Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Twitter Reportedly Set To Open Office In Nigeria After Dialogue With Nigerian Govt

Thursday, August 12, 2021

Twitter Reportedly Set To Open Office In Nigeria After Dialogue With Nigerian Govt

The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed on Wednesday briefed State House correspondents at the end of the virtual Federal Executive Council, that Twitter has agreed to open an Office in Nigeria in 2022.

He explained that the federal government’s engagement with Twitter has been extremely positive without any acrimony.

The Minister said ”We have made it clear what we want from Twitter. The end for amicable resolution is very much in sight.

‘We appreciate the patience of Nigerians. I want to assure you that we have made very tremendous progress. We have met with Twitter both physically and in writing. We are actually almost there.

“They (Twitter) have shown a lot of flexibility, the conversation has not been acrimonious.”

He added that although there are about three to four areas the two were yet to reach an agreement, Twitter has agreed to open office in the country in 2022.

from daily post.

17 comments:

1. Nice one...them sef dey make plenty money from Nigeria

2. Na una sabi, yeye government that put energy on what is irrelevant but close their eyes on what need to be given so much energy and attention🚶‍♀️🚶‍♀️🚶‍♀️🚶‍♀️🚶‍♀️

1. Even with this positive news? You should be ashamed of this your comment. All you people know how to do is abuse the govt from morning to night.

1. Sense is far from some people, odiegwu really. Even good news na agba unu afo.

4. As if they care about the citizens,stop thanking us jare.Put your energy where it is needed;you want an office where you will keep going to threaten them,na you sabi,you all are leaving in 2023

1. So the idea behind the banning of Twitter was actually to bully them in order to open an office in Nigeria. What a shame!!!

5. Y'all are saying good news, good news when we all know how this government operates. They go after people/firm who speak against them, we know how much tech people are harassed on a daily here, simply because the police sees them as yahoo yahoo boys.
    I would like to imagine how it would work, does Twitter bail their staff on a daily or what ��
    Or the government giving them ridiculous taxes?? I still feel like they have something sinister in mind.

1. I just smh at you. People with this kind of mindset will surely miss opportunities cos they will be still trying to find the loophole while someone else seizes it. Kontinu.

6. So they have to open an office in Nigeria.... Lol... Win win for the FG.

7. So this is the reason for their grievance against Twitter. They should say they were jealous Ghana got it instead.

8. This is actually good news...