Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: New Year Broadcast To The Nation By President Goodluck Jonathan

Thursday, January 01, 2015

New Year Broadcast To The Nation By President Goodluck Jonathan

NEW YEAR BROADCAST TO THE NATION BY GOODLUCK EBELE JONATHAN, GCFR, PRESIDENT OF THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF NIGERIA, JANUARY 1, 2015.

Dear Great People of our nation,
1.         I greet and felicitate with you all as we enter the New Year today. As we mark the beginning of this New Year, 2015, a new nation is being born.  A new nation is being born because of the foundations we have all laid, working together for the good and progress of our dear fatherland.   

2.        I join you all in thanking God Almighty who has brought us this far, for continually bestowing His Grace upon us and for guiding our great nation safely through all the challenges of the past year.

3.        This year, as in the year past, I reaffirm my commitment to work to ensure a secure future for our dear country and the generations yet unborn.

4.        Last year, we celebrated our hundredth year of nationhood. The year brought us further progress, challenges and fresh opportunities.

5.        We have contended with the normal challenges of nation-building and the unusual challenges of terrorism.

6.        But we have continued to vigorously confront those who seek to destroy the bonds of unity that hold us together.

7.         On this first day of the New Year, I want to pay special tribute to the gallant officers, men and women of our Armed Forces and other security agencies who have been in the forefront of the war against terrorism and violent extremism in our country and sub-region.

8.        I also commend all Nigerians who have remained vigilant and cooperative with our security agencies in the fight against the common enemy.

9.        We are re-equipping and re-positioning our armed forces to enhance their capacity to win the ongoing war against terror and insurgency.

10.    Regrettably, terrorists have unleashed much pain and agony on our land. They have made widows of our mothers and sisters and orphans of our children. They have shut down businesses, desecrated places of worship and brought untold hardship to both men and women. They have violated the culture and peaceful way of life in our country, which took generations to build.

11.     They have destroyed countless schools and displaced people from their communities, driving them into exile.

12.    I want to assure you that the terrorists will not get away with their atrocities: they will not win; they will be routed. As President, I feel the pain of all affected communities and families. I hear their cries and share their sorrow and pain.

13.    We will not forget; we will not look the other way. We have done a lot of painstaking planning and work to resolve the current security challenge. We will bring justice to the savage terrorists known as Boko Haram. They will be defeated.

14.    That is the solemn commitment I make today as President of the Federal Republic, and Commander-in-Chief of our Armed Forces.

15.    By the Special Grace of God, the Federal Government, under my leadership, has continued, in the past four years to lead our country forward, even under the most trying circumstances.

16.    The progress we have made in priority areas bears us testimony.

17.    Amongst other achievements, we have rehabilitated and expanded our rail transportation network, successfully privatized power generation and distribution, significantly reformed and increased local participation in our oil and gas industry, and improved nationwide access to potable water from 57% in 2010, to 70% at present.

18.   We have also made significant progress in improving access to primary, secondary and tertiary education by building and equipping more schools, including special Almajiri schools, and establishing additional universities to ensure that each state of the nation now has at least one Federal University.

19.    Our national economy maintained a steady growth rate of close to seven per cent in the past four years and millions of fresh employment opportunities were created for our people as a direct consequence.

20.  Recently, we launched the Youth Employment in Agriculture Programme (YEAP) and the $100 million dollars Government and Donor Fund for Agriculture Finance in Nigeria (FAFIN) to fast-track the positive transformation of our agricultural sector.

21.    The Youth Employment in Agriculture Programme (YEAP) targets 750, 000 market-oriented young agricultural producers while the $100 million dollars Fund is to provide affordable long-term financing to support the development of small and medium agribusinesses in the country.

22.   This is in addition to a N50 billion Farm Mechanization Support Fund set up by the Central Bank to establish 1,200 agricultural equipment-hiring enterprises.

23.   Both funds will become fully operational this year.  Policies and programmes such as these to boost agricultural production remain topmost on the agenda of this administration.

24.   Being very conscious of the inherent perils of our over-reliance on income from crude oil exports for national development, we have focused on accelerating the diversification of our economy.

25.   The non-oil Sector which has grown by an average of 8% in the last few years, is now a major driver of growth in our economy.

