Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Media Personality Nancy Isime Says Women Who Are Not Professionals Are Tagged As 'Ashawos'' In Nigeria.

Monday, December 27, 2021

Media Personality Nancy Isime Says Women Who Are Not Professionals Are Tagged As 'Ashawos'' In Nigeria.

What do you think about her write up?

21 comments:

1. Even the professionals are tagged same.
    As far as you are a woman, what ever you achieve or do not achieve doesn't matter, you are not exempted from being tagged.

1. Deep seated patriarchal entitlement and not a little misogyny ascribes unbelievable generosity and benevolence to the male always

The belief " no woman has the intelligence, stamina, wit or grace to independently live well"
      It must "surely" always be through a man

Also women "live" only for men, so EVERYTHING a female does is to please a man

However confusion sets in when a female goes against this script&belief , egos are offended, belief systems threatened so the generalized "ashawo" summary is used to demean and trivialise her success

Nigeria is filled sadly with a lot of deeply insecure men who were raised to see women as objects, prey to be outwitted , ego proppers etc in many cases

The exposure of the females to economic independence still outstrips the capacity of many males to adjust to that reality hence gigolos abound, users, DV , pull her down syndrome, maltreatment and outright hostility/ acts of resentment/hatred and strange competitiveness/enemies of progress (must resign & choose marriage)

Very few are truly supportive of growth of their female partners, they are the exceptions

the Nigerian version of "submission " is vulnerability, economic UNempowerment, reliance, being at others mercy

She is easier to "control"
      Financial independence is a threat to the average man, hence it being harder to find a genuine partner if the richer you are as a woman

And you are encouraged to marry down with or without sighting any potentials as your wealth is a liability especially without a husband

Only a good & right man is a proper cover
      A wrong man is rags or outright nakedness

2. Jet LI is absolutely right 👍.

2. Even sef no matter what you do they will still call you ashawo once they see some progress around you.
    Ashawo no be new thing anymore.
    Funny enough na de men come be gold diggers currently

1. The worst gold diggers are the male type

They beat the females legs & hands down

3. The criteria for being called an "ashawo" is just be fine,have small money, and have something to do,gen gen,you don turn automatic ashawo because, to them God only blesses men and not women.
    Oshisko.
    Odiegwu.

1. GOD deliver such people from such mindset ooo

2. The basic criteria is being a WOMAN. That's why even in mere disagreements or arguments between two people it's just easily thrown around.

3. Being female is enough to offend the sensibilities of such mediocre and deeply insecure people

Sadly even women brought up with that rubbish mentality perpetuate such nonsense

4. Once you dress and expose the "nyansh" and breasts, what do you want people to call you -priest? 🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄
    And when you do not have a day job or as "media personality" we all know how much you earn and you post mansions and
    exotic cars online (hired or not) what do you want people to call you -tycoon? 🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄

1. This is not true. Alot of decent ladies have been called ashawo, all that is needed is to be female. A cab driver called me ashawo simply because I refused to allow him drive on my own side of the road. What was I wearing? Lace and gele. The style was well covered, only my neck upwards,hands feet were showing.

2. Anonymous

We must be careful not to justify people's lack of decorum, insecurity, misogyny and manners

3. Anonymous

We must be careful not to justify people's lack of decorum, insecurity, misogyny and lack of manners

4. Mrs S, Truth is, the word ashawo is just like an insult now, like the way men are called “son of a btch” “thief” “armed robber” “yahoo boy” or women are called “c#nts”. It has been moved from the meaning -prostitute to just a derogatory word used on women.

5. Women who had to feed their husband at some point ☝️ have this mindset: If their own man cannot be a real man, how dare a weaker vessel succeed? God will open your eyes to see how easy money can be ma/sir so you can afford to be at peace with yourself.

5. Nancy, you're so beautiful, with a very good head on your beautiful shoulders

6. Air heads, na dem dey think light dat. Why worry ur little head?

7. Abeg let’s hear word , women una too get problem Walai

8. Not all men with such perception though. Sometimes, small quarrel between two women, the next thing one of them will hit her hand on the lips..Wuuuuuuu Ashawo. Such creates a negative mindset on some men too.