Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Dino Melaye Versus Estranged Wife's Family - An Open Letter To The Nigerian Public.

Sunday, December 22, 2013

Dino Melaye Versus Estranged Wife's Family - An Open Letter To The Nigerian Public.

• The Fabiyi Family Responds to Dino Melaye’s Statement on His Divorce – Why this Case is Important for Gender Rights in Nigeria‏

On the 18th of December, Mr. Gbenga (Dino) Melaye released a statement through a certain Toyin Akande (Esq), addressing the divorce proceedings filed by Tokunbo Melaye (nee Fabiyi). Mr. Akande is purportedly a lawyer and a family friend. Tokunbo, who was Mr. Melaye’s wife for over a decade is not aware of any family friend or lawyer who bears this name.
The statement that was released on Mr. Melaye’s behalf was filled with malicious falsehoods aimed at deflecting attention from the very serious allegations of physical assault, psychological abuse and emotional trauma that Dino Melaye has inflicted on Tokunbo over the last decade.
Our preference as a family has always been for this issue to have been maintained as a private matter because of the three wonderful children that Tokunbo and Dino had together. Since Mr. Melaye has chosen to publicly malign Tokunbo’s image, and to impugn her character, we are constrained to respond to his recent statement, so that our silence is not construed to be consent.
We are aware that Mr. Melaye is a master of manipulation, and is extremely adept at using the press to his own advantage. For far too long, his deceptions have been allowed to go unchallenged by the Nigerian press. For over a decade, Mr. Melaye has muzzled Tokunbo’s voice. But truth is a persistent flame that cannot be forever extinguished. Tokunbo is not one of the numerous women of easy virtue that are Mr. Melaye’s stock in trade. Neither is she one of the government officials that Mr. Melaye regularly harangues for his own gain.  Tokunbo is a loving mother of three lovely children, and she was until September 25th, 2013 a dutiful wife to Mr. Melaye.  
Mr. Melaye’s statement had four broad themes which we will address in turn:
1.       Mr. Melaye denied ever being violent to Tokunbo, and dared Tokunbo to show proof of any assault during their decade long marriage.
2.       Mr. Melaye denied owning any “ammunition” and conceded that a police search of his office and premises took place in Tokunbo’s presence on Nov 4th.
3.       Mr. Melaye insinuated that the three lovely and innocent children of their union, whom he (Dino) had prevented Tokunbo from seeing since September 25th, 2013, were with their mother, and that he only had “supervised access to them.”
4.       Mr. Melaye claimed that Tokunbo was being used by his “political enemies”, and that she had “stolen” a car and other sundries from him and given it to her “lovers”

Proof of Mr. Melaye’s History of Assault
1.       The Nigerian public is aware that Mr. Melaye has the unique distinction of being the first Legislator in our political history to turn the National Assembly into a boxing ring. It should not be too difficult to imagine what the private conduct will be, of a man who saw no issues with turning a hallowed legislative chamber into an arena of violence in full view of 160 million Nigerians. If the public Mr. Melaye is garrulous and prone to violence, the private Mr. Melaye, free from the prying eyes of outsiders, is an unfettered beast.
2.       Abusers do not believe that their victims are bold enough to document their abuse. What they forget however is that others who love and care for those victims can detail the abuse on their behalf. A number of the assaults inflicted on Tokunbo over the years have required hospitalization, and in one case, reconstructive surgery to Tokunbo’s nose after Dino battered her. Every hospital dutifully places a record of each visit in a patient’s medical files. We have obtained certified copies of the records in Tokunbo’s medical files from two attacks – in 2005 and 2010 and these have been attached to this letter.
3.       We are also glad to oblige Mr. Melaye’s challenge for proof with the attached pictorial evidence of his extensive history of abuse towards Tokunbo, from a vicious attack on her on Oct 1st, 2010. While Nigeria was celebrating its 50th independence anniversary, a man who is supposedly a conscience of the nation, was busy attacking his own wife with a wood plank.

4.       The only reason why there are pictures from the 2010 assault was because Tokunbo’s brothers were in Abuja on the day in question and had rushed down to meet her at the Wuse Zone 3 Police Station which is close to their home, where she had fled to escape Mr. Melaye’s assault. Tokunbo’s brothers were present when the police took her statement, and were present when Tokunbo was accompanied by a police constable to Wuse Hospital for the treatment of wounds to her arms, sustained as she attempted to protect her head from being hit by a wood plank Mr. Melaye was assaulting her with.
5.       Mr. Melaye’s shameful cowardice is also on record. After Tokunbo’s wounds were treated on Oct 1st, we (her brothers) went to Mr. Melaye’s residence to find out why he had assaulted our sister. On seeing us, the man who was a wood plank wielding warrior to a defenseless woman, took to his heels, asked his guards to lock his gates from the inside, and was reduced to peeping through a curtain.  Mr. Melaye then placed a call to the police to report that “armed robbers” were at his home. The police response team that came was comprised of some of the officers from Wuse Zone 3 police post that we had met when Tokunbo had gone to make her statement. They immediately recognized us when they arrived, and left in disgust and disbelief that the distress call came from Mr. Melaye. The police can verify all these facts from their records.

