Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Bank MD Allegedly Implicates Diezani's Son in Massive Financial Fraud

Thursday, April 28, 2016

Bank MD Allegedly Implicates Diezani's Son in Massive Financial Fraud

– The managing director of Fidelity bank was arrested for helping Diezani to distribute illegal fund
– The bank official took charge of money used to bribe election officials
– Another top official of the bank was also apprehended

Mr. Nnamdi Okonkwo who is the managing director and chief executive officer of Fidelity bank Plc has been arrested by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) for allegedly receiving and helping to disburse $115 million belonging to Diezani Alison-Madueke.

The former minister of petroleum resources has been under the radar of the EFCC for alleged corruption during her capacity as minister.
The Punch reports that apart from Okonkwo, Mr. Martins Izuogbe who is the head of operations of the same bank was also arrested in what the anti-graft agency described as an unprecedented scam.

An EFCC source who spoke on the condition of anonymity revealed that in the build-up to the 2015 election, Diezani invited Okonkwo to help her handle some cash, which would be disbursed to electoral officials and groups.
Investigation carried out by the commission revealed that officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission in Rivers, Delta and Akwa Ibom states received N675.1 million.

“The MD of Fidelity Bank has been arrested and is currently in our custody. During investigations into the INEC Resident Electoral Commissioners, we got a major breakthrough as funds disbursed were traced to Fidelity Bank.

“We invited the MD, who then confessed to us that during the build-up to the presidential election, Diezani invited him to a meeting in Abuja. Diezani told him that some companies would deposit some funds in his bank and that she would give him further instructions on how the funds would be disbursed.

“The first company, Auctus Integrated, deposited $17,884,000 into the bank. The second company, Northern Belt Gas Company, deposited $60m while another company, Midwestern Oil and Gas, deposited $9.5m. A fourth company, Leno Laitan Adesanya, deposited $1.85m while the MD himself received $26m in cash.”

It was alleged that Ugonna Madueke who is the son of the former petroleum minister served as the middle man between the bank and Diezani.
The banker confessed that it was Diezani’s son who forwarded the names of the beneficiaries of the funds, which included INEC officials, several interest groups as well as election monitors, who were expected to compromise the electoral process.

The EFCC source said: “The MD said it was Diezani’s son that sent him a list of beneficiaries which included several INEC officials and election monitors across the 36 states. Diezani specifically instructed that the funds be disbursed at least a day or two before the elections. The total amount of money was $115m and Diezani told the bank to convert the funds into naira, which was about N23.3bn at the time.

“However, the suspects told us that the volume of money was too big and they had problems converting the funds. So, Diezani told the bank MD to use the bank’s funds and hold on to the dollars as collateral and that after elections, the bank could use the dollars to replace the bank funds.”
The source wondered why Okonkwo would allow himself to be used by the former minister as she did not operate any account with the bank in the first place.

“He may be charged with conspiracy once we are done with investigations.”
A senior official at Fidelity bank said the bank would release a statement soon although it had little facts at the moment.

“We don’t have all the facts of the case yet. However, we will issue a statement on the matter on Thursday.” 

Earlier, the anti-graft agency said houses, a wrist watch worth £600,000 and jewelry in gold and diamond have been confiscated from Diezani as part of the development in the corruption investigation against her.
Punch reportage.

32 comments:

1. Which banker would reject that kind of money
    The man would have cut some real deal while doing the fx exchange

Anyway he can afford a good lawyer

Hahahahahahahaha...

2. Oh my Good Lord. 23billion naira? 26million dollars cash... jehovah jireh. What is all this? Ahhh Allison if you really did all this. God will Judge you and may the law catch up with you...

3. Some eba ebots will come and call it propaganda.

1. Or they will call it witch hunting because they are from certain part of the country or party. May the lord shame them all.

4. How many hospitals,or schools,or roads could this money have built?We need to start thinking along these lines;to know how badly Nigerians have been cheated and robbed.

5. 600,000 pounds for a single wristwatch? Diezani is a die hard thief. Very arrogant and rude right from her days in Shell. Her days are numbered

6. Wahala dey! Nnamdi Okonkwo you fucked up big time! Why did your greed allow this useless woman mess you up & drag you into her shit?
    Your case is a strong one walahi! Just pray you come out with minimal scars & if I dey board of directors na to push for your sack kia Kia cos you just messed up the Fidelity brand.
    Imagine the amount of money been mentioned?! This is one of the reasons why there is no dollar in circulation! Where you wan see am? It's either it's been used for election malpractice or buried in wells like Agagu & co did.

1. Nna shut up! Was d nnamdi told it was stolen money? Which kain strong case do they have against him. They may have a case against diezani but I'm yet to see what dis nnamdi did wrong.

2. Nnamdi wasn't told it was stollen money. He was told it was bribe money to compromise the election. Before you ask if he knew it was bribe, let me tell you that nnamdi is not diezanis paymaster nor is he the paymaster of all the people he paid money to as none of them did any job for him personally. Please let's call bab bad and have a better society we claim to crave
      Bvn member youngman

3. I think you can state your opinion without insult abi? Next time read before you rush to type. Did I say stolen money? and Oh yes EFCC has a strong case against him because that money was used for electoral malpractise & he knew & helped to disburse it; that is where the greed I talked about came in (knowing what he will stand to gain)
      Don't call me Nna next time sho gbo? I never told you am a dude.

4. This Eka girl always disgrace my people. Your opinion is always foolish.....he wasn't told it was stolen money????? is he a baby?

5. Eka says who? This id what is called aiding and also there is procedure to be followed when dealing with politically expose person which am very sure the MD flout.

6. N u believe this, my dear seeing is believing, the lady reduce the scarcity of fuel, step on cabal toes by reducing the diversion of petroleum to other countries, something that buhari n co r finding it difficult to do.

7. A Politically and ethnically motivated prosecution

8. Hmmmm na sit down look i dey so. God send money helpers my way oo. I know how to hide such money once it comes my way.

The man has put Fidelity bank on the radar. Chai heads will roll very soon in the bank.

9. See the amount of money these people are calling. *Cold de catch me* 26 million dollars....

868 comment 2016

10. See me see trouble oh. I am a Banker, you have an account with me, you said u will be receiving some money from some companies that I should help u forward the cash accordingly and I did as asked and you paid me handsomely.

Pls what's my crime?

1. I pity the children you teach....retard!

2. Guess you missed the part where the story says Diezani has no account with his bank?

11. Btw, I hope d efcc can prove all of these and not d usual embarrassments they keep bringing on themselves.

12. Nnamdi's greed has caught up with him at last! Eka joy you are as daft as they come, be defending rubbish meanwhile you dont understand anything. Did you even read this write up? Did you see the part where they said the woman does not operate any account with the bank? Always displaying your ignorance and stupidity on this blog.

13. Teacher Nwankwo!!!

14. This comment has been removed by the author.

15. This man has messed up his beautiful career. Come to think of it, if all these cash were disbursed to compromise the last election, how come PDP lost out?Hmnnn

16. I pray Nnamdi is exonerated because he is a good man. He has turned the bank around tremendously. Lets be honest here. I wish him well.

1. "Good" people do dumb shit....

17. Foolish people be believing this APC's clandestine moves to discredit PDP's election victory in the South South. Useless efcc doind the biddings of APC thugs

18. Mr. Okonkwo we are praying for you. Hold on to God at this trying time. He never fails. We stand by Nnamdi Okonkwo