26.   The 2015 national budget, which is now before the National Assembly, is targeted at deepening our efforts at becoming a non-oil economy.

27.   The budget also includes measures to ensure that the downturn in the price of oil does not affect our development plans and our national economy too adversely. We are adjusting our financial processes to safeguard our economy.  We are also taking steps to ensure that the poor and the low and medium income earners do not bear the brunt.

28.  In 2015, this administration will continue to lay the foundation for a vibrant economy that attracts significant Foreign Direct Investment and promotes policies that ensure economic stability.

29.   We will ensure stability in the value of the Naira by striving to take away speculative behaviours that cause market exchange pressures.

30.  We will continue to build and maintain a healthy external reserves position and strengthen fiscal buffers.  We will ensure the Naira remains strong, and gives foreign investors the clarity and certainty that they need, to guide future investment decisions.

31.    We will continue to improve our payment systems and strengthen risk-based supervision mechanism for Nigerian banks to ensure overall health and stability of the banking system.

32.   We are introducing a broad spectrum of financial instruments to boost sector-specific enterprise areas in agriculture, Micro, Small and Medium Scale Enterprises (MSMEs), manufacturing, and oil and gas to enhance our aggregate supply capacity, reduce poverty, promote job creation and increase the general well-being of our people.

33.   These efforts and other measures being spearheaded by relevant Ministries, Departments and Agencies, are geared to ensure a secure future for Nigeria and create a much more prosperous country, where people live more peaceful and fulfilled lives.

Fellow countrymen and women,
34.   As we enter an election year, I assure you that our administration will remain fully focused on providing good governance and the delivery of better public services to our people.

35.   The coming campaigns and elections will not distract us from our ongoing work to significantly improve the living conditions of our people.  And I urge all tiers of government not to be distracted as well.

36.   The elections are very important for us as a country.  Their successful conclusion will further strengthen our democratic institutions and place our beloved country even more firmly in the comity of truly democratic nations.

37.   Given the challenges that have characterized some previous electoral contests in our country, the eyes of the world will certainly be on the conduct and outcome of our fifth post-military rule general elections.    

38.  I reassure all Nigerians and the international community of our firm commitment to free, fair and credible elections. My commitment to free elections and one man, one vote remains unwavering.

39.   Our administration has worked hard in previous elections to prepare all key stakeholders including the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), security agencies and the electorate optimally, to ensure a progressively improved electoral process in the country under my watch.  We will continue to do so for the coming elections.

40.  We will continue to provide adequate funding to INEC and maintain the Commission’s independence and isolate it from any form of interference or meddling in its day-to-day affairs.  This shall continue to guarantee its impartiality and ability to conduct more credible and acceptable elections.

41.    National security agencies will also be given all necessary support to enhance their ability to ensure that the elections are peaceful and violence-free. The Nigeria Police has already established an Elections Security Planning and Monitoring Unit.

42.   I am optimistic that with the cooperation of all law-abiding citizens of the country, our commitment to have a peaceful and violence-free election will be actualized.

43.   I will like to say this, once again, to my fellow politicians and political leaders. None of our political ambitions is worth the blood of any of our countrymen, women and children.  The improvement of their lives and living conditions ought to be our primary motive and the driving force of our quest for political power and leadership positions.

44.   Let us not promote sectionalism, disunity, intolerance, hate, falsehood or the malicious abuse of political opponents. Whatever we feel or seek, we must have a nation and a people before we can dream of political ambitions. Let us put the nation and the people first.

45.   Let us all conduct our electoral campaigns with the highest possible decorum and civility towards political opponents. Let us give INEC the fullest possible support and cooperation it requires to conduct credible and violence-free elections in 2015.

46.                   After the 2011 general elections, some unpatriotic elements embarked on an orgy of violence, resulting in the destruction of lives and property. That will not be allowed to happen this time around. This government will act decisively against anyone who disrupts the public peace, before, during or after the 2015 general elections.

47. All Nigerians, of voting age, are free to vote based on their convictions. It is our duty to defend and protect that basic right, andlet no one be in doubt, we will.  

48.  Fellow Nigerians, I urge all of you to enter the New Year with renewed zeal and patriotism, to serve our fatherland with love, honesty, faithfulness and hope for a greater tomorrow.

