Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Thursday In House News...

Thursday, April 28, 2022

Thursday In House News...

I salute you all.......

BLOG VISITOR EGO CELEBRATES 40TH BIRTHDAY

She says.....

''I just want to thank God for giving me another year on earth. It's really a best moment in my life as I climb the 4th floor, also celebrating a milestone of my life.

BVs, join me and celebrate my 40th birthday, it is my Ruby jubilee.

Thank you Stelz for all your good works on this platform, I have really learnt a lot on your blog, I truly appreciate everyone here.

Ego...

Beautiful woman!!!
Happy 40th Birthday to you.. It is indeed wonderful to see a beautiful, self confident looking woman celebrating herself.

๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿงก❤️

IN HOUSE MEMO

How is everyone doing?
I bring greetings from BV Ceasar......
He sent an SMS to explain that he was swallowed with work but will resume commenting soon to torture you Ladies.....LOL *na una sabi*

Send in your Chronicles....
Send in your Omugwo stories
send in your labour room drama
send in what needs to be sent in....

May the rest of your day be peaceful and filled with love.

INSIDE THE MIND OF A WOMAN GOING THROUGH MOTHERHOOD

I remember when my first was going to be one, there was so much anticipation in the air. Apart from it being his first birthday, he was not walking yet and all the grandmas and well wishers had assured me he was going to walk before or on his first birthday.

The birthday came and went and he didn’t walk, the pressure and calls started.

Everyone meant well but it was overwhelming. A month later he wasn’t walking and all manner of suggestions and blame started.

By the time he was a year and two months I had made up my mind to tell everyone to back off and stop putting the boy and I under a lot of pressure. Few days to his one year and five months date. I was in the sitting room with my siblings, it was a good Friday before Easter and my boy stood up with his legs spread, tummy pushed out at an awkward angle and he took his first steps .

We all scared the poor boy with our screaming, we were so excited, he fell, got up again and this time around started running round the sitting room staggering. We were able to make a video of him. It was so beautiful to watch, similar story happened with his talking too, now when he calls mummy for the umpteenth time. I try to mask my frustration .

Today as I was shouting at him, to stop running In the house I remembered the days I used to pray for him to just walk.

Hehehehehehe that description of when he first got up to walk is so hilarious!

My first bambino started walking on his first birthday...he just got up and the shock on his face was evident as he took the first steps wearing hi walking shoes.
My eyes widened in shock and he started laughing when he saw me.....

IJEOMA'S GIST CORNER
TRADITIONAL KIND OF OMUGWO

Today I want to go down Memory Lane as that local girl that I am. 

Back in the days where I come from, Omugwo used to be very interesting and competitive amongst mothers of bride and the brides themselves. Those days, mothers don't go visiting for Omugwo, instead the brides come home to their mothers and before she comes, her hubby and mother must be fully prepared financially especially if it's the bride's first time of experiencing motherhood.

Her hubby sends message across to her mum that she's coming to her hometown for omugwo, her mum too will in turn call neighbors to do 'oronwa' (Mek una no vex, I no know the name for English oh). 

To do oronwa, she'll call neighbors and announce to them that her daughter has given birth and will be coming for omugwo, she'll buy drinks, biscuits, nkgwongwo, ugba garnished with pepper and kpomo and baby powders. Anyone that comes will have the powder rubbed on his/her body and have some drinks and others while the happy women sing loud childbirth songs joyously. They'll sing and dance with local Kongs till late in the night. As dem dey dance dey sing, na so orishirishi and choppings go dey go on till they return to their homes. Most times they don't go home empty handed, they go with toiletries each.

Then on the day the bride will finally come home to her people for Omugwo, hubby will go to the market to buy her big box, plenty latest wrappers and blouses, fine baby things to show he's taking good care of her (such things are what new mothers use to compete amongst themselves). The village people sef wey go come welcome her, some of dem na to see wetin she carry come so that there will be something to gossip about 

Her mum too will be waiting for her with plenty things to take care of her during the Omugwo. When she finally arrives, people welcome her happily with another round of dancing and eating.

Omugwo don start. 

Below are some of the things she uses for her omugwo :

1. Ijah and traditional beads 

Don't know the oyibo name for ijah, pls forgive me oh. 

This ijah is worn on their legs and the beads are expensive too. When they wear ijah, as they walk, it makes a special kind of sound, as she approaches, those around knows a new mother is coming or close. She dresses beautifully each day that passes with the beads and ijah anytime she goes out to greet people as the tradition demands while someone else will have to carry her baby. The only time a new mum carries her baby is when she wants to breastfeed, her mum and the rest of the family carries and cares for the baby all day long. She came to rest and be taken care of. The purpose of wearing ijah is to make her not work or assist in any kind of domestic work. 

