Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: African Hairdo That No Longer Exist

Friday, May 16, 2025

African Hairdo That No Longer Exist

...Or do women still make these hairstyles? fake hair has taken over---

36 comments:

1. Some people, especially children still make some of the hair styles.

1. Nice throwback photos...I am seriously considering doing packing thread hairstyle with real owu ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

2. Yes, they do. Some use wool now.
      Adunni

3. maami beat me shege for using her hair wool to fly kite..dos days u be toast of the town if u get those hair wools..

4. Justy not just kids ooh, most of us in the north still make our hair.

2. Beautiful natural hairstyles

3. The last one used to be my best

1. Koroba/ basket ๐Ÿงบ style
      Adunni

2. Oh, koroba? I only know it as basket

4. The last one and the fourth one used to be my best.

5. There are people who still rock them, I can even rock some, some of the styles are so fine and unique, asides from those long thread hair styles o๐Ÿ˜.

6. some persons still makes some of the hair styles up there.
    Low cut is the sure bet.

7. The thread hairstyles, are natural hair straightening technique

8. People still make some though.

9. I did number 13 last month. I don't use wig. I like my natural hair. It's called didi ologede in Yoruba.

10. Some people still make some of the styles.

11. The third hairstyle by the left, I still make it sometimes. For simple looks

12. Ahhh, I’m glad please. Threading my hair gave me headaches and sleepless nights for days. ๐Ÿ˜„

13. I'm carrying number 13, banana ๐ŸŒ shuku

14. Some of us cant make this hairstyles because no edges

1. Wig do chop all the edges , lol

15. The last one my favourite in Primary school ๐Ÿ˜€
    Some of the thread styles, I see them in my mum's old skool pics, very lovely ๐Ÿ˜
    Adunni

16. My daughter still make some of these hairstyles

17. Those that sell braided wigs are making some of the above styles now, they said it is for deeper life and chosen members.

18. Beautiful throwback hairstyles.
    Kai thread is so painful abeg.
    They still make those twohand styles.

19. Some are still existing. Some of the hairstyles are still being made in the southwest and southeast and some in the villages

20. Innovation took over

21. Back In The Days.
    Koroba is Still invoke oo..

22. Omo !!
    After making these styles you now bend your neck one side like vulture

23. In the 70s, the names we had for such styles were koroba, banana, 2nd all african games, third all african games, panumo, kojusoko, national theatre. Those were the days. Nigeria was good then o. We were not rich but we were very content and kind for the most part to one another.

1. Awwww....dearie those were fine days ๐Ÿคฉ
      Hairstyles we did during primary school...shuku, ipako elede, kolese, boys follow me, Evelyn king, muritala cap, sade adu. Funny names ๐Ÿ˜„
      Adunni

24. I still make the last one for my girls

25. The only hairstyles I can make among them now are shuku and koroba, though it's been long I made them.
    The thread styles showed me shege banza, I can never do it again.

26. Let .me add police cap and patawo. I rock shuku more often than wigs