Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Lady Narrates 18 Fascinating,Funny And Fun Things She Discovered In Kenya

Thursday, June 26, 2025

Nigerian Lady Narrates 18 Fascinating,Funny And Fun Things She Discovered In Kenya

Nigerian Lady Veronica went back to Kenyan on Official Assignment again and this time the Narrative is even more Interesting and ends with her revealing her Kenyan name
She says  ''When I wrote “15 Things I’ve Learnt About Kenya”, I had only just scratched the surface. 

But now, after spending nearly a month exploring this beautiful country — from the sun-kissed beaches of Mombasa to the misty hills of Limuru, the hustle of Nairobi to the quiet calm of Kiambu, it’s safe to say Kenya is no longer just a destination — it’s an experience, a vibe, a beautiful surprise in every direction.
So, here’s my list of fun, fascinating, funny things I’ve learnt and loved about Kenya:

1. Mombasa Raha Is Real!
White sand? Check. Turquoise blue water? Check. Coconut trees dancing to the breeze? Double check. The beaches of Mombasa are nothing short of magical. I experienced Diani in 2023, but it’s nothing compared to Mombasa! Let’s just say the coastline knows how to spoil you.

2. I Sang with a Band at My Hotel in Mombasa
Twice a week during dinner, our hotel came alive with the soulful sounds of a lovely two-man band. One evening, I walked up to the singer (a female) and asked, “Mind if I sing with you?” Her face lit up instantly! And guess what? The keyboardist turned out to be Nigerian from Delta State! Just like that, I became an instant fave. What a night! 

3. Jet Ski Queen
Your girl has now officially Jet Skied across two oceans: the Atlantic in Assinie, Côte d'Ivoire (back in 2024) and the Indian Ocean in Mombasa, Kenya (June 2025). Does this mean I have overcome my fear of water? Not a chance! 

4. The National Treasure called Fort Jesus
Built in the 15th century by the Portuguese, Fort Jesus stands tall and proud in Old Town Mombasa. Its thick coral walls have seen it all: colonisers, traders, battles, peace, and now tourists. But the haunting history of Fort Jesus made it feel like I was walking through echoes of buried sorrow.

5. Moi Avenue’s Giant Elephant Tusks
Ah, the famous aluminium tusks of Moi Avenue in Mombasa! Did you even visit Mombasa if you didn’t take a photo here? Built to commemorate Queen Elizabeth’s visit in the 1950s, these intersecting aluminium tusks now form the most iconic photo stop in Mombasa. It’s definitely a must-see! Photo Tip: The best photos are those taken at night.

6. Kiambu & Limuru’s Tea and Coffee Plantations Are a Dream
Kiambu and Limuru are straight out of a nature documentary. Rolling green hills dotted with tea bushes and coffee trees. The view? Stunning. The smell? Heavenly. The vibe? Peaceful and poetic. My colleague invited me on a ride through the fields, and silly me almost said no. But the “ahhs” and “ooohs” that escaped my lips during that breathtaking ride? Let’s just say I was completely blown away. 

7. Limuru Is So Cold, It’s an Air-Conditioned Town
I once braved an 11-degree night in Lusaka, Zambia, but nothing could have prepared me for the biting chill of Limuru’s highlands. Limuru’s high altitude gives it a chill that’ll have you reaching for socks and sweaters. In Limuru and Kiambu, many homes have actual chimneys! It’s giving “Christmas movie in June”.  which leads me to…

8. Nairobi Apartments Don’t Need Air Conditioners. Like, At All.
It’s a whole city where AC units and fans are practically extinct. Honestly, AC salespeople wouldn’t survive here. 

9. Nairobi is literally a Construction Central
If there’s one thing Nairobi doesn’t play with, it’s growth. The number of skyscrapers springing up around the city is wild. There’s even a running joke that Nairobi’s nickname is “The Construction Site.” If you blink, there’s a new building.

10. I Stood on the Rooftop of KICC – 31 Storeys Up!
Standing on the rooftop of the iconic Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC) was easily one of my top moments. With a helipad on top and a 360° view of Nairobi, the KICC rooftop is a sight (and feeling!) you won’t forget. It felt like standing at the heart of Nairobi! I even hopped on a video call with my mum and kids back home in Lagos to show them the breathtaking view and they were completely blown away!

11. Got Slobbered by a Giraffe
Feeding endangered Rothschild giraffes at the Giraffe Centre was hilarious and heartwarming. 

12. Museums and Markets for the Culture
I love how Kenya showcases its culture and creativity with so much pride. A visit to the National Museum felt like a soulful journey through the country’s history: from incredible archaeological discoveries like Turkana Boy, to rich displays of traditional music, fashion, and the stories of resistance that shaped modern Kenya.
Right next door, I explored the Snake Park, where I learnt about the different species of snakes found in Kenya. Let’s just say I observed from a safe distance, unlike my fearless Gen Z colleague who happily posed for photos and videos with a live python wrapped around her! Definitely not me 

I also made a stop at the vibrant Kariokor Market, a bustling hub that reminded me so much of Lagos. Colourful, chaotic in the best way, and full of charm. You’ll find everything from beads, baskets, leather sandals, and spices to dresses, bags, and beautiful handcrafted art, all proudly made in Kenya! Wow!