Possession of a Gun vs. Possession of Ammunition & Claims of Arrest for Anti-Corruption Activities on Nov 4th
1.       Why did Tokunbo stay with Dino Melaye for over a decade? We are a Christian family. As people of faith, we believe in God’s ability to change men and circumstances. That is how we were brought up. We were also taught that you should fight for the ones you love.
2.       Tokunbo stayed and endured all that Dino did to her, because of her faith in God’s ability to change him and her belief that marriage is an institution that is sacrosanct. Above all, she stayed because of her children – all of whom she loves greatly. Mr. Melaye had made it clear to her over the years that if she ever left him, he would ensure that she never saw her children again.
3.       Tokunbo only filed for divorce when the assaults from Dino escalated to the level of having a gun pulled on her. A man who had broken a laptop on her head, attacked her with a wooden plank, broken her nose to the extent that it required surgery, beaten her to the point of miscarriage of one pregnancy, assaulted her to the point where her last child was almost born preterm and she required Cervical Cerclage (suturing of the cervix) to prevent the loss of that pregnancy, would certainly have no problems with something as simple as pulling a trigger. When Mr. Melaye threatened to kill her and declared that “You will die and nothing will come of it. I am untouchable,” Tokunbo knew that she would be killed if she returned to Mr. Melaye’s home.   
4.       We obviously do not expect that Mr. Melaye will admit to owning a gun. Interestingly his public statement did not deny that he owned a gun, but rather that he did not have “any ammunition” and that “no gun was found” when the police searched his home and offices on Nov 4th. The distinction between Mr. Melaye’s complete denial of owning ammunition (i.e., bullets) and his statement that “no gun was found” is important.  Certainly, Mr. Melaye knows the difference between the words “Gun” and “ammunition” 
5.       Mr. Melaye admitted that there was a search of his residence and office on Nov 4th 2013 in Tokunbo’s presence. Yet, he lied to the press and Nigerians, when he claimed that the police search on that date was in relation to his “anti-corruption activities”. We call on the press to stop allowing themselves to be unwittingly used as tools by people like Mr. Melaye who can, and will do anything to remain in the public eye.

Whereabouts of the Children
1.       Mr. Melaye insinuated in his statement that the three children of their union are with Tokunbo, and that he has only supervised access to them. According to him: “He (Dino Melaye) is content though PAINED to see his kids only at visits fully controlled by her (Tokunbo Fabiyi).” This statement has been interpreted by some as an indication that the children are in Tokunbo’s care and custody. We wish to categorically state that this is a patent falsehood.
2.       Mr. Melaye has prevented Tokunbo from seeing her children since September 25th, 2013. From September 25th to November 12th, Tokunbo’s only means of contacting the children was to go to their school – Tender Years Preparatory School - and spend a few precious moments with them after their classes. When Mr. Melaye found out Tokunbo was seeing her children in school, he requested that the school should prevent Tokunbo from seeing them. The School Principal worked out what she thought was a reasonable arrangement that allowed Tokunbo to see her children about three times a week for 10 minutes each (see attached letter).
3.       Even this arrangement, lopsided as it was against the mother of the children, was not satisfactory to Mr. Melaye. He stopped the children from going to school from Wednesday November 13th  to Tuesday November 19th. It took Tokunbo’s entreaties to some family friends to get Mr. Melaye to allow the children back to school. The kids started going to school again on Wednesday November 20th. Mr. Melaye went to the school with a group of thugs and threatened the Principal that he would “scatter” the school if Tokunbo was allowed to see the children again.  Since that date, the school has prevented Tokunbo from coming on the school premises. Tokunbo has therefore not seen her children since November 12th.
4.       As late as Dec 13th 2013, Dino Melaye’s lawyer was in a mediatory session organized by FIDA (Federacion Internacional De Abogados, or the International Federation of Women Lawyers) at their Abuja office. One of the major topics of discussion at that meeting was the custody of the children. All the participants at that meeting, including Mr. Melaye’s counsel and the FIDA mediation committee will be able to verify that Mr. Melaye has complete and total custody of the children, and has denied Tokunbo access to them since November 12th.

5.       We encourage the Press to follow up on these issues if they are truly interested in knowing the truth.
Associating with Dino’s “Political Enemies”, Giving of a car to a “young lover”
1.       Tokunbo Melaye (nee Fabiyi) is not a politician, and has no interest in politics. This case is simply about getting justice. It is ironic that a man who purports to be the “voice of the masses” and a defender of the rights of Nigerians denies basic human rights to his own wife. Dino Melaye’s constant physical and psychological battery of Tokunbo, and his use of their innocent children as pawns constitutes serious and egregious human rights abuse.
2.       We challenge Mr. Melaye to show evidence of any discussion, meeting, or association between Tokunbo and any of his so-called political enemies. We challenge Mr. Melaye to name names. A man who can openly and maliciously accuse his wife of infidelity should have no qualms naming the so-called enemies that his wife is supposed to have been cavorting with. Since Mr. Melaye claims Tokunbo has collected monies from his enemies, let him tell Nigerians who these political enemies are that Tokunbo has allegedly collected money from. We also give permission to any Bankers who have access to any of Tokunbo’s accounts to let the world know if Tokunbo Melaye (nee Fabiyi) has any Bank account that has any sums of money lodged beyond her salary as a Civil Servant. We assure them that we as a family have waived all rights to privacy that Tokunbo has to her Bank accounts. We wonder if Mr. Melaye would be bold enough to open himself up to the same scrutiny of his finances.
3.       Knowing how infidelity by women is frowned upon in our culture, Mr. Melaye in a calculated move to discredit Tokunbo, claimed that she “gave a brand new car” Mr. Melaye gave her to her “young lover.” Let him tell Nigerians the make and model of the car that Tokunbo supposedly gave to a “young lover,” and let him tell us what the identity of this “young lover” is.  Since he claims to have seen his possessions on Tokunbo’s  “lovers” it must mean he “knows” them. We challenge him to name these so called lovers.  We warn Mr. Melaye in advance, that should he attempt to muddle the waters with fictitious names and characters, or paid bearers of false witness, our family will deploy every resource at our disposal towards further exposing every single falsehood perpetrated by Mr. Melaye or his proxies.
4.       What does it say of a man’s character if he has no qualms, and no moral dilemma about making up deliberate falsehoods about a woman that he called his wife, and the mother of his children? One day, those children will be old enough to read their father’s calculated and wicked allegations against their mother. God, and they, will judge Mr. Melaye. We are confident that truth, even though crushed to the earth, shall always rise again.

