Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: RUMBLE IN GLOBACOM?

Thursday, September 24, 2015

RUMBLE IN GLOBACOM?

In a sordid twist of betrayal, ethical absence in top management and godfatherism where merit has been sacrificed on the altar of mediocrity, Nigeria’s second largest telecom operator Globacom is seemingly a potential keg of gunpowder waiting to explode, and the splinters might be hard to gather together again.

Trouble started on the 16th of May 2015 when a memo signed by Femi Kolawole,the head of human resources stated that the Globacom review Board comprising amongst others of Adewale Sangowawa,Jumoke Aduwo, Femi Kolawole and others had constituted a committee to coordinate the annual staff appraisal exercise and make appropriate recommendations for promotions, salary/prequisites increment and other incentives as considered appropriate.

A second memo dated June 19th 2015 signed by Adewale Sangowawa, then Executive Director human resources stated that increment for Nigeria staff of Globacom will take effect on July 1st 2015. These correspondences as expected boosted the morale of the Globacom work force all over Nigeria, as they saw it as an indicator that their efforts were being recognized from the imposing Mike Adenuga Towers Victoria Island Lagos and threw them into jubilation.

Tensions and expectations were high when by 30th of July 2015, nothing was heard, the rumblings heated up.
On the 31st of July, 2015, another shocker was received by the staff when an unsigned memo, without the usual Globacom letterhead was circulated instructing staff to contact a certain Jumoke Aduwo (08079659037) and Bunmi Akinyinka (08079659038) to confirm their new salaries. 

The memo went thus ‘Further to earlier circular of all staff on above subject, we are pleased to announce that the board has approved promotions, salary increment together with a generous retention scheme for staff to take effect immediately’.
What raised eyebrows were the obvious facts that no Globacom staff was issued a promotion/salary increment letter, the contact persons listed in the memo were obviously staffs of Globacom but there staff lines were not used and most obvious was the fact that the memo was not signed! And these mobile numbers were not Globacom staffs numbers, Documents at our disposal verified these claims.

This case is just the latest in a series of discontent and inequality in Globacom Nigeria, where some staff because of their closeness to the top of the food chain go home with a pay packet of 37 million Naira in addition to some other benefits while in the same company some staff have been on the same salary scale of 1.5 million Naira per annum for over 7 years.
A source revealed that most organizations in the telecoms and banking sectors in Nigeria use certain key performance indicators as a basis for staff remuneration and promotion, but alas in Globacom Nigeria ‘your rise in the organisation is based on who you know at the top, which is not healthy for the company, as a certain cabal within the company who have the ears of the chairman dispense favours to their loyalists.

The areas of staff appraisal by line managers has also generated a lot of controversy as some staff have repeatedly complained of being appraised by managers other than their line managers who do not know anything about them and their job functions, hence they fall prey in the hands of the power brokers within the organization in a constant power struggle.

Recently, a staff in the technical services circulated a memo to all staff voicing his grievances for being in the same salary scale for four years without any salary review and questioned why a company like Globacom lacks a KPI ( key performance indicator) scale, after which he tendered his resignation publicly. 

(Find attached his letter of Resignation)

Another source disclosed that another disturbing trend in Globacom is the influx of Indians that are gradually taking the positions of Nigerians.

According to sources, Some of these Indians, it was revealed, earn as much as over USD250, 000 (Two hundred and fifty thousand Dollars) for Skype and sleep in the office. “The Indians have subjected Globacom Nigerian employees to various work place abuse and degradation, rating them poorly, leading to termination and replacing them with their Indian friends and family members, Companies seeking to employ expatriates in Nigeria have to seek for expatriate quota permit from the Ministry of Internal Affairs or Nigerian Investment Promotion Commission. It is for two years duration. It is renewable after every two years, But in the case of Globacom, in this regard, it is obvious that the expatriates quota in Globacom has been exceeded, these India’s are just everywhere.

Findings have also shown a high staff turnover in Globacom Nigeria, which is also said to bewilder the Chairman. As most have laid the rot squarely on the doorsteps of the faceless and nameless cabal within the company.
As it stands now, only time and chance will tell who will have the courage to bell the cat in the Mike Adenuga Towers before all spirals out of control.