Her only work is to eat, bath, sleep, wear expensive wrappers and blouses and breastfeed, shikinah.

2. Uri - 

Uri is a dark substance used to draw artificial tattoo on her body, to beautify her with different designs each day that passes

3. Uhe - 

Uhe is reddish in colour, she uses it on her skin to make her glow (no be today bleaching start).

These and many others are what she uses each day that passes. She's not expected to repeat clothes, na the competition be that.

Special meals are prepared for her with uda, big stock fish wey get ear, and big local fish like Elem, Elem Ogoni, okpo and different kinds of bush meats. Each time a bush beat is prepared for her, her father will hang the skull of the bushmeat in the kitchen, so as to know how many bush meats they killed for her and for outsiders to see too how they took good care of her.

Before she comes out of this omugwo, she's expected to put on plenty weight, glow and more beautiful. Her hubby comes once in a while to visit. So she has to look peng each time hubby comes. Because of how beautiful she's become, they'll warn hubby not to over touch to avoid another pregnancy.

Before she comes out of omugwo that lasts for at least three months, she performs two traditional rites/rituals:

1. Going to the riverside 

It's a mini party, she dresses in her best outfit while others accompany her to the river with food and local songs. When she gets to the river, she'll be made to sit by the bank while they play local Kongs and dance. She joins in the dance and party along while they eat and drink

2. Going to the market -

She'll go to the market on a market day where everyone will see her as she glows. Walks round the market with powder in her hands. As she powders anyone's face or body, the person gives her cash while other women followed with songs of joy. After she's done walking, they bring out the food and orishirishis and everyone eats. This marks the end of her omugwo, she's now allowed to go wherever she wants and also takes off the ijah and follows her hubby back to their home. 

As she's leaving, she'll have to keep her box and some of the wrappers for her mom as a 'thank you' package.

As she leaves, her mum carries herself with pride, e no easy na. If you're a mother and you no do omugwo for your pikin, you can't talk where she's talking na, she be your mate? hahahahahaha.

This is really really interesting and sounds better than the one the Mother will visit and the husband will begin to carry face or his family disturb  or the hubby begins to eye the mum and others... I love the igbo tradition so much!

94 comments:

1. Divine Health Confessions!!

I refuse sickness from having its way in my life because I have taken hold of eternal life. Everything about me bears fruits of righteousness, and my life is characterized by excellence, success, divine health, prosperity, strength, and joy.

2. Jehovah Nissi will answer to His name in our lives. He will fight our battles and give us rest round-about in Jesus mighty Name!!!

Shalom

3. The supporting comments on the issue of Yul impregnating a side chick and marrying a second wife should be an eye opener for Nigerian women. I always say it that one of the worst things that can happen to a Nigerian woman is to marry a man with the typical archaic mentality of a Nigerian man especially the Igbo mentality

Read the comments, vast majority of them are in support of what Yul did. Polygamy is good and part of our culture yen yen yen but as usual, the culture does not respect the woman’s feelings.

You embraced technology, you embraced civilisation, you even embraced working in an office and not going to farm to cultivate yet the one that actually saves women from embarrassment, ridicule and heartbreak, u want to keep it.

This is why I don’t pity men women throw out of their homes when they eventually get to a society that respects and appreciate women. Most of them carry this wack mentality abroad and then cry foul when the women will not have it!

Most of them will never wish polygamy on their sisters or relatives but will settle down to say it’s okay as long as it is not their family members involved.

It’s not like I am marrying a Muslim where at the back of my mind, I know there’s a chance of polygamy in my future but I married a Christian and know that it is a case of one man and one woman. You made a vow to love only me forsaking all others (yes, something like that is in the wedding vows) and then find ways to justify polygamy. Shame! For shame!

If u are not married, abeg find that man that is as good as fully westernised in their thoughts and in their actions. The ones that don’t have a problem with kneeling to propose (if that’s what u want), the ones that don’t have problem with helping out with the kids and chores, the ones that don’t have problem with u working and supporting, the ones that don’t see themselves as God’s best gift to women after Agege bread. Most importantly marry someone that genuinely loves you because no one who GENUINELY loves you will ever want to hurt you

Lastly, run away from men with typical Igbo mentality. Yes, I’m Igbo and I said what I said!

