Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: America Wonder - How To Survive ....

Monday, December 25, 2017

America Wonder - How To Survive ....

This post will help open your eyes.....And ears if you like!!!

Before coming, my intention was to leverage on my uncle. My uncle's plan was for me to use his wife's papers to work, save money and marry a good Akata for legalization. Unfortunately, poverty could not let me buy all the things the wife requested. I could not afford to sew plenty traditional wears for her. I could not also afford to give her mother N150k which she promised to give me back though. Why do you want to give me when I come, when you can as well do Western Union? I guess God wanted to teach me some lessons.

When I left my uncle's house, I was more determined to survive. The way I left was not the best way. If you have not been psychologically tortured, you may not understand. I had to survive because I couldn't go back to his house. As what? Prodigal niece?

Remember that time Hush Puppy replied AY? This my post is not for everyone. It's for the new comers or those without Green Card yet.

Knowing the right people for the right purposes will make your journey smoother.

KEEP YOUR EARS TO THE GROUND

My uncle never knew that people use fake papers (Kpalee) to work. New comers pay about $150 to the Nigerian agents who help them to get jobs that don't require EVerify. Nigerians don't print these kpalee. On my own, I found the guys who did. They charged me $80. It became a business. I take $120 from you and get you what you need. You are happy. I am happy. Printer is happy. Only Trump is sad. Anyway, I have passed this level now.

GOOD DEEDS

I met one Edo babe who was being terrorised by her brother. We became friends. She moved from her brother's house to avoid more insults. My in-law found a CNA job for me the week she moved. It was closer to her. I sacrificed and gave her the job. Later, she told me how and where to secure a New Jersey resident card. In her words, " at least make we get something legal in our names for this country". One good turn deserves another.

CHEERFULNESS AND POLITENESS

I was uber-driven by a Nigerian. We got chatting as per ndi Nigeria. It was this guy who told me where and how to secure a driver's license without SSN. If I snubbed his greeting or formed too busy, I would not have known this as early as I did.

When I was a cashier, all the people I met were drawn to me by my cheerfulness. Remember the immigration lawyer, it was he who took my case pro bono. He told me that I was not a cashier. He told me there was more to me. He talked as if he knew me in Nigeria, I had to open up to him.

The military guy too, same thing. You may not always meet people when you smile but there are some problems you avoid by smiling.

SPREAD YOUR TENTACLES

It will be very absurd that you live in America and all your friends are Nigerians. You are not here for a country reunion. As a new comer, you can't afford to have only people at your level as friends. Ina ezuzu ezuzu? In this Land of the Free, I forbid you to remain in mental bondage. You must have at least one Spanish friend. Spanish people own the labor market. They are the people who employ undocumented people the most. Most of the Spanish workers no even get passport ka ofozie paper. Being friends with them will help your job search and job sustenance until you outgrow that level.

You need a Jewish friend. They are successful, powerful and rich. My lawyer is Jewish. I didn't need a Nigerian lawyer to put this to me. I put it to myself that I must upgrade.

I don't attend Nigerian churches. I go to the White man's church. I serve there too. Here, I am treated special. I am also not under any financial pressures. I wear my natives here. From admiration, it will enter friendship with the women. You are here for something, be focused.

SAVE

When I go to buy clothes, I start from the Clearance section. I have lived a good life before, so no pressure. Why do I need to buy a $50 regular dress when I can buy something nice for $5. I also go to stores that sell quality for less. I visit Thrift Stores like Salvation Army too. Why do I have to buy very expensive original Fridge or TV when I can buy a good second-hand? The aim is to live well and save, not to be a label junkie without money in the bank. Ababio opened my eyes to this. For those not happy I met Ababio, me, I am very happy. He has saved me money.

I go to wholesale shops like Costco and Restaurant Depot. I buy in bulk and very cheap. To go to such places, you need membership cards. That's why you have to know the right people for the right purpose. Iheoma taught me buying in bulk. For that, I appreciate her.

