Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Shockers in Education Sector this September

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Shockers in Education Sector this September

Economic recession is a merciless monster which devours just about everybody, especially the most socially and economically vulnerable.

In just about every society in Africa, women and children constitute the most vulnerable, even in the best of times. They are, once again, set to be the worst-hit victims of the just confirmed recession. 

It is obvious that malnutrition and infant deaths will be on the increase, more babies will be abandoned or thrown into pits and many more will be neglected. But, there is already an army, ten million strong, of deprived Nigerian children whose numbers will swell this year. That is the army of school-age children not in school. Every September, the country is confronted with a fresh crop of kids ready for nursery and primary schools. And each year Nigeria fails to find space for them all. 

That accounts for the accumulated figure of ten million. For thirty years, this nation experienced no recession similar to what we have now. Yet we could not educate all our children to primary school level. The recession of 2016 will mark a watershed in Nigerian education because it is likely to increase the number of kids out of school. Unfortunately, many of the new dropouts might be kids who were in school until July this year but whose parents can no longer afford to send them to school. The ominous signs are everywhere, from pre-nursery to primary, secondary to university levels. 

The most expensive schools are experiencing low new intake and unprecedented levels of withdrawals. And public schools might find more applicants at their gates than they can cope with.

Educational accessories, in addition to fees, have gone through the roof. Books, mathematics and science sets, exercise books, uniforms, shoes and berets are available at unprecedented prices – at a time when parents’ discretionary incomes are shrinking on account of rising inflation. Never in Nigerian history have so many parents been in doubt about where the money would come from to meet the avalanche of financial obligations – rents, transport, food and health bills. Invariably, when this sort of situation arises, the priorities are food, rent, and transport. Only when there is a surplus, after meeting those obligations, will the paying of school fees be considered. 

One thing is certain, as schools open in the third week of September 2016, the Nigerian education sector would experience massive shocks. Apart from the need for government to step up to ensure that parents have more money in their pockets to cope; all Nigerians must make massive adjustments in lifestyles. We must all come down from our high horses and abandon our old life of false affluence. We must face our new reality squarely.

vanguard

32 comments:

1. Hmmm you don't wanna know how much we pay for both my kids in boarding school. Ahh it's not a small something o. All these private schools with big names can like to create avenue to pay one fee or the other.

And it's true, a lot of parents have withdrawn their kids from my kids schools too. It's not easy at all. May God help us.

2. When other's say there is a casting down,I will say there is a lifting up. This economic Crisis cannot scare me,our latter in Nigeria shall be greater. God will provide money for parents for fees for their children,feeding,rent etc.

1. Amen o! Oluwa please intervene in our situation.

3. So true...
    My home is really thinking about adjusting.

4. When you really care about someone, their happiness matters most than yours.

5. As in eehhnn..just withdrew my babies from BIS!
    N I just realized..' Wot do dey even teach dem sef'

6. I've noticed that parents are looking for cheaper schools with good services. You can't blame them too. Thank God my madam did not increase school fees. She is owing us two months because some parents haven't paid last session fees. God help us.

1. Not only u oh. Parents are now stalling to pay school fees. We wey dem never owe before, dem never pay us last month salary till now. God will help us survive.

7. That's true ,this Economic recession will affect private schools. If it were before ,my daughters school fees would have been paid during the holiday .But up till now, I'm still hoping on God provide the money.

God Bless Everyone.

8. so true...a neighbor told me recently dat she is withdrawing her kids from a near by expensive school and putting them in another cheap school also close to d house...i just felt very sorry for her cos her hubby lost his job a while back and she is now d bread winner of d family thru her small provision store outside her house...d suffering in dis country just keep compounding each day....

9. May God help parents to cope and surpass this recession that even buhari dont know the meaning

10. Quite true. My almost 2 year old daughter was to school this September and her elder brother is going to a new class. His fees was 27k before now (the cheapest in our area),now as he's going to a new class,his fees and new books is around 68k. Then my daughter who is about to enter will pay for books,3 set of uniforms,cardigan and tuition all totalling 89k (the cheapest in my area). We've decided to keep her home till January,hoping things will get better. As for my son,he's still at home pending when we can raise the 68k. Things are getting worse by the day. May God help us all. Foodstuff is another issue. Golden morn we normally buy for 400,is now 650. Butter of 200 is now 350,milk of 500 is now 700,not to talk of noodles,rice,egg e.t.c.
    It is well

1. Must the school be close to your house? Why not take the child away, like 1 or 2km away and they can be coming home with the school bus? Just saying

2. Your area is easy cos here a golden morn is 1080 big size, and school fee for freshers is 248k minus uniform o, like we all say, where there's a casting down, there's a lifting up, recession won't get to me, never.

3. @ Jasmine,don't you know that including school bus will incur more funds. Like in my son's school parents do cough out 9k each term. God so kind the School and my home shares same fence. And my son 2+ has to pay 35k, among the cheapest price in our area.
      It's time for parents to take it easy on making more babies.

4. School bus fee for each of my kids is 22k. So keeping the kids nearer to d house is cheaper.

11. This too shall pass away. It is well.

12. That's true but i thank God iam no longer a student at this era

13. This stupid recession is just too much. No money anywhere. My lil sis is in a boarding house, school fees was 68k last year, dis year they want to add extra 10k. They school is ok but the fee is much. We've not added provisions, new note books and maybe uniform.

Mtchewwww

1. School no dey pity person at all. My sis is paid 85k for her 4years daughter last term, only school fees o. This term they want to increase it. And even come bad pass this time bcos the kid bro is also starting school this term (double wahala). And she said the school is one of the cheapest in their area. God go help us sha.

14. Its just terrible here, being a single mum of two kids with a dead beat father that has refused to contribute, lost my job a year tomorrow nothing new yet ran thru my savings for last session, rent & all, the situation is just hopeless, I've decided to home school them for now pending when funds wld come. Thier Wahala no be here shaa.

1. Just pray for divine intervention, God will surely see you through

15. My God is bigger than every recession. In this season, just like Issac I and my household will be great until we become exceedingly great in Jesus name. Amen

16. Ify 9k for school bus, that is cheap oo. Am sure your place is not like Surulere.

1. Very cheap. My school charges 20k for school bus and I hear they want to increase it to 25 this new session and that's ordinary ikorodu. I can only imagine how much it would be in places like ikeja

2. My sis daughter's school at Ikoyi charges 45k for school bus as at last term and she is still in nursery class. My sis come dey ask wetin she get car for?

17. Have to withdraw my kids from greenspring can't imagine paying 700,000 for them in this buhari period it is well.