Happy birthday Ego! May this be ur best year yet

1. This woman sef. What about some yourba that married more than one woman? You're beginning to sound as if only Igbo do that. If you can give Muslim the credit of marrying multiple women, why can't you do the same to an African traditional Man? Don't we have traditional religion as well? If Christianity forbid it, do traditional religion forbid it? No one is applauding Yul's action but get the point I'm making. Polygamy is not a crime or sin. Was it not on this blog one Delta man married two women same day? What about the late monarch that have up to 18 wives? Yul fucked up quite understandable. Should we kill him for that? He went and performed the traditional rites as not to further dent his image by making the woman his wife according to traditional rites. Would you have been happy if he had made her a baby mama?

You're learned, you should know there are part of this world where women married more than one man. It's called polyandry.

We should allow people live their truth. Marriage is not all that's to life or happiness. Africans especially Nigerian women attach so much importance to marriage. Why????

2. @Eka thank you jorr...

3. You're so on point!!!

That mentality is what scares me these days, I can't deal.

4. I will always say. "Don't marry a cheat, if he starts cheating in marriage, leave him, except you don't mind being embarrassed like Yul's wife" . A cheating man is a time bomb waiting to explode. He will surprise you one day.
      Those shouting all men are cheats are only using that line to console themselves. There are faithful men out there and they are many.

5. God Bless you Eka Joy

6. I have never condemned POLYGAMY. ๐Ÿ’ฏ

I am not against Yul's choice of embracing Polygamy....Rather, I am against the way and manner he took to become one. ๐Ÿคท

You don't go about having unprotected SEX and not expect Pregnancy. What if is not pregnancy? What if it was sexual transmitted disease? Shebi he will still infect his wife at home. Akwaya ๐Ÿ™„

Did he wake up and desire to have more wives? Did he informed his wife that he needed another Kpekus to be swimming in? Or he secretly went and married his baby mama and rush to social media to announce the birth of how many months old child whose mum was married few days ago.

When it suits you, you cite TRADITION, yet you forgot that there are some traditional practices which are REPUGNANT TO NATURAL JUSTICE, EQUITY AND GOOD CONSCIENCE.

YOU FORGET THAT SOME TRADITIONAL PRACTICES ARE REPUGNANT TO PUBLIC OPINION, AND COULD BE INCONSISTENT WITH AN EXISTING LAW.

If it is morally bad for a woman to foist another man's child on her husband without his consent, it is also morally bad for a man to foist another woman on his wife without her approval. ๐Ÿ’ฏ

Let's learn to call a spade, a spade no matter whose ox is gored. Ihie Ojoo wu ihe Ojoo. Hailing a man who erred against his wife as ODOGWU is inhuman against his wife. She deserves better. At least she deserved to have been informed and be carried along even if she doesn't agree with his decision. That's the right thing to do.

7. @Ada
      "When it suits you, you cite TRADITION, yet you forgot that there are some traditional practices which are REPUGNANT TO NATURAL JUSTICE, EQUITY AND GOOD CONSCIENCE.

YOU FORGET THAT SOME TRADITIONAL PRACTICES ARE REPUGNANT TO PUBLIC OPINION, AND COULD BE INCONSISTENT WITH AN EXISTING LAW.

If it is morally bad for a woman to foist another man's child on her husband without his consent, it is also morally bad for a man to foist another woman on his wife without her approval. ๐Ÿ’ฏ"

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ Wdf are you writing? Writing big words that you don't understand..

Pray tell,. How's is polygamy repugnant to good conscience and natural law?

How is polygamy inconsistent with an existing law of the constitution?

Lastly? Paternity fraud isn't just morally wrong, it is a crime,. Fraud is a criminal offence..

You really made me laff.. Omo people dey jam talk on the internet oh๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

8. Sense raised to power ๐Ÿ’ฏ

4. Happy birthday Bav Ego, God bless you both now and always

5. 40 looks so good on you Ego... Happy birthday!!! God bless your new age.

6. My Alex walked quite early. Took her first step early 9 months and started walking proper towards the ending of the 9th month. Now I have to worry about Bowlegs as Annie said walking early is one of the causes of Bowlegs. God abeg oh ๐Ÿ™

1. Imagine the person ure listening to, Annie, of all people. You fall hand oh

2. My kids walked at their 9th month, non has bowlegs ,my last is 10+, don't dwell on the thought of your daughter having bowlegs because she walked early,I personally don't believe it.

