Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: How MKO Abiola Died As Recounted By ASP Theodore Zadok At The Oputa Panel -Part 2

Tuesday, June 16, 2026

How MKO Abiola Died As Recounted By ASP Theodore Zadok At The Oputa Panel -Part 2

ASP Theodore Zadok was cross-examined by Mr Femi Falana, counsel to the petitioner, Kola Abiola, first son of MKO Abiola, who, reading from a confidential document he obtained from the American Embassy, written by the former US Ambassador to Nigeria, Mr Twaddel after Abiola’s death)

His Narrative contradicts what was written in formr head of state Abdulsalami Aubabkar's book....
Please this and read later if you are busy....

Falana: Would you agree with me that Abiola was with his senses throughout the duration of his detention to your knowledge?

Zadok: Yes my Lord.

Falana: That is Twaddel. He also said that Abiola was given tea but that he (Twaddel) didn’t take it. Now the autopsy report prepared by the foreign doctors ‘After a few minutes in the meeting, he suddenly complained of illness. He was offered some tea which was poured by US embassy personnel.’ To your knowledge as a senior security officer, do you know of any situation in Nigeria, where a foreigner had given tea or food or water to any detainee?

Zadok: No, my Lord to the best of my knowledge. Anytime I’ve taken Abiola several times to Aguda House for an interview and anytime I got there, we have our personnel who are there in Aguda House. It’s their duty to prepare tea and they have to prepare this tea in my presence and once they taste it then it is my duty to taste it in front of Chief before I hand it over to him.

Falana: Would you agree that since Abiola was detained, this was the only occasion you did not taste the tea he was offered? Is that correct?

Zadok: It is very correct, my Lord. I used to buy water for Abiola. The whole water he drinks is Swan water. And there is never a time I just removed an unsealed bottle of Swan water without opening it and tasting it in his presence before passing the rest to him for drinking.

Falana: Usually that is done by security men and women to prevent any harm to your subject. Is that correct?

Zadok: Yes, my Lord.

Falana: Now you were tricked. Would you agree with me that you were tricked to the Office of the Chief of General Staff so that you would not be around when the situation would occur, from the benefit of hindsight now.

Zadok: It may be so but I had that confidence that I was leaving him with somebody more senior than me.

Falana: You mean Major Aliyu.
Zadok: Yes, my lord.

Falana: Chief was arrested and detained for two days in Lagos, are you aware of that?

Zadok: Not aware, my lord.

Falana: From Gashua Prisons, he was brought to Abuja in a Black Maria where he was arraigned before a Federal High Court, are you aware of that?

Zadok: I am aware of his arraignment, but not aware of from where he was brought.

Falana: As a matter of fact, you took over his affairs in 1996?

Zadok: Yes, my lord

Falana: And for those two years, you were fully in charge of him?

Falana: Now officer, those documents you handed over to the government through Alhaji Kingibe, are you aware if those documents have been returned to the family?

Zadok: My Lord, I have a copy of the property here with me

Falana: Thank you very much.

Zadok: When I met Alhaji Baba Gana Kingibe, in my presence he made a contact call with the wife of the late Chief, telling her of some of the property that were in the possession of Chief MKO Abiola that were now with him, and that he would like somebody to come forward and collect them.

Falana: Now, do you have the inventory as you call it.

Falana: (addressing Justice Oputa) Sir, we seek to tender the inventory.

Zadok: Why I handed them over to Alhaji BabaGana Kingibe was that, when the family of Chief MKO Abiola and the son came down to Abuja, I was told they were with him, so I believed they had a cordial relationship.

Falana: Between 1996 and 1998, that was the only time the family members were allowed to see Abiola, is that correct?

Falana: Won’t you therefore agree with me that they were allowed to see Abiola to bid him farewell?

Zadok: Well, I wouldn’t say.

Falana: But that was the only time?

Zadok: I wouldn’t say so.

Falana: Now, if you wouldn’t say so, let’s look at this other scenario for this your subject. The head of the American delegation that met Abiola, Under Secretary Thomas Pickering...

Falana: He addressed a press conference in Abuja later that day, saying that Abiola died of natural causes, are you aware of this?

Zadok: I am not aware, my Lord

Falana: Are you also aware that before the so-called autopsy was carried out, the US President, Bill Clinton, said that he was sending a condolence message to Nigeria and to the family of Abiola because Abiola died of natural causes, are you aware of that.

