Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Drama King Teejay's CORNER

Sunday, July 26, 2026

Drama King Teejay's CORNER

A couple of months ago, I got a call from someone I’ve known for years. He needed financial help to sort out some personal issues.

I felt really bad that I couldn’t do much for him. Work had been slow because the rainy season kept me out of jobs, except for one or two maintenance tasks that didn’t pay well. 

We talked for a while and encouraged each other about better days ahead. But before we ended the call, he said something that stayed with me: “Bro, na this kind living dey make man put hand for bad thing. Nobody wan help me now, but tomorrow dem go blame me for wetin I do.”

I kept thinking about those words. They hit hard. I’ve lost friends while growing up, young men who turned to crime as an escape. The memory still hurts. They just wanted to make it quickly and maybe help their families. I’ve seen what poverty does to people, especially when you watch your ageing parents suffer and you cannot help. It is painful.

While I condemn crime completely, I’ve learned not to judge people harshly for the paths they take. Pain, suffering and hardship can break a person into pieces. At that point, you are not yourself anymore, and you might grab anything just to survive.

Yesterday, I called him again and asked, “Can you drive?” He said no, but he would love to learn if someone could register him. I wanted to connect him with someone looking for a commercial driver. The arrangement was simple: weekly returns to the vehicle owner, no hire purchase, and major maintenance handled by the owner. He loved the idea but couldn’t take it because he didn’t know how to drive. It would have been my little way of helping him earn daily income.

Years ago, I also wanted to go into commercial driving, but my elder sister was totally against it. Twice I got vehicles, one from a relative abroad and another from a friend. She told me, “You are too intelligent to become an agbero.” In her view, every commercial driver is seen as one, and staying long in that job could make you act like one. 

She also mentioned police extortion and harassment, especially from trigger happy officers who could shoot a stubborn driver over one hundred naira. I understood her reasons and dropped the idea, even though I never planned to do it long term.

In summary, here is what I’ve learned: 
Stay prepared. Opportunity only meets those who are ready. Learn new skills and gain knowledge whenever you can, because you never know which door will open. And whatever legitimate work puts food on your table, hold it tight and be proud of it. Nigeria right now is not for the faint hearted.

14 comments:

1. Whatever legitimate work puts food on your table, hold it tight and be proud of it.This is it!!!

2. As a mother, this story touched my heart deeply. Behind many bad decisions is often a person who has been crushed by disappointment, hunger, and hopelessness. While we must never excuse crime, we should never stop showing compassion to those who are struggling.
    As believers, let us be the hands and feet of Christ by lifting others instead of judging them. A single act of kindness or an opportunity to earn an honest living can save a life and change a family's future.
    Carry each other's burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.( Galatians 6:2)

1. Absolutely right, Momma♥️
      May God connect each and every one of us to our blessings.
      Sometimes it hurts when there’s something that only money can handle, and you can’t afford to make it happen.

©️ TEEJAY

2. Big Mama, your last paragraph says it all ♥️

3. None of us in this life is getting it easy. Tell your friend to get up and look for a job. He can go to site and do labourers job instead of resorting to criminal activity. Blaming other people is not an easy way out.

You have to do something for God to bless you. Do not forsake the days of little beginnings. I don’t sympathise with people who don’t take responsibility. Men should be Men please.

Have you ever wondered how our fathers did it back then? There was always food on the table back then in the 80s and 90 s.

4. Used to have a neighbour who's into commercial driving. As in he owns the vehicle. You wont even know he's a driver.
    Works at his own pace and everything . This man dey see money. He made good money and relocated soon as he finished building his mansion back home. There's good money in commercial driving. Lastly whatever legit biz one's hands find to do ... Do it well.

1. Nk,

Money dey that line of hustle, no be lie. A man I used to help a couple of years ago started driving last year. If you see him now, he’s added weight with full face and neck. The last time we met, he gave me ₦5,000 for drinks.

He moved from one room to a bedroom flat. And it’s not even his car outright, it’s on hire purchase.

People I asked who do it said that after fuel, feeding, and other expenses, they return home with nothing less than ₦20,000 daily. That’s if you leave in the morning and come back by 6pm. I believe them. Imagine making ₦20,000 daily. Just check what that’s in a month not to talk of a year.

©️ TEEJAY

5. Always be prepared at all times. Opportunities meet preparedness.
    Hope you friend finds any legit job to do for the main time.
    Thanks for sharing.

1. Fair lady,

You're welcome. I pray he finds something soon to engage on.

©️ TEEJAY

6. Tinubu you do this one.
    Country has never been this bad.

For you to survive in Nigeria now, you need MULTIPLE SOURCES of income .

Business men and women how far?
    God is your strength.

1. You missed the point?
      Wetin concern Tinubu here.?
      The point that he mentioned is for you to be ready that opportunity can come at any time.
      Also whatever legit job that you do, hold it tight.
      The economy no dey shine teeth with anybody.

7. Lack of job should not make someone delve into something illegal business or 'bad thing' like your friend said. There are small businesses around he can do for the meantime. So long as it's not illegal. Wishing him God's favours 👏

8. Teejay when you resume fullly carry him along nah, unless he is not willing to learn.

9. It's even worse being in a fix and you don't have a helper or a shoulder to lean on.
    Whatever keep hope alive and stay positive.