3. According to my mum, I walked at 7months. My leg is as straight as a ruler

4. This is reassuring. Thanks guys

5. Lol @ straight as a ruler ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

7. Happy birthday beautiful Oma,may lines fall in pleasant places for you.
    Motherhood is a wonderful experience,I nearly screamed my lungs out when my daughter took her first step @1yr 3month,I was so excited.
    Good afternoon everyone๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ

8. Those thighs look so muscular, do you work out?

1. Saying those thighs looks firm,do you work out? would have been more polite.

2. They look MANLY. Nothing wrong with that, una too do jare

3. Anon 1.12 the word is toned not muscular. Muscular sounds masculine which it certainly isn't. Try and exude positivity whenever possible ๐Ÿ™

4. What is "Muscular and Manly"? Some of you are extremely rude ๐Ÿฅด๐Ÿฅด.
      Dem correct you, but you refuse to listen.
      Olodo rabata ๐Ÿคช

9. Anyone selling titanium wedding ring here? Or Romania gold? Sdk please post for me. E dakun

10. @Ijeoma's Gist: What an interesting write-up! I love this kind of omugwo, abeg.

@Signout meme: ๐Ÿ‘Œ

11. With these new google comment section, one can't switch account,or how do I log out o.

We with multiple ID. Don't envy me o, na God, no be me sat make you no know how to have multiple

1. Like having multiple IDs bring fortune. Envy indeed ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚ oya switch na.

2. Me too. I can't log out except I entered Gmail on another tab and log out. It is stressful. Let us keep managing in anonymous mode until Martins returns from the East.
      Multiple IDs rock๐Ÿคฃ

12. Happy birthday BV Ego. May your new year be a blessed one indeed.

Good afternoon Bvs. Enjoy the rest of the day.

13. Happy 40th birthday Ego!

I wonder why people put so much pressure on toddlers who are yet to walk, before you give any unsolicited advice I will put you in your place. My son started walking at 14months while my daughter at 13 months. As long as the child is healthy shikena!

@IJ gist, mothers of the old really enjoyed themselves , if you leave your home to go do imugor this days na another woman you fit come house come meet.

1. ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

Typical case of hmmmmmm...make I kill am dia

2. Some people can bring other children down, when they have not achieved a particular milestone.... yeye
      I love the omugwo's story, really interesting...
      Saw a story on Twitter where a lady said her neighbor put to bed, she and the neighbors husband took her to the hospital, when she delivered, hubby was asked to go home and rest, she too went to her house. New mom called her later to help pick some things in her house, she went there saw the house was opened, only to see new father doing ta ta ta with house girl....
      So even without going for omogwo men they run tnz...

14. Good afternoon blogfam, still enjoying the holidays, work starts next two weeks and I don't want to go back to work. Am really getting fat and enjoying it

15. Happy birthday ๐ŸŽ‰ Bv Ego
    Good afternoon beautiful people
    I love that tribe omugwo o๐Ÿ’•

16. Happy birthday Ego๐ŸŽŠ๐Ÿฅณ๐ŸŽˆ๐ŸŽ‰ welcome to the fourth floor๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿ’ƒ you look fabulous ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ God bless your new age richly ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿ™Œ have a blast ๐Ÿฅ‚

17. Happy birthday to you Bv Ego
    Enjoy your day ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

18. When you're scrolling through Facebook and reading hot takes on the Yul Edochie's second wife matter, only to see your husband has posted a two-page essay defending, praising and supporting Yul's actions....๐Ÿฅบ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜ท๐Ÿƒ‍♀️

1. Wahala no dey finish..๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

19. It's how I just mistakenly discovered that one man professing love in my inbox claiming to be a divorcee and single dad, is very married...

Yul Edochie...

I thank you Sir๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

20. I would have chooked mouth in this Yul Edochie's matter but as I already have one failed marriage and about 20 failed relationships....

I need to focus on finding man that will not stain my white.

It pain me pass you people sha....

But it is well.๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿšถ๐Ÿšถ‍♀️๐Ÿง

21. Hello ihn ๐Ÿ˜˜
    Good afternoon everyone.

Ij with the saucy gists..chai our good old tradition.While reading I was just dramatising the whole thing ๐Ÿ˜ƒthis type of omugwo make sense o,now some don't even do omugwo again..you see a woman that just birthed a baby washins and foung all the house chores the next day.They don't even take the ofe mmiri ogwu again.I guess westernization has taken over.

Happy birthday beautiful Ego,God bless ur new age.

Bvs enjoy the rest of your day.
    E go surely be ✌️.