All  efforts to reach Mr Charles Jenarius and Mrs Gladys Talabi the executive directors of communications and Legal respectively were rebuffed as they refused to either confirm or deny the story.

Tunde Disu a labour activist writer from Sagamu.

Culled from newsreport.com.ng

102 comments:

1. I would rather be self employed
    Corporate work can never make a man wealthy

1. A man doesn't need to be wealthy to be comfortable & more importantly happy. Many men & women have good jobs that have enabled them train kids to university & beyond, biy nice cars, get houses of their own etc. Don't generalize out of ignorance: I bet if u got a job earning 717,567.67 a month u wont weep here! Many guys earn even much much more. Be self employed, its good, but don't knock employed people, its silly

2. It's still better than nothing. Better to have something on your table than begging

3. It is not just Indians but Europeans and Americans working in oil companies too. Their salary package is crazy. Free of tax. Their bonuses and allowance is another thing. Why should we allow such. They pay this expatriates as much as 2 to 3 million per month. Meanwhile if u transfer a total Nigerian staff to France. They are treated the same as others over there. No preference or anything. This shit has been going on for to long. It's not fair. Why would an expatriate and a Nigerian on d same level be earning different salary. Is it because he is white. Expatriates die to come to nigeria. Because they live like kings. The government has to do something about it. They need to start treating Nigerian graduates equally. Usually expatriates are meant to come and teach Nigerians the job for a time and go back to their country. I think that's how it's done in Angola. They are meant to be here on contract and not permanently. That is how it should be for a country that cares for its citizens.

4. I can't believe it! Indians! Indians that hate blacks with a passion?! I'll be right back.

5. No wonder u had to beg angel blaze

6. What stops Nigeria's Captains of Industry; Mike Adenuga, Femi Otedola, Aliko Dangote, Jim Ovia et al from designing a scholarship scheme that goes to the best Nigerian Universities, picks the 5 best students from the appropriate departments and offers them a scholarship on the condition that they will work for their organizations for at least 5 years before proceeding elsewhere? This way they would kill two birds with one stone; 1. Develop our local industry 2. Save money as these graduates will not cost as much as bringing in nasty, racist Indians.

1. What stops Nigeria's Captains of Industry; Mike Adenuga, Femi Otedola, Aliko Dangote, Jim Ovia et al from designing a scholarship scheme that goes to the best Nigerian Universities, picks the 5 best students from the appropriate departments and offers them a scholarship on the condition that they will work for their organizations for at least 5 years before proceeding elsewhere? This way they would kill two birds with one stone; 1. Develop our local industry 2. Save money as these graduates will not cost as much as bringing in nasty, racist Indians.

2. It is so pathetic dat we are gradually becoming slaves in our own land..chaii

3. This is the same thing happening in dangote group, we're Indians earn. In dollars far above Nigerians that are working their ass out,ans just few months back,this same type of memo was passed round indicating salary increment, and up till now nothing, I mean nothing. Shame on dangote and otedola for making smelling Indians dons in our own country

1. My question though, what these Indians are doing, are there no capable Nigerians? If not why not put Nigerians under their supervision and guidance, then when the expatriates contract expires....kapish

2. What stops Nigeria's Captains of Industry; Mike Adenuga, Femi Otedola, Aliko Dangote, Jim Ovia et al from designing a scholarship scheme that goes to the best Nigerian Universities, picks the 5 best students from the appropriate departments and offers them a scholarship on the condition that they will work for their organizations for at least 5 years before proceeding elsewhere? This way they would kill two birds with one stone; 1. Develop our local industry 2. Save money as these graduates will not cost as much as bringing in nasty, racist Indians.

3. Nigerians are typically lazy and self serving. I am an employer and should know.

4. @Anony 15:09... Big fat lie. Nigerians are lazy?
      Like seriously?

My immediate boss is Indian, my annoyance is not his pay package, but the patchouli and ginger he reeks of all the time, on top cigarettes, then he doesn't like shutting his door. And he keeps calling me Aida. Cannot pronounce anything outside pastry and beef loaf. Same money, they launder back to India. No investments whatsoever in this country. Na acha ka anyali emelu baptism na St Joseph Awka Etiti.
      Disgusting much.

