Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Violence Erupts In Kwara State Over The Use Of Hijab By Female Students

Wednesday, March 17, 2021

Violence Erupts In Kwara State Over The Use Of Hijab By Female Students

Violence erupted on Wednesday in Ilorin, Kwara State capital after the state government reopened 10 schools shut last month over the use of hijab by Muslim female students.

The violence started after Christian officials of Baptist School, Surulere disallowed the girls in Hijab from gaining access into the school.

This did not go down well with Muslim parents, leading to arguments and eventual clash.

The situation grew worse as angry Christian and Muslim faithful threw various objects including stones and plastic chairs at themselves.

The security operatives close to the school had to call for reinforcement to calm the situation. The operatives dispersed them with tear gas.

The hijab controversy started over three weeks ago when officials of Saint Anthony Secondary School prevented Muslim female students from gaining entrance to the school claiming that it is a missionary school.

Several meetings were held between Muslim and Christian leaders to resolve the issue with the government temporarily closing down the ten schools until the reopening on Wednesday morning.

The ownership of the ten schools is still pending in the Supreme Court as both the High Court and Appeal Court affirmed the state government as the owner.

From Channels TV

27 comments:

1. Na wa. State government took over christain schools and so both Muslims and christains should attend the school in peace, if the owners want to take back their school, they should approach the government and follow due process. Hian, so many unnecessary fights.

1. I disagree. The schools in question are missionary schools irrespective of the fact that it is currently under the state. Can a Christian for example a Catholic go to a Muslim founded school wearing a Rosary without being chased away or even killed? Please let's call a spade a spade.you and I know how intolerant the Muslim religion is to other religion, you dare not try this in the north. There are other schools around there that accept the wearing of hijab, must they attend those very missionary schools? Why are they meddling with Christianity?go and check the Cama law.can the same be done to the muslims without loss of lives?

2. Let's call a spade a spade...in AL hikmah university still in same ilorin, all students wear hijab including christians, they didn't not allow the christians go without hijab...so if a Christian school says otherwise so be it.

3. Al Hikmah University ko, Al halal University ni! No Christian will ever attend a Muslim University where she will be forced to wear hijab. Stop lying! Make use of your conscience for once na! Dem use lies and propaganda swear for una religion?

4. The Muslims should withdraw their wards from Christian schools not by force. Why will they even accept Muslim students that won't abide by their laws?

5. God bless you, I don't understand how difficult it is for them to change Islamic based schools. Most of the the old days public schools in Kwara state are Christian owned and the churches still see to the well-being of those schools. This has never happened before, it is a satanic agenda. Can't imagine hijab in c & s college, st. Anthony, notre dame and so many good old schools in the state that are built on Christian faith.

2. Religion is our problem in Nigeria

1. #StopKidnappingOurSchoolChildren Phoenix17 March 2021 at 13:54

Huge one. We keep allowing religion and tribal sentiments to come to play that is why the politians have the upper hand at the end of the day

3. Why Muslims like fight and violence is what I can never understand...

Why force your religious practice on people?

4. Muslims are too troublesome, the whole world knows that, how do you a muslim insist on going to a Christian school and insist on wearing HYJAB? HOW? WHY? Is the person not mischievous? Why not go to a MUSLIM SCHOOL? WHAT IS WRONG WITH THESE PEAOPLE?

1. The same way they do sharia law in their country and cause chaos or war then migrate to UK or France or Canada in search of peace that sinners there have and still want the natives there to be doing halal

5. Muslims always looking for trouble...mtchewwwwww. They should all move their children to Islamic or state government schools then wear their hijab in peace and, allow missionary schools for christians.

6. You will go to Christian school and want them to allow what is not Christian. Like a Christian can go to a Muslim school and start demanding they do morning devotion

1. Honestly Eka. Go to a school that conforms with your religious beliefs abeg. Why do we make things so hard? There are several Muslim schools. That’s how they were bashing the Vatican yesterday. Why not open your own gay church and bless your marriage? The church was founded on a certain belief system, why should it be altered for a particular sect?

7. It is not by force. You don't go into someone's house and bend the rules they have made for themselves.
    If you must use hijab go to a school where it is allowed.

Don't go to a missionary school and insist to dress the way you want simple. You don't like it find where will be suitable for you. Is it so difficult?

I don't think any Christian girl who goes to a Muslim sch will insist on not wearing a hijab which is there dress code.
    Haba!

1. That's what muslims do all the time, constantly trying to bend someone's hands.
      How come they obey when they go abroad.
      This is why you never accept it in the first place.

8. Let muslims go to muslim schools and wear their hijab and allow Christians to run their own school in peace. Abi shouldnt the girls be married already according to their religion? What are they looking for in western education?

1. Hahahahahahahaha
      You are not OK

9. Go where you will be celebrated

Stop forcing your ways of life on others

10. I blame the state Governor. Must they attend Christian school? Can a Christian girl attend a Muslim school without covering her hair? Muslims can't take 10% of what Christians tolerate. You can't force your religion on others. Attend schools that tolerate hijabs and allow those who will conform to the rules of the Christians schools to attend.

11. I blame the state Governor. Must they attend Christian school? Can a Christian girl attend a Muslim school without covering her hair? Muslims can't take 10% of what Christians tolerate. You can't force your religion on others. Attend schools that tolerate hijabs and allow those who will conform to the rules of the Christians schools to attend.

12. Why won't they attend sch the confines with their religion, I attended a christain sch and was forced to stay for FCS that is what I signed for and obeyed all rules. It's either you obey the rules or move to a general sch or that which suits your religious beliefs

13. The present Governor and his ineptitude behaviour wants to destroy the State of harmony.He is just a figure head, Ilorin Emirate council is dictating for him. Very docile human being. Let the Moslems attend their school and wear their hijab there, leave mission schools alone.Religion of piss

1. It is obvious he is trying to please some people not minding the destruction that might occur.

14. I don't even understand the need for this unnecessary fight,yout can't turn missionary school to a hijab wearing school. Muslims can never accept this,so why force your beliefs on others.

That's how they spoil University of Ilorin Secondary School with their hijab issues.

They will go to other people'country and still want to force their beliefs on them mean while you can't even try half of what they do to others in the Islamic countries.

15. Don't do unto others what you dont want them to do to you. Islamic school there in kwara will not allow a Christian girl without hijab to enter there premises. The state government should be impartial and objective in handling this issue.