Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Christmas Countdown- 3 Days To Go....Share Your Unique Christmas Recipe With Us.

Sunday, December 22, 2013

Christmas Countdown- 3 Days To Go....Share Your Unique Christmas Recipe With Us.

Pan-Fried Potatoes (Bratkartoffeln)

Potatoe is traditional German food and it made in different varieties,depending on how you like it.....this style is my favourite and makes eating potatoes such fun.

Please share your favourite unique Xmas dish,it doesn't matter what it is,just include what to buy and how to make it so that we can all try it out at home.

here is mine

2 lbs potatoes, peeled and cooked
3 tablespoons oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 pinch black pepper
3 ounces bacon, diced (optional)
1 medium onion, diced (optional)
For garnish
1 tablespoon parsley, chopped
1 small onion
 Directions:

-Cut potatoes into evenly thick slices (about 3/16 in ).

-Use a large pan that will hold potatoes in a single layer or use two pans.

-heat oil over medium high heat.

-If using bacon and onion fry together until onion is translucent.

-first add the onions and leave to fry till it is golden brown.Add potatoes, stir once to mix and then be patient!

DON'T stir until potatoes are nicely golden brown on the bottom, 3-5 minutes, only check for colour occasionally.

-Sprinkle with half the salt. Use less salt when using bacon.

-Turn and fry the same way on the other side until nicely gold-brown.

-you might need to add a little more oil or butter to the pan if all the oil is soaked up by the potatoes.

-Taste with salt and pepper.
Serve sprinkled with parsley and/or roasted skinned chicken with some green salad. 

*oya your turn.

47 comments:

1. Hmmmmmmm. Oya cuks in da house, pls kom and teach me how to cuk. I think I'll try stella's favourite first. I just hope its sweet.

2. Stellastica! You for find ingredients cook banga soup nah. Haba! My friend that lives in Munich told me all their food is potato this, potato that. I send her dry fish once in a while. She also complains of not having bones to crack in her meat. In short, she haff tired for their food pata pata.
    Me, I'm gonna be home alone. Thinking of pounded yam, white soup (chicken), stocked my refrigerator already with assorted drinks. I'm just looking for company, but I don't mind chilling with my TV.

1. Na wa for your friend ooo..There are loads of african shops where he/she could buy african stuffs from...

2. how far abeg harp larger beer dey for the fridge? I nor mind if u invite me . My contact na giftpeters@hotmail.com. @10 u.

3. Stella, pls specify, its Irish potato. Before some cooks on your blog will go and buy sweet potato and be like...'I'm preparing german delicacy this Xmas.

4. Yes o! I'm gonna be having this pan fried potatoes at the Birmingham Christmas German market today. *Dancing*

5. Ich liebe Kartofell! Stella you can use this same recipe minus the 3 tablespoon oil next time to make a Loaded Potato Salad. All you need to add to your ingredients is a bit of sour cream or double cream or whatever cream you have and plenty cheese then pop into a pre heated oven for a few minutes so the cheese melts. Yummy! This is a one off treat for me because of the caloriesI love to make it this way once in a while especially on Sundays. It is eaten as a side dish or on it's own if you prefer. The onion can be replaced with spring/green onions which are more flavourful. My English Christmas recipe you guys will have to Google the recipes I am afraid involves Yorkshire pudding and little wieners wrapped in bacon, turkey, honey glazed ham, gravy, roast potatoes and steamed vegetable medley of peas, carrots, sweet corn, broccolli and brussels sprouts. Starters are shrimp salad and vegetable salad. Dessert is Christmas pudding, ice cream, black forest cake homemade and lots of other goodies. Then tea later after a few hours with crumpets and clotted cream then for the rest of the day we munch on snacks and those who want eat the leftover Christmas dinner there is always enough to last us until boxing day.

6. stella am going to try this
    i love christmas

7. Pls join ''so you think you can cook '' group on Fb. So many recipes....I have learnt a lot there.

8. Mine is ikokore.. I'm already salivating. My mum is cooking it and we've bought the ingredients already; water yam (isu ewura), ata gungun (dried pepper), cray fish, palm oil, iru pete (locust beans), agbodo and roasted cat fish... I love this meal to bits.