1. ๐ŸŽต๐ŸŽต๐ŸŽตOsundi Owendi o๐ŸŽถ๐ŸŽถ๐ŸŽถ๐ŸŽถ all my love biko

2. Anything not favouring patriarchy or men directly slowly dies
      Useless things like promiscuity, polygamy are twisted and touted as culture

22. Happy birthday Ego! Omugwo is a time to pamper a woman that just delivered while she bonds with her baby. All in all its money maters

23. Happy birthday to the celebrant

24. Happy birthday Ego,may your New year be blessed

Ijeoma nice write-up.

25. Happy birthday Ego.
    Interesting write up Ijeoma
    Motherhood is a joyous experience, I pray every woman experiences it.

Una good afternoon

26. Ego, you look absolutely ๐Ÿ’ฏ gorgeous at 40...wheeeew!
    I wish you fulfillment and happiness as you celebrate a new year. Have fun!

27. Good afternoon to you all.

On the issue of getting married to two women..To me,I believe no tribe is a saint to this issue, both igbos and yourbas but one thing should come into your mind before getting another wife or impregnating another woman out there.

*How will my wife feel about this?
    *Do I really need to do this and am I ready for this?
    *What kind of example do I wish to lay down for my children?
    *Do I wish to put my children through stress of hatred?
    *Is getting another woman a solution to my marital problems?
    *Is that the best way to repay your woman?

If you can answer all these questions genuinely then you can forge ahead .

Sincerely, polygamy is bad but you won't know,you will think you are enjoying yourself and your money but you are setting ahead an unforseen problems and challenges for your children.

I am from a polygamus home and I know what I went through in order to get myself out of the nasty situation. One man one woman is the best.

Let's not be deceived by whatever inspiration given to us by alcohol and friends.

Even in the Quran, u claimed allowed you to get married to two,it is clearly stated with condition. That, you can only be free to have two wives provided equality can be maintained but sincerely,,it is not possible.

28. My older son started walking at 14 months. We had a guest just before he turned 1 who called him lazy. I told her off, why should you refer to a child as lazy just because he isn’t walking? He is 20 now. My younger son started walking at 10 months, no bow legs. He’s now 13

29. Happy birthday Ego. May this year deliver your expectations and more.

30. IHN to de oh...

Hope everyone is having a rough day? Lol

31. Congratulations bv Ego, i love this traditional style of omugo.

32. Noring much this cool afternoon.... Just let us all be careful in all we do. Man o, Woman o, he that thinks he standeth right should take heed Lest he falls. E ke ne mu unu!!
    Happy birthday beautiful Ego, More celebration in good health and sound mind. Amen.
    Been a while... Hey ! Dude trust you are good.
    Yeye mi lova❤️❤️
    Pariiiii
    Surrogate mum ❤️❤️
    Every Every❤️❤️❤️
    Eehn, pls.... ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ™ My humble plea again. Still on the work issue.

1. Teacher mi lova. Can't love you enough❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

33. Beautiful narrative IJ, I enjoyed reading through ๐Ÿฅฐ

Happy birthday Gorgeous Ego, best wishes.

Every woman should be emotionally strong, have her own money and love with some eservation to avoid heart palpitations if things go awry.

Good afternoon

34. My daughter walked at a year and 5 months too. People didn't allow me rest. I thank God for the 2020 lockdown, it helped us get away from people who asked a lot of questions and give their unsolicited advice ๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„

Happy birthday Ego. You look so good at 40

35. Happy birthday Ego๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ๐ŸŽ‚
    Enjoy your day

36. Ijs gist about omugwo is so beautiful, I could just picture the whole thing. ๐Ÿ˜
    Happy birthday bv Ego. Many more joyful celebrations in Jesus name.

Bv Jeweluchi chocolate ๐Ÿซnoir more blessings always. The Lord is your strength and your salvation. Do not be afraid.

1. Foodie my lover ๐Ÿ˜˜

2. Hi sweetie how are you doing , thanks for the love I really appreciate it.

37. It's the Yuletide season ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿค”๐Ÿค”๐Ÿค”๐Ÿค” Good afternoon sweet people of SDK yard.

1. Yuletide kposhikposhi ๐Ÿ˜ good afternoon to you ๐Ÿ˜˜

38. Happy birthday Ego ,wishing you many more beautiful and remarkable years.

39. Yello and Hallo. Since some countries are in 2050 and some in 1950, today is Saturday for me and tomorrow is Tuesday... I can't shout.❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

40. Hello Alexa ❤❤ hope you're having a good day.

41. Happy birthday Ma'am Ego๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜
    More blessings to you๐Ÿ™

42. Happy birthday beautiful Ego๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

43. Happy birthday bv Ego. Age gracefully.