Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Zookeeper Killed By Lion Was Reportedly Attempting To Rescue Colleague Attacked By The Lion...

Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Zookeeper Killed By Lion Was Reportedly Attempting To Rescue Colleague Attacked By The Lion...

Olabode Olawuyi, the zookeeper mauled to death by a 9-year-old lion at the zoological garden of the Obafemi Awolowo University, OAU, Ile-Ife, Osun State was attempting to rescue a female colleague from the beast. This was revealed by Wole Odewumi, the Chairman of the OAU branch of the National Association of Non-Academic Staff of Universities, NASU, on Tuesday.

Odewumi, who was chatting with journalists, also revealed that the zoological garden has been shut down by the management of the institution.

The OAU management had through a statement by its spokesperson, Abiodun Olarewaju confirmed on Monday that Olawuyi was mauled to death by a male lion.
Olanrewaju, also explained that members of staff who were at the scene of the incident did everything within their power to rescue the deceased, but could not, as the animal held him.

“The veterinary technologist was attacked by the lion while he was attempting to free a woman, who was first attacked by the lion.
“I spoke to some of his colleagues, and they told me what happened. The lion attacked a woman first. The woman is also a staff member working at the zoo.
“The deceased intervened to free the woman from the lion. He must have assumed that the lion would recognise him. His intervention to free the woman must have infuriated the animal. The lion left the woman and attacked him squarely,-
He said that Olawuyi died on transit before getting medical help.
“After he was freed from the lion’s grip, they rushed him to the health centre on campus here. He however died before he got there.
“But the second person that was attacked, a woman, is still on admission receiving treatment presently,” he added.

17 comments:

1. Very sad news. Atimes,I think Nigerians deserve whatever they're passing through. I saw this sad news yesterday and some people are making jest of the dead man ,no emphathy at all

2. I read this yesterday and I was moody. Me ehn,no matter the amount you want to pay me, their are some jobs I can't take up.

Wild animals will always be wild, no matter how much you take it. The blood of been a wicked animal is always present in them.

Rest in peace sir.

Another thing, this man will be forgotten so soon and his children will never be attended to.

It's a pity

3. I cannot imagine his last moments with the lion very sad.

4. Really sad, may his soul rest in peace

5. Very unfortunate incident 😭

6. How do people do this kind of job in this country? May his soul rest in peace

7. So unfortunate, the woman will live with the guilt of someone dying to save her

8. He sacrificed his Life for his Colleague.

Nigerian Zoo Owners should do better and make adequate provisions (Foods) for the wild Animal being kept in Captivity.
    I believe that if the Animal was well fed, it won’t kill the Human

May his Soul Rest In Peace

9. Can the so call spokesman speak sense at least.....
    The lion and the workers are they all freely roaming?
    Did the lion break cage?
    Did the woman or the it killed go into his cage?
    How did the cdirect ontact happen to e ven lead to death?

10. I just hope he had a solid life insurance policy for the sake of his immediate family. He was trying to do a noble thing.

This is a serious lesson for unions, employers, government and employees alike. Dangerous jobs should be mandated to insure it's staff for life and income protection in case of injury or other risks.

11. How did the woman get into the Lions den? Is she a staff or was she assigned to work close to the Lions den? Whats the technic used in feeding the lions? Questions need to be asked. The story no clear...