...Or do women still make these hairstyles? fake hair has taken over---
Friday, May 16, 2025
36 comments:
Some people, especially children still make some of the hair styles.
ReplyDeleteNice throwback photos...I am seriously considering doing packing thread hairstyle with real owu ๐๐
DeleteYes, they do. Some use wool now.
DeleteAdunni
maami beat me shege for using her hair wool to fly kite..dos days u be toast of the town if u get those hair wools..
DeleteJusty not just kids ooh, most of us in the north still make our hair.
DeleteBeautiful natural hairstyles
ReplyDeleteThe last one used to be my best
ReplyDeleteKoroba/ basket ๐งบ style
DeleteAdunni
Oh, koroba? I only know it as basket
DeleteThe last one and the fourth one used to be my best.
ReplyDeleteThere are people who still rock them, I can even rock some, some of the styles are so fine and unique, asides from those long thread hair styles o๐.
ReplyDeletesome persons still makes some of the hair styles up there.
ReplyDeleteLow cut is the sure bet.
The thread hairstyles, are natural hair straightening technique
ReplyDeletePeople still make some though.
ReplyDeleteI did number 13 last month. I don't use wig. I like my natural hair. It's called didi ologede in Yoruba.
ReplyDeleteSome are still existing
ReplyDeleteBeautiful hairstyles
ReplyDeleteSome people still make some of the styles.
ReplyDeleteThe third hairstyle by the left, I still make it sometimes. For simple looks
ReplyDeleteAhhh, I’m glad please. Threading my hair gave me headaches and sleepless nights for days. ๐
ReplyDeleteI'm carrying number 13, banana ๐ shuku
ReplyDeleteSome of us cant make this hairstyles because no edges
ReplyDeleteWig do chop all the edges , lol
DeleteThe last one my favourite in Primary school ๐
ReplyDeleteSome of the thread styles, I see them in my mum's old skool pics, very lovely ๐
Adunni
My daughter still make some of these hairstyles
ReplyDeleteThose that sell braided wigs are making some of the above styles now, they said it is for deeper life and chosen members.
ReplyDeleteBeautiful throwback hairstyles.
ReplyDeleteKai thread is so painful abeg.
They still make those twohand styles.
Some are still existing. Some of the hairstyles are still being made in the southwest and southeast and some in the villages
ReplyDeleteInnovation took over
ReplyDeleteBack In The Days.
ReplyDeleteKoroba is Still invoke oo..
Omo !!
ReplyDeleteAfter making these styles you now bend your neck one side like vulture
In the 70s, the names we had for such styles were koroba, banana, 2nd all african games, third all african games, panumo, kojusoko, national theatre. Those were the days. Nigeria was good then o. We were not rich but we were very content and kind for the most part to one another.
ReplyDeleteAwwww....dearie those were fine days ๐คฉ
DeleteHairstyles we did during primary school...shuku, ipako elede, kolese, boys follow me, Evelyn king, muritala cap, sade adu. Funny names ๐
Adunni
I still make the last one for my girls
ReplyDeleteThe only hairstyles I can make among them now are shuku and koroba, though it's been long I made them.
ReplyDeleteThe thread styles showed me shege banza, I can never do it again.
Let .me add police cap and patawo. I rock shuku more often than wigs