Only consolation is they are whizkids in softwares and applications. The Upstream sector knows their value anyway. And there's no form of sexual harassment. But stillllll....Monkey dey work, baboon dey chop.

5. Xhlrtd p, ur last paragraph is why I agree with Anon 15.09. The rest of ur write-up has nothing to do with their ability to do the job which is the only thing that interests an employer.

4. This is the same thing happening in dangote group, we're Indians earn. In dollars far above Nigerians that are working their ass out,ans just few months back,this same type of memo was passed round indicating salary increment, and up till now nothing, I mean nothing. Shame on dangote and otedola for making smelling Indians dons in our own country

1. What stops Nigeria's Captains of Industry; Mike Adenuga, Femi Otedola, Aliko Dangote, Jim Ovia et al from designing a scholarship scheme that goes to the best Nigerian Universities, picks the 5 best students from the appropriate departments and offers them a scholarship on the condition that they will work for their organizations for at least 5 years before proceeding elsewhere? This way they would kill two birds with one stone; 1. Develop our local industry 2. Save money as these graduates will not cost as much as bringing in nasty, racist Indians.

6. Chai...abeg not Now that I am enjoying dia 4.5gig Android data bundle....

Abegoo....cherekwanu first ka MTN price daa

7. Somebody should please read and summarize.

P.S, Let nothing happen to 1k for 3gig on BB10 sha. Thanks.

1. i alway knew your brain was slow.no wonder you no get job.

2. 11:49, is it your joblessness?

3. Abeg wetin be the code for that 3gb for 1k on bb10

8. Cant read abeg.
    Jesus fix it
    Curse me and loose ur front teeth

9. I will just wait to read comments. ....

10. I once worked with them, d writer is 101%, he didn't even add a lot of details, sexual immorality rules, from top to bottom, from the owner to omo ise. And no structure, it just depends on who u know and who u service. When u tire just resign. Mike adenuga's autocratic rule causes it. He doesn't take advice except it's what he wants to hear, so they all play by his rules. As for the Indians, dem don jazz d man well well, he believes their empty brains and pays dem through his nose for nothing, yet glo carry last for telecoms, I can't shout joor. Just chop while u can or gerrout. I can't use my ID oh, lol

1. Na wa oh. The only thing I know is that Indians, or shall I say Asians generally, are very good when it comes to technology. All over the world they hold the fore in major telecommunication companies. Even in Europe, their major network providers have their call centers in India. Whereby when you call to speak to a CS agent ur call will be routed to India. So because of this they are very demanding, knowing fully well that the technology market desires and needs their expertise. Nonetheless they shouldn't become demi gods and bullies. Then again, the grievance should be channeled to the Nigerian companies that make them lord over their own. There's nothing spectacular about the average Indian who's technology inclined. Our guys are as good if you let them have the floor. About time they start to invest in their own people instead of foreigners.

11. Hmmmm..........why can't we have honest employers, who will treat their employees well???

12. These injustice is happening in all Telecommunication companies in Nigeria. MTN just sold off their call center, and Etisalat is about touring same path. The annoying thing is the Indians invasion. They come to the office to sleep and Skype and speak their murdered English yet they go home with better pay. NLC and NCC should look into these.

1. It's so terrible. We keep belittling ourselves, there's nothing so special bout their brains, we have to start appreciating and believing in Nigerians. I don't like these Indians, they hate us ehn!!!

2. What stops Nigeria's Captains of Industry; Mike Adenuga, Femi Otedola, Aliko Dangote, Jim Ovia et al from designing a scholarship scheme that goes to the best Nigerian Universities, picks the 5 best students from the appropriate departments and offers them a scholarship on the condition that they will work for their organizations for at least 5 years before proceeding elsewhere? This way they would kill two birds with one stone; 1. Develop our local industry 2. Save money as these graduates will not cost as much as bringing in nasty, racist Indians.

