Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Singer KWAM1 And Valuejet Pilot Get One Month Ban And Thereafter Free Of Charges

Wednesday, August 13, 2025

Singer KWAM1 And Valuejet Pilot Get One Month Ban And Thereafter Free Of Charges

Both are free after one month ban of either boarding a plane locally or flying a plane locally......

PRESS STATEMENT: DECISION TO WITHDRAW CRIMINAL COMPLAINT AGAINST MS. COMFORT EMMANSON AND TO ADDRESS RELATED MATTERS

1. In the last 48 hours, I have been in consultation with critical stakeholders in the Aviation Sector and those involved in the unfortunate incidents regarding the unruly behaviours of certain individuals at our airports of recent.

2. Though regrettable, we think valuable lessons have been learnt by all sides to these incidents and airport security protocol, especially, have been well highlighted for the travelling public. If nothing at all, the episodes have undoubtedly helped to raise public awareness about appropriate conduct within the aviation space.

3. As highlighted in my previous statements on the last two incidents, clear wrongs were committed by both the offending passengers and staff of the airlines involved from all the evidence available to us and those available to the public. It is clear that all the actors involved cannot continue to highlight the injury or injustice done to them without acknowledging their own equal culpability.

5. Therefore, after reviewing the entire incidents, including appeals made by well-meaning individuals and remorse shown by the actors, the following decisions have been reached:

THE CASE OF VALUEJET AND WASIU AYINDE MARSHALL (KWAM 1)

(d) In the case of KWAM 1, the NCAA is to reduce his flight ban to a one-month period. FAAN will also work with the music star with a view to engaging him as an ambassador for proper airport security protocol going forward.

(e) Having publicly demonstrated penitence, the NCAA is also to withdraw its criminal complaints against KWAM 1 earlier lodged with the Police.

(f) In the case of Captain Oluranti Ogoyi, and the co-pilot, First Officer Ivan Oloba of VALUEJET, the NCAA is to restore their licenses after the same period of one-month ban after undergoing some mandatory professional re-appraisal. The details will be announced by the NCAA.

AIRLINE OPERATORS, AVIATION AND OTHER GOVERNMENT AGENCIES

6. I have directed all relevant Aviation agencies in collaboration with other complementary agencies outside aviation to IMMEDIATELY begin a retreat NEXT WEEK to properly retrain and prepare our Aviation security personnel on how to deal with errant and disruptive passengers and how to deescalate potentially explosive situations. The retreat will be fully covered by the Press with the opportunity to ask all the relevant questions.

7. The Airlines will also have their own session when the conduct and attitude of their staff towards members of the travelling public will be in full focus.

FINAL COMMENTS

8. These above decisions were taken by Government and the airline operators purely on COMPASSIONATE grounds as Government will never pander to base sentiments, politically-motivated views or warped legal opinions when clear encroachment of our laws are involved.

9. We are also sending a CLEAR MESSAGE that we take safety and security in the aviation sector very seriously and we have decided to draw a line after these clemencies.

FESTUS KEYAMO, SAN, CON, FCIArb (UK)
Wednesday, August 13, 2025

20 comments:

1. Ehen!! No more selective justice...E don balance now....Keyamo good conciliatory job done.....Thank you Hon. Minister......

1. I didnt say that Wasiu didn’t have a fault in the situation but my strong opinion was about the Pilot and her conduct. One of the if not the ONLY criteria to me is for a Pilot to be in a calm and in control during the course of a situation and my thing is that is she can get reacted and be triggered and acted in such manner and flew the place when the man was in front of the aircraft, what would she have done if their is a REAL situation with the aircraft on air and the passengers were all screaming, crying and throwing up? Again and not that Wasiu didnt have any fault of his own in the first place and like the Aviation Minister said “THEY BOTH WRONG”. I understand that the Pilot is also a human but when you put on your Pilot uniform, you have to ALWAYS be calm and in control at all times. If the pilot that should always be in a calm and in control in the cockpit can be that triggered with one unruly egotistical passenger, what would she have done if she has almost or over 100 people yelling onboard if God forbid there was a situation in the middle of a flight? And for people saying Wasiu wouldn’t have done that in abroad, they didnt get it! No Pilot here in US would have takeoff the plane from tarmac when a crazy unruly passenger was standing in front of the plane and if he or she does, they would have not only suspended the pilot license but also sent her/she for a mental evaluation to determine whether she has the mental capacity to perform under duress in any circumstancesduring the course of the flight if their is any danger

