Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka Reacts To LP VP Candidate Datti's Controversial TV Interview

Thursday, April 06, 2023

Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka Reacts To LP VP Candidate Datti's Controversial TV Interview

Nobel Laureate Prof Wole Soyinka has said the comments of the Labour Party Vice Presidential Candidate Datti Baba-Ahmed on Channels Television are fascistic, unacceptable and alienates supporters.

In an interview a week ago, Senator Babe-Ahmed said the decision of the Supreme Court must be favourable to the Labour Party.

He also stated that swearing in the President-elect, Bola Ahmed Tinubu would truncate Nigeria’s democracy.
His comments have continued to generate controversy, leading to a Five Million Naira fine on Channels Television by the National Broadcasting Commission.
Adding his voice to the issue in an interview on Arise Television, Soyinka said any jury would give a verdict against Datti Baba-Ahmed because his comments crossed the line of what is permissible in democracy.

“Datti keeps saying no, the Supreme Court, in its decision, must agree with his. That is what has been known as a fascistic language. It is not acceptable. For me, it alienates people, even supporters. I know this for a fact”, he stated.

from daily post

42 comments:

1. In other climes - Professors 👩‍🏫 seat at Ivory towers of knowledge leading cutting edge research 🔬 to develop Next gen people, technologies, solutions to help society!

In Nigeria 🇳🇬 they sell handouts in Universities and then spend ALL their time to hover around Politics and Politicians. Collating/announcing fake results + supporting drug lords.

Nigerian Professors Must redeem themselves.

1. When Buhari was defeated 8 years ago he said that Baboons and monkeys will swim in blood if he didn't get his mandate back, there was heavy chaos following the statement, it was side lined, MC Oluomo threatened Nigerians that he will deal with Igbos during the just concluded election if they came out to vote, he carried out the threat to the later nothing happended to him. FFK and Festus Kayamo has been threatening fire and brimstone on the LP members, Soyinka did not budge. The just concluded election was marred with heavy robbing as in rigging , disenfranchisement, beating of electorates , even diabolic and fetish items were dropped to stop people from voting. In all these all what is giving our Nobel Laurent winner is a headache is that Obi has gone to court to reclaim his mandate. That is the kind of elders we have in Nigeria, were 'belle' face

2. Y'all only applaud one when the whole situation favours you right?
      I appreciate him for saying the truth and it's not even about tribal sentiments now

3. He has out performed his peers in academia and in these climes you claim without evidence, professors are very much at the fore of national discourse. This same man was imprisoned for his support for the Biafraan state but unreading airheads have not read The Man Died so it's all Obi for them or noise. The more you see them unravel, especially since coming a distant third in the elections, the more you are thankful a struggling nation dodged this particular bullet of their mob rule. .

2. I hope there wouldn't be riot in Naija because of this issue.

3. Wole Soyinka calling the Obidients ‘Fascists’ is part of the plan. Their grand plan is to demarket Peter Obi internationally. They unleashed Lai Mohammed in stage 2. Expect more from international press. But we are ready to counter all their agenda!

IT’S AN ALL OUT MEDIA WAR! 🧨

4. I'm not even disappointed at Soyinka. He has always being a biased individual from time immemorial.

This is a man who lost his voice when Femi Fani Kayode, Onuaga, Keyamo and Mc Oluomo were inciting violence on the Obident people in Lagos and other part of Nigeria .

There are so many things I would have loved to say right now to Wole Soyinka but, what's the essence? It will be lost on him anyway.

5. What Reno is doing fanning ethnic and religious division is permissible in democracy right?

What about the threat by MC oluomo and his thugs.. and how they went about shooting Igbos the next day after gubernatorial election in Lagos,. That's permissible in democracy right?

You go leave the root of issue dey blame the reaction..

You must be very CORNfused

1. If this is all what being a Professor in Nigeria entails, I will never choose to be one.

So shameful.

A man who protested during Jonathan's administration but when worse happened under Buhari's tenure, he was no where to be found.

Suddenly, he found his voice again. He never spoke in condemnation on all the months ASUU was in strike.

Coward!

2. He's not confused anything and I absolutely love what he's on about
      Stay being pressed big time
      😂🤣😹

6. It’s a shame a doyen of knowledge like Wole Soyinka would decide to “choose” what democracy really entails. Mr Soyinka, why did you not comment on the blatant disregard for democracy Tinubu and his cohorts displayed for the whole world to see? You just lost my respect for you. Sycophant!!!

7. This same man that called me Patience Jonathan a “shepopotamus”?
    This man that shoved Buhari down our throats and criticized Jonathan’s regime but sudden lost his voice when the economy has been in shambles and the kidnappers having a filled day???
    This man who had sore throat when the APC thugs were harassing and suppressing voters during the just concluded Yakubu shamble of an election???
    But now that the people have had enough and and are demanding for a good government he has sudden found his voice!!!

