Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Imo Gov Uzodinma Urges Residents To Ignore IPOB Sit At Home Order T

Friday, May 28, 2021

Imo Gov Uzodinma Urges Residents To Ignore IPOB Sit At Home Order T

Governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo State has urged residents of the state to ignore a sit-at-home order by the proscribed Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB) on May 29 and May 30.

IPOB had declared Friday as a day to celebrate the burial of one of their commanders, Ikonso, who was recently killed by security operatives.

A statement released by the outlawed group also declared May 29 and 30 to celebrate Biafran Day.

Briefing newsmen in Owerri on Thursday, state Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Declan Emelumba, asked residents to shun the order given by the proscribed group.

Emelumba urged residents of the state to go about their lawful businesses without fear of molestation, adding that adequate security arrangements had been put in place to ensure safety and freedom of movement.

“Imo residents should disregard these messages as they have no consequence whatsoever. They should go about their normal businesses without any fear of molestation.

“Let our people be rest assured that the government has put all necessary security measures in place to ensure the safety and freedom of movement of all Imo people on these dates and after,” he said.

Speaking on the alleged shoot-at-sight order given by the government to security operatives, the commissioner said it was the handiwork of rumour mongers and enemies of the state.

According to him, only criminals have something to worry about the security measures put in place in the state and innocent residents have nothing to fear.

“Just when the government has successfully brought the state back to normalcy, these vicious enemies have contrived another rumour to the effect that security agents have been instructed to shoot and kill Imo youths extra judicially.

“I am here to urge my dear Imo youths to ignore this baseless rumour of them being targets of intimidation or assault by security agents, as the originators of this rumour are those who have vowed to make Imo ungovernable.

“I am, therefore, using this medium to appeal to our parents and guardians to rein in their children and wards against any form of demonstration in this volatile time.

“Those who are stoking the embers of this crisis will not put forward their children to be part of the battle. That is why my fellow parents should not allow their children to be Cannon fodder in a purely mindless matter.

“Once again, the government has not given any order for either the arrest or killing of innocent Imo youths. So, law-abiding citizens should go about their legitimate businesses without any fear or panic,” he said.

from naijanews

19 comments:

1. Imo State will be a ghost town this weekend. The people have more faith jn IPOB and ESN than this useless govt

2. Saturday n sunday are resting days, but shops and eateries will be open in non eastern states except the shop is owned by an igbo man. He should have done it on a week day.

1. It will be done on Monday the 31st. There's panic buying today in some of the market in owerri.

3. They won't listen to Uzo as they don't regard him as there governor.But supreme Court governor.So expect the people to sit at home ..

1. But Bayelsa govenor is not Supreme Court governor?

4. Supreme Court Governor I dey salute you.Mumu man,an outcast.

5. I am not in Imo State But yours faithfully and family are staying home I wouldn't want me or my family member/s to be among the statistics, mbaa, 2 days home isn't going to harm us, no traveling with government plate number for now, lol.

6. And tell yaaa army not to shot innocent citizens ooo.. like what happened few days ago.

5pm am home God help us.

7. When Ohamadike speaks, people listen to him. This isn't all about IPOB but Biafrans heroes day. The sit at home is older than Hope Uzodinma in that stolen office he's occupying. It will be honored all over the world where Biafrans resides. We will never forget even though we may forgive. Monday 31st will record a total shut down in the whole Eastern region and partly in other regions of Biafran state.

1. I wish I could like your comment!

2. Teejay you hear wetin Wike tell Timber, steel village and Ikoku people?

3. Na here dem dey see Teejay yamutu for ground - anything Nnamdi Cownu and IPOB news.

4. Don't forget keep your memories with you forever, nonsense noise makers as Biafra did not kill anybody during the civil war.

5. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ƒ, ndi aninimaos be palpitating and convulsing through their mouth, nose and anus. Hehehehe! Ntoor unuh.

6. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Chai! Chisom bikonu.

8. Everyone should just be careful, especially if your area has scores of IPOB members.

9. They have given out circular ooo it's Monday 31st.