2. I didnt say that Wasiu didn’t have a fault in the situation but my strong opinion was about the Pilot and her conduct. One of the if not the ONLY criteria to me is for a Pilot to be in a calm and in control during the course of a situation and my thing is that is she can get reacted and be triggered and acted in such manner and flew the place when the man was in front of the aircraft, what would she have done if their is a REAL situation with the aircraft on air and the passengers were all screaming, crying and throwing up? Again and not that Wasiu didnt have any fault of his own in the first place and like the Aviation Minister said “THEY BOTH WRONG”. I understand that the Pilot is also a human but when you put on your Pilot uniform, you have to ALWAYS be calm and in control at all times. If the pilot that should always be in a calm and in control in the cockpit can be that triggered with one unruly egotistical passenger, what would she have done if she has almost or over 100 people yelling onboard if God forbid there was a situation in the middle of a flight? And for people saying Wasiu wouldn’t have done that in abroad, they didnt get it! No Pilot here in US would have takeoff the plane from tarmac when a crazy unruly passenger was standing in front of the plane and if he or she does, they would have not only suspended the pilot license but also sent her/she for a mental evaluation to determine whether she has the mental capacity to perform under duress in any circumstancesduring the course of the flight if their is any danger

3. Anon, many people don't realise being in a uniform requires some form of professionalism, or let's assume tyrants are now being given professional roles. Even if she won't deescalate the issue, she should have waited until the tarmac is free before leaving. There are people whose job is to keep the tarmac free. Let them do their job.

It doesn't matter if the flight is got delayed. It is better than getting tainted with murder/manslaughter cases.

4. At Anon 11.34 Wow! WELL
      SAID. You said it perfectly! My issue was also definitely with the Pilot. She acted in an unprofessional, ghetto and dangerous manner and that should jot be tolerated nor acceptable for such a profession. When you put on any uniform, some sort of composure and dignity should be applied irrespective of what. If she got pissed and triggered in such manner that could have been worst, then she epuld have faced manslaughter irrespective of what Wasiu must have said or done and i think tbe Pilot and the airline should have made a public apology to the passengers and the country but because of their vendetta and frustration with Tinubu and Wasiu relationship with him, a lot of people are chasing the shadow instead of the situation which is totally avoidable by both sides. About Wasiu, i don't understand why people expected better from an arrogant illiterate that got lucky

5. Well said or epistle continuation? Nice part 1 n 2.

2. For Mr Wasiu, a promotion as an ambassador is a thorough insult to law abiding Nigerians who chose not to be animalistic when in transitional spaces.

A 1 month ban is a worse joke than a mere 6 months ban.

Would Comfort also be made an ambassador for women's rights, worker's rights and the face of Ibom air?

Considering how successful this minister has been, it's unfortunate he allowed name dropping street urchins to becloud his and the agencies ' thinking.

Mr Wasiu should have been allowed to face his farm for the 6 months then continue singing at rallies after that.

I don't see how these slaps on the wrist or painting the offenders with the same brush will prevent such behaviour.

Will the airport staff who exposed the nakedness of a customer and fellow citizen to the internet forever also be suspended for a month and made the ambassador for Meta? Will the people who stripped her of clothes be marketing execs for Zara and Victoria's secrets? Will the air hostess not get justice for her face and wig?

Just apply the law as is and forget all this long story.

1. Just dey look.

2. 10:43 you are absolutely right! 👍🏾👌🏾

Nigeria is a huge joke!
      How can the international community ever take that country serious! 🤦🏾‍♀️

3. Thank God for them, their punishment have been reduced, I hope they've both learned their lessons.

4. When will Comfort also be made ambassador for airport ruly behaviour?things we celebrate in this country sha.
    Comfort is lucky, they had to pardon her because people are calling for Kwam1 to also be prosecuted and jailed and they can't do it, hence the need to pardon the two for peace to reign but why insult us further by making him an ambassador?Like this now, he will be getting paid for his bad public behaviour?
    Everyone should go and sin no more

1. No be Nigeria? Not surprised at all.

2. Honestly!
      This is cringey. Ambassador how???
      Just have money in this country. Case closed.

5. All charges withdrawn???
    Just yesterday, the IGP "allegedly" ordered an investigation and barely 24 hours, now this news...

This is why the rich love Nigeria, if you like don't leave and save your generation from this God forsaken country

As a poor man, mind your own business, receive your slap, and move on please.

1. It is not a God forsaken country. Stop pronouncing evil with your mouth. Grass are not greener on the other side and you won't know until you live abroad. Why was Donald Trump not sentence despite being convicted of 38 serious crime?

6. Ambassador for what exactly? 😒 As if a slap in the wrist is not enough, una still dey give am ambassador position. Things dey really happen for this country.