You are saying rubbish Sir!
    Old age is not wisdom and big grammar is not intelligence!

8. You ambushed a radio station in past and called Jonathan and his wife all sorts of names but can’t stand it when people demand for justice in court and good governance???
    Sit this one out!

I blame Jonathan for not giving you people fire for fire back then, because he was “calm” you people frustrated him.
    Ever since you attended that 800m dinner in porthacourt I no rate you again. We all know you’re working for the agbado master. Bring out your corn and eat it openly!

Ndisime!

9. Wole Soyinka was one of those people that foisted Buhari on us. He criticized GEJ so much and even likened him to King Nebuchadnezzar. He also allegedly called his wife Hippotamus in 2013. When they try to gag you with respect our elders, show them this tweet.

1. Condemning Goodluck's ineptitude is not the same as foisting Buhari on you. This is the same way you wailed when Buhari won in 2015. You have refused to adopt basic tenets of democracy and would rather wage religious wars or beckon to the army. People who think this way suffer from a victim complex. Yes Daddy mentality.

10. The internet NEVER forgets!

Watch the then VP candidate of APC,
    Yemi Osinbajo in Washington 2015 - “We have said and our Party the APC has Said, if this coming elections is stolen or rigged, WE WILL FORM A PARALLEL GOVERNMENT in Nigeria 🇳🇬”.

Note : President Goodluck Jonathan @GEJonathan did not arrest him or any other APC members who were openly committing treason!

Fast forward to Today 2023! APC the current government in power has not only Brazenly Rigged the 2023 Election 🗳️ , they also committed heinous crimes while doing the rigging!
    Yet @PeterObi has not made any such statements, Infact he has called for his supporters to remain “calm and law abiding and he has filed his petition at the tribunal”, but A current Federal Minister in the Same APC Government went to Washington DC to FALSELY accuse an innocent #PeterObi of TREASON!

Lia Mohammed should be arrested! For False Accusations of this Magnitude! APC think they are Mad, But they don’t have the monopoly of Madness.

11. Wole Soyinka Hijacked a Radio Station in the 60s

Wole Soyinka Advocated Guerrilla Warfare in the Late 90s

Calling Datti a Fascist is a bit Rich & Hypocritical I must say.

Wole Soyinka -the man who promised to tear his US green card if trump wins and never did- has lost RELEVANCE.

He should rest and remain QUIET.

12. Prof we knew were you belong, the more reason you were quite all this while.

13. Every single day here, FFK come up here to throw the most despicable and unprintable words to castigate Obidients here. I’m yet to see one of those “elders” going head on with him.

14. In Nigeria, it's either a Professor rigging election or they are in support of the election riggers.

15. Just too sad to see someone that fought Akintola in his early 30’s went mute under Buhari administration and crawl back to accuse youths that came out peacefully to defend their civil right a mob… Agbado growing all over his grey hair.🤮🤮🤮

16. That's why whenever ASUU strike, government no dey take them seriously. Some of them can be bought when the need arises. When those who are supposed to be role models leading exemplarily are themselves an embodiment of all sorts of vice, where is the larger society headed?

17. Soon the title "Prof" in Nigeria would be irrelevant. People shouldn’t be paying attention to those titles…….they are not true test of any character.

18. Mr professor, you have suddenly found your voice. When mc oluomo threatened the Igbos and LP supporters in Lagos , you remained deaf and dumb.
    When APC thugs where attacking Igbos and LP supporters at polling unit, you intentionally remained mouth muted.
    When the video of Tinubu was in circulation where he said "snatch the ballot box and run " you choose to ignore.

When APC and yorubas where playing the tribal card and attacking the Igbos, you were asleep and had no knowledge about it.
    Now all of a sudden you have waken up from your slumber.
    Agadi na agwo ofe. Ara gbachikwa gi anya there.

19. Where belle face.

1. Obidients were called out before the elections as FASCISTS even by some of us as they abused and silenced anybody that dared ask questions about PO. I stopped supporting him before the election because the supporters lived up to their robotic names. I had no candidate but Sowore who stood no chance so I kept mute. I watched PO supporters abuse Femi Kuti, late Feka and disrespect anyone who dared say anything in support of anyone else or agaivst Saint Obi. I was stunned. Many kept quiet & went underground while “TundeNut” deceived you guys after cashing in that he was going to win. If you silence opposing voices, you can measure your opponents strength accurately. It is wrong for Datti to dictate or attempt to dictate the supreme court’s ruling. The problem with many PO vocal SM supporters is that they are half enlightened. Tvey are rude, impolite but loud and not deep. Cursing Toyin the actress and her kids and everyone who dared support anyone was a dumb thing. PO had a grip initially & went to Femi Kuti with Charky Boy to control the danage by his “spare parts online gang” but they are as much thugs as MC and started immediately on the streets of SM. Many former PO supporters were genuinely afraid that if you couldn’t talk before he was elected without curses & insults, maybe it will be North Korea if he got elected. Believe it or not, the display of uncouthness by some of his supporters cost him votes of even die hard Christians. You guys can’t deny that videos of his opponent were manipulated to make him seem worse than he was while anyone and everyone was no longer free on SM. Now Soyinka the “Biafran” of Nigerian statesmen (he was jailed for supporting Biafra) is the one to abuse? I even saw where they abused Falz’s dad Femi Falana because he answered a legal question in a manner they didn’t like! Really? Aggression and lack of interpersonal skills can only get anyone or group so far! Continue!

