Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senate Rejects President Tinubu's Request To Deploy Troops To Niger

Sunday, August 06, 2023

Senate Rejects President Tinubu's Request To Deploy Troops To Niger

The Senate has asked the Chairman of the Economic Community of West African States, ECOWAS and other leaders of the region to tread softly in addressing the political quagmire in Niger Republic.

Rising from a closed-door session that lasted close to two hours to discuss the letter written to the Senate on Friday by President Bola Tinubu on the decisions taken by the regional body, the Senate asked ECOWAS to strengthen political and diplomatic options and other means to resolve the political compass in the Niger Republic.
The Senate while condemning the Niger coup in totality, commended the chairman, President Bola Tinubu and other Heads of State of the other States of ECOWAS for their prompt response and the positions taken on the unfortunate development in Niger Republic.

Reading the resolutions of the Senators after the meeting, the President of the Senate, Senator Godswill Akpabio said that “the Senate recognizes that President Tinubu via his correspondence has not asked for the approval of the parliament of this Senate to go to war as erroneously suggested in some quarters.

“Rather Mr President has expressed a wish to respectfully solicit the support of the National Assembly in the successful implementation of the resolutions of the ECOWAS as outlined in the said communication.

“The Senate calls on the president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as the chairman of ECOWAS to further encourage other leaders of ECOWAS to strengthen political and diplomatic options and other means intending to resolve the political compass in Niger Republic.

“The National Assembly to the ECOWAS under the leadership of President Tinubu in resolving the political situation in Niger and returning the country to democratic governance in the nearest future.

“The leadership of the Senate is mandated to further engage with the president and commander in chief with on behalf of the Senate and the entire National Assembly on how best to resolve the issue given the hitherto existing cordial relationship between Nigerieans and Nigerians.

“Finally, the Senate calls on the ECOWAS parliament to rise to the occasion by equally condemning this coup and also positing solutions to resolving this compass as soon as possible.”

From Vanguard

14 comments:

1. Great one and a welcome development.

ECOWAS should persuade the President of Cameroon to relinquish power. He has been in office over 40yrs now. The UN, US, France, ECOWAS and AU are all blind sighted now but when coup happen in Cameroon now, they will all crawl out from their holes and hiding.

1. Teejay,

But these are some of the same international community that you always sing songs of praise about when they are against a Nigerian government that you don't like.

Your comments are always all over the place.

2. Iam glad they criticized the government for the maladroit way of handling this crisis, sending troops is not the solution, we have our own security challenge in the north east.

3. Pray for me dear Stella and bvs, cos I live in Niamey, alot of us Igbos and Nigerians are here. Nigeriens won't hesitate to finish us up if Nigerian solders deployed here.

1. Nothing will happen to you but then, monitor the situation and know when to shift when signal start pointing towards danger..

2. If you like don't come back now that you can then go back when things normalize, stay there and be looking for who will pray for you, I strongly believe you are the same with anon 10:18 and 10:22.

3. "alot of us Igbos and Nigerians".....

Since you put it this way, I'll suggest that you go to where igbos are and please tell your Nigerian friends to come home to Nigeria.

Sigh!

4. & today is the deadline, I couldn't sleep since last night, my mum has 🐝 crying since last week begging me to come back. But I didn't, I hope I won't cry had I known at last heeeeiiiii God see me ooo

1. Don't come back o. Stay there let them finish you rubbish

2. You better come back now that you can, faith (prayer) without work is dead.

5. BREAKING: Rubber Stamp Nigeria Senate rejected Tinubu’s request to invade Niger Republic. This will probably be their first & only patriotic act. But kudos to Northern Nigeria Senators Forum for kicking against the move to invade Niger, they understood the dangers & the implications ahead

ECOWAS sudden change of course is an indictment on the regional body. It exposed the leaders in West Africa, & their lack of deep thinking. Their abrupt change of course after having initially threatened Niger, has undermined the credibility of the ECOWAS as an incompetent bloc.

This could lead to lack of morale among their troops, a loss of confidence among the member states, & their international backers. The ECOWAS will find it increasingly difficult to assert its authority on the region going forward. They misread the situation because of one man.

Sustaining a military campaign in a foreign soil is not “subsidy is gone!” His showmanship & knee-jerk utterances exposed his lack of tact, foresight, insight, & hindsight. He wasn’t prepared for governance. Replacing Maryam Shetty with that “charge & bail” at the last minute is another example.

Threatening a Sovereign Nation with a military strike is not something a leader should open his mouth & say, just like that! You are not the leader of the “Free World,” not by any stretch. Tinubu has dealt further blow to Nigeria’s Image Abroad. He shot without aiming at the target.

Adopting the "push am, e go start” street attitude towards governance, will get Tinubu nowhere. Do away with the hubris or the conceited public façade. People can see through your emptiness. “Hit the ground running” don’t mean you should become hotheaded & unyielding.

With Peter Obi, Nigeria will not only flourish like she did 20 years ago, she’ll have the legitimacy & soft power in West Africa, perhaps more. Right now? Nigeria lacks the soft power to wield any kind of command in the bloc. It is why Niger called his bluff.

The Kremlin thought they will capture Kiev within days. Putin convinced himself that Ukraine was a walk in the park. This is even worse when you realize that the president of Ukraine was never a solider, a KGB nor a spy. He was a bloody comedian. The war in Ukraine is 18 months & counting.

Russia is a major weapons manufacturer & a superpower. Putin was KGB for 16 years, he was a Lieutenant Colonel. Russia has one of the most elite forces in the world. But Russia cannot defeat Ukraine led by a bloody comedian. There are no guarantees in war situation, NONE! Nigeria should know better.

America deployed 500,000 boots + logistics to South Vietnam, & still left with tails between their legs. Why? because of China, the Soviets, & the ‘will’ of North Vietnamese. Imagine charging into Niger that enjoys the full support of Nigeriens, Mali, Burkina Faso, Guinea & Russia?

“Jaw-jaw is better than war-war.”

Will Africans actually kill one another, just so their colonizers can continue to loot their resources? Who is the problem child here? Who is the aggressor? You wonder why the world have no respect for Africans. It is because of actions like this.

Do you think that China & North Korea are going to miss the chance to join any cause with the potential of doing the French & America one better? The Proxy War won’t be fought by Africans alone. It’ll have an international dimension, or scores to settle.

Do you have what it takes to sustain an all out military campaign in a foreign soil? Why go to a proxy war you don’t control its variables, its outcome & the war propaganda? TO WHAT END? Water will always find its level. A part of me still want the war, so that Africa can move forward!

The ECOWAS bloc should take the L. Concentrate on deepening the democracy in West Africa. Power flows from your People. Your authority is what they say it is! You have your economies on its knees. So fix your individual states. Then you can have the legitimacy to flex your muscles.

Hopefully, these unfortunate events are over.

1. Anon 10.21 see me reading and nodding my head in agreement. Thanks for this.

6. We Nigerians even went to the assembly in Niamey yesterday to protest & to let nigeriens know that we are not in support of tinubu ooooooo. Should anything go wrong let them not use us as sacrificial lamb ooooooo...

7. Very very good
    For the first time ever, they made a good decision