1. I love ikokore scatter.

2. It's not Iru Pete, it is Ogiri - iif it is the real ikokore I know! Or isn't it?

3. Yes, it's Ogiri. My mistake, but ogiri is scarce in Lagos and we don't really like the smell.

4. Omg! You have killed me. Been craving ikokore for months now. Can't seem to find water yam in this UK o. #sad

9. Errrmmmm......talking about best recipe I can't wait for tuesday when my cowtail comes and I'll use it to make plantain porridge. The plantain must be half ripe(i.e not too ripe, not too unripe). That cowtail with such thick kpoma and oil dripping you know. And yes, I'll use a little scent leave to garnish at the end. Yummy.......y best recipe is ready

1. Thank you oo @shugar, I be wan cook exactly with not too ripe and not too unripe plantain, oxtail, beans, and no a little bit scent leave, no kpomo!! Yummy yummy!

10. Stella, you haff suffered! Na ordinary fried potatoes be your special delicacy.

11. @ Shugar,I'm salivating already. I love plantain porridge die.

1. Ozone baby, aiit just come straight down to Benin. Be my guest.

12. This will taste very nice in fact i am trying it this xmas minus the bacon cause i hate it.i think it will taste really nice with some pepper and diced liver,beef

13. Seems everyone is doing foreign... I ve ordered Bush~ meat straight up from home. Gonna prepare correct Ohiele soup(Ogbono);the ishan version.So it must be laced with Ugboreh(Locust beans seasoning) for smell effect. Poundo yam will complete the ball.Diet? What diet on christmas day? Sacrilege!

1. Chai...am visiting your village to have a taste.

2. Wide eyed aspa u no gree tell me weda u dey single that time make u meet my brother. Me don catch one of ur correct is ishan brother oh, this one ehn chai in fact my Christmas don set abeg....I'm in love. Merry Christmas my dear wide eyed, may ur home be filled with Love and blessings this season and beyond. From ur secret admirer who thinks ur comments are always on point!

3. Wow@ Wide eyed...My Ishan sister!....Much love!!!

4. Wow!@ wide eyed my Ishan sister...bodia yeh?much love.

14. Mine will be African salad minus the fresh onions wih soft pomo and chiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiilled Pepsi.

15. My local dish ikoko or ikpan koko ie grinded water yam cooked wit enough ingredients like dry fish, palm oil, crayfish, onion, crab, scent leaf, pepper, salt, etc, am so loving that calabar food.

1. What is ikpan koko? Pls don't bastardize our delicacy. From the way u are writing, I don't think u can pronounce it. Pls, stick with rice and stew, or pepper soup rice. Those 2 are easy. FYI, its ekpang nkukwo.

2. That's Ijebu's Ikokore

3. Yyayy, that's ijebu ikokore!

4. Peace? Amybrish?

5. Lev her na she jst dsnt knw hw it spell, its akpang nkukwo(hope i got it right sha)

16. Pls you guys come to my rescue.Eight and a half months preggy during this Christmas and doc says I can't eat everything to avoid making d baby big.These days,hubby cooks everything I love and he enjoys it with the kids without me.The fridge us stocked with assorted drinks and I can't drink.What shall I do? How do I enjoy my own Christmas recipe?#sad#

1. Delight yourself in salads and vegetables dearie! And there is no drink as water, enjoy it! It is. All from the heart! safe delivery!!

2. You have roughly two weeks to go. You'll be fine, congrats in advance

17. White soup (chicken)& pounded yam, wiith gizard, shrimps and snail sauce served wiv rice! No money for goat dis year biko.

18. Queen Amy I really nid t take food lessons frm u. I so luv calabar delicacies. Pls wots ur fb Id? I luv t cook even though I dnt eat much. I just want t learn new meals f my hubby t be. He is a food freak

1. Just click on my name, read and follow d link to all Nigerian Food recipes...and pls thank me later.

19. Oluyomi and Queen Amy are Ikokore and Ikpan Koko the same thing? I remember cooking both in Secondary School Home Economics (Food and Nutrition) and can't remember if they are the same. First and last time in Home Econs. I don't like water yam.

1. Yeah, they are.
      Its spelt ''Ekpang kuko" tho.

2. The akwa ibom one. Just has leaves added

20. I like to cook it's one of my hobbys. I like to make Fried Rice and Vegetable Salad with Full ingredients on Xmas day with stewed Turkey......This Xmas not sure what will happen, it doesn't feel Christmasssyyy yet, Same thing last year. Hope this Pattern stops soon.