Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CBN Orders Banks To Begin Over The Counter Payment Of New Naira Notes

Friday, February 03, 2023

CBN Orders Banks To Begin Over The Counter Payment Of New Naira Notes

The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) through Osita Nwanisobi, Director, Corporate communications on Thursday February 2, 2023 ordered commercial banks to begin the payment of the new naira notes to customers over the counter.
Nwanisobi said the maximum daily payout limit is N20,000 only.

He said...

“In line with this resolve, the Governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele, has directed deposit money banks (DMBs) to commence the payment of the redesigned Naira notes over the counter, subject to a maximum daily payout limit of N20,000,” the statement added.
from daily post

18 comments:

1. Iffa hear say dem dey pay on counter.

2. #20,000 daily payout limit?

🎵Nigeria go survive, Africa go survive, my people go survive ooo, Nigeria go survive 🎶

1. Banks are not paying more than 2K over the counter

3. At least it would reduce this pos people at the atm. The rate at which these set of people delay at the ATM is crazy. One person can stay 30mins at the cash point with no remorse.

4. Will the bank hear? They do what pleases them.

5. Nah! This will endanger the bankers. Irate customers will get violent when they are not given the new money. Already, they are violent outside at the ATM, what do you think will happen when they are face to face with the human being telling them there is no money? The frustration is real.

6. From 100k to 20k maximum daily, abeg how will pos business succeed with this kind of policy.

1. The POS guys are partly responsible for this decision. They have turned the whole thing to a money making venture.

7. #20,000 max limit for a day is ridiculous.

1. But you ppl here said that the cash is only needed for small small veggies, to pay petty traders that dont have pos, every other person should accept transfer, that is the whole point of the policy, minimal cash at hand, the rest should be wired.

8. For people that spend 20k per day. Me I don't, so I can manage.

9. Bankers, especially tellers are the ones smiling now.

10. I'm beginning to think that central bank is being run by clowns.

Or the Inmates of the asylum are running the bank.

Whatever the case, dem dey craze.

11. @Amethyst....you are right

12. Make Dem wait small na. Sebi Nigerians love suffering? They done see the one wey pass them. Give them N5k, they will still vote in the deadwood oppressors. May this suffering raised to the power 10 continue.