DRESS AND SMELL WELL

You don't need to break a bank for this. I can wear a $2 top and still look good. The cheaper the dress, the higher the accessories. Smelling nice will save you from some troubles. Believe me. I lie not.

READ

Information is power. Read American laws, both the ones you are breaking and the ones you are keeping. The best way to win a foreigner's heart is to tell them what you know about their culture and language. Ordinary saying "gracias" instead of "thank you" to a Spanish makes them happy. Know how Americans do or say things. In my CNA jobs, once I meet the patient, I read online about her disease or disorder. When I am talking to the Nurse, she will be surprised I know much. 

IMPORTANT but not NECESSARY

Have at least one American Police Officer friend or Military wo/man friend. I don't know how you are going to do that. I met mine when I was a cashier. I never knew she was important until I called her office. I also met a US marine who has been of great help to me educationally.

RESPECT PEOPLE

These people can sue even for unnecessary reasons. Always ask permission. To me, anything not written can be denied, so there are some things I either record your permission or ask you to write it.

Stay out of trouble. Be careful with the Akatas.

For those that want to know what happened after the cashier job and my legalization, stay tuned. I will send the story next year. I am expecting my husband on Christmas day to spend the holiday with me. The s3x will be mind blowing. He will head, dribble and score goal. It haf tey. For my cussers, let me give you one for the road. Guess whose in my husband's welcome committee?. My best girlfriend, Ababio and the military guy! 

Get a partner like my man. He believes everything I tell him and I tell him everything.

I am not easily bullied. I chose to share my story without hiding anything, to entertain and educate you. You have no right to criticize it destructively, cuss me unreasonably or call me names that are different from those given to me on my naming ceremony day. In my marriage, I aim to please God and my husband, not keyboard warriors. Keep your moral barometer for yourself.

For those who love me, I love you right back. Have a Merry Christmas, everyone. Let me go and shave for my headmaster.

*Hahahahahahahaha this woman I Love you!!!....Greetings to your husband my dear and enjoy yourself!

58 comments:

1. Gosh! I love ur style... Merry Christmas to you too

1. I Love her so much. She's a good writer as well as a good entertainer. I can bet my life that this lady never slept with anybody before getting her papers, if you are smart and you have God, anything and everything is possible. Nobody forced her to tell all her stories meaning she could have chosen to hide about the men she met, everything isn't about Sex please. She's a confident, smart, street wise woman that will go places and because her hubby saw that in her,he could trust her to climb the mountains. My Dear, I see you making Nigeria Proud with your confidence alone. Wishing you the best and May God continue to lead you.Please we need more of your writeups, you are more than good and the best entertainer. Reading it made me feel like I know you just like I feel I know Stella and I don't even know her. Both of you have skills that money cannot buy, keep it up and Stella I love you and cannot wait to send in mine but this is regarding my relocation to Nigeria to encourage others that want to move back home. Life's bn so good and I am humbled at how much God has chosen to Bless me.

2. 😲😲😲🙉
      I'm too young for this post

2. You have not yet told us how you "legalized" . . . did you open ya legs? Did you eventually do "illegal marriage?"

That is the most important information you are keeping.

1. Did you not see immigration lawyer? Did you not read what she wrote? Did you not understand?

The most important information to you, you ignored

2. @Chikito
      So "immigration lawyer" means legalization? When the question is "how?' It involves explanations;
      she told us initially that she "planned to do arranged marriage"
      She mentioned that she worked with another person's papers etc.

All these are not godly acts even as she claimed to want to please God. She could as well be a "God pleaser" in jail if caught.
      If you live here, you will also understand that "arranged marriage" partner can demand regular sex as a pre-condition, yes in spite of the bill involved. Pitiably many Nigerian married women and men alike indulge in such.
      So please do not defend her, she will still come back to explain. After all she earlier told us that she had concluded. You are not her attorney; are you?

