Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: A Bottle Of Water Before Each Meal Could Help In Weight Reduction - Researchers

Sunday, August 30, 2015

A Bottle Of Water Before Each Meal Could Help In Weight Reduction - Researchers

Researchers from the University of Birmingham have shown that drinking 500ml of water at half an hour before eating main meals may help obese adults to lose weight. They believe that the simple intervention could be hugely beneficial, and be easily promoted by healthcare professionals and through public health campaigns.

Obese adult participants were recruited from general practices and monitored over a 12 week period.
Each of the participants, all adults with obesity, were given a weight management consultation, where they were advised on how to adapt their lifestyle and improve their diet and levels of physical activity. 41 of those recruited were asked to preload with water, and 43 were advised to imagine that they had a full stomach before eating.
Those in the group who were instructed to ‘preload’ with water lost, on average, 1.3kg (2.87lbs) more than those in the control group.
Those who reported preloading before all three main meals in the day reported a loss of 4.3kg (9.48lbs) over the 12 weeks, whereas those who only preloaded once, or not at all, only lost an average of 0.8kg (1.76lbs).

Dr Helen Parretti, NIHR Clinical Lecturer at the University of Birmingham, explained, “The beauty of these findings is in the simplicity. Just drinking a pint of water, three times a day, before your main meals may help reduce your weight.”

“When combined with brief instructions on how to increase your amount of physical activity and on a healthy diet, this seems to help people to achieve some extra weight loss – at a moderate and healthy rate. It’s something that doesn’t take much work to integrate into our busy everyday lives.”
Participants were encouraged to drink tap water. Sparkling water, sodas or sweetened drinks were not allowed as part of the study.

The study, published in the journal Obesity, showed encouraging initial results for the trial, and the team hope that the findings will inform further research into the benefits of water preloading before meals. They hope to receive backing for a trial with a larger number of participants and over a longer period of time in order to confirm the findings.

Dr Parretti added, “Losing a few extra pounds over the course of a year can be significant to an individual, and this could be an easy way to help with that weight loss. It’s a simple message that has the potential to make a real contribution to public health.”

Culled article

45 comments:

1. Ok but not for someone like me

2. Oluyomi get in here

3. Very interesting

But

Regular exercise such as jogging is still the best way to lose excess body FAT.
    There is no lazy way out.

4. Noted.

5. Keep tlkn am listenin

6. We know.
    Easy to say.
    Hard to do.

I am fighting for figure 8. Tight abbs.

1. What abt ur rotten eye?

2. Ezeanwanyi is ify Tabanasi

3. Sisi eko you are such a big fool.sisi eko is anon 4.25 and she's the one attacking blog visitors. Chameleon

7. Old story, I drink 3 glass of water before eating, I drink half litter of wwater first thing in d morning.... I think I consume like 2 and a half litter of water everyday.

8. Hmmm....apparently it would make you eat less

9. Old gist. Also don't drink water while eating unless you're choking. Drink 15-30mins after meal.

10. Where are the orobos that don't know how to manage their weight. Health is wealth.

11. As if its not common sense that wen u drink plenty water b4 a meal u will definitely feel full which in turn will make u eat less thereby making u to lose weight .... Research ko, lack of wisdom ni

12. Dear Stella,
    You can also create a post on weight gain .
    Some of us are struggling with weight gain and anorexia

13. Maynne,the benefits of drinking lots of water, are overwhelming.

For hair,weight reduction, digestion, et al.

Problem is, I don't like drinking water.

Pfft!

14. Ok. Iya akpati and co una don hear

15. Stella really? Its not fair it has been all abt losing of weight wat abt those that want to add like me?

16. Replies
    1. Stretching and light weight training help alot with the loose skin.

17. Replies
    1. Photo gi a n'ato my ochi 👄👄👄👄

2. Aunty gwegzzz...😀😀😀😀😀😀

18. It's simple logic na. After drinking a bottle of water, you won't be able to eat much afterwards... unless if your stomach is a big drum with lots of space in it.

19. Bottle ko! Bucket ni! My belle naa tanker!? Una no even talk cup of water! Where the food wan come enter?...the whole idea is to help u eat as little food as possible abi!?! I af hear....ok thanks! byeee.

20. Thanks for the info
    Very educative

21. Enough of this water this water that. Na so dem say 4 glasses of water is good in the mornings na so i go take advise drink 4 glasses the first day come enter bus dey go island den hot piss catch me on top third mainland bridge. Imagine fine babe all with legs spread wide in the full glare of passing perverts .

1. Ha ha. Must have been embarrassing. Lucky police no catch you for pissing on Third Mainland Bridge.

22. Pls dis calorad pple where are u? Hw do i get calorad in Akure and how much does a bottle cost?

23. Stella nwunye Korkus enof.... How to lose weight! How to lose weight! Shey na only orobos waka com ur blog. Its high time u dd a post on how t gain weight. Am tired of bein addressed as lepa, few pounds of flesh will boost my morale biko. Tanx.