Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Proud Gov Fayose Boasts That None Of His Kids Studied Abroad As His Son Graduates...

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Proud Gov Fayose Boasts That None Of His Kids Studied Abroad As His Son Graduates...

Ayodele Fayose, governor of Ekiti state, on Friday said all his children are studying in the country.

According to Lere Olayinka, spokesman of the governor, Fayose said this at Covenant University, Ota, Ogun state, while attending the convocation ceremony of Ayorogbayimika, his son.

The governor said the standard of education in the county will improve if public office holders enrol their children in Nigerian universities.

He said the country would save foreign exchange if public officers are compelled to have their children school in the country.

“Even children of President Muhammadu Buhari that they told us lived a modest life attended universities abroad,” he said.

“Shouldn’t President Buhari have lived by example by enrolling his children in universities in Nigeria?”

The governor said there was no reason for children of public office holders to study outside Nigeria, except in cases where the courses they are interested in are not offered in the country.

“We talk and do. Whatever we say is what we practice. Apart from the fact that none of my children attended schools abroad, I have never travelled out of the country for medicare,” Fayose said.

“Even though the views of people like us might not be popular among the powers that be because we say the truth and act the truth, we won’t stop telling them what they do not like to hear and one of such is that the only way to improve the standard of education in the country is for children of holders of public office to experience what children of ordinary Nigerians are experiencing in schools in the country.

“During my first tenure as governor, I took my son from a private school and enrolled him in SUBEB model primary school in Ado Ekiti. Today again, I am here to witness the graduation of my son and I make bold to say here that none of my children attended a tertiary institution outside Nigeria.

“That should be the spirit not a situation where someone is the minister of education in Nigeria and his children are schooling abroad. And by enforcing this too, we will be saving Nigeria a lot of foreign exchange being wasted on medical and academic tourism.”

The governor said he would continue to ensure that Ekiti maintains its position as “leaders in the education sector.”

from cable

52 comments:

1. That's how you know a leader,Fayose I will vote for you if you come out.

1. All this don't make Fayose a saint. He still dey chop money like the rest😕

2. Proudly Anonymous22 July 2017 at 17:59

Yinmu! I thought the boy graduated from UNAD or Akungba.

2. Fayose, why did they not attend government owned institution?

Ordinary Nigerians don't attend private university.

When you enrol your child in Ekiti state university, then you're free to talk.

1. My dear, he has tried, the average nigerian is saving money to take their kids as well, most people I know have just two or three kids and are saving their tuition from now cus at the end of the day if they go to local schools they will still have to compete with gov kids who schooled abroad when they are pushed into the labor market. Dear mr govt, you are indeed an example

2. Abi o. You dey mind am?

They may still go abroad for their masters sef! I don't trust these people, they can say anything to get us to trust them but na lie.

3. Please ask him if convenant university is cheap? Can the common man afford the fees there. Anyway congrats at least you saved some money.

4. Convenant university is not cheap but it's in Nigeria. He tried abeg

3. Good for him. It's always good to lead by example.

See ppl flocking common India for healthcare, when Nigeria produce some of the smartest minds. Make Nigeria great instead of rushing to build up somebody else's nation. Build your own great centers of learning and fantastic hospitals.

1. How can you say "common India" that's very derogatory and ignorant
      Never refer to any country especially those doing better than yours "common"

4. A private is still for the rich.
    No Fayose still does not deserve bragging rights

1. He didn't say he was poor, did he?

2. He has.

How many of them will enrol their kids in a private university here during their tenure as governor?

3. Eka Joy Thanx for dat. I dunno how people reason. Fayose was never a poor man.so how do u expect him to enrol his kid in govt school?

***Chy Ozo***

5. Fayose!
    Leadership by example though I know some people will still ask why you didn't enroll them in a government university.
    This alone is commendable.

6. Very true talk
    Buhari and the others should lead by example.
    Schools and hospitals should be made standard enough for them and their families to use not patronising those abroad that have been made standard by the good government and planning of the western countries.

1. Buhari who claimed to be poor o, where he got tuition fees from is still my pending question for him

7. That's good, leaders should lead by example. Nice one.

@just Bella.

8. Fayose my man any day anytime fayo nwa biafra

9. Lead by example say Fayose. This is impressive.

10. Why convenant university, why not ekiti state university.

1. Is covenant university in London?

2. He's not a poor man,the fact that he allowed them school in naija it's something to applaud him for.

11. Selfish, self centered and stingy man. We know why your children didn't school abroad so stop trying to deceive Nigerians.

1. Person wey no gree give im sister money to do breast lift,na im pikin he go send abroad to school? Lol!

2. Breast lift!! Is that an illness I haven't heard of? Or your stupidity is now on the increase ni

3. @Abi. U sound stupid. Ur brain is fried in coconut oil. Did I write anywhere dat breast lift is an illness? Abeg take ur frustration elsewhere. Idiot!