5.       Mr. Melaye believes that by smearing Tokunbo with allegations of infidelity he can turn the tide of opinion against her in the court of public opinion – which is the only court that matters to Mr. Melaye. Because he has established a fairly lucrative career as a politician and “activist”, all that counts in his world, is what people think of him. For Tokunbo, however, all that matters is the truth. Does Mr. Melaye really expect Nigerians to believe that his wife did all these things that he alleges in his letter, and still remained in his house for over ten years? He must really take Nigerians for fools. It is not our family’s style to trade petty allegations and frivolities with people like Mr. Melaye. We will therefore not even bother to go into the litany of cases of Mr. Melaye’s infidelity. The odious public records of his serial indiscretions are there for all to see.  
6.       If there is anyone using this sad case for political gain, it is Mr. Melaye. He went out publicly on Nov 4th to claim that he had been arrested by the police because of the Stella Oduah case, while in fact, the police had gone to his office and residence in response to Tokunbo’s report to the police of his threat to her life.  Mr. Melaye publicly declared in all the newspaper and blog reports about the police visit of Nov 4th that “the two police officers just told me that they have a warrant of arrest on me with a charge of criminal intimidation and threat to life but they did not tell me who I intimidated and threatened.” The truth was that Tokunbo was right there with the police officers, and he admitted that she was present during the search of his premises in his own public statement. Yet Mr. Melaye was bold enough to come before Nigerians to tell them that he had no idea why the police had been in his office and at his home on Nov 4th. Most Nigerians put the news of that arrest down to Mr. Melaye’s “fight” with Stella Oduah, which was exactly what Mr. Melaye hoped would happen.
7.       Mr. Melaye’s puerile and childish attempt to try to defuse his well known cases of infidelity and indecency by besmirching Tokunbo’s reputation, has failed woefully. Tokunbo Melaye (nee Fabiyi) is a well brought up, Christian woman. She has borne this cross with dignity, she has been long suffering, and she has persevered. We are proud of her – for being a survivor. Tokunbo has displayed a strength and resilience that we did not know she had. Her body might have been bruised and battered by Mr. Melaye, but her spirit is strong and unbroken. She is a better person for all that she has endured. Although we could not understand it at first, we now see why she could not bear to leave her children in Mr. Melaye’s hands, and as a consequence chose to remain in an abusive relationship. No child should be left in the hands of a man with no character, no moral compass, no awareness of historical consequences, and no sense of common decency.

Why this case is important to Gender Rights in Nigeria
1.       Nigeria remains a patriarchal society with laws and cultural leanings that continue to be lopsided against females. A mother’s maternal instinct makes her likely to place the welfare and wellbeing of her children above her own. That wonderful instinct is also a woman’s greatest vulnerability. It also leaves her open to abuse in the hands of men willing to exploit a mother’s maternal instinct.
2.       There are certain pertinent questions that we must ask ourselves as a nation: Why can a man ask the proprietress of a school to prevent his wife from seeing her children, without a court order to that effect? Why should a man have more parental rights than a woman? Why should the burden of proof always be on the woman? Why are we quick to blame women for abuse – believing that they must have done something to deserve it? Why are we quick to judge them if they stay in abusive relationships, and why are we also ready to condemn them if they leave for not being patient? Why do we ignore the reality that spousal abuse is a real issue in this country? How many women like Tokunbo are out there, silently, quietly, bearing the burden of abuse alone? Fearful that they will lose their children if they speak out. Fearful that they will be judged for the failure of their marriages. Fearful that they will not find justice in our laws or in our courts.
3.       Tokunbo has been able to stand for herself now, only because of her faith and the support of her family. How many women are out there who do not have the type of family support that Tokunbo has? How many abused women can defend themselves in the press, or hire lawyers to take up their case? Must they continue to fight and to suffer alone? Must they continue to bear this crushing burden all by themselves?
4.       When this case began, Dino Melaye declared that Tokunbo would never see her children again, and that any case she thought she had would be destroyed after “he worked his magic on the press.” Certainly, Mr. Melaye who was once Chairman of the House Committee on Media and who had legislative oversight over the Nigerian media has many friends in the press. By failing to scrutinize Mr. Melaye, the Nigerian press has been an unwitting accomplice in perpetuating Mr. Melaye’s abuse and falsehoods. The Nigerian press has always been on the side of the oppressed. In this case, we do not expect any favors – we only ask that the press should dig deeper, follow leads, ask questions, talk to the doctors mentioned in the reports, talk to the police and come to their own conclusions about what is really going on.
5.       As this case moves out of the court of public opinion, to the court of law, our family has already started to work on ensuring that all abused women – not just Tokunbo - are given a voice. We want to ensure that their tears will no longer be shed in the dark, alone. Their voices will no longer be muffled. Their pain must become our collective pain.  No nation that tolerates the abuse of its mothers and daughters can progress.

Dr Malcolm Fabiyi
For Tokunbo & the Fabiyi family.

91 comments:

1. Dis pipo shld go behind close door N trash dis tin jared.Telemundo feel d passion.

1. U guys don't understand dat Dino is not well,he needs phys help. Dino is going crazy

2. Omolara Fabiyi Smith22 December 2013 at 14:43

My dear, am sorry that won't be happening cos the only language the beast called Dino understands is public embarrassment. We are up to the task now. We have been quiet and tolerating his excesses cos we are a family who don't intrude into marriages but as it is now....we are doing the needful....

