Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday Breakfast...

Saturday, July 29, 2017

Saturday Breakfast...

Today we remembering breakfast from those days...

...Those breakfast ideas from way back....The ones you remember...

I remember Agoyin Beans and hot Akamu/pap/Ogi and served with Agege bread!

If i had my way,this is exactly what I would have this morning as Breaky...Instead I am having peppermint tea with egg bread
(bread soaked in buttered spiced eggs,left to ask and then fried in a dry hot pan)

74 comments:

1. I'll be having Ham toast with green peas,liver,and chicken fries at the side together with almond bread and Bulletproof coffee

Good morning love

1. Abeg make will laff samll 😀😀😀😀😂😂😂👍

*KITCHEN ANTHEM*

Arise o kitchen stuff
      The children want to eat
      Prepare us rice and stew
      And cook it with plantain
      The meat on top must not be small
      And make sure it's so sweet
      And Add maggi and salt
      Some curry thyme and nutmeg
      We can't wait to eat

*KITCHEN PLEDGE*
      I pledge to my kitchen, my best place,
      To be cooking, boiling and steaming,
      To serve my children, the best of meals
      To defend the meat and fishes
      And uphold our spices and freshness
      So help me pot

Thank you!!!!

2. Lmao. Starry Larry, u no well.

I am having boiled yam and palm oil with plenty onions and pepper.

3. Those days I hated breakfast. Veg tomatoes source, trust me d Green dey pass d tomatoes with shallow fried yam or plantin which I still hate

4. I had Yoghurt and chocolate cookies 🍪 for breakfast

Lunch will be beans and rice (jollof) with veggie

2. Yea I miss agoyon ewa nd agege bread

1. I had weetabix cereal but it was after I had my lemon nd apple cider vinegar warm water mix

3. Will buy rice and ofe akwu on my way. So let me get ready

1. Fried irish potatoes and ketchup with hot tea

2. Having jollof rice ,plaintain and fried egg with water.

3. Making Ugu soup instead of oha replacing with Ugu and swallow will b mashed molded sweet potatoes. Trying to build my pcv 18% at 7 months preggy just too low

4. Fried plantain with pap and Luna milk. I also made freshly squeezed orange juice for my kids( the cold is too much and cough and catarrh are flying up-and-down)
    Good morning 😊 everyone
    Mrs Romas what's up", I love your cooking style

1. Hey babes what's up. I hv never tasted dt fried plantain and pap o

5. Just came back from jogging, pap n akara sure pass biko

1. Goodluck! Burn 5 calories and eat back 500 calories. Weight loss is made in the kitchen, food is 80% of the weight loss journey

2. Akara no b protein?

3. Of course...protein swimming & cooking in artery clogging oil

6. I have zero energy to cook anything, so I'm relying on my fall back. Biscuits

1. Princess Scheherazade29 July 2017 at 10:30

Stella, this your egg bread description sounds like what we used to call French toast when I was a child.
      Now, bread things have passed away...

7. Akara and soaking garri, fried yam and pap, beans and Dry garri. Lol, ghetto pikin.

8. Back in the days, it was always bread and tea for breakfast.
    While still in secondary school, the school went on vacation and my dad said that,since we were home, we should take some other food for breakfast then bread should come in once in a while, we grudgingly accepted. Some days later, i fell ill, no be person tell my papa to go back to bread and tea for breakfast.

1. That's my hubby n kids for u...must be bread and tea. I wonder how u guys enjoy dt stuff.

I only take it wen I add fried eggs but since I don't take much of fried eggs,i just watch them eat and look for something else for myself.

2. You fell I'll because you weren't eating bread? Poverty is in your DNA

9. I'll be having bread nd egg for breakfast.. I mean roasted bread and egg..does in EkSU.will understand dar better

1. Lwkmd! Roasted bread ko roasted bread ni...awon forming, local fowls everywhere

2. Are u roasting the bread on a bsrbrque stand? Lol, as the bread roaster that you is na

3. Lol am sure na Toast bread she an write.smh

10. For me: akamu & moimoi is a staple in my home every Saturday

Good morning my blog fam.

11. AFANG SOUP WITH FUFU

THAT AFANG SOUP EEH... YOU NEED TO KNOW THE ORISIRISI INSIDE.. .THEY CALL IT "OBSTACLE "

KAI... ..

