moment.

2. Great delsuite!! You are an inspiration.More blessings dear.

3. Depending on your location,get the "high spring" certifications and you're good to go.

God bless your hustle.

Like you,I never paid any school fees from primary to Ph.d level, both in and out of Nigeria.

35. Graduates both fresh and old especially the women now enter into tailoring, nicknamed fashion design. And the men, into one repair job or the other, all are entrepreneurs. I sometimes think certificate(s) is/are scam. No. It's not. It gives you leverage over who does not have it.

36. Started my university days studying biology in a federal University and then switched to Pharmacy in another uni (had to write jamb 2 more times) and graduated as a Pharmacist.
    To Jesus be my glory, best decision I made, I'm grateful I made that decision.
    I've been working within the profession ever since.
    Forward ever, ahead ahead.

1. Dainty T,do you work here in Nigeria
      Do you have your own Pharmacy?

2. Anon yes I work here in Nigeria, and I don't own a Pharmacy yet.

37. Grandma dimoko7 March 2021 at 17:14

Me, I have my H.ND, then went back to school for my B.A and M.A. Put in for my Ph.D but didn't end up going. Now, my certificates are in my wardrobe as I am officially an iced block seller. I have machines that produce iced block and make nothing less than N300k per month. I have workers and also enough time to take care of my kids...

Education in Nigeria doesn't really worth it, as it will just give you an edge while speaking in public. Go to Alaba, trade fair, apapa etc and see illiterates commanding/employing graduates who in turn will shout "Yes sir"...

38. I studied anatomy, graduated with 2.3, got a job recently in a higher institution but federal government is yet to pay us as we haven't been enrolled under IPPIS, I hope they do that soon as I'm tired of spending nothing less than 2k daily on transportation.

1. The Lord is your strength. Why dont you get a written note from your Busar and head to Abj for ippis registration?

39. Well got a job with a multinational company that I worked with for 14yrs,with just Nabteb certificate, started with 24k--grew to over 200k before leaving...doing spare parts business now....let me advice all that are working now, empower your spouse ..that was what helped me to leave and now things are working real good for us..

40. Stella Kork let me notify you incase you don't know.
    Uniben has the highest record of abandoned certificates,why? They are experts in frustrating students either stepping down to lower courses or graduating with very open grades. Verify that. So many give them the middle finger and face their life with other things or schooling. A 3rd class degree cert from Uniben will beat a 2.1 from many schools hands down.

I ran 2 courses in 2 universities currently. In Enugu,it was that easy because the campuses were close by.
    Business management and public administration,one gave me a 2.1 and the other a 1st class degree.
    Did 1st masters degree here while working.
    Proceeded to UK for 2nd masters degree and got a better package from there and returned to Nigeria when I got posting to lagos,was married already with a suckling kid.

Now as a Chartered business manager and with a Ph.d degree in tow, I'm sorry to say that my certificates lost credence along the way, I'm onto numerous "certifications" making the job switch and perks of office more flexible and swift. This is the 21st century.
    Secondly, it's no longer about the credentials you wield but about "where you belong".
    It's a painful truth that has turned to a bondage. If you are not in a certain circle, your career ends on a particular level. The occults have it. Either you are covered by your family position, your hubby is a member or you get the initiation yourself.
    What is happening? Those who can't stand the devious vicious circles, resign or leave the country.
    You don't have to toil under some youngsters because they got back up or come from a particular tribe. Enough of the nonsense.

In all of these, I'm happy I can work anywhere in the world.
    Shikena.

The sweet side of life is having to implement the knowledge from school to make ends meet.
    I am heavy in agriculture.
    The trees I planted many years ago, is planting now and planning to plant are yielding criminal profits especially soursop and guava. Companies buy per plot not per tree to make their fruit juices.
    Then poultry and bushmeat farming is another. The hotels don't leave space for others even while the animals are still nurturing. Haha. Na Dem dey rush us. About clothings, I won't discuss. Kikiki.
    Thanks to cheap cheap lands in Emene Enugu.

We toil classically but our toothpick is plastic. Duuuh!

1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

2. E pain you?
      Use your ID inugo.

Go till the soil and hatch a chicken.
      Money's not too hard to come by.

41. I studied Animal breeding and genetics, graduated with 2:2. I am yet to collect my certificate since 2014.I currently work in a financial institution (3yrs plus now).If you prefer business to working for someone,then take a mgt course.Having a degree or should I say having being in the a tertiary setting is a big deal.

42. 2.2 in a health related course. Went back for a second degree in medicine . It’s my best decision ever. I thank God

43. I made a 2.1 in Environmental Science..and safety courses during NYSC they are all in my box. I have applied for uncountable HSE jobs..I still wish I could get one.
    I thank Hod because my degree gave me the exposure I have now. Even with my little business I know how to handle my customers.

44. Had Lower credit OND in Electrical Engineering 2009 but I had one carry-over in final year and now graduated in 2010. During my one year I.T, I got a job of 62k and I started HND in 2013 and graduated with Upper Credit in 2015. Immediately my HND result was released in 2016 I got another job and I now earn over 200k with my HND. Planning to go into business and resign from field as their are slim chances of career growth.
    I will build my business and resign in 2years time but some HRs are currently on my matters for recruitment.
    I have chopped over 15m with my OND since 2011 sha.

45. I came out with a (PASS)from the university duo not proud of it and not academically brilliant but all thanks to God Almighty I’m doing well in life and also considering going back to study another course I’m only asking myself can I cope as my brain is now doing me magic, e go remember something today forget am tomorrow.
    Just to boost my academical confidence.

46. Had 2.1 from UI which came very costly as I had zero social life just to get it right luckily got a job in my field and was motivated to go for masters now I'm done with my exams and course work but feeling on a sport due to my project yet to be signed. Due to this my ex in her words was like " you are gathering kpali and your mates are gathering money" despite all my promises and assurance. She bounced and moved on ...

47. Shooter defender of universe! She always said it here that she has a federal job and have been on lockdown since January. Even last week that govtextended the lock down for civil servants she made mention of it

48. Graduated 9yrs ago, no job till this day. I am into baking but I wish I made use of my certificate. I haven't given up yet, I really want to work and further my education .I don't regret going to school and I don't want it to be all for nothing.

49. 2.2 Uniben theater arts. I have never worked with my certificate, but my experience while in school keeps me going... In fact make call mum sy na to make sure the certificate dey intact.🚶🏾🚶🏾🚶🏾

50. I graduated with 3rd class Bsc, it affected my self esteem becos of the fuss about 3rd class, I lost a bank job during my nysc pry assignment, it caused me delay in marriage cos of the low self esteem I felt and my desire to further my studies,i got horrible jobs as result of my 3rd class result. To God be the glory,i furthered my studies, I have a pgd cert. and a masters degree. I am very brilliant buh I studied the wrong course becos of the professional course belief. I don't even have a good paying job now and am still working with my 3rd class result and work experiences. Most jobs in Nigeria is requesting for bsc and who you know.i thank God for everything cos am privilegded to be educated despite my background. God is too good.

51. I have a master's degree in literary studies and language. I also have a journalist's education. I currently work as a writer and editor of several publications. I also write professional reviews for best dissertation writing services on the reviews page. Maybe I could work in this field without education, but it was through acquaintances from the university that I found my job and I am infinitely happy about it because I feel that I benefit.