Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - ASUU Strike In Nigeria....

Thursday, August 25, 2022

Couch Convo - ASUU Strike In Nigeria....

Students in Federal Universities in Nigeria have been home for 6 months and there seems to be no hope in sight in the brouhaha involving the government and the lecturers....

While the Lecturers are on strike, JAMB is still conducting its business and there are also Students waiting to get into these run down Universities...

This will really mess up the system more cos the minute the lecturers call of their strike, they will quickly organise exams and quickly graduate students who are in their finals...

The University system in Nigeria is churning out half baked graduates....

Are you affected by the strike or you know someone who is? Tell them to go and learn a trade!

I dont see a solution to the strikes because if one is resolved now, the next Presidents (ASUU president and Nigerian President) will start another war....

I am a proud product of the UNIVERSITY OF BENIN (Which is the best University in Nigeria) but things don change!

What do you think?

30 comments:

1. This is not even funny at all. By now, my brother should have graduated but they have used strike to frustrate that.

Now we have to start spending good money on rent again whenever they decide to call it off after not spending up to 8 months on the rent paid previously.

Govt should give ASUU what they want na or is it only bandits they pay?

1. So sad. I didn't even know strike was looming. After my coursework, I just told my landlord that I'm moving out. I'm not renewing my rent. I had to squad with someone in the hostel for the time been, then Asuu strike started. By now I'll have been thinking of starting my lab work, but till this day I've not even done proposal.

2. My sister should to hv graduated in uniben but since covid started she is still in 300l

2. Nothing to do again than to keep praying for God’s intervention.. This Country has failed us already.

3. If you are student at home. Look up Alx. It’s a tech internship program that can help you acquire tech skills for free. Beginner friendly.

All You need is a laptop and lots of data and time commitment of about 70hrs weekly. Looks like a lot but would be well worth it

4. This is frustrating o..

5. Education and insecurities needs improvement in our country.Our Government should to do more.

6. Honestly, this ASSU issue is becoming worrisome. The most annoying part of it is that our leaders don't seem to bother much because most of them have their kids schooling overseas. I sincerely feel for students who are affected by this strike.

7. Because I am directly affected by this, I know and feel the pains. My baby girl ahs been learning stuffs and just recently got a little job to support herself incase. While the strike was lingering we got txt messages to renew her hostel accomodation just imagine!! She only attended lectures for 2weeks then Boom !!!! Strike. Some of her set are still in the process of registration, some still awaiting their names to appear on the list but Jamb has churned out another set . Where do we truly go from here? These are the same people that enjoyed Tuition free University and all. I weep for this country.
    If i had the means God knows she wont even pass thr this nonsense, but It Is Well !!!!!!!!
    End of RANT.

8. They said they recovered some million of dollars looted from Abacha's regime, why not use that settle ASUU, abi they want to do the usual ni

1. I swear, they want to use the recovered loot to commence two projects but asuu has been striking for months,the people ruling the country are very useless

9. All I can do is to pray...cos am tired of a country that it's leaders seem to be clueless.this is so pathetic.am also proud to be a graduate of great uniben(Ekenwa campus),gbosa! gbosa!! gbosa!!!

1. Ugbowo campus here. 2008 set.

10. I'm honestly speechless about this ASSU strike.The worst part is there's no hope yet about suspending it.
    Like Stellz said,They should go learn a trade,Some of us that still got the certificate are still surviving from trade.May God come through for Nigeria.

11. Its a really pathetic situation 😒, if one have money,private varsity to the rescue.

12. Calling off the strike is not only the pending issue.
    What of insecurity the high rate of kidnapping and banditry. What happens when the strike is called off and they have to go back to the school? The roads are not safe . Then they are exposed to these evil men. My sister is in her final year in Kastina and I am so worried with all the wahala we hear.

13. We are in God's hands o, I'm suppose to go for my NYSC but due to the strike,no clearance ongoing in school.

14. It's really annoying
    Me that is suppose to have finish my clearance and collected my cerficate is still awaiting NYSC

15. Youths are gradually going to learn trades. God help us in the country.

16. This government has turned my younger brother to old Papa for school. I regret not advising him to process my school then as my school doesn't go on strike. Instead of year 4 he is still in year 2 now. May God will judge these wicked leaders, I swear

17. This strike is really frustrating, yesterday I was still saying I think I’m depressed. Staying at home doing nothing, tried looking for a job, or no avail. I’m learning Data analysis using cousera...although getting money for data for the courses is hard.
    Everything is just frustrating me
    I feel defeated.

18. Is better for many of them to learn some skils , despite the strike JAMB keep on conducting exams , this country hmmmm

19. I'm in the list of those waiting for transcript to Jappa, but the academics and non Academics staff of my school is on strike, just hoping on God for the strike to be suspended so I won't miss this golden opportunity.

20. My younger brother that supposed to be in 400L is still in 200L, I'm tired on his behalf.

21. God help us o. My son will be in ss3 when they resume and us already saying he doesn't want to go to govt University because of ASU strike. Students who did last year JAMB are still at home, thus yr too is there while he will write next yr.. He wants to go to private university or abroad . I told him to pray as me also believe in miracle. Na make baba God change our level before that time.

God please hear our prayer make ASUU strike no depress person picking.

22. 😭😭😭😭😭

23. You all go learn a trade while waiting cos you can use that to make small pocket money even while in school. Ko easy everywhere

24. I feel for these students. Had to take in about 3 pharmacy students, so they could learn during this period. It's been a trying time for them. I pray something is done about it.

25. It’s not funny o. Hubby and I are just comfortable but had to take the decision to send our child to a private uni cos of all this asuu wahala. It’s not easy at all. Quite expensive but still better than federal. If not for how useless the system is Shebi we would have put him in a federal u I??