Nollywood actress Yvonne Jegede say marriage is “overrated.”
In a recent Interview on Naija FM Lagos,the 42-year-old movie star said she is open to remarriage but not looking for it.
She said
“I am open to remarriage if it comes, but I am not looking for it. I have learnt not to say ‘never’,”
“I think marriage is overrated. A lot of people who dated for 10 to 15 years, got married and they broke up within 2 to 3 years. Sometimes, you wonder why such couples didn’t just remain unmarried. Because when they add the marriage tag, a lot of intolerance gets in the way.
“I think it is better to find who you love and just cohabit with them,”
Yvonne’s marriage to colleague, Olakunle Abounce Fawole, ended in 2019 after less than a year.
She cited financial imbalance and her ex-husband’s inability to handle or respect her as reasons for their split.
She also revealed in a previous interview that she was the primary provider in the marriage and regretted choosing love over financial stability.
Dailypost
“I think it is better to find who you love and just cohabit with them,”
Yvonne’s marriage to colleague, Olakunle Abounce Fawole, ended in 2019 after less than a year.
She cited financial imbalance and her ex-husband’s inability to handle or respect her as reasons for their split.
She also revealed in a previous interview that she was the primary provider in the marriage and regretted choosing love over financial stability.
Dailypost
.jpg)
Whatever works for you o Yvonne, I can't judge you for whatever decision you make.
ReplyDeleteI will never advise cohabitation from my experience. If you are a Believer, just follow the Lord's rules. They are for your protection and for your good and will enable you have a better relationship with your Maker and others around you.
DeleteI really like Yvonne's acting. A natural beauty.
I wish you well, Yvonne.
ReplyDelete"Find who you love and co-habit with them..."
ReplyDeleteThat is not God's standard.
Marriage is a beautiful thing with the right person.
ReplyDeleteSTORY!!!
DeleteFor the fact that you had a bad experience in your first marriage doesn’t make it overrated…how can Gods ordained institution be overrated ? Na wah
ReplyDeleteDon't mind her, she opened her eyes and married that efulefu that's can't act to save his life and is now yarning dust
DeleteAny opportunity to shade Annie Macaulay for being the one chosen as wife by Tuface. Aunty go and sit your flat ass down.
ReplyDeleteLocate nearest BBL Shop pump nyash make we hear word customers will come..
Provider in the marriage gave you right of gbenshing sugar daddy, Abounce is disappointed and he ran away, find another mugu marry. Rest!!!!!!
You think so? I thought she was probably talking about Brad Pitt and Angelina. Her words didn’t strike me as shade just reflecting on her own journey. But I can’t read minds so who knows🤷🏽♀️
DeleteSee plenty gist inside one comment 🙄
DeleteWas she dating Tubaba at any time? Wow.
Ms Yvonne rest joor
DeleteI wish you all the best Yvonne
ReplyDeleteIt is well with you baby girl
ReplyDeleteEnjoy your life
Your experience in a bad marriage doesn't make the marriage institution overrated.Follow what works for you sha
ReplyDeleteJust imagine one getting admitted into the university to study a course you get no basic understanding of, what do you think will be the end result? F9 raise to power 100.
ReplyDeleteYou're telling God the union He created is overrated, I pity some of you. I will advise you go and ask your parents what make their marriage work.
OK ebony beauty
ReplyDeleteI think marriage is only overrated when the expectations you had are not met. A lot of folks will not admit that they had completely unrealistic expectations entering marriage. Many will not admit that they had emotional issues that they should have resolved before committing. Others also will not admit that they were also, if not fully at fault for the breakdown of the marriage. Then there are those who refuse to admit that their reasons for divorcing were blown out of proportion and they made a mistake and should have worked on their marriage. The culture is marriage oriented so it is easy to marry just to meet cultural norms without thinking about the spiritual implications of marriage. Marriage is a great opportunity to grow spiritually when love and respect are mutually shared by each person. Even if children never enter the union the two will still grow from it.
ReplyDeleteNow, I’m not saying Yvonne is not telling the truth, I was not there, only the two ppl know what really happened, although their interpretations and the way they experienced the marriage could be vastly different.
Marriage is an institution ordained by God. If it didn't work out for you the first time does mean it's over rated. Anyway your opinion though.
ReplyDeleteMarriage that is God ordained is overrated? But your parents and many other couples are still enjoying marriage na.
ReplyDeleteYours didn't work doesn't make it overrated fine girl.
It is well. May God lead us right.
ReplyDeleteNice one Yvonne
ReplyDeleteAll the best.
ReplyDeleteWish you the best.
ReplyDeleteIt is well oo
ReplyDeleteMay We All Marry Right o
Fine girl. Just give it another go if you can . It's well though
ReplyDeleteAll the best to her
ReplyDeleteBest wishes dear