Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Vice President Yemi Osinbajo Writes Nigerians A Memo Titled ''A Time Such As This''

Friday, February 22, 2019

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo Writes Nigerians A Memo Titled ''A Time Such As This''

Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, on Friday urged Nigerians to return the All Progressives Congress (APC) government.

The letter reads: “In the past weeks and over the course of my time in office, I have interacted with everyday Nigerians not only to give account of our stewardship, but also to listen. Across the length and breadth of our great country, I’ve seen and heard passionate Nigerians who work hard to earn a decent and dignified life.

Working closely with President Muhammadu Buhari, we have had the privilege to share our vision of a country where all Nigerians, regardless of tribe, class and background can aspire to a viable future and dignified existence. This belief is something that President Buhari has borne and demonstrated for decades as a soldier, public servant, candidate, and now, as President. Now more than ever before, we feel we are truly at the cusp of greatness.

In 2015, on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC), we undertook to tackle insecurity, corruption and an economy characterised by extremely deficient infrastructure and the sheer abundance of poverty. Despite extenuating circumstances, we have worked hard to actualise our mission. A nation at war, we delivered on our commitment to secure our territorial integrity by liberating 17 Local Government Areas from the grip of insurgency. We halted the march of the insurgents to Kaduna, Kano and Abuja where they had bombed churches, mosques, government buildings including the UN building and Police Headquarters in Abuja before 2015. Today the activities of insurgents and the new ISIS West Africa (ISWA) are largely restricted to Northern Borno.

I, like many other Nigerians, have believed, all of my life, that our nation has sufficient resources to provide a dignified existence for most of our citizens. Our curse has been the character of leadership that has often advanced personal gain as the underlying motive for public service. I know that has changed since 2015 and many can see that as well. We are doing far much more with lesser resources than prior administrations. Corruption is the singular reason why for many years before 2015, uncompleted or non-existent infrastructure littered the landscape just as poverty alleviation schemes were additional vehicles that enriched only a handful at the expense of a growing and aggrieved population. Inevitably, the inequality gap is the underlying cause of insecurity and social tension.

Over the last three and a half years, we have laid the foundations for a stable and prosperous country for our people. The nation’s wealth is now being invested in capital projects to expand infrastructure and connect people, goods and opportunities by rail, road and air. We have introduced several measures to ease doing business in Nigeria, and also ensure that micro, small and medium businesses can access government services and loan facilities. We also took an unprecedented step towards creating a fairer and more equitable society by implementing Africa’s biggest social investment programme. Through the National Social Investment Programme, we are providing direct support to over 13 million Nigerians who need it by giving relief and assistance to unemployed youth, our children, the weak and vulnerable as well as small and medium businesses. We are directly providing the majority of our people a path out of poverty.

We know that building a compassionate nation under the rubric of social justice, led by the Federal Government, is not only desirable to right-thinking Nigerians, but is a national imperative. This is why the Federal Government did not hesitate to support state governments with bailouts that enabled them to pay unpaid state workers, as well as taking on the responsibility of settling decades of unpaid pension liabilities to retirees of moribund federal enterprises.

While we continue to believe that the primary role of leadership is to advance good for the people of Nigeria, there are many challenges that still beset the nation. For decades, not much was done by way of focused human capital development. Our priorities for the next four years, if elected, are set out in our Next Level Roadmap document. We believe that the gains in providing free meals for children in public primary schools must now be deepened with our plan to revamp education through a focus on Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics (STEAM); prioritising digital literacy; retraining all teachers in primary and secondary schools, and also remodelling and equipping our classrooms. Our Next Level Roadmap also outlines our plans for employment, skills development, health, power, agriculture, industrialisation, inclusion in governance, among others.

We are clear in our minds that many of the APC’s programmes are designed to give Nigerians a lift and make them successful. A lot of thought, rigorous analysis and governance experience went into the development of these programmes and we know that they are feasible once we put our mind to them.

We are running for a second term in office because we believe things will improve significantly than they currently are if we stay the course. We are faced with a choice to keep building a Nigeria where conscience drives the ship of state- making a break from a tainted past which widened the inequality gap. Our choices will shape us – our economic security and our future prosperity. Nigeria, more than ever before, needs a stable and people-focused government to move the agenda for our country forward.

The task of laying a foundation is hard and tedious work. It’s neither glamorous nor exciting for the builder or the observer. Yet without it, the pleasure of a completed building remains a dream. The Buhari administration has spent the last three and a half years laying the foundation. We are asking you to join in putting up the building over the next four years. May I respectfully request you to perform your civic responsibility by going out to vote and I’m confident that by the grace of Almighty God, we will all go to the next level of growth, prosperity and peace.

Let’s join hands to create a nation we can be proud of. God bless you.”
from dailypost...

32 comments:

1. If u believe yemi wrote this on his own, you will believe anything.
    Doublebyimu.
    Yimuest

1. I love this woman so much. Somebody should link me to her ooh.

"Mrs Aisha Buhari, Nigeria's First Lady
      Aisha Buhari, the wife of President Muhammadu Buhari has told Nigerians who to vote for in Saturday’s presidential election.

Speaking while presenting empowerment packs to 1,250 women and youths from the six area councils of the Federal Capital Territory in Abuja, Mrs Buhari urged Nigerians to choose between wealth and poverty.

A statement by her media adviser Adebisi, Olumide Ajayi quoted her as saying that “poverty is one of the indices that encourage people to embrace vices like terrorism, kidnapping, and begging.”

