Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Tells Commonwealth A Lot of Nigerian Youths Have A "Sense of Entitlement" Mentality

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

President Buhari Tells Commonwealth A Lot of Nigerian Youths Have A "Sense of Entitlement" Mentality

President Muhammadu Buhari says many Nigerian youths just want to sit down and do nothing, banking on the notion that Nigerian is an oil-rich nation.

Speaking at the Commonwealth Business Forum in Westminster on Wednesday, the president said a lot of Nigerian youths have not been to school and they want everything free. He said, "About the economy, we have a very young population, our population is estimated conservatively to be 180 million. This is a very conservative one. More than 60 percent of the population is below 30, a lot of them haven’t been to school and they are claiming that Nigeria is an oil producing country, therefore, they should sit and do nothing, and get housing, healthcare, education free.

The president said he has done well on the three cardinal points of his campaign, including economy and security. Recently, my minister for information was constrained to answer a question on people accusing this administration of doing nothing, he said ‘let Nigerians be reminded what position we were before May 2015, what condition we are now, and what we have achieved between then and now and I think people were impressed with the answer.

For security, we have done quite well. Economy, we are doing very well, especially with agriculture; we are providing soft loans, and guarantee is that you have to belong to a certain locality and you have got land, you don’t have to go to the bank and need a physical collateral. I think a lot is being done.

From the Cable

34 comments:

1. smh!!! can dis man just pin down for once instead of spewing trash from his gutter called mouth?

2. Is he lying? Capital NO!
    We can see such playing out on this blog every time. Let's be honest .

1. Shut it, have you seen a reasonable President , go out and pronounce youth of his/her country as lazy people ? Learn to think , not just spew rubbish online. 8701

2. I agree with you. All they do is beg and beg. Once they feel you are a little bit financially better than they are they begin to expect so much from you. He is not lying, we need to look inwards and change. I work with expats, and many Nigerians working there have the mentality. They come with stories of their sick parents, or one thing or the other. These people have figured them out already. The entitlement mentality is too much.

3. Oga DON, this your comment get as e be o. The Nigeria youths I know are very hardworking. You see, they haven't been given the opportunity they deserved from the government, yet they've struggled to earn a living for themselves.
      All those boys you see hawking on the streets, some as young as 10 years, would not been doing that if they are lazy or if an opportunity.

The President was wrong about Nigerian youths. They are far from lazy.

4. Silly president who berates his country every time he goes abroad. What have his children worked hard for?? If he has nothing substantial to say he should be quiet!

3. This man must totally lost it.
    Does he know how many graduates Nigerians produce in a year?

I can't wait for 2019 already...

4. What of the ones who have gone to school and have no jobs?? Useless man! I hate getting into political issues but this man is delusional. Old age is worrying him.... dementia maybe

5. Graduates are everywhere looking for jobs. Some even schooled abroad and can't get jobs and you're here saying they are entitled?? What of the ones hawking on the street? In UK and US college education is enough to get you stable employment. In Nigeria with masters degrees people don't have jobs you're spewing trash, to divert the fault. Maybe it's the spoilt children in aso villa who have a sense of entitlement. The ones who have grown into generations of theft. Don't you dare compare hustling Nigerians to that.

6. Baba has a false sense of reality. 2019 is coming! Please go and register!

7. You did well in security indeed, the easy access to the senate chamber is clear indication

1. Why are you this daft? What concerns president what what happened at the Senate chamber? You guys can stop to amaze me everyday .

8. What do u expect When u have a dead brain a**hole as a president? How much was dollar to naira in May 2015? Youths are ready to work but where is the job? What hv this administration done In terms of capital project? I’m calling on all Nigerian youth to vote out anyone who hv tested this power in any capacity. The way there will be libration.

9. We are quick to judge Niger Delta youths for being entitled. While the criticism undoubtedly has merit. Which ethnic group is the most entitled in Nigeria if not the Hausa/Fulani? Not only do they feel entitled, their sense of entitlement is being reinforced because they actually get more than they deserve.
    1. They are practically begged to go to school. A preferential marking system is put in place just for them in WAEC, JAMB etc.
    2. Going to any northern university isn't a challenge for them. Preferring them above qualified candidates is an unwritten rule.
    3. They get all the scholarship to further their education abroad.
    4. The quota system of the Federal Character mandates that even if they perform woefully in interviews, they will still get the job compared to more deserving counterparts.
    5. They rule the civil service in Nigeria at all levels. Getting a job is never an issue because there's an unwritten rule that they must help and place themselves.
    6. When they get into the civil service they do anything and get away with absolutely everything because they have people at the top.
    7. GEJ put a system in place for directors to serve only two terms and retire so other civil servants will have an opportunity to progress. Seeing that this will displace many of them in a few years, the very first thing Buhari did about civil service in June 2015, was to send a memo to everyone that they can stay on till their normal retirement.
    8. What about politics, GEJ did not do well and I'm not a fan of his but a significant portion of his problem was that he is not a northern. They feel the leadership of this country is their birth right hence the effort to frustrate any non-northerner in power.
    9. Since Nigeria's independence they have had more than 75% of themselves at the hem of affairs. Are we wondering why Nigeria is how it is today?
    10. They rule the military, para M illitary. Have the most number of oil wells assigned to them by their brothers that led the country at one point or the other.
    11. So entitled are they, that the life of a cattle is more important to than that of humans and still because one of them is the president nothing has been done about it and all their governors and emirs and even the president has boldly announced they are their patrons.
    Please tell me who is entitled? When one group thinks they own Nigeria and every other person is their slave.