49.   As I have always maintained, none of the challenges before us is insurmountable.  We must come together as a people and work with single-minded unity of purpose to overcome them.

50.  Nigeria is a key country in Africa. We must work together to maintain our strategic position and collaborate with others to move the continent forward. I call for peace in Africa and an end to all conflicts in our continent.  I urge all Africans to promote democracy in their respective countries to ensure faster development of the continent and faster economic and political integration.

51.    We will continue to pray and offer hands of fellowship and assistance to our fellow Africans suffering from the Ebola Virus Disease.  I urge all Nigerians to show compassion and contribute in whatever way we can to help our African brothers and sisters. 

52.   As we go into this New Year, I salute the indomitable and resilient spirit of our people in Nigeria and wherever they are in the world.  Our spirit of enterprise and the doggedness to succeed amongst all odds has been our strength.

53.   With our collective prayers and efforts, we will grow our economy and our people will become wealthier. Government will continue with programmes deliberately designed to create more jobs for our youth, to enable them contribute more to the growth and development of our nation.

54.   Let us continue our march to the future, towards the attainment of our collective vision of a strong, united, prosperous and harmonious nation – a secure nation for us and for our coming generations.

55.   I wish you all a happy and fulfilling 2015.

56.   God bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

57.   Happy New Year, Nigeria!

58.   I thank you all.

75 comments:

1. Happy New Year People....GEJ. ...We've heard. ...We need change!

1. Mr. President I am not in your shoes so I don't know where and or how it pinches but I'm not too comfortable with your claim in paragraph 17 that 70% of Nigerians now have access to potable water.

l wouldn't know whether potable water includes sachet water (pure water) and bore hole water.

2. The truth is, I did not read half of this. I am getting lazy when it comes to reading #SMH#...happy new year to you too GEJ; happy new year SDK, and all blog visitors; Long live Naija!

1. My dear it's not only you oh..i doubt I read after number 15. Shuo!
      Na wetin?
      Is GEJ's new year resolution to bore us to death?
      Hian

3. Hahahahahaha.

All these Epistle containing billions spent yet no tangible achievement.

Book just full for nothing.
    Abati can write rubbish!

GEJ, happy new year.
    No hard feelings as you can't give what you don't have as illustrated by Eldee.
    Pack your load, your time is up in Aso rock!

1. Thank you oh GD! Stories every day. I didn't even bother reading, just scrolled down to comment. Same old cliché broadcasts.

2. Thank you oh GD! Stories every day. I didn't even bother reading, just scrolled down to comment. Same old cliché broadcasts.

3. Am telling u
      See epistle upon epistle
      Even more than both books of chronicles in d bible..
      Na wetin?
      Anyways since he could not pinpoint one tangible thing he had done in the past years, I think we should give him award for writing the most boring new year message.
      For crying out loud see Buhari's own.
      Hit the nail on d head and drop d mic.

4. No worry Goldscent hunnay, we are smelling Jonadaft and mama pieces outta the Villa this febuary..

May the lives of all the supporters of Jona-mess be as "good" as Nigeria.

#Buhari and Osibanjo 2014

4. Happy new year Bvs. The year of all round breakthrough. God will perfect everything that concerns us all. Stella for life happy new year to you,the woman with the heart of Gold
    This family shall soar higer and higher to the glory of God. Happy victorious new year to all

5. Story for the Gods oooo.

6. always too long and too boring.
    happy new year Mr president. keep your promises to yourself. God bless you.

1. Very boring. Infact, the man is b-o-r-i-n-g! Listening to him talk irks me. How did he bag his PhD degree?

7. The fuqq is new year broadcast 4rm Jona-weak?

#switches off my TV and radio

Get the heck outta my sight jor

#Buhari and Osibanjo 2014

8. Replies
    1. Irene, when did you become Patt Ogar? This is the 2nd time I'm seeing your one word comment.

9. Ok we don read and we don hear....

Said: Abu d governor

10. In everything there is must be a season, a time to come & a time to go. I pray this new year brings you happiness & joy forever & ever. Happy new year! I luv u all!