13. From Lagos Suya to Kenya’s Nyama Choma
In Kenya, butcher shops are everywhere. Walk a few steps and boom, fresh meat, ready for the grill. But the real magic happens when it hits the fire. Nyama Choma, as it’s called here, isn’t just grilled meat; it’s an experience, a full-blown cultural affair. If Suya is spicy street magic, Nyama Choma is smoky, slow-roasted soul food. What an experience!

14. There’s a Place Called Banana in Kiambu (Yes, really!)
And no, it’s not shaped like one. But it’s such a fun name to say out loud. Banana! 

15. Natural Hair Is a Whole Movement Here
Kenyans wear their natural hair with pride. I was so inspired that I joined in and rocked my dreadlocks with joy. 

16. Stray Cats
Where Lagos has stray dogs at every turn, Nairobi has stray cats quietly watching from the shadows. If you see a cat roaming about, don’t chase it o! It might be a Fatuma or Habeebat. No jokes!  There’s a local belief here that stray cats could be reincarnated elders. 

17. It’s True What They Say — Nigerians Are Everywhere!
In just a few weeks, I’ve lost count of how many Nigerians I’ve bumped into. If you don’t meet them in the elevator, you’ll definitely hear a familiar accent at the mall or while picking up groceries at the neighbourhood supermarket. One look at them and you just know — our features, our energy... they’re unmistakable!
And let’s not forget the greetings: “My guy! How far na?” Gosh! I heard them so often, it felt like I was back in Surulere taking a casual stroll. That’s another reason Kenya felt so much like home. 

18. One more thing I absolutely love about Kenya?

You’ll never run out of apartment buildings, and they come with the coolest names! From "The Royal Nest" to "Golden Heights", "Sandalwood Gardens” or "Silverstone", it’s like every apartment is auditioning for a Netflix show. 

And the street names? Gosh! You’ve got addresses like Argwings Kodhek Road, Woodlands Road, Westlands, Ralph Bunche Road, and Upper Hill. You’ll be sending your location and feeling like royalty. I mean, who wouldn’t want to live at Sunrise Lane, off Paradise Close? The whole vibe makes you feel like you’re living in a novel.
If I ever move here, I already know my address has to sound like a resort. 
Every street has a story; every name has history behind it.

In conclusion:
Kenya, asante sana.
You’ve shown me nothing but beauty, laughter, depth, and a sense of belonging. I truly love being here. Just this morning, a colleague asked why I wasn’t wearing a jacket at the office and I smiled and said, “I’m already getting used to the cold.” Look at me now! 

Honestly, someone should whisper to President Ruto that it might be time to grant me citizenship. I’ve earned it, surely! 
To my fellow Nigerians: if Kenya is on your travel list, stop stalling. Book that ticket NOW.
And to my Kenyan fam, thank you, as always, for the warm hospitality. I’ve always said Kenya is my second home, and that will never change.

I even have a Kikuyu name now: Wanjiru! 
Until my next visit, it’s kwaheri. See you again soon.

Well done Wanjiru...This was so interesting to read!

25 comments:

1. She didn't lie rara. I visited Kenya last year, (I was so mad when they announced the trip, thinking Kenya of all places), but oh mennn, Kenya is beautiful. They have an expressway (like a long bridge) that goes through the entire Nairobi, the city is clean, people are nice, light didn't go off in the entire two weeks we spent, and these people love plants. We toured Nairobi, Naukur and Mombasa. No city/state in Nigeria fine reach Nairobi. If you looking to holidaying someday, I recommended Kenya.
      While leaving, omo, come and see about 7 planes taking off that evening, all Kenya Airways, whereas my country nor get just one.

2. Now, I wanna go to Kenya, and experience all (well except jet ski). I loved this write up. Thank you Lady Veronica Wanjiru 😉

3. Very beautiful and vivid description.

4. Lady Victoria is living my dream life; travelling and experiencing different places. I'm jealous 😍

5. Well done beautiful. I will visit Kenya soon. 😍

6. Very interesting read. I want to visit Kenya😁. Well done Wanjiru😁

7. So many countries on my explore list, na money remain

8. Trying to understand the number 8. Maybe it is the weather that makes AC irrelevant. Moreover. I am intrigued she told us the meaning of KICC. Was already thinking it is pst Matthew's church 😁

9. Very interesting read
    Well-done lady Veronica Wanjiru😁

10. You do well.
    Greet Mrs pascal

11. Visit Kenya and enjoy this and more . visit Yakoyo restaurant Nairobi to enjoy home made Nigerian meals..Vee..thank you for choosing.yakoyo and myself to served you better swallow meals and soups from Yakoyo

12. You’re so adventurous. I loveet!

13. Well written.

Vee,
    If you are not in the tourism industry or tourism writing, you have a natural flair for it. Consider adding this type of writing to your list of cash earning skills.
    I will find a way to print the article as a vault of the writing gold nuggets in it.

Mr. Mann

14. I lived in Kenya for 4 years ....I finally left 2011.... Unarguably the best 4 years of my life.... when next you go , dont forget to go camping , I cant remember the place but you actually sleep in real tents , mehn the cold no be here and you are right a lot of Nigerians are in Kenya, mostly for school and business. You also forgot to add just like they have white south Africans they have Indian Kenyans....

15. For those of you that want to go, please exercise caution. Nigerians are really not well liked over there. They are sick of you guys lapsing to their country to do yahoo and oppress them. Be very careful!