Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: AFN Says Crash That Killed Nigeria's COAS And Others Was Caused By Inclement Weather...

Saturday, May 22, 2021

AFN Says Crash That Killed Nigeria's COAS And Others Was Caused By Inclement Weather...

The Armed Forces of Nigeria, AFN, has said that the air crash that killed the Chief of Army Staff, Lt. Gen. Ibrahim Attahiru and ten others on Friday May 21,2021 was caused by inclement weather.

In a statement signed by Brig.Gen. Onyema Nwachukwu, Acting Director Defence Information and made available to Daily post on Friday night, he blamed inclement weather for the crash.

“It is with a heavy heart that the Armed Forces of Nigeria (AFN) regrets to announce that this evening at about 1800 Hours, the Chief of Army Staff, Lt Gen Ibrahim Attahiru in company of his entourage, who were on official trip from Abuja to Kaduna, were involved in an air mishap.

“The unfortunate incident occurred after landing at the Kaduna International Airport due to inclement weather.

The Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) General Lucky Irabor has therefore directed that an Accident Investigation Board be constituted to unravel the immediate and remote cause(s) of the unfortunate accident.

“As we pray for the repose of the souls of our gallant and committed Chief of Army Staff and other personnel on board with him, the AFN solicits the support and understanding of all Nigerians in the face of this tragic incident.

“We wish to state that the Armed Forces of Nigeria remains resolute in combating the security challenges bedeviling our nation. The sacrifices of our dearly departed heroes will not be in vain.
Meanwhile, the CDS urges all military personnel and their families to take heart and be condoled on this tragic loss.

“The CDS also reassures all Nigerians of the commitment and loyalty of the Armed Forces of Nigeria to the Constitution and Government of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as it continues to carry out its responsibilities,” the statement said.

Inclement Weather
 means the existence of rain or abnormal climatic conditions (whether they be those of hail, snow, cold, high wind, severe dust storm, extreme high temperature or the like or any combination thereof) by virtue of which it is either not reasonable or not safe for workmen exposed thereto to continue working whilst the same prevail.

22 comments:

1. It is well. Innocent loves just die everyday, God preserve us and ours in Jesus name amen. I just weep for Nigeria. This people were going to investigate arms deal and then they died before investigation commenced. Olorun mo oun gbogbo.

1. Whether inclement weather or karma, I celebrate the death of Attahiru. His hands are soaked with the blood of innocent Nigerian children. May re receive the hottest place in hell.

2. INGLISH.... U get mind wan stop pple wey chop arms money? U no dey fear?
      One Ogidi man come villa in Dec, come and see moneyyyyy!!!! Ego mmbute, cash, Atulu tabaaa.
      We learnt he helps run Guns for this Govt,this guy was a notorious cultist way back in sch. Na that type u wan prob for missing billions?😂😂😂
      Them bomb this aircraft,if una like mk una speak all d aviation INGLISH for there.

3. And the moral of the story is that no "enemy" - not Boko Haram, not ISWAP, not imaginary IPOB insurgents, not Sierra Leonean child soldiers - is as deadly to a Nigerian soldier as the thoroughly compromised, politicised, multiple-coup-plotting Nigerian military itself.
      David Hundeyin....

2. This is so sad. May their souls rest in peace. May God comfort and strengthen their families and loved ones.

3. After landing ko, which kain nonsense talk be that?
    Do they have to put out a reason immediately? They won't sit down and find the true cause, be shouting weather up and down.

1. Aviator we spot u o. Investigate fire, wen Dem don settle everybody? Hissss. Jungle

2. Q. S Are you alright? Get out of my comment if you don't understand what I mean abeg.

3. U well so? I said those fools will not investigate anything because them din dash them Ghana must go...

4. Why conclude that it is due to bad weather before setting up an investigation committee? Won't it influence their report? Oh Nigeria!!! I see monkey hand now!

1. There was a wind storm here yesterday,so this report might be true.

2. They can conclude based on their last comms with the ATC

3. Story for d bleeding gods. Conclude fire

5. Nawa and I just watched Sully on Netflix. Just sad for the families of those that lost their lives, I am a relieved the COAS wife wasn't on board. I know according to proper military procedure they do not allow civilians on the flight and convoy according to one general, they are always battle ready especially when there's a general on board or in the convoy. So the anticipate attack and can't have civilians with them.

6. You guys can kill yourselves all you want, but please stop using the young ones as your bait. Rip Lt olufade, only son of his parent. We v such wicked people ruling us in this country. What a pity! #spotremover#

7. It could have been the weather, but that man would have still been killed

8. A friend of mine who was at the Kaduna control tower witnessed the crash. He saw the plane landed successfully and the Air Traffic Controller on duty said thank God as he stood up immediately to start packing his bags only to hear a loud bang moments later. My friend said Windshear took the plane back up while still rolling on the runway after landing and it crashed bursting to flames. He saw the plane before the landing and like a movie watched it crash. I called him immediately he posted it on our class Watsapp group and he said it seems someone very important must be on board because of the kind of cars and response availed immediately. We later got to find out its the COAS.

9. Nonsense theory! We know that the spirit of Ikonso hijacked the plane and thrashed it to the ground. Guess who is next.

1. Please do not guess people’s life as God owns them