3. I applaud the family for their support. I think a lot of people here also need to realize that it is not easy for a woman to walk out of an abusive relationship especially in a country like Nigeria where there are no laws to protect the woman. I have an aunt whose husband used to beat her and say if I kill you, nobody can do anything about it. In fact, he cut her brakes and it was only God that saved her. Of course he denied it. This is a man that she woke up in the middle of the night, he was using scissors to cut her hair and throwing the hair into a calabash. He also told her that she would never see her children is she left. Because of that she didn't leave. Eventually, he chased her out and still refused to let her see her children. It was when the first one entered university that he reunited with his mother. Even by that time, he had poisoned the mind of the children against her.
      Now if we had laws, she would have been able to go to court and get custody of the kids and the police would enforce it. But in our country, even if any judge gives you custody, the man will use the police to prevent you gaining access to the children. Our policemen dance to the tune of the highest bidder.
      And besides, you will be ostracized by society and that mental stress is enough for most women to stay put. Also we women are optimistic, when we love, we love deep and a woman who truly loves a man sometimes sees herself doing things she wouldnt previously have done. We hope for change. Plus look at how Mr Liar has tried to smear the woman's name. Only a strong woman can get out of an abusive relationship in this country. And family support is unfortunately lacking in most of these situations.
      My only source of confusion is this, why hasn't the Fabiyi family been able to get a court injunction concerning custody of the children. Why can't they legally counter Mr Liar's instructions to the proprietress?

4. I applaud the family for their support. I think a lot of people here also need to realize that it is not easy for a woman to walk out of an abusive relationship especially in a country like Nigeria where there are no laws to protect the woman. I have an aunt whose husband used to beat her and say if I kill you, nobody can do anything about it. In fact, he cut her brakes and it was only God that saved her. Of course he denied it. This is a man that she woke up in the middle of the night, he was using scissors to cut her hair and throwing the hair into a calabash. He also told her that she would never see her children is she left. Because of that she didn't leave. Eventually, he chased her out and still refused to let her see her children. It was when the first one entered university that he reunited with his mother. Even by that time, he had poisoned the mind of the children against her.
      Now if we had laws, she would have been able to go to court and get custody of the kids and the police would enforce it. But in our country, even if any judge gives you custody, the man will use the police to prevent you gaining access to the children. Our policemen dance to the tune of the highest bidder.
      And besides, you will be ostracized by society and that mental stress is enough for most women to stay put. Also we women are optimistic, when we love, we love deep and a woman who truly loves a man sometimes sees herself doing things she wouldnt previously have done. We hope for change. Plus look at how Mr Liar has tried to smear the woman's name. Only a strong woman can get out of an abusive relationship in this country. And family support is unfortunately lacking in most of these situations.
      My only source of confusion is this, why hasn't the Fabiyi family been able to get a court injunction concerning custody of the children. Why can't they legally counter Mr Liar's instructions to the proprietress?

5. This comment has been removed by the author.

2. Stella, pls, I'm tired of seeing posts about 'these people.'

3. fabiyi family I give u thumbs up for fighting and defending your sister against that bully dino me-liar, its your word against his now......say no to domestic violence.....but a decade of slaps and blows is wat I can't take from any "morafucker" that calls himself a man

1. As in eeeh, I can't even take a day of slap talk more of a decade. The day hubby will try it, he should know that he is heading to his grave! I dare him!!! Thank God my dear daddy made him promise never to abuse me in front of all our guests on my wedding day. So far so good and I thank God for his mercies.

2. Just realised how jobless I am for reading this to d end.......gosh....soap opera

4. dat hausa girl that blogs22 December 2013 at 11:00

Tears rolling down from my eyes. Dino u r a beast in human form,idiot,I just feel like strangling u to death.just imagine wot this woman encountered in this journey called marriage. I pray that tokunbo will finally win this case to have his children back. Bastard dino melaye. Foooool

5. This people r disgusting and very unserious, y did they leave thr sis to stay in abusive marriage for dt long, they r very wicked. My ex hubby slapped me once n was emotionally abusive, i dropped him like he was hot n took a walk with my son n am unapologetic for that. In d end happiness is wat really matters not marriage.

1. Ewu! Guess u don't have atom of love for Ex... who is ur husband? Dino is a politician can do anything and gety away with it e.g. Farouq is walking free, the pension case nko least I forget former speaker Bankole; It may cost dino money and months I court, as he's manipulative! That his was silent and remained in the marriage. Again, becos u are strong doesn't mean other women are! *Floetry in Motion*

2. Omolara Fabiyi Smith22 December 2013 at 14:46

My dear....we are a Christian family and we adhere to the values. We wanted the move to come from Tokunbo herself and not through our influence. She endured the 10 years cos of her kids and the vow she took on God's sacred alter to be there for better for worse thinking things will get better with time

3. So r u people now muslims or pagans? *rme*. Anyway thank God she came out alive sha. All this vow is mental enslavement in d name of christianity, d white man that brought this religion to africa divorce and remarry when they want to, but Africans ll stay n die thr. Now the kids she stayed becos of em r not in her custody, they grew up witnessing a violent n turbulent home. Nawa

4. Oh please can u people stop blaming the lady for her resilience and tackle what is on ground? If she hadn't stayed long enough to ascertain that she married a Loser for a husband, it is people like you that would have condemned her for not enduring the marriage long enough for her kids sake.

Perhaps if Tokunbo left earlier than this, DINO may have gone back to plead with her to return and the abuse cycle would have continued. Which i suspect has been the case over the years. The time, which is NOW, is when GOD was ready to take up her cause against the animal and to lead her out of captivity.

Did u guys miss to read where she was threatened by him that if she ever left she would never see her kids again? Is that not coming to pass? If u speak to a few abused women, one thing you'll find in common among them is fear of the unknown where kids are involved...when kids become a leverage platform it is no longer about u, but the kids. Except of course when it becomes a life threatening issue, as with tokunbo here, then you flee without minding the kids. She has done the right thing please, more so her family should be commended for not sending her back to DINO with the sentimental rants that we Nigerians usually echo....'go back to your husband's house'...just becos of shame or naysayers.

DINO should be leveled like a mountain that he is, he is a crass misrepresentation of manhood,a nonentity and a gutter boy. he has displayed his ill level of upbringing before the Nigerian people many times...we all read about his sexual shenanigans amongst other rubbish on the regular, and how he denies the very obvious. on a good day he should be locked behind bars and perhaps be on bail to face the litigation suit levied against him.

