Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Bakassi People Remember Abacha And Demand Fair Treatment

Friday, June 09, 2017

Bakassi People Remember Abacha And Demand Fair Treatment

The late head of states and commander-In-Chief of the armed forces, Gen. Sani Abacha has been described as one of Nigeria’s most patriotic leader for his strong political will in ensuring that the rights of the minority Bakassi people are not trampled upon.

The Coordinator, Bakassi Advocacy Media Forum, Ene Okon stated this Thursday in Abuja at a lecture in honour of Abacha. Okon recalled the hostilities meted out to the Bakassi people on their ancestral land by Cameroonian security forces and how Abacha rose to the occasion by asserting Nigeria’s authority over the Peninsular. 

He also recalled how Abacha created Bakassi Local Government to bring government closer to the people and give them greater sense of belonging. The group expressed worry that the displaced people of Bakassi now live like refugees in their fathers’ land as a result of the ceding of the peninsular to Cameroon.

“The one’s that choose to remain where ICJ unjustly gave to Cameroon are now classified as stateless people as they cannot vote or be voted for and are heavily taxed and treated like foreigners. When Abacha was alive, he vowed not to give up Bakassi or any part of Nigeria under whatever guise, come rain or come shine. Today, the displaced people are suffering the worst form of deprivation and neglect”. 

The group lamented. It therefore called for urgent steps by the Nigerian Governemnt, Camoronian Government and the international community to address the plight of the people of Bakassi. The group said it aligned itself with the call by Senator Ndoma Egba for compensation in perpetuity over the loss of Bakassi

6 comments:

1. Haaa... See as shame dey catch me for una

Celebrate @Abacha for what mbok?

1. Galore, they've stated their reasons up there. I've been to the original Bakassi, terrible experience at sea. I've been to the new Bakassi, worse state of things. The worst is the IDP camp, which is a secondary school. Abacha was a bad person generally, but he was good to the Bakassi people because nobody said anything about "returning" Bakassi to Cameroon. Imagine Obj using a Yoruba man as lawyer for a people that have lawyers and plenty evidence to prove that they've always been a part of this country. Do you know how painful it is to feel sold out? Don't get me started please. You're staying in the comfort of your home or office to say things about what you don't know, while people have no homes and even their livelihood has been taken from them. Visit an IDP camp and you'll learn to be less flippant. Abacha was a blessing to the people of Bakassi as regards their ancestral home.

2. I'm not surprised at all. When u go to Sierra Leone, Abacha is like a demi god in their country,they even named a road after him. With my long antenna, I had to ask why because the abacha that I know was hated in my country, they told me he brought a lot of soldiers to fight the war then and broker peace too. One man's meat is really another man's poison.

1. I am shocked that people not from the north can say something positive about Abacha...

3. Rest in peace Gen Sani Abacha