11. Happy new year Nigeria, this is our year to make changes for the masses, not the so-called power hungry politicians. God truly blessed Nigeria, and the blessings will begin this year.

12. Oga u too talk we need action.

13. Happy New Year to you oga Jona
    Can't wait for 2015.

14. May God bless nigeria and may God help our president to acheieve all that he has planned for this great nation NIGERIA

15. A beg who want read all this long India train to Australia?
    It would av been more intresting if Disney story line had ended with****###### diaris God oooo
    Oshisco

16. God bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria. God bless the Citizens of Nigeria. God guide our leaders. God be with the youths. God lead us all.Happy New year to we all. Thank God we made it despite Boko Haram issues, Ebola and several other mishaps. Thank you Jesus.

17. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Thanks mr president.... U don try...
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

18. Thank U mr president, we're hoping for a better nigeria

19. oga jona dis one na stale news...abeg tell us another story..cos it "Half tayed" wey we dey hear these yarnings

20. Stella no comment??? Supporters of Jonathan that's all your president has to say,hmmm,where is the motivation??? What other language can Jonathan use to tell us that he cannot even rule a class room???? SMH

21. This comment has been removed by the author.

22. God d hour has come o,help us to choose a good leader..God bless nigeria,God bless Goodluck Johnthan..

23. HAPPY NEW YEAR,MR PRESIDENT.... but you clueless
    #okbye

24. I am sorry but i didnt read it.. Not interested in his message for this new year.... All i know is POWER MUST CHANGE HANDS.... Cant wait.... This new year is already looking good.... hehehehehe ...I am sorry but i will do d NEW YEAR..NEW ME thing cos there r so many things i want to adjust nd perfect by His Grace... I pray d good LORD help me ...amen. Compliments to u all... Aunt stellz chop kiss....

25. Happy new too my able president.

26. Happy new year to u too my able president.

27. Happy New Year to us all. May we all experience a miraculously favourable and blessedly glorious 2015 in Jesus name, Amen.

Election year... GEJ all the way!
    GEJ we need jobs o, create jobs for Nigerian youths biko.

#Uyo Jobseeker#

28. Honestly I didn't read it. . ...I know its the same old bullshit.

29. *Yawns, scratches cheek, adjusts pilliow & ZzzzzzzZzzzzzz*

30. Can you see the difference between jona and buharis new year speech? Buhari's has a ray of hope for a brighter future and straight to the point while jonas own is about his ' good works ' and trying to hard to convince us that hes working. Buhari obviously wrote his peice himself while someone obviously wrote this for jona. Buharis piece sounds like it was written by an intelligent mind while jonas sounds like what a secondary school leaver penned.
    #BuhariOsibanjo2015

1. How can you say that. Even if someone wrote that on his behalf that's why they called SA on different duties
      Yes Jonathan has to say all his good works because he seeks Re Elect. Buhari is only trying to Market us and convince if we give him an opportunity, which he will never give. He can as well serve his country in other ways by been the chairman of EFCC or ICPC or NDLEA to fight corruption. Must he fight corruption by been the president. He should remain as Elders State Man. with all his age all the position he ascertained at his young age presently You and I cann't. At 72 yrs he still wants to Rule Nigeria. He should go rule the fulanis. Nigerians as a Child we hear we are Leaders of tomorrow. Still we the youths haven't been given an opportunity to do so. because of greedy Man like Buhari.

2. Oooshe @ Mz Anon. Abeg come and chop better kiss

#Kisses

31. Hmmmmmm,ds year go beta sha.

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

32. Bla bla bla bla bla!
    Dunno if anybody is interested in what he's saying
    Trust I'm not interested!
    The time for change has come!

1. I am interested, give your vote to Gej don't buhari. Apc would have given us a better Candidate still I haven't said Jonathan is the best. We Nigerians should give Jonathan a Second Chance

2. In school if I can recall, it's the best student that becomes prefect not the dullards . Yes as a dullard your allowed to repeat the class but the ones with some brains have moved on.