I AM SHOUTING

@ANONYMOUS ORUBEBE

1. That is my dinner today
      Afang just too make sense

12. Moimoi and akamu nai sure pass

13. Akara and pap blended with ginger 🤤Haven't had it in a looooooong while #cometomama 😁🙌🏼

14. Ooh, I just remembered one nda letis mama put in O town like no other now.
    Water melon for the am so as to create space for enough 'choppings' later in d day.😁

1. I'm coming to join you in your choppings galore oh

2. Hahaha I never had the food but herd all d gist. Guys will send PA's from Lagos to Owerri Airport with plates to purchase NDA leti. Wen I heard d gist I was like, dude isn't this gist odd? Y pay for flight ticket all d way to O town for food, he said d bill is d Bank, they device ways to lie and send there Pa down on a pretentious official matter. Heard d woman stew is d BOMB... This is a GTB director and an Oil big shot giving me d gist of dis infamous NDA leti o; very funny

3. This comment has been removed by the author.

4. @Anon, what you wrote up there about Nda Letty is the gospel truth. I schooled in O-town so I can confirm this gist. The woman's stew had no rival + the beans and boiled plantain. Her son used to be a good friend of mine back in schol,so he would always stop by with a bowl of food with loads of meat. Choooi Orufe, God bless your kind heart.

5. Her food second to non. Big meat now took over after Ndaa leti died.

15. Pancakes,eggs,sausage and buscuit from burger king breakfast menu. I have a coupon.

1. Buscuit indeed...Burger King don come Oshogbo? There's actually no bragging rights attached to eating junk food from Burger King

2. Who said she was bragging?

16. I remember pancakes and honey or pap and fries with egg sauce.

17. My mama use to make akara and pap or yam and pepper soup.

I miss the pepper soup and yam.

I'm having green tea and lemon. I'm not eating anything. My dress for the wedding is too fitted, I don't want anything bulging out.

1. 😩😩 same with my mum. Hot 🐐 meat 🌶 soup with white yam, chai 😫.

2. Another Bombastic food, Old yam with Okporoko peppered soup. Saturday's delight @ home. I miss Momsie's cooking😢

18. Tea and bread with egg sauce, for the kids. ...... let me finish eating my banana so I can download garri with okro soup. Good morning fam

1. Okra soup with swallow in the morning is BAE
      *side eyes 👀 @ Stella *

19. Any bv attending ics village meeting in ibadan today?holla at me,lets meet up

20. Breakfast never sure o. Most probably beans sha.

21. Watch people who took pap and 1 sachet cowbell come here and type:I took pap with lots of milk.smh

22. Breakfast those days was just tea and bread and half an egg lol. The thing about parents not wanting to spoil you with eggs? Now I can eat 6 eggs at once if I want. Life is truly in phases. Having frozen yogurt and biscuits I would have preferred cooked groundnuts but that's what is available so.....

23. Kekefie....plantain porridge to my rescue

24. Coco and akara wit enough milk ofcus
    Lol

25. Just finished eating hot eba with egusi soup

26. I remember sitting on the dining table with my siblings to have pancakes and sausages on saturdays. Some weekdays b4 we leave for primary school, we had cereal and boiled egg. And d milk was mixed in a large jug for us. Hmmmmm.

27. Been shuffling hotel n hospital back n forth with bae...ThankGod he's eating now...

28. Hot jollof spaghetti with orishirish and hot green tea

29. Growing up, I and my Lil bro hated beans because of those little white stuff that looked like maggots to us then. We hated unripe plantain because of those black stuff in the middle when you slice it from top to bottom. Saturdays, mumsy would just prepare beans and plantain and force us to eat. These days, I love eating beans like it's going out of fashion. Today, I'm indulging myself though with something different. Bread with pear and green tea. Didn't know I could ever drink tea without sweeteners but I've more or less become addicted to this brand of green tea. I can drink tea more than 4 times a day. To think I was forced to even start drinking it to start with. Oga D, thanks for the intro. Lok

30. Mine was the full english breakfast back then...Toast bread, fried eggs, baked beans, cornbeef and tea

1. I hate English breakfast, maybe because I am so conscious of what I eat these days.. left for me I won't eat in this life lol, every thing is processed nd not natural

31. Yam and garden egg stew

32. If u people finish eating tomorrow u go to Church n fart d hell out of people.

33. @"Anonyingmouse": Sorry, ma/sir, poverty has,is and will never be in my DNA. Abeg, face nepa pole. Thank u
    @Victoruous Ehis: Bread is my "2nd best" food. No mind us abeg. *winks* The question you asked up there,there is this family i am close to,that is the same question the wife those ask the husband. You know what his reply is, "we are "sha" eating" (he says it in yoruba). And before u know it, wifey has collected the bread and starts eating too. Enjoy ur day

34. I miss Mumsie's red peppered pancake(the aroma of vanilla drops in it was heavenly), with thick custard.

Had leftover from 'GhanaHigh' and a chilled bottle of 'Limca softdrink'. *Lips lips*
    #homealone

1. Wow 😲
      So limca still dey this naija?
      It's been ages I saw it

2. Yeah,limca Is still available naija. Better taste n also available in pet bottles. Proudly product of Coca Cola