Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Akpabio Defends N100Million Medical Retirement Benefit

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Akpabio Defends N100Million Medical Retirement Benefit

According to Punch Governor Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State on Wednesday explained the reasons behind the passage of the controversial amended Pension Law of Akwa Ibom State, which has continued to generate ripples across the country.

The governor had last week forwarded a bill to the state House of Assembly seeking approval for among other things a N100m medical allowance for retired governor of the state while recommending N50m for former deputy governors.
He also sought approval for a N60m per annum allowance for a retired governor to employ domestic servants while the deputy governor will be entitled to N30m to engage domestic servants.
The bill was passed by the state lawmakers on Monday.
Akpabio in Uyo however maintained that the law had been in existence since  2000, saying the law, “contrary to media reactions” was meant to “block loopholes and check abuses of the  open-ended privileges extended to former chief executives and their deputies.”
The governor, who gave the explanation while signing the amended law, stated, “With the signing of this law, it supersedes  the existing law passed by the previous administration, which had been in existence since year 2000.
“The Nigerian constitution empowers the State Houses of Assembly to make laws for the wellbeing of its people. So, we have today made the Pension Law for  former governors and their deputies. This law was made in the year 2000 and was amended in 2006 and is now being amended in 2014.
“The new law states that all staff of the former governors, should not earn more than N5m annually and staff of former deputy governors should not earn more than N2m annually.”
Akpabio added, “No former governor can spend more than N100m in a year for medical expenses and no former deputy governor can spend more than N50m for medical expenses, because such extra money would not be spent by the state government, because we are making sure that we cover all the loopholes of financial wastages.
“For the widows of former governors, they would receive a minimum of N1m a monthly for medical expenses and N500,000 for the widows of former deputy governors.”
Akpabio explained that the law covered those who served in the old Cross River State, stating that the law was to streamline and to bring sanity to the spending of the state finances.

*Does his defence make sense to you?

27 comments:

1. It will only make sense if we kn how much dey use to spent on dem b4 naw!

2. Spending more money does not bring sanity to the spend in of state finances. Nonsense!

3. Spending more money does not bring sanity to the spending of the state finances. Nonsense!

4. Nahhh not in the least of sense. Mshew

5. No! Stella, akpabios defence holds no water. This is ultimately going to lead to more stealing and "financial wastage". What's even going on in this country? The very nerve of him bringing such crusty defence! Goes to show how this politicians view Nigerians as people with the inability to reason. Why are widows of past state heads receiving such sums? Whats the compensation for widows of civil servants who gave their youth serving the country only to die struggling to get their meagre pensions? Such blatant disregard for the common man, such flagrant display of disgusting greed! Akpabio search your heart, deep down you know you only want to plup up a soft cushion for yourself for when you exit office. BIG FAT SHAME to you and everyone of your minions who will come here to defend shit.

POP

6. still sayn thesame thng. Ndi ohi

7. This man should just shush it already...thieves

8. This politicians and their tactics to embezzle money is just really funny... Nobi only law na lawyer, my frnd get out...

9. Stories that touch... Abegi

Magical eyes

10. it don't make any sense to me.

11. How can it make sense for God's sakes?these are the dividends' of democracy we are talking abt',a few pple enriching themselves at d expense of a large group,now even at retirement they still want the freebies to continue!is the state all abt d govnor and his deputy?how abt he talking social security for the old,jobless youths and homeless pple in the state if truely he wants to be remembered as a heroic leader?smh.#selfish evil men#

12. No mind dis thief! People shouting he's done so much 4 AKS, pls Wat has he done in d last 3years wit 1. Something trillion. Pls also b reminded dat he's not d one dat did Uyo airport n d road dat leads 2 town, or d meridien he only commissioned them. Pls b4 u speak how many rds do u ve in ur LGA? How can a whole state power d str lights with gen? And u say he is working. God will punish Nnung Akpabio ooo. He wants medicals? He Shud make it available 2 all indigens.

13. Silly excuse and misuse of office

14. You are such a greedy man. For your mind you just made sense? People like you are the reason why this wonderful nation seems not to be moving forward. If every one in the corridors of power is allowed to determine what they would earn when they live office, i wonder if there will be anything left for the future generation.
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA.
    Paragon7ven.

15. Waste of fund mean't for ordinary citizens. Can't he channel this fund to help out others especially the poor in Ak state? What he stole for the past years is enough for him to take care of his needs for the rest of his life. This is the kind of young politician who wants to rule Nigeria, afterward he will name and claim Aso rock as his birth right and presidential jets as part of right. Nonsense

16. Unrepentant thief.

17. I was liking this guy before but I don't think I like him anymore. This is too much money going to a few selected people in his state. Thiefry in a new mode. The other advantage sha is dt people who come to office know that even after they live office they are going to be catered for so no need to loot public funds but then again what do all rich people want if not more money. It is well

18. I was liking this guy before but I don't think I like him anymore. This is too much money going to a few selected people in his state. Thiefry in a new mode. The other advantage sha is dt people who come to office know that even after they live office they are going to be catered for so no need to loot public funds but then again what do all rich people want if not more money. It is well

19. Nuella Njuibigbo Chikere Furk Mate?

20. Obong Ino (thief) Akwa Ibom. I hope EFCC catches up with him. Greedy thief.

21. To think that he is still owing the former LG Councillors & most of them are living in penury after leaving office. Yet, he makes provison for his greedy self. Chai! Chai!! Godswill Akpabio, dia ris God o! Dia ris God ooooooo!

22. How about using dat money to develop the health systems in ur state...fucktard...na that medical issue go kill u greedy bastard...

23. Akpabio wetin dey worry you that you need 100 million to maintain am? I thought you did a blood test for all the girls brought to you before deciding whether it's just tfare of 500k they get or 2 million thanks for coming?

24. No mind d thief! And silly lawmakers passed. D bill ooo just 4 a mere sum of 20m. Dats like selling ur birthright, Wat will happen in 50years time? How many Xgov go dei?

25. What kind of domestic servants is he employing and how much is he paying them to warrant 60m? Fear God

26. I think u are sick mr governor wit ur stupid demands.