3. You all crying foul were encouraging them to come en take over hospitals in Nigeria. I don't see why they shouldn't also take over telecom and other multinationals.

4. @Nene... It's sad that,the same attitude of belittling ourselves exist home and abroad!! Still don't understand why we under appreciate our human resource prowess as Nigerians . Every day I imagine what's wrong with us ?? Can't really wrap my hands nor figure out why we so under value our own kind ?? Sad sad sad ...

13. But why must things be different in Nigeria all the freaking time...mmmsccheeew.

Aeegurl...

14. Indians again. Stella i usually do not like to comment but the Nigerian government has to do somfin abt these people just the way the westerners do. They r killing the worm force.

15. When will Nigerians ever learn to value and appreciate their own? Smh in sorrow

1. I wonder oooo

2. Probably when we hit rock bottom. It's so terrible. Complaints from all quarters.

16. It's so true Stella..my husband works with glo,Indians,Celebrities and people close to management are the ones enjoying glo...salary review is not based on merit...Am praying my husband get a better job oo,cos he is too intelligent to be rotting away in glo...

17. The rich are getting richer while d poor are getting poorer.May God help us

18. Well, if the write up is anything t o go by, then it's bad.

However, Glo has been kind to me recently. After inviting me for Slide N Bounce show in PH to come watch Flavour, Wizzy, Burna Boy, Okey Bakassi, Mama G, Chiwetalu Agu, I've just received another SMS invite for the Glo Laffta Fest at the same venue for this weekend. What a weekend getaway with Basketmouth, Gordons, Wande Coal, etc thrilling us.

Thank u Glo for recognising how important Ghanaman is!!!

Ghanaman signing out!

1. @ghman, Tons of people have gotten that message times without number. Nothing to celebrate about.

2. Yes o nothing to celebrate about,i got same msg like 3times in 2hours on tues

3. @Ghanaman, I think that's a general thing. Many people have received the sms, too.

19. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Am not surprised tho
    Na their way na,hawks are evrywre...they're mostly found in big coy sulking and making life miserable for their prey(workers)..i can give u first hand infor on happenings in some org but lemme stfu
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

20. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Am not surprised tho
    Na their way na,hawks are evrywre...they're mostly found in big coy sulking and making life miserable for their prey(workers)..i can give u first hand infor on happenings in some org but lemme stfu

21. THELMA ENEMUWE said...
    Am not surprised tho

22. Long write up
    Indians coming here to make it big
    We should appreciate our own staff

23. It is becoming difficult to go to any big corporation in Nigeria today without seeing Indians. They have essentially taken over our economy while we sit there as spectators.

Why are our people selling us short. Indians mindset is to take and keep taking. They never give anything in return. It is the same thing wherever they are. People tolerate them but no one really likes them. That is because they will pillage the system to enrich themselves and their own country. All these Indian companies in Nigeria masquerading as Nigerian companies are nothing but Indian outposts.

Look at the case of LA Casera that has been in the news for sacking 700 Nigerian workers for wanting to join a Union. The Nigerian workers wanted to join a union because of the inhumane conditions they were being subjected to by the management of LA Casera. Can you imagine that they only provide health insurance to an employee, not his spouse or children. And if the employee gets sick and have to visit the hospital, the hospital bill must not exceed N3,000.

Can anyone tell me if this is not gross abuse of the highest order. They make so much money selling us that La Casera piss that is best used for removing rust from metal than consuming it.

I have to stop here.

1. Do u no that most of this Indians,lebanese and whitey are all helped by Nigerians like you and me. It's dis same nigerians that will tell this dirty expatriates how to treat us just so they can be in d good books of their ogas. The nigerians who are bosses in those companies are meant to stick out for their own but they won't. Those ones protesting because they were sacked. After sometime we will forget and then another set of Nigerian idiots will take employment there. The black man is incapable of doing the right thing. The day we stand for something is d say the world will take us serious.