3. Okay. But why is does it bother you that she didnt give intricate details? You need the information? Sorry oh. My bad. Have you ever seen my support or reprimand the poster of this particular column? I dont have to live in the US Oga madam, i have a valid visa and family and friends. Lawyers can bring up the most interesting cases to defend an immigrant. From boko haram and terrorism, to tribal wars and even the loss of a husband putting the wife's life at risk. A smart lawyer can sort it out as long as you can pay and you have clues to a case. It doesnt always end in marriage. And if you have the right people, the akata wont even see your bra strap, not to talk of sleeping with you. Some of them even walk up to you and offer you 'help' cos they sef need the money.

Me i dont even support the poster giving such details cos we don't know if an American embassy informant might read this column. To each his own.

4. Chikito,your head is there. Leave this sadist that sounds like one bitter woman I know that works with the embassy, maybe them Don send am.However, babe is legit now so kill yourself

5. Juanita, the fact that she has GC does not mean that one can't be deported.It is in her best interest to keep quiet.if it is established that she lied at any point by immigration, the GC can be cancelled and she will be on her way back.You are placed under oath before Immigration conduct interview.

6. She's helping us know how to relocate yet your sadistic lives will not let her talk. You complain about the state of the country when you are all Internet witches and wizards in different forms. Let her speak,she no be olodo. From her writeup you can tell babe is way smarter that a freaking Jobless advicer like you.

7. @jumoke

But it is the same 'freaking jobless advicer' who will credit your account when you litter the Santa Post like dandruff, begging for rice,oil and transport fare.

And you will not remember to reject the 'freaking jobless advicer's' money.

I do believe some of you were brought up like animals.
      Very uncouth, very uncivilised.

You pick up your phone and the very first thing is to spout obscenities at people you do not know.
      And usually here,it's females.

Very crass,very crude,extremely primitive.

People in the real world that would never have an opportunity to meet you.

You've heard US and your temperature won't come down.

Lolll.

Poverty mentality.

3. YOU GO GIRL. DO YOU AND LET THE IGNORANT HATERS GO KISS TRANSFORMER. MERRY XMAS TO YOU TOO

1. U write so well and I love ur sense of humor

2. STELLA. I AM WRITING IN CAPS SO YOU UNDERSTAND HOW IMPORTANT THIS IS. I NEED THE POSTER IN MY LIFE. PLEASE I WILL SEND A PRIVATE MAIL

4. Merry Christmas and enough heading and dribbling to you.

5. Next year far oo.
    Always a delight reading your stories.
    I'm sure you will have a Merry Christmas...

6. I love this section so much. I wouldn't miss it for anything not even for IHN.

7. Hahahahahah..Chaiiii,madam you funny dyeee...@ine zuzu ezuzu..
    Thank God you listened to people like us that requested for the continuity of this series. Continue to ingnore those judginaaas,who them EPP? I've really learnt a lot from your write up. May God bless you greatly. Am eagerly waiting for the next episode.

1. Judginas have zero opinion, I love this woman, she got a lion's liver.

2. Really? But the same judinas were lambasting the chronicle sender yesterday? Loll 3rd world thinkers. Once they here USA thier body starts vibrating like old generator. Lmaooooooo.

8. Hmmmn! Great Advice. The story/advice surrounding "ina ezuzu ezuzu?" SPOT ON!

9. Keep your yeye sanctimonious demeaning hustling/prostitution story to yourself next time. Then we’ll keep our moral barometers. No one asked you to share so if you can’t take the heat...

1. Hahaha...hear, hear!

2. No one asked you to read or open the post. Awon iya ile ookan

3. She can take the heat so relax.

4. Thank you anonymous! As far as I am concerned this lady never lived the life in Nigeria, neither did she leave a responsible husband in Nigeria!!! I read all you wrote !!! And it is all gibberish!!! I did my masters in the US and cancelled my work permit to move back to Nigeria!!! Nigeria is not this bad now! Haba!!! Having citizenship in the US is not Gold bars!!! Why put yourself through this hell!!! Please like anonymous before me said! Keep your advice to yourself!!! This is so low!!!