Nigerians, in reaction to the statement, said the first lady used the words wealth and poverty to describe the Peoples Democratic Presidential Candidate, PDP, Atiku Abubakar and the president.

Recall that the president’s wife few days ago caused a stir on the social media after she referred to her husband as ‘GMB’ (General Muhammadu Buhari) instead of ‘PMB’ (President Muhammadu Buhari) after the president had said those who steal ballot boxes do so at the risk of their lives".

2. It is only supporters of Fulani terrorists killing of innocent women and children that will believe this CRAPS and LIES !!!!!

3. Tomorrows election is NOT about party affiliation !!!! Its about you and me !!!! Its about our future, the future of our kids , born and unborn !!!!! The choice is yours !!!!!!! Should we allow a man who's only business owned is 180 cows with the numerous political positions he has held , even after he had in the past been indicted in the looting of billions of $$$$$ **continue to destroy our country and economy ** OR do we VOTE Atliku , a former VP that has NOT been indicted for looting and corruption , , a man with multiple businesses that employs thousands of Nigerians with a VP that equally prides himself as an Astute Business Manager with thousands of people employed by him ??????? Kill ethnicity, bigotry and selfishness and VOTE COMPETENCE !!!!!!!! With ATIKU/OBI the future is bright !!!!!!!!!!!

4. @Teejay don't mind those zombies chanting 4+4 . Why will I campaign for a married man that his wife is not campaign for? Buhari has been fighting corruption according to him for four years, so let him go back to Duara, let Atiku come on board and fight poverty. @Blessed Princess

5. Anon 10; 47 It's like the overwhelming poverty and illiteracy in your family has finally driven you mad. As a matter of fact, I think you're the victim of an ancestral curse. I would tell you to develop your brain but you can't develop what you don't have. Yemi was an award winning graduate of Nigeria Law School. Holds an LLM from London School of Economics, one of the top law schools in the world. Became a professor of law in 10 years! A Senior Advocate of Nigeria at that. The most educated person in your family CANNOT and COULD NEVER EVER. Your grandfather is not Yemi's mate! Understand and Receive That!
      Because your primary school dropout father cannot construct simple three word sentences, you think everyone is like him. Yemi wrote all this. SEETHE BITCH!

6. Lmaooooooooooo.
      Kpele,
      My father schooled in England and is a prof.
      Some people just don't make noise.
      Wait, is it not the same yemi i watched on tv.
      Hahahahahsha.
      I'm with the anon on this.
      If you believe yemi wrote this, you will believe anything.

7. Oya Anon 13:26 come and type epistle again.

2. Pastor that cannot tell the truth Lie Lie Pastor

3. God bless you Prof,
    Buhari isn't an eloquent speaker like his opponent Atiku, the ability to speak does not make one intelligent. If we Nigerian look beyond sentiments, we would be able to see the good intentions Buhari has for Nigeria and we would see better reasons to vote for him.

4. omor.i had a dream oh.apc won with majority.most people were amaze they never believed.everyone was just shouting apc with joy.

1. You NEED to treat MALARIA & TYPHOID pls !!!!!!!

5. God forbid. You have never interacted with me and I can never interact with any fake Pastor
    Continue to delude yourself.
    Daura man will only use you and dump you. When it comes to decisions on critical issues ,you will be locked out!

Oniranu!!!!

1. Oniranu? Are you kidding me???

2. Don't mind that yeye pastor. You are a disgrace. I said this and am unapologetic about it. @Blessed Princess

3. Like they locked him out during the Feb 16th emergency meeting

6. Stay there be writing memo up and down. Don't resign, until you are humiliated. @Blessed Princess

1. There is a reliable information from an insider that plans are underway to postpone tomorrow elections. APC are pressuring INEC on a staggered elections come tomorrow. Don't be surprised if a breaking news hit the airwave about another postponement. APC are jiltry about a free and fair elections, forget what Buhari has been preaching on peaceful election. He already vowed that no one can unseat him, so expect the worse.

2. @Teejay, must you spread fake news. Can you not support your candidate without lies???
      If your take is that PMB's govt is not what you want, why not pass the message in an intelligent way rather than with hate

7. Pastor no vex but we no gree!!!

8. I hope some people will not jump into the lagoon when APC wins....

Well said my VP. Nigeria must be great.

9. Replies
    1. Up there spreading rumours and lies. You are really a wailer!

10. Me and mine will vote wisely tomorrow. You and your boss have done your best. Commot. Let's try another person.

11. Mr. VP, as much as one is tempted to appreciate your eloquence and dogmatism, you cannot be a judge in your cause( Nemo Judex In Causa Dua) as your write up implies. The voters will decide as long as the elections are free, fair and devoid of nepotism and favouritism.

12. Nice write up, I wish your boss loved Nigeria enough to hand over to you when he was on 100 days + vacation. No! his love for power even though his incompetence is glaring to the blind and audible to the deaf would not allow.
    For this reason prof. you have to go with him. I hope Nigerians vote him out, we are sorry about the collateral casualty of you joining him.

13. This write up is meaningless BC when u are suppose to write u didn't.. Heaven's doesn't want u back BC in ur presence oppression, depression, poverty , killings and all kinds of shit has happen.. To my best of knowledge u have no say in this govt BC we would have seen it in the lopsided appointment's. Thanks world