33. GEJ it is well with u,happy new year every1

34. Thank God we all made it into 2015. A year of fulfillment of God's promises., amen. Happy new year to SDK and SDKers. I urge all Nigerians to come out in Mass to Re Elect president Jonathan Goodluck. The Opposition Party are saying Change. The change has already started with jonathan, we should continue with president jonathan we shouldn't be mislead with the politics which the opposition party are playing in the part of insurgency, terrorist are terroring almost everywhere in the World. The Islams want us the Christians to accept their faith. Our Religion did not teach us to be violent. Christian lets not be
    decieved with the talks of the opposition party who are desperate to rule. Must it be Buhari? Couldn't the Opposition party bring a better and young candidate? Buhari is a total Error and if Nigerians gives our Vote to Buhari we will cry more than today's cry
    We should be wise with our votes. We should give jonathan a second Chance. I haven't said president jonathan is the best but he has a Vision for Nigeria, we need to be patient with him to actualize it. We need to pray fervently for him for God's Wisdom and Direction.
    Buhari is alwaying campagining of War when ever his addressing his supporters. We are in a Democratical Society and not a Military regime. He always say when he losses the vote of 2015 General Elections the Dogs and the Baboons will be soak in blood. Bokoharam escalated after Buhari lost Election in 2011. Lives and property of innocent Individuals were lost. This terroist are killing christians, The North East they are operating are where the Christians residing and are from. 90% of the girls kidnapped by bokoharam are christians. Christians we have suffered so much in the hands of this wicked and heartless islamic fundamentalist.When did Buhari turn a Democrat? He was against Democracy. He always said Christians should cast their vote to Christians while Muslims to Muslims. Buharia is an Islamic Fundamentalist. They are the terrorist, they are terrorising the World not only in Nigeria. Buhari is always talking about Corruption in jonathan's Government, Himself is Corrupt. The only way corruption will be limited in Nigeria is when we Nigerians start to fight it within our selves. How will the Minister of a Ministry steal the funds of the Ministry if its not by the assistance of the Perm Sec. of the Ministry that has showed him the lopholes on how to steal. My Fellow Nigerians give your votes to jonathan, this year is a year of Divine settlement all what we have lost would be restored as we Re ELect president jonathan.
    God bless Sdk and Sdkers

1. Tel dem o. We want change of cos buh dat change znt GMB!

2. At the end of the day, your entire rant is all about Religion. Absolutely NOTHING about performance.

Whether it is a Minister, a Perm Sec, a Clerk or a private individual, the person charged with the duty to protect the Commonwealth is the President. He took an oath and if he cannot carry out the dictates of that office, he should gladly be voted out.

BTW, you keep shouting Christian this, Christian that. The GEJ government as presently constituted has a strong muslim leadership. The chairman of PDP, Muazu, implemented Full Sharia when he was Governor. Yes, you read right, not that Muazu advocates but HE IMPLEMENTED FULL SHARIA. So why aren't you railing against him or PDP?

3. Madam Chinyelu,u so tempted me to reply u on dis old post,gaan sit down abeg!your type are the religious bigots this country need to do without!we gave ur master 6f##kng years and nothing to show for it,so how long must this bullshit go on?
      I know the few of you projonathans ranting on this post are only on it for fear of your daily bread that will be taken from u if he leaves the office#rme
      But even at that,have faith cos Buhari will make dis country better and u will be liberated from ur woes dat u won't need to kiss ass like this to survive.
      Nigeria,sai Buhari!

4. Quee Bee you a Corn beef I re visited her again to come fools like you. Fear of what? Am not related to jonathan and he doesn't know me. I work for my money and can.feed your generation. The change won't come from Buhari we all will.come bk.her in.feb and talk.of this again. Happy year to.u

35. U came
    U saw
    U were conquered
    U fuck off

36. Happy new year oga Jonathan!

37. Happy new year mr president!looking 4ward to a beta Nigeria,pls lead us to the promise land

38. We don hear, same old story. All we yearn for is change not just promises.
    Happy new year my fellow country people.

39. We don hear, same old story. All we yearn for is change not just promises.
    Happy new year my fellow country people.

40. This is my Personal shout out to you STELLA, Happy New Year..Wishing you all the best 2015 can Offer.IJN

41. GEJ is a good man aka Akpa lo je be! but he has bad advisers. Good men can't rule Nigeria! we want a strict president who doesn't take rubbish, who doesn't support corruption and who has a mind of his own. GEJ is too soft! we need a hard man!