4. You are the stupid one.....which one is breast lift. Is that an important thing? Last I knew about the sister her breast were not extra big so why would he have allowed that kind of stupidity....anyway fools like you will always criticize....he tried cos we know he can afford it

12. Those of you asking why a private University and not a public one, will you ask someone who bought a lovely home in a good neighborhood why they bought a house there, why they didn't go live in a slum or continue to rent? Do you ask someone who has the means why the bought a fancy vehicle why they didn't just ride an okada to get around? Such questions are ridiculous, the man has the means to have his children study abroad,but he believes in Nigeria and chose Nigerian institutes of learning for his children. Mosquito still bit his kids in the private school just like it bit the kids in the public ones. At the end of the day he contributed to the Nigerian economy and instead of spending elsewhere he spent at home. Build up your own place before you run to build up the places of others.

1. Nigerians will always critisize everything, he has tried compared to what his counterparts are doing

2. Don't mind them. I have a ward there. My friend too. But we are just regular working class Nigerians .
      Fayose did well. Can u say that about your own state governors?
      Biko we need to change the way we reason abeg

13. This is commendable. People cannot be satisfied, still asking why not public university. Look at it this way,he works hard,and earns well,he can afford private university, so why not? If you were in his shoes,would you enroll your kid in a public university?. He can afford to have them school abroad,but he didn't. Good enough for me!

1. Nna, the thing tire me oh

2. Nigerians are never satisfied atall,they complain over virtually everything.

14. This is commendable.he's so brave!

15. Nigerians cannot be satisfied, and i believe that's one of the reasons God is angry with this Country..do you even think it's everybody that can afford public University? If you are saying why not public school? I'm so proud of Gov Fayose for that.. I'm a student of Babcock University. And its hustle as usual because I'm not from wealthy from home, in fact i hustle my school fees myself. And there are other students in Babcock University who are like me as well.. Where someone has done something good let's praise him for that

16. Stella his first son, Nigba schooled in jand. The rest schooled here.

17. There is no reason Bihari can't send his children abroad.... a common Nigerian can do that. How does sending his children abroad affect anything. This people are full of sweet talks when they want something. Let the power get to their hand and you see their true colours.... why is fayose now seeing fault in people and showing off good side obviously because he wants something. My people they are all the same so not be decieved

18. I wonder the kind of mentality Nigerians have. He enrolled his children in our own university not "in the abroad ". Isn't that enough to show an example? Parents who put their kids in government school is due to lack of finance and government schools are built especially for those who can't afford to pay exorbitant prices for private schools. Let's think civilised for once. Gov fayose only showed an example to love your country as you claim.

1. Our own university is that university he and his likes in government refuse to equip not a private owned university.

2. How has Fayose improved Nigeria's education by sending his son to Covenant? Shior he just added one more unemployed graduate

3. Proudly Anonymous22 July 2017 at 18:36

Please in your "think civilised" mode kindly remind us how come private universities were built before public universities.

19. God bless Fayose, at least his children attend Nigerian universities whether federal or private is no -issue......

20. Anyone asking why Fayose sent his son to covenant university instead of a public university am sorry to say this ,is suffering from poverty mentality. Anyone saying covenant university is only for the rich is not an ambitious person.
    My daughter attends that university. I and my husband are just ordinary Nigerians. We haven't smelt any govt position, we just work hard and try our best to give our kids the best we can afford. We are just an average family.
    Covenant university breeds very calculated and well behaved children. Tell me,which parent wouldn't thank God for the grace to send their wards to that university? You have peace of mind,nothing like wondering if your son belongs to any cult or if your daughter is doing runs in school. A mere look at my daughter alone gingers her dad to work harder to pay her fees. I beg my daughter to go out each time she's back on hols. Covenant makes sure these kids are also engaged outside the university by engaging in internship during their hols.
    Fayose deserves our respect cos he could easily have sent his son abroad and paid from his breast pocket but no,he said charity begins at home. And some people are still complaining.
    It is better for my children to school in Nigeria,have home values and travel abroad for their masters than for them to be left alone abroad so young when their blood is hot without having any values.
    I applaud Fayose. Every one against him should change their mindset else they will remain poor and timid thinking that only the rich deserve the best.. Work hard and give your kids the best. You must not be super rich to do so. You can start saving for your children's future today.

1. Proudly Anonymous22 July 2017 at 18:23

Your write-up shows you as the one with poverty mentality even as you laboured to justify your very jaundiced analysis.
      It wouldn't have been a bad idea if that boy had attended the university where his dad is the Visitor by virtue of his position as a governor,the main financier of UNAD.
      If you had been following the thread of arguments relating to public/private school debate,you would have seen that these people you referred to as having "poverty mentality" never raised any eyebrow where it concerns how private citizens choses to educate their wards.

2. Proudly anonymous you sound like the stupid one with poverty mentality here....u must be daft to say her points are jaundiced.....lol mumu insulting another

21. @Mmm. That's my opinion to have. India is no place special to me, that's why I said common. Sorry, but I do not see India as doing better than Nigeria. It's corruption that is killing Nigeria and Nigerians, the day that the demon of corruption is slayed in Nigeria and all of Africa the world will see.

1. If u do not see India as doing better than Nigeria then you are truly daft.....go and google India, their GDP and co....stop arguing ignorantly

22. Wao! Even you stella believed that, now I know never to believe everything I read online cos his 1st son schooled in the UK and only came back home after his father became the governor