2. Just like they have taken over dubai. President. Buhari should do something. Most of them are on expired/ visit visas

3. What stops Nigeria's Captains of Industry; Mike Adenuga, Femi Otedola, Aliko Dangote, Jim Ovia et al from designing a scholarship scheme that goes to the best Nigerian Universities, picks the 5 best students from the appropriate departments and offers them a scholarship on the condition that they will work for their organizations for at least 5 years before proceeding elsewhere? This way they would kill two birds with one stone; 1. Develop our local industry 2. Save money as these graduates will not cost as much as bringing in nasty, racist Indians.

24. Globalcom is now a prayer point and I can't start to list all the issues the company has. To top this post they have sacked some employees this morning due to performance doh I can't entirely blame them but how can people give u their best when they feel like slaves. No sort of motivation in any way!!!!!! am not talking about money alone here but exposure to external trainings etc

25. The same thing happens at Chi Ltd where you work your ads off and one stupid Indian playing cricket game on his laptop will take the glory.

Seriously the government need to work on international companies they are out to kill Nigerians.

26. Stella...Pls dnt remove the post, I heard they always bribe there way out for the post to be removed, that it's been posted on some blogs and the blogger was bribed..dnt want to mention names...I told my friend you are not the type...Pls dnt remove until they do the right thing...Thanks Stella

27. 'Indian invasion' as KingRex just put it doesn't just happen in the Telecoms sector, it happens in all thriving sector in the country and it is appalling. I am sick and disgusted by it. And these Indians don't like Nigerians and hardly like Blacks in general. They're are termed brilliant and skilled but mostly they're cunning, lazy, brain-pickers and atrociously over-paid!

I say it always, as long as Nigerians continue to see themselves as inferior to any 'seemingly' white skin colour, they will never get better than they do at present.

And by God's grace, I am done working for anyone - black, white, red and all colours in between!!!

1. I had an encounter with one Indian guy that parades himself as a brilliant doctor. Instead of coming out plain to ask you a question, he will act like he knew it but wants to know if you know it too. That day he was stuck with one patient and wanted to do the same trick again. I just told him we will talk about it later lols. He wan pee for pant.
      "Let me test your intelligent,if your patient has this and dat what will do for him" if I had given him an answer he wuld av just said "well you tried but you shuld know better ". Later on if you check the patients file you will see how he has dubbed everything you told him. And take all the praise. Since dat day, d guy dey look me with corner eye.

28. Stella is too credible to be bribed, she is a darling

29. The money the spend on their ambassadors could be spent on their staff instead. Nigerians are not star struck so we won't buy their sim cards or port to their network just because the celebrities on their payroll.

30. So far, Etisalat still beats others in terms of staff welfare.

I guess putting them in a negative spotlight and mentioning Etisalat UAE gets them to rescind some kinda decisions.

At least, my spouse, kids and I get medical benefits, even though I'm a contract staff.

One Team.....!!

31. Really what do Indians have or know that we dont. Their stupid nature, english and way of reasoning pisses me off. When will we start appreciating our potentials in Nigeria?

32. Stella please don't remove this post you are the voice of the voiceless. I used to work with globacom, I must say this was my worst work experience ever. Too much bullying by your bosses, just recently they did a man know man transfer for the retail sales team and dispersed young boys still struggling to various states with out due consideration for the persons family. It's only in glo that a staff would ask for a transfer having provided a swap that it would still be denied. As far as am concerned that coy I'd going down if thode cabal are still there. You must be good at eye service to survive in glo. I don't wish my enemy an employment in that firm. Someone just joins the firm from university would earn the same amount as someone who has served glo for seven years. Where is this done? These cabals must go. Jameel and Co leave . This story is very very correct . Imagine an Indian with ond bossing some one with b tech. Chai ministry of labour and productivity should look into glo something is really wrong here

1. Ministry of ijekuje they won't do anything, just give them juice and 20K They are settled for life useless people alwàys covering evil.

33. Its a shame what happens in all the Nigeria-owned big businesses. From Visafone, Dangote, to Glo, its d same story. Which is why our businesses do not last upto generatiins as in other countries. We promote nepotism at the expense of merit!
    I and some family members have worked in some of the org i mentioned above, and the experience is same.