No one should blame this woman, I don't want to know what her domestic defaults may have been whilst in her husband's house. Everything today points to the fact that that woman has been grossly abused by this bastard. And it is only a being with blue ink running tru thier veins as opposed to red blood, that'll come out to criticise the woman. Justice must be served, she should receive the rights to have access to her kids above all else. Forget about why and how she didn't leave earlier....lets concentrate on NOW that she's out. Bloody Dino! Rubbish

6. Am yet to understand why people stay in bad marriages, it beats me really. Divorce is an option big time.

1. 1.u dnt just leave just like dat is when u c d situation is getting worst n u cnt use dat person
      2.when d person is in 2power n ur re threaten wtout seeing ur kids, d kids makes u stay
      3,when u not financially stable u can't move rada u will want to stay cos u dnt ve wat 2start ova with

7. i totally love Tokunbo and her family are speaking out and fighting This Dino guy word for word. I dont know anyone on his side though. i really hope this woman wins so bad. Violent men are NOT it. not that women stay away sha. Tomorrow now you will see him marrying one fine Caro.lol.

ah me sef don write my open letter o! i tried to email it to you letter but e no gree send. its sha on my blog. Wanna read? www.walkwithleona.blogspot.com. #okbye!

8. This is really bad ooo. I think a blog visitor once said that she meet Tokunbo in front of the school gate crying because she was not allowed to see her children.

1. Omolara Fabiyi Smith22 December 2013 at 14:48

The blog visitor didn't lie cos Tokunbo complained bitterly the day she discovered Dino had placed a ban on seeing the kids.... He even sacked his domestic staff who used to allow Tokunbo speak to the kids via his phone.

9. I knew it. Dis man is a big fat liar. He is supposed to be burnt to death or pepper should be rubbed inside his dick. A devil in disguise. I just hate him.

10. Wow,wat a wonderful writeup.dis is really inspiring to all d victims of DV esp d women.God will give them his grace,wisdom n d strength to win this battle.*teamstopDVagainstwomen#

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

11. Enough of dis dino/tokunbo melaye drama jare

1. Because it has not happened to u nor ur relatives so u dnt ve 2b tired dis re wat women re going through in their home all because u want to save ur home n ur children is high time women stand up for themselves she has just encouraged thousands of women,one thing is haven a good lawyer and other is the financial aspect

2. Omolara Fabiyi Smith22 December 2013 at 14:49

Your comment speaks volume about you already......moving on

3. What's this one saying? I can openly talk about this Dino now, with my friends permission because if he ever reads it he'll know who she is. This man asked her to move from America to Abuja to marry him because he said his wife died in a ghastly auto crash. She obliged him and moved down. Barely two months after she found that her friend, who's close to the corridors of power in abj was also sleeping with Dino. His excuse was that he was using her to penetrate the government becos they dislike him.
      .....There was nothing he didn't promise my friend to make her stay comfy...car, apartment, a store..etc. it was during this she found a liar that he is, and that his wife is very much alive.
      ..... The one that broke the camels back was when Dino lied to her that he had a serious car accident in Lagos on a day he was supposed to be with her, that his legs had been put on cast and that he was in intensive care. Barely 3hours after.. my friend saw him driving in town with his car roof down.
      With music on full blast..She flew back to America the following day.
      ...... It was soon after that Bisi's issue hit the media..that's why I believe that girl. Dino is Godforsaken..Omo ale Dino

4. Ure both are obviously illiterates. How does dis affect u? Must they wash their linen in public? U. Won't read to digest, u just come out here and spill rubbish.

5. Hope u say the same thing when it happens to one of your sisters!...Newbie!

6. Hope u say the same thing when it happens to one of your sisters!...Newbie!

12. Some Nigerian men now resort to lies against their spouse to get even with them. I am speaking from personal experience. My hubby is a case in study. A man I used to think was upright in truth and honesty now thinks he can lie his way out of any and every situation. I can only pray and hope that God answers my prayers to change him before its too late. To imagine that those lies put me off and I keep preaching to him that his lies are ruining our tender relationship. It is well!

13. Wow! I feel like crying after reading this. Those questions raised are begging for answers. I'm so pissed at men and our society right now. I pray Tokunbo gets justice fast. Smh.

1. Mehn that's why I love US! Dino's career would have crumbled by now! All org and groups on women who have dealt with him and trust US investigative press... People would pour flour or stone with high heels if he had made public appearances... Rubbish man!

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

14. So touching....God...

15. Correct Family!!! They have correct evidence!!! Kai, education is good o. All you women that won't focus on your studies but focus on runs and beauty, look at how education can protect you o!!

16. Pheeeeewwwwww! what a long and interesting read.
    Am glad that Tokunbo's family have taken up her fight.

But wait ooooo, Mr Dino broke a Laptop on his wife's head???
    Thank God for your life madam. Now am convinced it wasn't you who posted those tweets defending your husband against Bisi.

1. Omolara Fabiyi Smith22 December 2013 at 14:55

Yes he broke a laptop on her head....he even broke her nose once...she had to go for a reconstructive surgery and now he has turned it against her to say she went for plastic surgery on her gave,stomach and body when we know how natural Tokunbo loves to look.....

2. Omolara Fabiyi u dint even need to disturb yourself by responding....only a compound fool will not know Dino is psychotic with all the evidences against him. even if u didn't post the evidence me I believe Tokunbo.

17. The world is full of stupid people. Some idiots will still follow this Morally bankrupt Dino on protests!

I followed the trial of Nigella Lawson's assistants in UK. While Nigella's husband, Satchi wasn't physically abusive, he was manipulative, controlling and suceeded into turning a Strong woman into a whimp.

