Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Tech Queen Sapphire Egemasi Arrested In The US For Multi-billion Dollar Cyber Fraud

Friday, June 06, 2025

Tech Queen Sapphire Egemasi Arrested In The US For Multi-billion Dollar Cyber Fraud

FATHER LORD!!!
A Nigerian software programmer and self-styled “Tech Queen”, Sapphire Egemasi, is facing up to 20 years in a U.S. federal prison after her arrest by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) in connection with a high-level transnational cyber fraud ring that reportedly siphoned millions from government institutions across the United States.

Egemasi was arrested on April 10, 2025, in the Bronx, New York. She was the subject of a federal indictment filed in 2024.

The indictment accused her and multiple co-conspirators of engaging in internet fraud and money laundering schemes between the period September 2021 and February 2023.
According to court documents, Egemasi allegedly played a critical role in a sophisticated cybercrime network allegedly led by Ghanaian national, Samuel Kwadwo Osei.

The group reportedly targeted municipal institutions across the U.S., including the city government of Kentucky, using phishing campaigns and spoofed websites to steal employee credentials and reroute public funds into fraudulent bank accounts.

The tech queen’s primary role was to use her programming expertise to create highly convincing fake websites mimicking legitimate portals of U.S. government agencies.
These fake sites deceived employees into entering their secure login details, which the syndicate later used to infiltrate official systems and divert large sums of money.

One court filing detailed how the syndicate successfully redirected $965,000 from the city of Kentucky into a PNC Bank account under their control in August 2022.

Another fraudulent transaction saw $330,000 moved into a Bank of America account, all masked to appear as legitimate payments, making detection more difficult.
Investigators also allege that Egemasi helped launder the stolen funds, using a network of domestic and international bank accounts to obscure the trail.

She reportedly claimed false professional ties to multinational companies such as BP, H&M, and Zara in an attempt to legitimize her unexplained wealth and bolster her online reputation.
Before her arrest, she was known for flaunting a lavish lifestyle on social media, showcasing designer outfits, high-end gadgets, and travel to luxury destinations such as Greece, Portugal, and France.

Her digital persona positioned her as a successful tech entrepreneur, earning her admiration from young Africans aspiring to enter the tech industry.

However, U.S. federal authorities say her opulent lifestyle was financed through cybercrime proceeds. They believe she previously resided in Cambridge, UK, and spent time in Ghana, where she allegedly met her co-conspirators and began her role as the syndicate’s lead technical operator.

Egemasi is currently in federal custody, alongside her Ghanaian co-defendants, awaiting trial in Lexington, Kentucky.
If convicted, she faces up to 20 years in prison, hefty financial penalties, and potential deportation after serving her sentence.

Federal prosecutors say the investigation is ongoing, with more indictments expected as authorities work to dismantle the wider cybercrime network.

from dailypost

32 comments:

1. Beauty and Brains!

Disclaimer: I don’t support her actions!

2. See The Way I Just Open Mouth
    Ahhhhhhh

3. We always look different without the filter or soft camera lens.
    It is true that some women earn their own money working.
    The real matter is the nature of the work they do.
    Oh, how true are those old short epigrams taught us at lower classes of primary school.
    All that glitters is not ...
    Let the evidence speak to the charges against her, and let the law decide.

4. Don't understand greedy people. Just throw your beautiful and almost fulfilled life in the bin. 😌😌😌

5. What a man can do a woman can do better. Bravo

6. Hey God abeg. The female version of Hush.
    See an intellectually sound individual, who would have used her technological know-how to break bounds legitimately. Chai

These their overly pronounced lavish lifestyles always gives them away.

1. All the time. Even Dangote never splurge reached them. By their lavishness you go know them. Them plenty for Lekki

7. Reminds me of Hushpuppi...
    Her life don finish, 20 years no be beans.

She's intelligent but not smart... you don't scam US and still travel to the US, they gon' catch yuh ass...

1. Not really, she looks really young. in 20 years she can still make something out of it. Not supporting her tho.

8. This young girl?
    Oh dear!
    She should have built her career steadily over there but greed did not allow her.
    If they eventually deport her to Nigeria, she will still continue her trade here, after all it's in her brain. They don't change.

9. Beauty and Brains in the potopoto.

10. She explains better with her actions the saying "what a man can do, a woman can do better'.

11. What gave them the assurance that they won't be caught eventually

12. Stolen bread is always sweet
    But when caught,you will pay back sevenfold.
    Just look at how this girl left her beautiful budding career in tech and decided that it's the life of crime she wants.
    Big shame on her!

13. Na wah! You are allegedly a fraudster and still flaunt your lavish lifestyle on social media. What do you expect?

14. God gave you brain and opportunity for good in the world but you chose 'soft life' for self-destruct.

15. I can imagine how those who came to her comment sections saying that they won't congratulate her for her achievements because they don't know how she achieved them would be tagged a hatter and enemy of progress.

16. If she was caught in Nigeria.
    Would we have been so unanimous in condemning her actions as done so far?
    Especially if she accused one man in the security agencies or the informant of XH of implicating her because she refused her soup to be licked.
    Would we not have shouted oppression of women?
    And brand the few women dissenters as pick me women or ask them about how about women supporting women?
    Even though she is not known to have mentored any younger woman in productive IT skills development, well except as another YFster like her?

1. Una don start.. who is talking about gender here

2. 13:16 common sense is missing in your genes. It got mutated!

How is your comment related to this topic?

17. Your talent should bring glory to the name of God not this. So sad 🥺

18. And they'll come online to pressure legit hustlers, asking God why dey never blow

19. If You know you are scammer or have scammed in the past especially 2020 you better your ass down in Nigeria. That spirit encouraging you to apply for US, UK, CANADA visa you better reject it.

20. Yahoo girl no lappy, and she is an obedient o

21. Nigerians, why? Always giving us a bad name.

22. Girl’s yansh just dey open left and right, we never finish with Barbecue now this. I thought this was exclusive to yahoo boys, azawoman

23. Why do these ppl who know that they are a certain type of person always want to be on social media. You know you are about that life, what you need to be out there like that for. You literally are giving the authorities all the evidence that they need. If your money is funny go live the life of the quiet rich, but I guess it is no fun if nobody knows and nobody is gawking and fawning over you. And get out while the going is good, it ain't gonna be good for ever, so get out and open legit businesses. From the first big take you should have already opened one legit business that is running and paying yearly taxes. One online medical supply business can generate enough sales to make a good living from and employ others.

24. She would have gone so far with her skills.

25. Lagos Mainland Girl7 June 2025 at 16:31

Gen Zs and big big things