5. Shut up,obiakpo

6. Anonymous 17:36 so what have you achieved after cancelling your so called papers,you are such a liarrrrrr.She doesn't loose anything getting her papers and that's her priority, why didn't you do your Masters in Nigeria seems Nigeria isn't that bad.Talking Gibberish just because you can buy data.Shes happy and her hubby us proud her her so live and let live I too know

7. And Jumoke the 🐐!!! Ewu, like someone said up there!!! I will not spend 10 years in the US, when I can travel the world!!! Everyone is not wired to live low demeaning lives!!! My goal of getting a masters has been achieved!!! And for your information I lived in London for years and moved back to Nigeria 🇳🇬, because I have a vision!!! Please try and get two years visa and go and try her lifestyle, if you will not commit suicide!!! Anuofia!!! I will advice people here to travel as a properly documented person and have fun!!! This route will keep you at the bottom dregs of the American Society!!!

10. Hahahah Nne you get mouth oo, I Love you scarra, greetings to your Oga ooo...Abeg I still dey hope and wait to read the Ending...

11. Poster fire on, your husband is the real MVP!
    Forget those whose men are short sighted, Tuale for for u.

12. Me i like you already abeg

13. Me I don't like this lady Mtcewww!!!

14. What's this nonsense conflicting edit nau?😤
    Typed a bunch and it disappeared.

You are one smart Poster, and I love your spirit.
    I've learned so much, thanks.
    Abeg flenjor your husband jare.
    E no easy and you've been through a lot.

I've come to understand that what works for one may not work for another.
    Poster did her thing and she's got no regrets.
    You who couldn't do it and stayed in Nigeria 🇳🇬 kudos to you.
    Live and let live.

15. Poster you be better pikin jare. Have fun this holiday.

16. I agree 100000% with this poster. Her mindset and mentality is different to the typical Nigerian's own and that is why she survived and thrived. I can completely identify with her as I was in a similar position. Many Nigerians told me it was not possible. Me I used my brain and did a lot of the things she did. I befriended outside my race. I chose to spend on non designer things. I rejected aso ebi. I moved away from 'mini Lagos' and moved to a room smaller than a cupboard in a white area. As we speak i am learning Italian and Spanish. The irony is that instead of people to be thanking her for this valuable info she shared for FREEE they are abusing her. Those who have ears.

1. Thank her for sharing immoral story not meant to disuade others from embarking on same?poverty and quest for good life should not lead married people to this type of encounter.sex in America is like pure water that carries no weight.The fact that Ababio and the other men in your life in diaspora are part of the team that will welcome your husband do not imply that they did not sleep with you.I blame your husband in all this and sooner or later he will know the truth.it is only that we will not be there to hear the outcome of his findings and the subsequent action he would take.

2. But anon 15 : 38 can you let God do the judging? Why are you so pained with this poster? If you are not learning from her experience, let others like me learn na.

Poster I love you a lot already. Keep'em coming jare 😘😘😍😍😍👏👏👏👏👏👏👏 .

3. Na wa oo, what's immoral about a survival story? Are you for real? Oh maa gaaad, judge finder, chill.

17. Nice Nuce and good read. Love u poster@ only trump is sad, i laughed my heart out.

18. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

1. She can find an employer to file for her, medical doctor don’t have problems at all.

19. Go girl, enjoy your husband well. Your write up shows great perseverance. Merry Christmas.

20. I'm totally with you poster. If I were married or had a kid, I would have thought this is my story.
    Madam, take a hint from Chikito's comment.

21. Poster has a rugged mentality that fits into today's world hence her consistency and transparency. For those of you judging her, sorry oo she's moved on to bigger and better things. Poster,i love you like kilode

22. From her story she never said she slept with anyone for papers so why the backlash.. or did I miss it somewhere?? And if she said she didn't, why do you want to force that upon her?? **yes i live in the states and know all the ish people do here for papers which may be wrong and all, but let's wait first and follow the story to the end before crucifying her naa. And even if she did something wrong, y'all don't know her personally to flog her naa, haba.