Its not easy for a woman with kids to leave her matrimonial home especially one with a manipulative husband.

1. Thank you. It takes the power of God cos most times the abused feels helpless. I was in that type of relationship and it made me add so much weight and I lost my zest for life...

18. Dino Melaye, I think u should just stop this public show of shame. Sort things out with ur wife and stop this public disgrace. You are rich and I wonder what could have gone wrong . May God put an end to these problems in your home. I hate divorce and break ups, and I just don't know why it's trending these days, both nationally and internationally.

1. Seriously they should sought out their family issues outside the media.. wht a show of shame.. every marriage has got trials and challenges. Marriage has neva bin a bed of roses.. pls they should go for deliverance and truely invite Christ into their lifes.. if u love christ u will love ur friends and foes..every one is hating on Dino, wht abt the wife she can nt be totally innocent. At some point they both failed and allowed demonic forces into their home. Who knows she might have this spirit husband who is bent on her nt enjoying her marital home. Speaking of Dino, he also need to be delivered for powers beyond human control... just saying.. they should seek Gods intervention rather than opening their black asses for the world to see.. any man in Dino shoes could reason as same as him, with they manner the falayi's r handing the issue, like seriously.. both write ups and evidence sounds like calculated case of blackmail, they could pass for a political enemy. Two wrongs they say can neva make a right...hatred can neva survive in face of love..for the sake of Christ, judgement day and the future of their kids, they should stop this madness.. Life is too short for all this. The should nt allow the devil succeed in distracting them from their real purpose in life in other not to miss the crown. both parent would be judged by God,should they fail in their duties bestowed by Chirst to those kids. They should Make God's words an integral and a standard for their lives else they would end up planting seeds of evil, war and harted for the kids to harvest. Tokunbo should go to SCOAN for help..LET LOVE LEAD

2. If she didn't involve the media how will she get justice? With a manipulative husband who has been abusing her indoors for 10years? Esp when he's using his access to the media to bully her..we are the voice she needs as solidarity to fight her unjust husband o. This is beyond family settlement because Dino is frustrating thier efforts abeg! Besides, dino's life can't be made private because he chose to be a public figure. And Nigerians need to know that his behavior at home doesn't depict what he paints himself to be outside. Call it crime watch if u like.

3. Look at the bullshit this jazmyn just typed,u are what is wrong with this country...ur reasoning is very distorted,sounding like a brainwashed religious sycophant.I went tru a range of emotions while reading d rubbish u spewed,from anger,disbelief,disgust and finally pity...I really think you need help...Newbie!

4. Look at the bullshit this jazmyn just typed,u are what is wrong with this country...ur reasoning is very distorted,sounding like a brainwashed religious sycophant.I went tru a range of emotions while reading d rubbish u spewed,from anger,disbelief,disgust and finally pity...I really think you need help...Newbie!

19. Ds man is a beast! Any man wo can subject hs children to ds kind of maltreatmnt n emotional trauma of separatin dia mum frm dm dsnt av a hrt. I pray de court grants her custody of de kids n may God gv her strength to mov on. Som men r jus animals in human clothin. Tufiakwa dino!

Trippin

20. Nice speech by the Tokunbo Family, they must be very brilliant, but all trough the write up they didn't mention any fault of the lady as if , Dino wakes up everyday to start beating the woman, though its very wrong for any man to assault fellow man not to talk of woman or wife, but in the statement they fail to mention the causes of the beatings, didn't they have great time 2geda? Was it beating from day 1 to the last day? Didn't Dino did anything Good for the family? Look, let's be realistic with ourselves, the lady knew who Dino was before going into marriage with him, but he knew Dino would be rich dat was y she went in with him, am sure she'll be boasting with his success among friends and family before now, for every gain, there must be pain, they refuse to state if the marriage was legal (registry),though I feel for her but 1million Nigerian ladies would want to be Dino's wife if she leaves!!!
    They should pursue the case in court, let both side table their stoties and we would see who that will come out victorious!!!

1. Only an animal in human form, a beast,a pig and 'less than a man' (or if ure a woman,u must be one of dino's bitches) can waste so much space like u just did,typing rubbish! No matter what a woman does,u shd neva hit her!I'm even of d opinion that if u catch her cheating which to me is one of the worse that can happen,simply send her packing and have the family refund the bride price. Funny enuf,men who beat their wives can hardly hit men who are smaller than them outside. I know this is dino the dog commenting but my warning is this: no responsible lady will ever marry u again.nor be say u nor go find wife o but na d type wen go sleep with that your gate man, your lawyer and all your best friends.human right activist indeed!breeze don blow,cover your y....h make we see nah!as 4 the pipo wanting the story to be kept secret,wot do u mean by washing dirty linen inpublic?make dem hide d matter abi?he is a public figure so his affairs must remain public.as 4 dat itohan girl,I be bini girl too,infact u be my namesake but ure sick!a lot of bini girls like u endure beatings from your thug boyfriends so your comment nor shock me at all.

2. Anon 11.58
      Your comment is the most stupid one I've ever read on this blog. So when people are getting married one of them can see into the future that the other will later become rich in life? Ode, except if you are a witch which may be what you are.
      Didn't you see Dino the liar's wedding suit? Didn't you see how hungry he looked? So hungry men in hungry suits equate great future to you? I pity you.
      Let me tell you something, Tokunbo's family is extremely well off but they are too well educated and Christian to boast, please do your research about them before writing trash next time.
      People that sponsored Dino's wedding including his parents wedding clothes, they did everything just because their daughter loved Dino and insisted on marrying him otherwise he is beneath their standards.
      And by the way I'm not a member of their family, they are not the type to write like this. Just an angry insider who knows Dino's smelly yansh covered all these years for their daughter's sake.

