Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EX President Jonathan Emerges PDP’s Sole Presidential Candidate

Tuesday, May 19, 2026

EX President Jonathan Emerges PDP’s Sole Presidential Candidate

The PDP has chosen former President Goodluck Jonathan as its sole presidential candidate and they say it is because Nigerians still feel strong nostalgia for his time in office.

Party stalwart Umar Sani told Trust TV that Jonathan’s past leadership (2010–2015) still appeals to many voters, who remember that life was easier then including cheaper food prices like rice at ₦7,500–₦8,000.

He added that Jonathan’s one‑term possibility also makes him attractive to certain voters. The party believes he has the widest national acceptance and best chance of reconnecting with voters.

26 comments:

1. Did he forget anything at Aso Rock that he wants to go back to take, all of them are just greedy, na them sabi.

1. He has forgotten all his travails so soon...

2. The same people that called him clueless, brought down his govt through insecurity; are now using him like a tool for next election. GEJ are you ok or the cluelessness is embedded in your dna

2. Can we inform this man that he is allowing APC to use him divide the votes

1. I'm disappointed in GEJ. He is bigger than this entanglement.

3. GEJ abeg don't mind these people pushing you.

1. They ‘bout to mess up his political pedigree

4. Jona jona jona how many times did I call you, Advice your self ..

5. This man is not tired of insults. He should respect himself and retire quietly.

6. I hope he rejects this show of shame they want to drag him into.

7. Not a good idea. But it’s a free world. The man in power will still do a second term

8. He should respect himself nah. Unless he is coming back to bring the remaining Chibok girls back.
    He no get shame, after everything he still wants to go back . Though I know their plans,they will go there for retirement treat

9. Peter Obi’s vote would be shared, chai

Master strategists

10. To be clear, Jonathan has not picked any nomination form and hasn't expressly stated that he is running. This is a faction of the PDP just wanting to be funny.
    Still even at that, Jonathan hasn't come out to denounce them in anyway. But what will Jonathan be without his trademark indecisiveness?

11. They just want to divide the votes...I wish he didn't allow this

12. He has always been a weak man!

They ve bought him to help divide the votes.

You're about to remove the small dignity you have and roll in in cow dung.

13. PDP is looking for who they will use for a come back.
    The party is already dead.

14. Pred. Jonathan did what? 😮

15. Who will be his First Lady

16. This man nor try at all

17. The rot the country is experiencing today is thanks to GEJ. He had this gentle lackadaisical attitude that made people vote for Buhari the first time and that one came and murdered the whole economy. Then from Buhari to balablu. If GEJ was capable there's no way Buhari would have won the first time and Buhari actually won because people were tired and disappointed in GeJ.

18. This man likes embarrassment.
    To allow bottom feeders like Tutaki to play him wayo AGAIN after what APC did with their promise and fail trick in 2018/19, I see the guy remains a lucky neophyte in politics who will rather be vindictive than face his mistakes and embrace his life after retirement.

With his here and there behavior when Diri lost to Lyons in 2014 and his complete abandonment of PDP since 2019, who will work for him in his home state or across Nigeria? To be so desperate to prove a point with a non-existent faction of PDP when you have no hope to be on the ballot.

You snoozed on subsidy and can't believe someone had the balls to follow it through. You signed and promised not to run again and lost the backing of your own governors and partymen when you chose to. You reneged on the same agreement with SW that gave you 5 out of 6 states. Nigeria has no business paying for your own goals

19. Seyi Makinde is now understanding politics