Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: ASUU Strike To Continue As Meeting With Nigerian Govt Ends In Deadlock...

Wednesday, August 17, 2022

ASUU Strike To Continue As Meeting With Nigerian Govt Ends In Deadlock...

The meeting between the federal government of Nigeria and the leadership of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), on Tuesday August 16, 2022 ended without an agreement.

As a result of this, the six-month old strike embarked on by public university lecturers is set to continue.

40 comments:

1. 2023 election is between APC and students. If una like make una no go vote better governance

2. Hnnmmm..... which way Naija?

3. Oluwa please take control,this is unfair.

1. So, so unfair. And their children are all schooling outside the country!

2. Jesu! Is it until all these children turn to 'omo wobe' before ASUU will do normal bayi nitori Olorun! 1 teenager finishing 1 derica of rice at a sitting! Eleyi ga o!

4. They should meet themselves halfway, this is not fair on the undergraduates.

5. I am still wondering what Tinubu wants to use in campaigning for election dat Buhari has not done before, Useless leaders

6. This our government what is going on?

7. I'm scared for the students,This could be depressing.

8. This is terrible, and we are buying cars for other countries. What a shame

9. I thought they settled it already

10. If you push for something and you don't get it why not give up. I don't understand, this Asuu Chairman is very stubborn. Students are in their houses feeling sad, Lecturers are hungry because of non payment of salaries and the so called President is still adamant. Is it Federal Government that their children graduates everyday from Foreign Universities and are taking their salaries and travelling allowances that you are punishing yourselves for? This is height of stubbornness please

1. Extremely stubborn. Government said come under IPPIS platform but you refused. Just suffering people's children for no justifiable reason.

2. Asineeh, at this point I don't like what Asuu is doing because people will die of hunger. What is all this?

3. They are not stubborn. What they are fighting for is justified. Have you taken time to listen to their grievances or the ASUU President? Nigerian government is the problem here not Asuu.

4. Thank you@anon13:28
      The government is not sincere with this assu issue.

5. If you are in a University environment, you will know that Asuu collect a lot of payments which they don't account to Government. Government pay them earn allowance every now and then apart from their salaries. The Lectures itself, if you don't pay for the child's tutorials she or he will definitely fail because they don't go for classes, what are they even talking about?

6. @Anonymous 15:58
      Please when posting in public platforms (whether in anonymous mode or using your real identity), always ensure you are dishing out verifiable facts and not exhibiting quintessential ignorance.
      1. How can ASUU members collect a lot of payments which they don't account to the Federal Government (according to you) when it is non-ASUU members (SSANU & NASU) that are in charge of financial transactions and accounts in the university.......you obviously do not know how the university system works.
      2. So all students that passed and successfully graduated from Federal Universities had to attend tutorials from their first year to their final year? It is so sad that you have failed to realize that it is not only ASUU but the four university unions that are on strike with similar reasons for the strike.
      3. If Government pays ASUU members (as well as members of other University unions) earned allowances (earned means they worked for it and it is not a free gift), I don't see why that should be an issue. As regards the "every now and then"......these allowances are usually paid after it has accumulated for several years (less than 30% of the overall amount owed is eventually paid to each university staff eligible for this payment.......I know this cuz I have carefully listened to leaders of university unions and government representatives ), so stop spreading false tales on social media.
      4. If you have taken time to listen to all government representatives, they have all clearly stated that the demands of the university unions are true & reasonable but they don't have money to fulfill these demands but you suddenly hear stories of how money is been looted or spent on several ridiculous non-existing projects.
      Lastly, it's high time we (the youths/students) wake up & realize that it's our destinies that is been destroyed.......we need to ensure that government and all university unions reach an agreement as soon as possible.

11. We that are besides school premises doing business don join suffer tire oo God please what you can't does not exist

12. Y will insecurity not increase in the country?when the youths are idle...which way Nigeria???

13. My brother's kid is just six and he already setting aside fund arrangements for her to study abroad. Naija don cast tey tey

14. God when? Oh naija my country

15. God when? Oh naija my country

16. My Nephew is getting frustrated by the day .
    I feel for the students at home

17. This is not fair, they should do something about this strike, why are they punishing the students ?

18. What is all this!,so unfair to students.
    Which way Nigeria?

19. It is well.... My baby girl was lamenting how her friends are already moving to their 2nd year in private universities . They have bastardized everything. It will surely come back to hunt them.
    Inconsiderate Mofos!! 😔

20. Better take your child to private university or send them to school in abroad if you have the money

21. Nigerian can NEVER change, it's unfortunate that most of us will still vote for Tinubu come 2023.