Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Labour Room Drama 237

Tuesday, October 09, 2018

Labour Room Drama 237

Oh dear!!!

Good day my darling Stella. I don't even know if I should call this a labour room drama or pregnancy drama. Maybe, both. Please, pardon any gbaguns. I typed this in a hurry as my battery is about to go off.

I found out I was pregnant with my first at four weeks because I got very sick. The operational word being very. I thought I had a horrible disease until the doctor told me I was only pregnant. My joy of carrying a baby was really clouded with the way I felt. I was drowsy, threw up more than ten times a day, felt faint all the time. (there was a day I fainted in front of the hospital. 

My husband brought me to the hospital on his way to work. I was walking to the front steps when I passed out. Found myself on a hospital bed.) it was so bad that I had to resign from work. Did I mention that I also had fibroid sitting jejely inside my uterus.

They told me don't worry, you will be better by your 12th week. I waited o. 12 weeks passed, then then 20 and 25. Omo, nothing changed. I was so skinny. While other pregnant ladies were gaining weight each week, I was losing weight. Sometimes, I'd add a little, but it was nothing to brag about. I was always on Drip or ORS. finally,the doctor told me I had a condition called HG. 
Hypermeresis gravidarum. Google became my best friend. I read survivors stories of those it happened to and drew strength. Long story short, I continued to throw up and feel faint and aversion for anything called food until I gave birth. 

When I was about six months gone, I woke up to contractions radiating from my lower back. It was not the 'scream your voice out' kind of pain, but it was painful. I called my doctor. He forced himself not to be panicked and said I should come in immediately.
I didn't know it was a serious situation until I reached the hospital and they treated my case like an emergency. I was wheeled to the ward, pumped full of injections and given a full bed rest.

It was while I was in the hospital that I had my first red degeneration. That is, the fibroid shrinking. The thing was so painful I couldn't lift my legs.
When I was about thirty something months gone, the doctor checked my pelvic bone and said it was borderline small, and minuted on my file that he must be present for my delivery.

Fast forward to a day before my Edd which happened to be my antenatal day, after the usual routine, the visiting midwife told me to wait that I had to see the doctor. I hope no problem. No, no, no. So I entered the doctor's office. He face looked somehow as if he was pitying me for something I didn't know. He said my amniotic fluid had reduced considerably, so the baby needed to come out immediately. My heart flew into my mouth and I started running my hands over my tiny pregnant belly proclaiming life into my child. He said with my small pelvic bone, he was advising I went for CS. But if I didn't want to, I could try and see what happened. He said I should take a decision Immediately because time was of the essence.

I had already opened my mouth to say I wanted to try labour, then my mind did slow flashback to all I had suffered for 40 weeks. What if I wanted to play super ninja and something bad happened? So I decided to go for CS. My husband and my family stood firmly behind me. Surgery was scheduled for the following day. That evening, I ate two small pieces of yam and egg sauce which I as usual, threw up. 

The following morning, a nurse woke me up and did the routine;shaving my pubic hair until the place looked like a plucked chicken, and setting the iv up. Then, I was told to go to the theatre. I felt like a lamb willingly going to slaughter lol.

I was given General anaesthesia. But I didn't completely go under. The doctors were like blue coloured angels Floating around me.

My dear, I don't know what else happened o, but they said I was semi conscious through out that day and the following day. I was just talking rubbish. But what I remembered was that I heard someone say, 'show her the baby. If she can see the baby, she will wake up'. In my mind I was like, baby? What baby? Then, my mom brought the baby to my face. And I slowly opened my eyes. And I saw the most beautiful baby ever. He was very fair with a head full of hair, and very tall. He yawned and then blinked at me. I fell in love. The nine months of suffering was immediately worth it. I cuddled him and all the emotions came tumbling down and I was crying and smiling and putting the breast into his mouth.

The pain of surgery was Intense but not comparable to what I passed through in the pregnancy. And I said to myself, 'never again '.
But then, I did it again.

*LOL@i did it again!
Congratulations and thank God it ended well.
Was the second pregnancy also the same?

29 comments:

1. awwwh....see me crying and smiling at the same time...I'm glad everything turned out fine.

twale to all the women out there

1. We buy bad/condemned solar inverter battery contact us 081413951139 October 2018 at 14:16

Abi ooooo

2. Congrats sis. It's not an easy journey,mine was two weeks ago, the birth of my 4th child. To God be the glory.

1. 4th child??? E no dey tire you? Abi you go still born again?

2. Awwwww!
      Congratulations on your safe delivery @Fabio Sex, kisses to your cutie.

Wow!
      Poster it's like we are in the same 'Whatsapp group'! Pregnancy dey show me pepper!
      Chaaai!
      I throw up from 6th week till my baby comes out.
      Spitting nko? Lord have mercy. Losing weight,just my tummy showing.

Thank God for everything, it ended in PRAISE!

3. Congratulations. Thank God for safe delivery, i can imagine your pain throughout the nine months

4. You are a good writer, your story is quite touching. I thank God for your life and I am happy that you are not deterred by your first experience.

5. Had to blink back the tears from my eyes. May God bless all mothers and those GTC yep, you are going to concieve.

6. It's not an easy road but to God be the glory

7. Chai, that red degeneration pain eh! No be here, I had it often but I bore the pain without analgesia. Always reminding God of His promises. Congratulations on your baby.

1. Please tell me about 'red degenerated'. I would love to hear your personal experience please

8. Congratulations poster! Thank God it ended in praise.

9. This was s tough one but thank God you survived it

10. Wow see me shedding tears. But its tears of joy... Thank God it ended in praise...

11. Thank God you survived it. I said never again too and hubby took it too seriously... still begging him to allow us have another child almost 6yrs later

1. Haha. Sounds like something my husband can do. So will have to keep my mouth shut. So grateful to God for this baby in my womb. All TTC women God will come through for you. He gave ordinary me....with all my transgressions...after years of waiting....in His Mercy He did what only He can do. To God be the glory.

Poster your story left me smiling (the end). Thanks for sharing. God bless your home.

12. I also said never again but I think am considering

13. Awwwww.... Congrats dear

14. LOL! ALL WOMEN ALWAYS SAY NEVER AGAIN DURING THE LABOUR BUT AFTER SOME MONTHS BELLE GO ENTER AGAIN. ASK ME HOW? NA SO E DEY SWEET UNA?

15. Congrats...let me get my popcorn for the next child's story :)

16. If you werr in Nigeria. Not surr u would have survived.

1. Did she say she wasn't in Nigeria?

17. Wow! ThankGod you survived, the 2nd pregnancy will never take you through same chapter of the old one .

18. Congratulations dear.. Most women say never again but later consider it. At the end of the day,the pain is worth it. I pray for all going to conceive, soon and very soon you too will carry ur baby. Amen.

19. God pls make my journey a smooth one , cant wait to share my story here , got married 5months ago i am 4 months pregnant.so far so good no its been an exciting month.lol small me I am gonna be a first time mum , cant wait to share my story next year