The document, sworn at the High Court of Ebonyi State, gives her side of what happened on the night of June 26, 2026, at Minister Dave Umahi’s residence in Uburu.

In the affidavit, Anita Baaki states that she and Habila were physiotherapists who had worked together for three years. They were both on secondment from the David Umahi Federal University of Health Sciences to the Federal Ministry of Works. The two women traveled from Abuja to Ebonyi on June 24 and stayed in the same staff chalet on the night in question.
AnitaBaaki explained that Habila went out to get her hair done, came back to show her the new style, joked about it, and then said she was tired and wanted to take a shower before sleeping. That was the last time she saw her friend that night.
She said that the next morning, when Habila did not appear as usual, Baaki called her phone without success. She went to knock on the door, which was locked from inside, but got no answer. Worried, she asked a domestic worker to help search the house. When Habila was not found, they forced open the door and discovered her on the floor near the entrance. She was rushed to the David Umahi Federal University Teaching Hospital, where she was confirmed dead on arrival.
Anita Baaki ended the affidavit by saying she was not induced, coerced, or influenced by anyone to make the statement.
She added that the document was for official records.
She said that the next morning, when Habila did not appear as usual, Baaki called her phone without success. She went to knock on the door, which was locked from inside, but got no answer. Worried, she asked a domestic worker to help search the house. When Habila was not found, they forced open the door and discovered her on the floor near the entrance. She was rushed to the David Umahi Federal University Teaching Hospital, where she was confirmed dead on arrival.
Anita Baaki ended the affidavit by saying she was not induced, coerced, or influenced by anyone to make the statement.
She added that the document was for official records.

Na woo
ReplyDeleteWhat Could Have Gone Wrong?
So Sadddddd
Please Lord Rest Her Soul 🙏
But Minister says she keeps saying she is a Nurse naaaaa
ReplyDeleteI just wish the family of late Mary Habila should have the autopsy done just to ascertain the actual cause of death. Anita Baaki, you and I know if you were forced or coerced, you won't put that out in the public.
ReplyDeleteThey have been compromised jare
DeleteThen what next after the autopsy? Nigeria is not the place to fight for justice esp with a big man. The best thing is to bury their daughter and leave everything for God as usual.
DeleteIf they promise you #Billion to keep quiet and get settled after the case dies down or harm your family, Nne which you go chose? Meanwhile anything he offers be rest assured you won't get up to 10% and you can't talk again.
DeleteHmmm,🤔so sad,may God rest her soul and comfort the family
ReplyDeleteIt's well
Physiotherapist or nurse?
ReplyDeleteMay her soul rest in peace
Physiotherapist nurse
DeleteThe truth about her death will never come out..
ReplyDeleteMay her soul rest in peace
If money has not move hands, tell me why the parents of the deceased are not trying to do autopsy? Na wah
ReplyDeleteHonestly, it is sad. You don't want closure?
DeleteIf this country was working, he has no right to stop an autopsy from being conducted especially under the circumstance she died in.
Smh at this family.
They don’t want you messing up her body
DeleteMany people don’t like autopsy
Also if she had a medical issue, her family probably knows what killed her
The truth is, not everyone supports autopsy. Do you even understand how it’s done? The body is cut open in a Y- shaped or straight incision. Would you want that done to your loved one who just passed?
DeleteIf the family genuinely refuses it, I have no problem with that.
But if the refusal is because of money, then that’s where I have an issue.
©️ TEEJAY
Anon 12:53 God bless you.
DeleteIt beats me why a lot of BVs never take things at face value, they must always read meanings into everything.
They easily project their poverty mentality and shallow thinking on others.
I thought along your second paragraph too, as a possible cause of her death.
I think autopsy will be the answer to all these brouhaha
ReplyDeleteCALL HER CROWN
I share your sentiment @miss Aboki
ReplyDeleteThis statement is till eternity cos the Dead can't speak.
ReplyDeleteGod please have Mercy.
Dozzybest.
May her soul rest in peace.
ReplyDeleteVery painful 😖
ReplyDeleteRest in peace Mary
My own is that why is nobody asking what were they doing in David Umahis village home? They are both nurses so why go to the ministers House and not in the hospital they were posted to? The way Nigeria is just now if you die na sara be dat oo. Life goes on after burial. Please all this our young girls and ladies stay away from all this useless politicians and government office holders if you die nobody send you ooo. All this press statement they are releasing doesn't make sense they are desperately trying to cover something. God will judge all of them. Mad people everywhere!