23. If we channel this doggedness to make Nigeria great...
    I can only imagine the stress she went through.
    I wish her and her family well.

What she wrote must have taken not less than 3yrs...

24. Please stella,can you also post the links to the older posts.I also need the contacts of the poster. Even if it's not her phone number but an email address will be highly appreciated. I learnt a lot from this post and people castigating her, there is someone here who will benefit from this post.if you don't like this post or poster, kindly move to the next without opening it. Gracias

25. The only thing i’m going to say is this. Some people work with USCIS and ICE and they can read this blog. So continue spilling, make it easier for them to know una modus operandi. And if you’re commenting here too, spill, let us trace your IP address. And if you’re encouraged by this, hence your reason to migrate illegally or live in the US illegally with all these dubious acts, continue, when you’re nabbed, don’t say you were not warned. Goodluck!

26. I'm in no position to judge this writer. She is actually gifted in writing fluently. However, as someone who relocated about 20 years ago, my advice is to watch the company you keep. The company you keep and the advice you get may determine your future in the USA. There is a way that seems right and easy but can get you stuck in the underground economy in a dead end job. If you wonder what is the big deal about that, wait until you want to move to the next level. If you came in with kids not born here, they will not get their drivers license at 16 and will start asking you questions you had pushed to the recesses of your mind.

I'm assuming the poster is not in the healthcare sector where there used to be a serious shortage and which helped some of us who are willing to go to medically underserved areas (MUA). This used to guarantee that an employer, depending on your profession will first file an H1B visa for you and then a green card and then you can file for your passport after 5 years. The whole process can take about 10 years but because you are in a high paying job, you really do not feel it. If you are in the pharma sector, big chains fortune 100 companies will file for you and they all had large immigration departments. She is bold sharing these as the authorities can back trace who she is. The underground green card market and multiple use of the same GC is a nightmare that IOs are constantly trying to curtail

27. My advice is to check if your skill set is in demand here and to do a lot of research even on exams you can either register for before leaving or take as soon as you get here. The trading in papers is a tunnel that leads only to low wage dead end jobs. Again it depends on your ambition and where you were in Nigeria. Some folks here are quick to offer "oriolori" (someone else's head) to new arrivals in their circle rather than advice them to go and do the accelerated nursing program which may enable them find a hospital that will file or them.it all depends on the first set of people to advice you and whose advise you eventually follow.

The problem with all these"papers" is that they may belong to dead people or to someone's children. For those in healthcare the window started shutting about 5 years ago. There are no more residences for foreign dry and foreign pharmacists aero longer required as America opened almost 100 pharmacy schools to combat the shortage about 10 years ago. I'm not sure about nursing but because hospital chains prefer advanced nurse practitioners to primary care physicians, for cost/salary issues the market seems to have become more difficult for physicians too. Do the research and ask questions before selling everything.

28. So Ababio, Sam and all the other men are coming to the airport to welcome your husband as what?
    Part of airport welcome commitee?Beht dem no get work?
    Lolll.
    This makes for an intersting read but I do not want a husband like yours,thanks.

Season's Greetings.

29. Each to his own. Meanwhile Stella, please on the flip side. Let someone who migrated to the US legally, come and tell us their own American wonder story. How they were able to scale through all hurdles to get a white collar job or start a business, whether their Nigerian degree was useful. What challenges they face as an immigrant. Whether their Foreign accent became an issue.

If time permits and if you’ll publish, I can send a story to help women or men in 9ja who are dating or engaged to someone in the US. Easiest way to get your GC legally, without employing the services of an immigration lawyer. How to settle down, mistakes you should avoid and people you should flee from. I don’t have a wealth of experience but i can share the little knowledge i’ve acquired being here.