Disrespectful half educated ignoramuses abusing 88 year old Nobel Laurare Prof Soyinka as if he should continue to fight for them to reap where they didn’t sow. This was a man who was imprisoned for supporting Biafra in his youths (the 60s). Now he is being dragged by semi illiterate bums who won’t try half as much as he has been doing since to get a better Nigeria without making money off the treasury like their “messiah” who can do no wrong but who made money off the state unlike Soyinka.

This 88 year old man flies economy, lives in Abeokuta, managing the $1m he won from the Nobel committee while those you hail with their “poverty mentality of greed” ripped off the poor. He should fight for you like Falz, Macaroni, Dele Farotimi and folks of the ethnic group you abuse while Psquare cash out with new “cribs” in ATL & London after saying “Obi no dey give shi shi”! Really! Most civil rights fights have always been by the SW for the rest of the country. You abuse them, alienate them, “own” your candidate while expecting them to risk jail for you? Ok

If you don’t like Prof Soyinka’s opinion turn off your device. He has earned the right more than your “looter saviour” politicians to speak his mind on Nigeria & even global issues. With the mindset displayed by most Nigerian youths on SM, they have a long way to go. Abusing an 88 year old man with a long history of fighting for a better country since his youth?

2. 18:45, God bless you. The PO mob have strong jihadist vibes and I'm forever thankful I didn't fall for it. Bigoted elements parading as lovers of people. Post elections, Datti's comments on channels was all the confirmation any thinking person would need before the Yes Daddy tape was leaked. From Buhari to Kim Jung UN it would have been. Thank God the opposition ate itself up.

3. well said.

20. Is Wole Soyinka a typicalNigerian Professor in term of experience and outlook on life? Judging by many comments here, he typifies Nigerian Professor. Somebody that has being plying his trade outside Nigerian since 1960s is now a typical Nigeria Professor. Ignorant is a disease.

1. Your IGNORANCE is the bigger disease😂

2. Anon 13:28 leave them in their bitterness. They were not born when Soyinka was jailed for years for supporting Biafra, wasting some of his life for ingrates with zero respect for elders! Soyinka the novelist is niw “anywhere belle face “? May God forgive these ignorant money miss roads who think importation of substandard with scarce forex is the backbone of any economy!

21. What a shame! What a waste!

22. This one lost his credibility a long time ago.

23. At Ujunwa.
    How am I ignorant biko? That Professor Wole Soyinka can't be termed a typical Nigeria Professor because he was neither trained nor work in Nigeria.

24. See them, Igbos who don't know their right hands from their left hands. The same Soyinka supported Igbos during the civil war and was imprisoned because of your fathers. Useless people

25. The Soyinka you ethnic bigots are raining abuses on at his age of 88years is the one who said “ Nobel Laureate, Prof. Wole Soyinka, has advocated for the presidency to go to the southeast region to heal from the wounds of the civil war. Speaking in an interview on Channels Television on Monday, Soyinka suggested that the presidency going to the southeast will help to “rewrite the history.”
    He said: “It is not just about reconstruction, it is also about rewriting of history.
    “We believe that to close the circle of negativity that we have embarked on before and during the civil war, I believe, the presidency, as soon as possible, should go towards the eastern region which lost a war.
    “This is one of the ways to heal the wounds of the nation – that is a principle and philosophy.”

The Nobel Laureate said none of the leading presidential candidates in the just-concluded polls provided a believable agenda for restructuring, hence, he did not endorse anyone. “In fact, one of the reasons I refused to endorse any candidate is because none of the candidates addressed the things closest to my heart, like again, reconstructing the nation.
    “I did not see any genuine commitment, any believable agenda about restructuring, decentralization of Nigeria which is at the heart of the problem for me at the moment.

“People were more concerned with just aiming for power.”…., I did not make this up. Some are becoming a nuisance at this point , those tribalists always eager to abuse those on their side should lay off this last breed of statesmen in Nigeria!

1. Don't mind this dangerous mob. Their own cancel culture is what will cancel them out.

26. Respectfully sir STFU

27. Prof of cash ad carry . Money don enter this one account Grammar don dey com out prof didnot vote he was out of country .he doesn't have voters card. If money can buy inec as insuttion who is prof that last wrote book since generation ago . go challenge inec chairman on debate leave Nigeria youths alone .. most elites benefits from Nigeria rot look how they all fighting back