Onthe other hand, whoever PMB appoints as Min of Labour&Attorney general, need to strengthen &implement our Labour laws with respect to hiring expatriates.
    We can borrow a leaf from Ghana,they protect their citizens and stupulate the split of your Mngmt roles.
    As for Indians in Multinationals, i dont want to say anything except that their poverty mentality is a very big issue!

34. Its a shame what happens in all the Nigeria-owned big businesses. From Visafone, Dangote, to Glo, its d same story. Which is why our businesses do not last upto generatiins as in other countries. We promote nepotism at the expense of merit!
    I and some family members have worked in some of the org i mentioned above, and the experience is same.

Onthe other hand, whoever PMB appoints as Min of Labour&Attorney general, need to strengthen &implement our Labour laws with respect to hiring expatriates.
    We can borrow a leaf from Ghana,they protect their citizens and stupulate the split of your Mngmt roles.
    As for Indians in Multinationals, i dont want to say anything except that their poverty mentality is a very big issue!

35. Its a shame what happens in all the Nigeria-owned big businesses. From Visafone, Dangote, to Glo, its d same story. Which is why our businesses do not last upto generatiins as in other countries. We promote nepotism at the expense of merit!

36. Please ooo... we need to kick Indians out of our work force before its too late. They have no concern for staff welfare. We must speak till d got hears us.

37. Government where are u?!!!!!!!! U have heard the voice of the people ooo, what will be done?!!!!

38. Hmmmnn... Now let's see how this pans out.

39. This can nv happen in the UK, even tho you are a Pakistan British or Indian British even black British, as long as you are not a white British they will be some sort of discrimination in terms of job, if you like get accent na for your pocket.
    They value their brother first before looking at any Race, even as Indians full there wt thier garlic breathe,I dislike them because they come in and want to take over a country.go bck to your county check their visa status

1. I suffered that garlic breath for good 4years when I worked closely with some Asians abroad. I used to fall sick after every close encounter. One in particular that was my boss, he liked to lean over me on my desk to talk, and boi, na so so curry smell mixed with garlic. Yulk

40. Globacom like every Nigerian company has her issues but as someone who works there, I can say categorically that amongst competitors, Glo's renumeration is second to none. Let us start with call center agents, ask Airtel and MTN what they pay staff and you will be shocked that one of these two pays as low as 36k. Glo pays more in this regard and even at that, they are working on the increment as the writer rightly stated. You will agree with me that the owner is a businessman and relies heavily on the appraisal of line supervisors in making some decision. As much as he wants to staff happy, he is also into this for profit. On expatriate, it's a Nigerian thing and lets face it, when it comes to technical aspect of telecoms, these Indians are good, they have experience and since the owner wants profit, he can only get it by providing quality service which brings about the Indians. Telecoms to the best of my knowledge is not like banking where each grade attracts a fixed pay, apart from some grades that have fixed salary, some positions are negotiable, a friend of mine recently got an offer with Airtel and he negotiated his pay. A lot of parameters are put in consideration in arriving at this, your last pay, years of experience, what you can offer, the importance you the position is of and what you are bringing in. I share some of the writer's pains but bringing the name of the owner into this and the insults I see in comments is just not fair. Most of you writing this will be worst if you were in the owner's shoes.

41. All of you crying can you do what these Indians do? It's good for us this will make us Naija graduates and workers sit up and upgrade our skills. Employers won't hire Indians if they could find people who'd do the job here. That said, most Nigerian businesses both big and small are run by inept people who lack leadership qualities. We are all just managing coz we must chop. God dey.

42. It happens in all telecommunications firms/companies in Nigeria. What of Huawei? The worst. Except our president look into this issues critically else the won't know what we suffers he will just assume all us well with us.

43. It happens in all telecommunications firms/companies in Nigeria. What of Huawei? The worst. Except our president look into this issues critically else the won't know what we suffers he will just assume all us well with us.

44. It happens in all telecommunications firms/companies in Nigeria. What of Huawei? The worst. Except our president look into this issues critically else the won't know what we suffers he will just assume all us well with us.

45. It happens in all telecommunications firms/companies in Nigeria. What of Huawei? The worst. Except our president look into this issues critically else the won't know what we suffers he will just assume all us well with us.