Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Remands EX CBN Gov Godwin Emefiele in Prison

Friday, November 17, 2023

Court Remands EX CBN Gov Godwin Emefiele in Prison

Former Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, Godwin Ifeanyi Emefiele, was finally arraigned on corruption charges by the Federal Government on Friday at the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory.

Emefiele, dressed in blue Guinea Brocade babaringa with a Hausa cap to match, was brought to court for arraignment by his lead counsel Mathew Burkaa, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, SAN, in compliance with an order of court.

The former apex bank head, who was accused of conferring corruption advantages on a staff of CBN, Mrs Saadat Ramalan Yaro, through awards of various contracts, however, denied the six count charges.

A Senior Advocate of Nigeria SAN, Rotimi Oyedepo, led the legal team of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, which is prosecuting the defendant on behalf of the Federal Government.
At the time of this report, a fierce legal battle was ongoing on the request for Emefiele’s bail pending his trial.
Justice Hamza Muazu is expected to make a ruling on the bail request.

24 comments:

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ chai how the mighty has fallen.. By the time dem don drag drag dis man eh him go lean pass bonga fish

1. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣 let him feel what he put us through. Where are his syndicates? They should better arraign all of them

2. Dear Current CBN governor, please take note of how your predecessor is treated after resignation. There is a saying that the cane that was used to flog the first wife will still touch the second wife.

2. Please keep dragging him left, right and centre.

God bless.

3. Enjoy your persecution πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

1. For what? Only in Nigeria is someone guilty without trial. I believe in law and order but unfortunately we only have kangaroo law in Nigeria

5. He has changed so much. They have abandoned him. Buhari where are you?

6. Mscheeeeeew 🚢🚢🚢🚢🚢

7. He looks so Different

What about the Authority he took orders from ?

Life

1. Funny thing is he may have been the one who suggested the stupid idea to buhari. Buhari no sabi anything. His brain could not have thought in that direction.

8. God of vengeance, continue to fight for usπŸ™

1. It is time for him to begin to dance to the tune of his music, 🎡😁 chai Oluwa oh

9. Replies
    1. The boss is in his house where bosses relax after finding the desperado useful for the task at the time.

Eni ti won fi Ori e fo agbon...

10. Emefiemere..... Nigerians will never forget him lailai

11. He has changed,I can never pity this man

12. This is just the beginning for you. Wicked heartless man

1. He was following orders from Above.

2. He had the option to resign and didn't @CEO Empress.
      No pity from my end.

13. Na ds e condition make one of e mistress no make noise for e birthday ds year. E fir tension us with Dollars & Azul. How are d mighty fallen.! Feel for him though, he’s not d only one , where are d rest ?

14. I hope he remembered to take that his massive bible along to pose for the cameras.