10. Mr president but remember you son is also a Nigerian youth. And he gets free education,housing and health care in Germany courtesy of you and Nigeria's money.
    What is his job for him to be riding millions of Naira power bike.
    What is your daughter Zarah's job exactly? Sickle cell charity and visiting IDP and giving food bought with Nigeria's money.
    This old man should go and seat down somewhere. You also have Nigerian youths as your kids and they aren't any better.

11. If Nigerians don't vote this man out in 2019, then they would have no other person to blame than themselves. At this point even a goat is better than this delusional, heartless, zombie of a man.

12. This can only be heard from the mouth of a president that thinks West-Germany still exist. Mscheeeeew...yeye dey smell.

13. Useless Man! I thought Jonathan was clueless...but this Idiot right here is the true definition of CLUELESS, spewing thrash uncontrolably like a spoilt i pass my neighbor generator! This Nigerian youths that huzzle so much cause the know the Government have nothing to offer.. Spineless Coward of a president. Keep blaming everybody

14. He has to blame everything and everyone but himself. So what happened to the thousands of youths graduating yearly and having no jobs? A lot have resorted to creating their own jobs just to survive. So many are Hawking on the streets and parks just to survive and grandpa here calls them lazy! By God's grace, all this will end next year.

15. I dont know why Nigerians are angry at the statement oh. Is it not true that Nigerians feel entitled? I cant mention the number of Nigerians that hit me up for money each day. Some of them i helped get jobs for and they rejected it, they prefer to beg than to work because it is not their dream jobs. I traveled out of the country and woke up to messages even from people who havent been in touch with me for years. They were all sending lists of things they wanted me to bring for them and they were serious. After the trip, more and more were begging for money as if it was their birth right. The President is not wrong, there is too much sense of entitlement among our people.

1. Help me get a job and I promise not to ever beg you for anything.

2. You are an idiot to generalize this issue like your clueless president,Nigerian youth is far from being lazy or feel entitled,who formed nollywood,even without the help of government free the cratch,Nigerians are hardworkers and they don’t depend on the government at all cos obviously they have failed us,come to South Africa and see how entitled citizens can be,stupid talk from a clueless president

3. Uncle have you experienced being amongst youths in other countries ???
      UK youths are even worse. Many don't even want to work. They are satisfied with collecting that their benefits of £70 a week or how much it is again. They will rather seat and collect unemployment benefit that work at jobs that pays minimum wage.
      Their girls as soon as they clock 16 next thing is to carry belle so gov't can give them their own council flat and benefit for the child. The have free NHS medical, free education to a level
      How many want to even go to university. Na foreigners populate all their universities.
      Our youths what do they have free.
      This buhari talk is baseless abeg.

4. Please help me with a job and i'll forever be grateful..thank you.

5. @beds and Roses spot on! Those guys hate university education like crazy.

16. Baba!Please go back to Daura.
    Zahra! Please come and carry your father.

You and your minister of information are just bad ambassadors of this country.
    You don't know you have to portray your Nation in good light.
    Must you always blame people?
    What have you done to the Nigerian youths that are not entitled?
    If your son could be flown to Germany then every Nigerian is entitled to good healthcare.
    Femi Adesina, defender of the defenceless...come and add insult to the injury.

17. He has not lied o come to the niger delta and see youths with entitlement, even when given jobs they sell it off and beg leaving the entire responsibilities to wify and family

1. Gorgeous, you cannot use Niger delta sample to judge the total population of the Nigerian youths.They obviously rejected the jobs as they do not have the skills to perform the jobs.As a citizen of a country, you are entitled to basic needs of life such as health care, steady power supply, good roads, access to free education,jobs when you have the required qualifications and skills from the government.I do not see that as a sign of entitlement.

2. Come to lagos and see hustlers! Please leave naija delta alone that issue won't be solved today

18. But he’s not lying now. The youth are very lazy. Always waiting for handouts and that entertainment syndrome is just too bad. Why should he paint an image that is not true. Is not like the UK don’t have their own. Just look at the way the youth address their elders? Very rude, obnoxious and pig headed. I’ve never seen such set of rude people in my life like Nigerian youths. I really weep for this country