Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Ify Onwuemene Succumbs To Complication Of Endometrial Cancer

Wednesday, May 26, 2021

Actress Ify Onwuemene Succumbs To Complication Of Endometrial Cancer

Nollywood actress, Ify Onwuemene who became popular for her role in sitcom ‘Everyday People’, has died of cancer.

Her colleague Gloria Anozie -Young made the announcement on Facebook.

“With a deep sense of loss but total submission to God Almighty, we regret to announce that Ify Onwuemene has gone to be with the Lord, Gloria wrote on Facebook

“Ify Onwuemene was diagnosed with endometrial cancer, her womb was removed but she has been battling the ailment for many years now. In 2019, even after 8 sessions of chemotherapy, the doctors told her she had reached stage 4.

“However, we are not sure if she was given the wrong diagnosis or being treated with the wrong chemo, because she still felt pains on her upper abdomen and her tummy bloated.

“Ify spent more than 10million naira, being helped with donations by her fellow actors and other Nigerians. A Gofundme account was opened for her but it did not yield much.
She had to go for draining every two weeks at a cost of 280,000naira but only 3litres of liquid can be removed at a time so that her heart is not affected.
Ify has finally gone to rest, today 25th May 2021. May her soul rest in perfect peace. Amen.

Burial arrangements will be released by the family''

62 comments:

1. Nigerians are always quick to cast doubts at any chance they get. Which one is "
    However, we are not sure if she was given the wrong diagnosis or being treated with the wrong chemo, because she still felt pains on her upper abdomen and her tummy bloated.".
    Someone with stage 4 Ca, what do you expect.
    Rest in Peace Ify. The Nigerian government >>health care system failed you. It is well.

1. With complicating malignant ascites.
      Ify may you find rest in the after life.
      Cancer is not beans.

2. Oh my God! Such a beautiful soul gone.

3. Baby Malu Over26 May 2021 at 11:29

Eeya😢😢 she really suffered over the years before she gave up. May her soul rest in peace and may her loved ones find succour at this trying time. It is well

4. So sad, rest in peace ma.

5. This cancer ehen......may her soul rest in peace

6. Adieu Ify.
    Please whoever is writing this should remove that "wrong chemo or wrong diagnosis..." thing. Endometrial cancer is one of the easiest diagnosis to make in clinical medicine. Stage 4 is "end stage" it means that it has involved other tissues and organs in the body and even if the womb is removed, it does not help the patient.
    That "woman with the issue of blood" in the Bible probably had Endometrial cancer. It is a nasty thing.
    Doctors are not miracle workers. There are a lot of diseases that they have no clue how to handle and this is one of it.
    Adieu young lady.

1. I guess you didn't read the write up well. She meant that even after 8 sessions of chemotherapy the Cancer still progressed to stage 4. At least the expected that with the much sessions of chemotherapy she had received the cancer shouldn't have progressed that fast!!

2. @15:36
      Are you a medical doctor?
      Why not stay within the confines of your own profession?
      What do you know about the pathophysiology of cancer and in this case
      endometrial malignancy?

7. Kai!!!! May her soul rest in peace 🙏🙏

8. Kai! This is so sad. May God rest her soul.

9. Rest in Peace Ma and God comfort the family🙏

10. 😢😢😢😢 Awwww **Obruchee as Late Sam Loco calls her..May her soul rest in peace...

11. Ehya😔😔😔 no more pains. May her soul rest in the bosom of the Lord.😔

12. May her soul rest in the solace of God amen

13. I woke up this morning remembering how my immediate elder sister suffered and eventually died of leukemia. It's difficult to rationalise how God would allow that level of pains, suffering. We did every damned thing her consultants asked us to do. The death of my sister opened my eyes to so many things. Do l blame God for her death? No. But I do blame God for permitting that level of pains, suffering and degradation. Please don't come under my comment to sermonise. Rest in peace Ify

1. Oh dear.
      You are still hurting and it is quite understandable.
      Please be consoled.
      Try and remember of the happy times she blessed you all with her presence, ndọoo nne mmadụ.

Ify rest in peace, no more pains.
      Sleep on Ify.

2. Sorry for your loss. Can't even imagine..

Rest in peace Ify

3. Take heart 11:45.... Rip ify

4. Take heart Anon.... Rest in peace Ify...

5. The hurt never truly goes away. RIP to your sis💔

14. Painful. RIP Ify. To all who are suffering or have loved ones suffering from it, God Almighty will give us all peace.

The cancer is so common now. Seeing lots of people in luth suffering from this.

It is well and comfort to all

15. Cancer is such a terrible thing. Took my dad away from us. May God give her family the fortitude to bear such a painful loss.

