Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Foreign Movies Allgedly Crippling The Growth Of Nollywood...

Tuesday, July 23, 2019

Foreign Movies Allgedly Crippling The Growth Of Nollywood...

How does the Presence of foreign movies in Nigeria affect the performance of local movies?

You are needed in this post if you know anything about Nollywood,international movies and how one kills the shine of the other........

Nollywood actor cum politician Desmond Elliot on Monday called for the ban of foreign movies in Nigeria to enable the growth of the Nigerian Movie Industry.

Desmond Elliot in an interview with Hip TV, spoke on the current situation of the country's Movie Industry. According to him, Government should make it difficult for foreign content to come into the country so that local content can grow.

Do you agree with him?

44 comments:

1. Desmond will you keep quiet! Crippling which economic growth? The one buhari and your wicked party has killed and buried with silly policies? Now the little thing that is giving us joy,you want to deprive us? Nkita Racha gi Anya Desmond.

2. Yaba left escapee23 July 2019 at 08:40

Bomb must be counting down to detonate in his head....

3. You can't force people to watch movies that they don't enjoy. I for one don't watch Nigerian movies and I prefer american movies. Most of the Nigerian movies lack content and I easily get bored and irritated while watching but I can watch some Hollywood movies over and over again and still get trilled.

4. Hunku, please concentrate on the toilet project you're building for your constituents and leave Nollywood in peace, you hear? Of all the problems that Nollywood has, international films are not part of the problem.

Jason Njoku (Mary Remmy's husband) that put Nollywood on the map without this nonsense you're saying, doesn't have two heads. Someone that doesn't know better would have said, "See your mate" but Mr. Njoku isn't your mate in any way. For one, he has sense that you clearly don't have. Genevieve sat here, shot movie and put it on Netflix but you're saying no international film should be in Nigeria. If I talk now, they will say, "See as you're referring to someone's husband."

1. But youve already finished him na

2. Lmao after you dissected this one brutally you still want to talk ,no talk please if this is preamble I wonder what the main diss would be 😂😂😂.

3. Chai You “is” Mouthed Mehn

4. Drops Mic!!!!!!!chai!!!!!!!!.

5. Says the guy who built and commissioned a toilet for his constituency.

6. I actually agree with him to a large extent.
    On the other hand, what does Nollywood present to her viewers?!
    We see what most of then present as cinema 🎦 movies, even Asaba movies are better than them.

1. I don't watch that their Asaba movies, so annoying and same storyline

7. So I should not watch foreign feeem again what will I do with my Telemundo🙄🙄🙄🙄

1. Watch The Johnson or Do Goodl🤣🤣🤣

2. hahaha Sonia you are not nice at all.

8. Who will sit down to watch their headache-inducing movies? Ogbeni, face your toilet commissioning jare.

9. This one doesn't know what he is saying.

10. They should ban zee world and telenovelas. Tufiakwa

11. I dont agree with him oh. Its like saying someone who dose not eat eba but only amala is spoiling the sales of eba.
    What is spoiling their movies is their lack of storylines and bad production. That useless background music they always play,and you end up not hearing the already bad dialogue. Then when they want to make the films be like low budget Hollywood. Give or take,thats why i prefer the indigenous language channels.

12. Nollywood was doing well until AY put hand and olosho them flood the scenes

13. What did he do to help the growth when he was in power? Is he still in power sef?

Take several seat if you don't know what to say pls. I don't even watch Nollywood and can't be forced to watch it. Is it the Federal Government that subscribes for me?

14. Is he okay? Everything ban ban ban. Can't he think of a more creative way to improve the industry? Competition is actually a good thing. Hian

15. Lol so we can watch what? Even most of your nollywood movies copy international movies story line at the end they still act rubbish sef.
    Start by taking most of your actors to acting classes.

1. Font mind him, ban which foreign movie... Bomb dey im head las las. Foreign movie that have been... Even before I was born.

You people should keep acting stupid and meaningless movies okayyyy.

16. Lol so we can watch what? Even most of your nollywood movies copy international movies story line at the end they still act rubbish sef.
    Start by taking most of your actors to acting classes.

17. The day you proudly went to commission a freaking toilet was the day I cancelled you.
    Ever since you joined politics, it's like your brain turned to mush.
    Jason Njoku, Funke Akindele, Mo of Ebony don't have 2 heads the last time I checked with their platform created to offer quality homegrown alternatives.
    You are part of the reason why people will seek foreign options especially with that your ancient of days music video abi you thought we forgot about it?
    What stops you guys from coming together and raising the standard high in your industry? You want to force feed us trashy asaba movies by fire by thunder? You guys are your biggest problem and until you all get it right, we will continue to watch whatever tickles our fancy so please take a seat and allow us see road oh.
    Tomorrow now, UBA or one company will organize a private viewing of a foreign movie and all of you will dress up in your Sunday best to pose on the red carpet and watch the same thing you are yarning dust over. The same foreign contents you watch to know how to improve your craft okwa ya? Even your k-leg accent on this interview should be banned😒😒😒

18. Alternative Facts23 July 2019 at 10:50

Desmond Elliot is a native man. What kind of mentality is that?

19. Does he expects me to sit down and be watching their repeated storyline over and over? Mr honourable live talk

20. The moment you join APC you are not normal again...ask Kenneth Okonkwo.

21. And this is coming from someone that pays for monthly DSTV premium. Idiotic view.

22. Desmond must be very mad! With the rubbish you guys produce? That's how the other day at ikeja mall cinema, I wanted to watch Aladdin but I met chidi chikere's wife, Nuella who persuaded me to watch her hubby's latest movie (can't remember the name now). I and my friend agreed and paid 2k5 each. Could you believe that that movie was the worst movie I have ever seen in my life? Thruout the movie, only one girl was shown from the beginning till the end. No jokes o. People got angry and started leaving the hall. I was so pissed! Right there i told myself never again. Nuella Was lucky I didn't meet her outside when I was done. I would have given her a piece of my mind.

23. Desmond sounds like the typical lazy Nigerian politician, I don't want to work hard so ban the competition.

Spain's movie industry is going well without banning American ones. France's too.

Maybe Nollywood needs to improve their movies to compete in the theatre or stick to their home movie format. King of Boys did well in the theatre because the story was different but 3hrs in a theatre????? Ahn ahn warrapun? Other Nollywood movies should step their game up

24. Desmond If you stop screaming in your movies like Mike ezeronye and faking your accent, the industry will get better

25. sorry but I only watch yoruba movies and netflix....i just ignore all the staples in the yoruba movies like 1 person visiting woli, babalawo and imam, the punishment for doing evil being madness, dreams etc...lol..they have more suspense and the storylines are more relatable.

26. Nollywood has no.power of imagination. The same nonsense over and over. Whacky storyline or nonsense ending. When is the Queen, king, prince and princess storyline going to die?

27. Mr. Up your game and people will stay glued. My journey yesterday by road was a mental torture because the driver wanted to make me comfortable (wonderful gesture from him). Had to watch a certain nollywood movie season 1 to 5 all through the journey. Just not to discourage the gentleman from been hospitable to another, I endure that sense draining movie.

28. Says a guy with fake foreign accent and a dead music career. Seems like once u become a politician in Nigeria I just become stupid

1. This is the second reference I've seen to music. But I thought he is/was an actor? Which music are you people talking about, biko?

2. Please please please and please i cannot take this, how can you say dead music career? Was his music alive before? Please don't insult reputable musicians... Biko, let waka commot here before "somebody call my name"..