Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Orders NYSC To Allow Female Corps Members Wear Skirts

Monday, July 28, 2025

Court Orders NYSC To Allow Female Corps Members Wear Skirts

Wear Skirts?
A Federal High Court in Abuja has nullified the ban on the use of skirts for members of the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC).‎
‎Justice Hauwa Joseph Yilwa, in a judgement, held that the NYSC’s enforcement of trousers as the only acceptable uniform, for female participants, violated their constitutionally guaranteed rights to freedom of religion and human dignity.

29 comments:

1. Does this include the three weeks camp?
    Is it skirts that they will wear and jump and climb rope?
    Dey are mad

1. The camp training is intense, it is not a skirt affair. In the camp wearing trousers will help in preserve your dignity than skirt. I don't know why wearing trousers is a sin in this part of the world. Nigerians and overdo?

2. Allow them wallow in their stupidity. They can show the world their privates/color and size of pants. How do you wear skirt to do all the rigorous workouts?
      The hypocrisy is really alarming. What can be more disgracefully than showing the entire world your privates? SMH.

2. If religion does not finish Nigeria, let me know what happened. When a youth corps member who is expected be act like a paramilitary should wear skirt? Everyone will be fine.

1. Senseless people. Does this even look normal in their eyes mtcheww

2. The military wears skirts . Its only the rope climbing.
      I say leave them alone.if they are happy to snap everybody on the day of ropeclimbing. Wetin concern me. Nah my thing?

3. Some people will definitely sew hot skirt

3. It's because of all these spirikoko people that their religions forbid them to wear trousers, good for them.

4. For those who do not want their butt cheeks to be prominently displayed then the skirt allows a level of modesty. It provides an option

1. So how will they partake in the camp activities with long skirts?

2. You know you can wear somewhat oversized trousers. My Nysc shirt and trousers were so oversized, I just used the belt to cinch it at my waist. My butt wasn’t prominent at all but I still looked good and decent.

But anyways, anyone should be allowed to wear what they want. Where there will be trouble is when they can’t do the camp training because of skirt

5. Did they even weigh the full implications - both the risks and benefits? My concern is that this could, in some way, embolden acts like rape. Religion, for all its influence, continues to be a deep-seated obstacle to our collective reasoning.

6. Oversabiness. Everything is sinful here 🙄

7. If you wear skirt and refuse to climb rope, just know say you are in trouble. No PPA for you.

1. Why are they making them climb anyway
      That’s the next thing to remove sef

8. Nigerians and their religious ways😁. Did they consider the three weeks intense training at the camp? Smh

9. Will they wear skirt in camp?

10. They should make it optional instead...
    If you cannot wear trouser, don't serve
    Period 🤞

11. See me shouting Yes! Yes!
    So glad to hear this.

Years back Firdaus refused to remove her hijab during the call to bar, she was sent out but later won the case. NYSC was petitioned years back for banning hijab, today some Muslim faithfuls wear their hijab freely why not let this people be?
    It's their choice, when the 3 weeks orientation comes, they will always find a way around it. Come to think of it, many many years ago skirt was part of the official clothes for NYSC female members.
    So abeg, make dem let them be.
    Truth is, if NYSC was optional or if they will be giving an exemption letter even when they are below 30, they will gladly go for it than been forced to wear trouser but then NYSC IS COMPULSORY!
    So abeg, e good as dem free them.

AFTERS: If you like come under my comment to call me names or abuse me, whatever rocks your boat or if it will let you sleep at night, feel free. I no send!
    That was my opinion and I'm free to state it.
    Love & Light ✌️

1. I agree with you, ppl deserve to dress modestly if they so desire. They can scrap rope climbing for something more beneficial like cpr and first aid training, search and rescue, orientating and surviving in the wild. How many ppl are climbing ropes and trees in their day-to-day lives.

12. How dem dipper life and other extremists dey do am sef? Dem dey wear the pants so?

13. Good. People should be allowed to practice their faith as they wish as long as it doesn't endanger human life.