16. May her family find solace in God.

17. It is well. I pray she made peace with her maker. May the Lord comfort the bereaved.

18. Chai!,so sad.
    May her soul rest in peace

19. What's really the cause of all these cancer ailments? This same cancer also took the life of my mum, 3yrs now and I'm still not over her death. Doctors said she wasn't passing excreta regularly 🤷🤷🤷 I just don't understand. May her soul continue to rest in peace. Rest in the bosom of our Lord Ify, you are free from all the pains now...😭😭😭

1. Eeeyaaa.
      Please be consoled on the passing on of your beloved mom.
      Just keep remembering the happy times, her laughter, jokes and love, focus on it.
      May the soul of your mom keep resting in peace Amen.

2. Chai, I'm sure she is watching over you now, just keep doing her proud.

20. Kai sickness but why??? May she rest in perfect peace. Amen!!

21. Oh dear 😩😩😩 RIP beautiful woman..may God comfort her family

22. May her soul rest in peace. Amen.

23. How sad 😩
    May her soul rest in peace

24. Rest in peace ma,may God console and comfort the family she left. This cancer thing is so scary.

25. CANCER, I DONT WISH IT ON MY WORST ENEMY... AFTER, I WITNESSED HOW IT KILLED MY 17YR OLD COUSIN... RIP TO HER.

26. Lost my Dad 2010 to brain cancer, he had his surgery in Lasuth and after two years he died. only for us to find out that a particular medication he has been on is outdated and for an outpatient he is not supposed to be taking that drug...died at 47yrs of age......Naija hospitals suck

1. Your government sucks. How many doctors do they send to conferences and trainings?. Is the drug you saw on google available in Nigeria?

2. 13:59 keep defending the incompetence of most of the doctors we have in Nigeria. Someday, you will be a victim of their incompetence and you will realise your folly. Yes, there are very good doctors, but from my experience they are few.

3. Augustus caesar...your experience about Nigerian doctors is very limited! Those "quack" Nigerian doctors are moving abroad in their droves and thriving. I know you are a defender of the Nigerian govt. I sincerely hope it does not come to bite you later. Goodluck

27. May her soul rest in peace

28. To those disputing her claims of a possible misdiagnosis. Please, lets not act like Nigerian degrees aren't bought through the exchange of sex and/or cash. A lot of doctors chose that career path because they wanted to please their parents and families/communities...and not because healing people is truly their destiny or passion.

For those ones, they will do any and everything to have "Dr." attached to their name.

It is not this same Nigeria where a medical student has been performing plastic surgery on people, and killing several patients? Has she been arrested? No. Because she has a parent in high places.

Wasn't that pastry chef's death a few weeks ago, due to doctor-error?

Haven't we read of Nigerian doctors removing organs (such as the kidney) rather than the fibroids they were supposed to?

Haven't we read of children being killed because the doctor prescribed a dosage meant for an adult, rather than a kid?

Honestly, I don't have much faith in a Nigerian doctor that studied in Nigeria! Even the international community knows that a lot of these medical degrees aren't awarded by merit, but rather, by connection...and that's why they have Nigerians go through rigorous exams, training and re-certification when they migrate abroad.

May the actress rest in perfect peace!

1. Most countries conduct exams for foreigners who come into their countries to practise, not just for Nigerian Drs.
      And if you do your homework well, you'll know that Nigerian Drs actually do very well abroad. That should tell you that they may be victims of a failed system.

2. Blame the total failure of the Nigerian state, not the Doctors. Lack of equipments to properly diagnose and manage cases are the bane of the Nigerian healthcare system. Not the personnel.It is horribly bad in our public hospitals. Infact there is no hospital in Nigeria, whether public or private, that has the full complement of a proper hospital, in the real sense.

3. I think you should talk about what you know and don’t talk just for the sake of talking. Even a doctor moving from the UK or Canada to practice in the US must write the licensing exams. Vice versa. For any country where you want to practice professionally, you have to write the professional exams.

29. Lots of Drs are scammers hence we they don't take their time to explain procedures properly to patients. Every patient deserves to know the progress of the treatment they are getting.
    My mum died of liver cancer and a consultant in a government hospital tricked my siblings into believing that he has drugs to cure her completely when he knew very well that it was in stage 4!!! He took a huge sum from them. Lots of Drs will rot in hell for the wickedness they metted out to peoples they were supposed to care for with compassion.

30. Thank God she is out of the pain and and suffering. I have seen those 80-90+ years old going up and down to seek treatment for their ailments. Humans are wired to survive, so I will not hold it against her family for doing everything possible to try to keep her alive.

She lived a full life was able to fulfill her dreams and achieved much in her years. The good times were great and so sometimes the body just is not able to carry the spirit anymore. Her removal from this world is not unique, we all must depart this temporary world with its temporary things. May her loved ones find the strength to bare their loss.

31. Now, you are without pain. May your soul rest in peace