Zadok: I’m aware of it, my Lord.

Falana: You have been following the proceedings before this August Commission, particularly with respect to Abiola’s case?

Falana: You know in Lagos, Brig. Gen. Ibrahim Sabo gave evidence to the effect that on the very day the Late General Sani Abacha died, that General Bamaiyi in Aso Rock said, now that Abacha is dead, can’t we also kill Abiola in the same manner to balance the equation?

Zadok: I heard it, my Lord.

Falana: When you later learned that Chief MKO Abiola died in those circumstances, won’t you agree with me that he was killed from all the circumstances?

Zadok: My Lord, that very particular time that this incident happened, in fact, I was not myself because as Abiola said, I was holding him as a father.

Falana: And he took you like a son?

Zadok: Yes, and he took me like a son... I want to tell you one story today. Major Aliyu informed me that the same seventh day of July, by 4’0’clock.

Falana: 1998?

Zadok: 1998, that I should make arrangements for a plane to move Abiola to Lagos and that he would be free. So that is why I told you that I was not myself when I discovered that Abiola was dead on the same day.

Falana: Officer, that plane eventually carried Abiola’s dead body to Lagos

Falana: Is that your answer? What was carried to Lagos was Abiola’s dead body.

Zadok: But not the same day because Abiola was kept like two weeks before his dead body was taken away.

Falana: Taken to Lagos.... Now, you said you had to send message to Aso Rock to fetch Doctor Wali, that is from Akinola Aguda House. Didn’t you have radio or walkie talkie?

Zadok: My Lord, I didn’t know why the Chief Security Officer had to do that because he was in possession of cellular, and Dr.Sadiq Wali was also in the possession of a cellular and a telephone on his table at the Aso Clinic. So, why he decided to send a driver and vehicle to pick him, he is to answer the question, my Lord.

Falana: Now, while this rigmarolling was going on, going to Aso Rock Clinic to bring the doctor, Abiola was reeling in pains on the floor?

Zadok: Yes, my Lord...

Falana: Finally, officer, don’t you agree with me that the car, your own car, was left behind for the purpose of using it to convey Abiola to Aso Rock clinic?

Zadok: My Lord....

Falana: Because it was tinted.

Zadok: Yes, my Lord. At any given time, I have a security vehicle on the ground because of any eventuality. So, I wouldn’t have even liked to use my vehicle to see Admiral Akhigbe because I have a BG (body guard) who is behind and whom I can pass the same instruction to.

Falana: Now, this other one you said. Who ordered the stoppage of the feeding allowance for Abiola?

Zadok: I wouldn’t say a particular person ordered it. As I said in my statement, I do collect this quarterly, and at the end of June, I expected another quarter to materialize.

Falana: Yes, first week of July. But because Abiola was going to die on the 7th of July, it was no longer necessary.

Zadok: I think so, my Lord.

Falana: Thank you sir.
- Richard Akinnola

6 comments:

1. Just like General Bamaiyi said, after the sudden death of Sani Abacha, Chief M.K.O Abiola was killed to balance the equation. I strongly believe the United States of America government was involved in his death. Bamaiyi was desperate to be Head of State but he never got it, Major Al Mustapha, Sani Abacha Chief Security Officer prevented him.

1. I didn't know what he was thinking as a Christian minority in that government: that somehow, he will get it and the 2inC who was part of the system and the core Muslim North cabal will watch him retire them? It's like he thought having roped Yoruba officers with their greed, that he would be lucky again.

Funny enough, till now, it seems Bamaiyi's life is yet to balance.

2. No be today this guys don dey do shiiiiii...

Just like movie to me....

3. They couldn't even spare the feeding money to cover up.

4. Stupid Abubakar think some of us are suffering from amnesia like him, he is part of those that looted Nigeria dry. Meanwhile America doesn't want good government in Nigeria same with United Kingdom they are just pretenders. Abiola was killed probably by the United States in agreement with the Nigeria ruling elites then. The insecurities ravaging Nigeria now is not even beyond the western world in collusion with the Northerners. One day we will go our separate way, we are not the same. Meanwhile has Abubakar run out of money that he wants to raise another rounds of billions with his package falsehood called a book. I can use my hard earned money to buy a book written by a failure and psychopath.

5. Game of thrones.Very dirty!!!
    Hello General Abdullsam,..