Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari Sacks Official Whose Actions Led To Adeboye’s Exit As RCCG Leader

Monday, January 09, 2017

Buhari Sacks Official Whose Actions Led To Adeboye’s Exit As RCCG Leader

The head of the Financial Reporting Council of Nigeria, FRC, Jim Obazee, has been sacked by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Mr. Obazee’s sack comes about 48 hours after implementation of his agency’s law led to the exit of Nigeria’s most influential Christian cleric, Enoch Adeboye.

Mr. Adeboye resigned as the general overseer of the Redeemed Church in Nigeria on Saturday, but retained oversight of the global arm of the church.

The FRC rule is established by the Financial Reporting Council, Nigeria, Act No 6, 2011.

The council, which is under the supervision of the Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment, is responsible for, among others, developing and publishing accounting and financial reporting standards to be observed in the preparation of financial statements of public entities in Nigeria and for related matters.

The Governance Code of 2016 put in place by the agency to implement the Act encompasses three sectors: the private, the public and not-for-profit.

It is the not-for-profit sector, sometimes referred to as the Benevolent Sector, the Third Sector or the Civil Society Sector, that religious bodies fall under.

Section 9.1. of the code states that “The Founder or Leader of a NFPO occupies a special position in the Organisation and is committed to the success and longevity of the NFPO.”

Accordingly, a founder or leader should not take on too many responsibilities in the organisation or have an indefinite term in the running of the organisation, and is expected to not stay in office for more than 20 years.

On the day Mr. Adeboye’s exit was announced by the church, the cleric criticised the meddling of government in church matters.

“The government has been showing increasing interest in church affairs. Unfortunately, for us in RCCG, it might not be very helpful,” he was quoted as saying on Saturday by the Tribune Newspapers during a church service.

President Buhari announced the sack of the FRC boss in a statement by his spokesperson, Garba Shehu.

Mr. Obazee is to be replaced by Daniel Asapokhai while a new board, headed by Adedotun Sulaiman was also constituted for the agency.

No official reason was given for Mr. Obazee’s sack
from premium times

67 comments:

1. Na to sack am or to remove the law?buhari just realized that adeboye asked everyone to join a political party in 2019 and obviously to vote him out!all na strategy for 2019.cos u nid 2/3rd majority to win.only fulani peopld vote no go fit safe am!i dey go join any party wey no b apc.

2. This Obazee is the typical kind of hypocrite you find in RCCG. The man was once the Pastor in Charge of RCCG believers parish.
    Very boastful during preachings and will be forming humility by asking that he be called "Bro" instead of Pastor.
    I can't forget the day he placed a curse on one worker cause she challenged him of his boastful ways and not being able to use his position in government to help anyone but himself. It was a real shocker that day, but you could tell a lot of the workers secretly agreed with what she said.

1. Why won't he be boastful,when they only thing Rccg knows how to do is making rich men in the church pastor. I get one yeye one for around omole,he dey even ask workers to arrange babes for him.

2. Are you kidding me? Hiann!

3. Nawah. Placed curse on someborri kwa? Unto wetin naa

4. Na wa o...This people go just dey make church tire person, I go kuku sidon for house dey worship God inside my room because most churches re now business centers.

5. His wife attends my parish, very humble except for the paparazzi security details that go about with her. She doesn't wait to be greeted but greets you once she sees you. She's an altar minister and an elder but would rather sit with good women class during Sunday school. I pray God tempers justice with mercy in handling his case.

3. Christ remains the head of the church. The church is marching on and the gates of hell cannot prevail.

4. The irony is that Jim is a Christian. A perfect example of what the people of the other side call useful idiot.

5. That's God at work, he got served. This man was abusing his office and terrorising even banks that are good and upright in business.

1. You are an ignorant Buffon

2. Rob, u mean Doppel is Juventus' goalkeeper? OMG!

3. Kikikiki....@juventus goalkeeper

4. Doppelganger
      U shouldn't have commented here.
      This kind of post is divisive. It gives no room to neutrality. It ain't chronicles.

Nobody should abuse doppelganger for me ooo. I go vex o

6. all those job seekers that were told to write posts with the most comments, i dey wait to see their posts o

7. Obazee the scapegoat!
    Them don use you as a sacrificial lamb. No wahala, your rewards awaits you behind the scene.

1. Exactly. Buhari did this because he's afraid of the message adeboye preached about getting voters card

8. Hmmmm waiting for more drama.

9. Mrs Dimokorkus thank you oooo. may our Mother of Perpetua Help pray for you and your family for Blessing me oooo. I just told myself 'pick up courage and try maybe it will work' lo and behold this woman who is an epitome of humility picked my call. GOD bless you Nwanyi oma Stella

1. So Stella picking your call is such a big deal.
      It is well with Nigerians.

We've been so brow beaten, humiliated and oppressed that our thinking is...
      The international call was on who's credit mbok?