3. IT God bless u for ur comment

21. @bitchplis, I know you are a guy and you were supporting Dino before. Now you don't want to hear anymore about the drama because you have been proven wrong, abi? Am sure you are an abuser just like Dino

22. Only in Nigeria can this kind of animal still be allowed to have a political career. Women are constantly maligned, mistreated and completely vilified when they come out of an abusive union and try to speak the truth. And unfortunately usually by other women for the most part! Especially when the man has any kind of standing in society. It is truly tragic. As bad as I feel for Tokunboh, I really doubt much will come of all this to her favour. Her family are trying now, but the truth is they let her go through this hell for far too long, and what they are trying to do now seems to be to little, too late. Good luck to all of them though, especially to Tokunboh. I hope you are reunited with your children soon. God bless.

23. All those saying 'enough with this story' need to know that updates are the norm.You can't begin a story and not bring to the fore latest developments. Having said that,I applaud the family for fighting Dino. However,I am a bit apprehensive about Tokuboh.Hope she doesn't return to that manipulator? Ve seen this play out many times with other couples.Watch this space!

24. Anonymous 11:58 may you experience all that Tokunbo went through, Amen!

25. This is really awesome,while i continue to blame the family for even allowing her to return to the "House of pain and sorrow"after several violent encounters i must applaud them for how they have been making up for it so far.

they are hitting dino where it hurts,public opinion
    this letter is a duty on every Nig to revisit the issue of women's right s.
    i am surprised women's groups have not taken this case with the seriousness i would expect

26. @anon21 you are an idiot sha. So the woman just hast to be the cause of her beatings, abi? You are definitely an abuser and most probably a rapist! Let one million women marry Dino after Tokunbo. As long as she has her children, Dino can go to HELL! You are a terrible human being

27. Stella of life,kindly advice the woman to move on already & she ll eventually get custody of her children.
    That said,think they should stop this am right/wrong doesn't change anything rather keeps adding insult to their injury.
    Am sure some of the family members enjoyed while the going was good(no matter how short it was).
    Violence of any kind is a no no, but I believe people allow themselves to be violated most times because the signs are always there.
    Won't be surprised if another lady is at the centre of this & might have moved in about now,so what are we talking about!hmmm.

1. U r so ignorant am sure u didn't read any of this,son or daughtet of bitch n dickhead

2. I pity your parents!

28. Kai! These words brought to tears "She has borne this cross with dignity, she has been long suffering, and she has persevered. We are proud of her – for being a survivor. " My dad abused my mum for years! Yet she still loves him and also stay bcos of us her children and what society would say as well as us girl will have difficulty getting married bcos we from broken home (yes some men and family still reason that way). Some pple on here saying why she remained in abusive r/ship are asking stupid questions. It clearly written in Tokunbo family statement or are u disylexia? Pls it not easy esp Dino is a politician and has influence plus he might get away with anything (just like gov Chime's case). And our Nigerian Society And court don't favour/support/help women.. Kai that's why I love US! Dino meLair would been in prison or paying serious bills now and two-faced self claiming activist would crumbled...

29. I feel soo much for Tokunbo.I pray that God will make her Victorious and Triumph over all her Enemies in Jesus Name.Dino Your Judgment is very near and you cannot escape it.Beast called Melair.

30. Woah, this is an interesting letter, and I really pray something comes out of it. It is really sad that our legislation does not protect women unlike other developed nations. Can you imagine Dino preventing his wife from seeing her kids... my question is who really owns a child? Because that's the part that brought tears to my eyes...pls SDK and blog visitors let's use the power that we have now which is social media to cry out to our leaders. They should do something about the rights of women. It's not only about Tokunbo, there are millions out there facing this same thing with no family like the Fabiyi... kudos to Mrs Josephine Chukwumah of Project Alert I worked with her once on the gang rape of a Teenager while I was in nigeria and I know she is trying to give women hope through her work...Pls blog visitors I hardly comment but there is no day I don't come to this blog and read stories from it
    Let's spread the word. Our leaders should sit up and do something about the plight of women. If a man can't smash his BlackBerry, iPad, android when it ceases then he should not raise his hand on his wife no matter the disagreement. STOP THE VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN.

1. U are on point........KIKE

2. Where is d like Button for dis comment??

31. I disagree with you on that project alert story,I know countless women tht have ran to tht org for protection and they didn't do zilch! Stp deceiving people cos my sister is a victim of Their lax treatment,Infact after she reported her husband to project alert and they invited him after much time was wasted they ended up doin nothing abt it and ofcourse the beast beat her to a pulp for embarrasing him.thank God she had the strenght to run away from the brute and leave her kids behind,its almost 6yrs now and she's yet to see her 4 lovely boys.project alert my foot!

1. I don't know what your sister's experience with Project Alert is, but it's time we raise our voice and let our leaders know that women are victimized. (((Hugs))) to your sister. Nelly

2. Hugs we have all given her in abundance because she is as strong as a rock! Thanks for your comment appreciated!

32. Hmm, i read it all and i must say that Dino's wife Tokumbo is from a very very good and responsible family, i am so proud of them. Tokumbo is very lucky to come from a family like that if not Dino would have killed her long ago. Madam you must fight for the custody of your children so that all those whores in his life will not spoil their own. I WISH YOU LUCK MADAM!

33. God bless fabiyi family, Godbless tokunbo , Godbless Nigerian mothers ! The owner of remi chris shop in emab yours is next. Threw out the mother of his three kids n brought in his pregnant mistress. Cos the wife has poor parents,she is sleeping on the streets as we speak so she can get a glimpse of her kids . This is the same woman that hustled with him n lived d wretched life at the beginning . Advice to single ladies,please never marry a poor man,not even one with prospect. It hurts more when u have given ur best days n time n youth n when money comes for you to enjoy u become dirt to the man

34. Omolara Fabiyi Smith22 December 2013 at 14:40

I am very very sure Dino in his regular way has been dropping those silly responses. I am on my way back from church and I promise to settle down to respond to those silly comments cos am in the know of the whole thing happening. I am Dr.(Mrs) Omolara Fabiyi-Smith( Tokunbo's cousin) . This is a family resolve to fight this to finish. I want to see how Dino wants to face a family with over 20 practicing lawyers, a Military senior Lawyer and a Nigerian Supreme Court Justice.