2. Just listen to yourself? What do you understand by when someone says 'GOD has picked my call'? That's exactly what happened. I don't mean the literal word as in 'picking a phone call' okay? Only Mrs SDK will understand and GOD bless you for jumping into conclusion and cussing me. Your own dey wait for you for front.

3. Anonymous 10 January 2017 @ 00:13 that's was for you

4. See ooo. Do u know what? Its not everyone that operates the open door policy like Stella n its commendable

5. Why are u so bitter? Do u know what their discussion was! U need rake for ur shallow mind.

6. Make Una sofree attack anon 00:13, bekee Wu abgara ( English is difficult) when u don't understand it. LMAO

10. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.....lemme grap popcorn n read comment

11. They should continue.These bunch of clueless folks will not allow us breath.Aleays sacking and "unstacking".We are watching.

12. MMM resumes on 14, lautech resume on 15,hmmm. Are u thinking wat I'm thinking....‎ajimobi and aregbesola   use lautech money do mmm

13. Awwwwe even buhari is sad by the news...daddy adeboye pls reconsider Na pls

14. Sacking doesn't mean the law has been repealed. Let the needful be done.

15. Is that ... Buhari wasn't aware of this law by the FRC council prior to the resignation? Or this is a mere coincidence or perhaps .. politics..

1. Lady T/ am worth more than a thousand dollars10 January 2017 at 09:03

@ sabongida ora cutest, where have you been? I always enjoyed reading comments from you. Glad to know you are OK.

16. *side eyes* @ Oshibanjo!

... Jesus is my worth!

17. Serves the obazee man right, meddling in church affairs

1. Read and understand. The law includes churches too. Not because its your church makes it different.

18. Why can't they carry out due process before sacking officials. Just me thinking aloud

19. Misleading headline, what business does Buhari have with adeboye and rccg

20. The FG is aware of this law, they are only reacting now bcos they are afraid of what might happen in 2019.

21. Well the law seems to have been implemented in 2011. Its like sacking the person in charge of implementing the law of workers retiring after 35yrs of service or @ the age of 65. Unfortunately, Adeboye seems to be the longest lasting. It is what it is. At one point in time, he would have still handed over.

22. Lolz
    OK just dey watch buhari and co..

23. Ahhahahahaha...I still dey laugh ooo.

Fearful APC.

I remember I told a friend that there's no smoke without fire...that this must be the handiwork of an aggrieved ex-RCCG senior pastor and his cohorts. Now what have we?

The church of God is definitely marching on.

2019 loading with tremendous drama.

24. Well i beg to differ, church is not a business center. To me 20 years is enough for any Head. This law would bring sanity to churches whose leaders think it is family business handing over to their children and wives. Yes am a christian. Did Jesus hand over his ministry to his brother or mother when he left? Abi unah nor know say he get brothers?. As for Obazee's sacking i can't really comment on it cos i gathered that he was told to halt implementation of the policy. We should all look at the big picture, it is not only targeted at churches, what about those NGO's that have been collecting money from UN, USAID etc but can't account for the monies? This is a 2011 law nor be today

1. Build a church first with all ur sweat and energy, and wait for someone from nowhere inherit it.ode

2. Anön 14:09 that is why it's not for profit.Churches and NGO's are not meant for profit. If u want to build something no one can inherit,go and start a business.selfish people like are the ones who make churches what they are today. Family business.

25. Buhari stop acting as u care for christians ,u sack the n
    man because he open ur secret on against the churches,buhari have this in mind u can,t carry out demonic b/c we are serving the living God.The church of Jesus Christ shall march on and no gate,no door ,no plan will work against us .

26. I wonder y Buhari sacked the man, he was only doing his duties. Adeboye played hypocrisy in these issue by failing to come out with the truth on this matter. He failed to enlighten his follower about the the law. When the law was passed how it was passed and what they did about it. He failed to do that and now started acting like it was the present govt that passed the law. He asked his member to get ready for 2019, what will happen, are they up 2% of the whole population. In advanced countries where they have branches don't the govt audit the account of the churches who does that here. Please let's put sentiments aside and face reality.

1. He asked his members to get ready for 2019?
      What's dat? Sum1 plz enlighten me. Hian!

2. Don't leave politics to the unbelievers. Join politics, be the change you are clamoring for

27. Igbo kwenu, I is back and better how una dey I dey throw way salute, Aunty Stella Nwanyioma compliments, bv Amanda Favour, love mejeje, mama nnukwu, the General's wife, Eka Joy, Sandy Neky, Doppelganger and other bvs how una deyooo I throw way salute againoo happy new year this year 2017 will favour us in Jesus Name Amen