1. In as much as I blame the family and Tokunbo for keeping quiet about Dino's violence for too long, its awesome that Tokunbo is now being supported by you all.

I wish Tokunbo hadn't foolishly supported Dino, against her own brother during the Bisi Ibidapo Obe saga.

If this were in UK or saner climes, she would have gotten automatic custody based on Dino's violent history. I hope the lawyers in your family can achieve this. Goodluck

35. Asin my heart beats for Lola, grab a handkerchief Telemundo feel d passion. Lol

36. I'm still in support of this man call Dino
    if you like (rain curse on me) I also have a mother and sister but to think a man will just decide one day to start beating her wife is farce I dislike this altitude in women always forming the villain, that woman is evil I'm so sure of that I mean she can even cut herself in that very particular picture put up by sdk I don't believe all this ish until Dino accept that this woman did no wrong before he did all what I read here.

Dr. Akinwumi

1. Wow. You are sick. A man has no right whatsoever to hit a woman even if she's the devil.

2. You my friend are a psychiatric emergency!U are obviously a wife beater and a wretched coward,U can never end well!...NewBie!

3. This comment has been removed by the author.

37. Waowww what a wonderful,staunch and well grounded family,i really applaud them,they shdnt back down,the more Dino talks the more they continue to counter him through the media. Useless evil goat of a man,he must be subdued at all cost and those children taken away from him and given to their mother. For those peeps asking why she stayed,it takes you to be in her shoes to understand,ve been there,and the fear the abuser instills in you alone would make you feel unsafe anywhere in this world,you cnt hide anywhere from him cos u wud always feel the walls closing in on you,u cnt walk or drive facing ur front cos you wud think there is an assailant behind u!!! It is only when God steps in and removes ur fear that one can stand up against an abuser or walk away from him. As for the devilish ones saying they are tired of this story am sure u are evil and wicked abuser of a man,and you feel angry at the way Tokunbo and her family are standing up against this beast of a man,i pity ur wives or girlfriends this periods cos you wud sooooo transfer aggression on them due to the fact that u see them doing such to u in the nearest future,if u dnt change ur ways something worse wud befall u lots soonest,the tide is turning against evil men in Nigeria,and God wud keep exposing and disgracing all of u IJN. Amen.

38. Where are the Women Rights group... This is a fantastic job for them.

39. Where are the Women Rights group... This is a fantastic job for them.

40. I myself have experıenced DV and ı can swear that ı dıd nothıng to hım. May God fıght to TK. And many thanks to her famıly becos my own famıly would drag me back to the man for me to go and dıe. And to MR dıno, return the woman's kıds to her.

41. MAY I BORROW THE QUOTE OF GREAT ABRAHAM LINCOLN...YOU CAN FOOL SOME OF THE PEOPLE ALL OF THE TIME AND ALL OF THE PEOPLE SOME OF THE TIME, BUT YOU CAN NOT FOOL ALL OF THE PEOPLE ALL OF THE TIME......MR DINO MELAYE TRULY JUDGEMENT DAY HAS COME UPON YOU. THIS IS A MAN THAT CLAIMS TO BE A HUMANRIGHT ACTIVIST AND A SOCIAL CRITIC AND CRUSADER YOUR EVIL DEEDS HAS EXPOSED YOU. YOUR DAYS OF FOOLING NIGERIANS TO BELIEVE IN YOUR DECEITS AND LIES ARE OVER. YOU ARE A BIG FOOL.

42. The Fabiyi Family,

I know you are reading this. Please sue Dino for everything he's got. Make an example out of him so that hopeless bastards like him will think twice before abusing women. Publicise this so that other women will know that they can get recourse from the courts and not have to go to the streets to see their children. Nigeria is 50 years behind divorce laws and attitudes. Please let women know that THEY DO NOT HAVE TO STAY.

His children will hate him. That's not a curse but it's guaranteed. As Iyabo Obasanjo publicly disowned her father, these time of trauma will mark Dino's children and they will read this and hate that man. And if there is justice in the world, he will die broken and alone.

43. The bible says we fight not against flesh and blood but against principalities and powers of darkness... having over 1million lawyers in the family won't solve this issue.. fight it spiritually and Tokunbo will win. for the sake of those children go to SCOAN if TB joshua should send for DINO he would definitely come, He has settled so many family issues, tougher ones.. if u doubt me watch Emmanuel TV, u would see for your self.. GODS wisdom contradict human common sense ephesians 2 :9.. God chooses grace more than works an one can earn his grace by works. God is still in the business of repair damage and broken marriages.. The Devil has come to kill, steal and destroy.. devil creates in problem in Marriages to destroy souls from living righteous life to make heaven.. heaven is the final goal of life my sister..all the devil want to do is to steal precious soul.. God can still restore your home, God would do it for u, seek him.. I see your kids growing under the tutelage and guidance of both parent in the same peaceful home in Jesus name.. I am a living witness to His Gods grace.. don't allow evil forces in the form of human destroy your home with sick advises.. EMMANUEL

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

44. I commend her family for standing by her...she needs your support now than ever...and i hope she has learnt her lesson...and i pray the bastard pays for this.

45. "We are aware that Mr. Melaye is a master of manipulation, and is extremely adept at using the press to his own advantage"... I agree with u, atleast 2 a large extent... Dino is violent and loquacious, he's a manipulator and a finagler..#doctorbobby

46. Very unfortunate, the fabiyi's are God fearing, very decent family. Knew them at kaduna we were living on d same street, i was a good friend of toks senior sister yvonne. Dino is a beast seeking cheap popularity, he does not deserve tokunbo at all.