Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nollywood Needs Govt Support To Prevent It From Going Into Extinction

Sunday, August 11, 2019

Nollywood Needs Govt Support To Prevent It From Going Into Extinction

Veteran Nigerian actress, Mrs. Idowu Phillips fondly known as Iya Rainbow, on Saturday declared that the only way to prevent the Nigerian film industry from going into extinction is for the government to support actors and actresses with financial aids.

Phillips who said that the advent of social media, internet and modern technology has negatively affected practitioners in the industry, maintained that it is worrisome that most producers and film makers run at a loss after producing home videos, because most of the films have been on the internet even before they are out for sale.

She made these assertions while speaking with journalists in Ibadan, the Oyo state capital shortly after the kickoff of her 77 birthday ceremonies expected to take place in October.

At the event were the Chairman, Association of Local Government of Nigeria (ALGON) Oyo state chapter, Mr. Ayodeji Abass-Aleshinloye who chaired the occasion, Nollywood actors and actresses among whom are Saheed Balogun, Peju Omobolanle-Ogunmola, Toyin Adegbola, Razak Olayiwola, Yemi Sonde and Mr. Olusegun Davies and Mrs. Juliana Afonrinwo of Gulf Platform which organised the event.

Phillips while thanking the organisers for recognising her, appealed to the federal government to “save film industry from going into extinction because of the adverse effects of internet and the social media.”

She added that the introduction of internet has reduced the patronage for home videos which has made many actors, actresses and producers to be in “debts after producing home videos.”

She said, “I want the government to support us, to give us money that we can be making use as loans. It is the marketers that are borrowing us money and we don’t get our money back again. You will see a situation when someone spent two million for a film and he get six hundred thousand naira in return because the film has been on the internet before it is even out for sale.

“I appeal to government to support us to avoid this profession going into extinction. I don’t want it to go into extinction. We are begging the government, we are urging them to look at our side. The marketers are the ones giving us money in the past, but we don’t get what we spend on the films now, that is why we don’t get support again. Before a film is out, it is already in the internet.

Philips while speaking on the attitude of young actors and actresses, maintained that it is only those who are not wise that are showing up their wealth on the internet.

“It is those who are not wise that are showing their wealth on the internet. How can you be showing that you have fifteen million when you don’t have five million. Those who are still exoisinf their bodies, we are still talking to them at the locations because I don’t like it. I don’t want them to go array. God said that we should covert our body.

“Lack of role models and masters is another issue. In the past, we have masters who train people and many upcoming actors and actresses will be under that person, but now, someone with money will just come without enough training, that is one of those things killing the industry''
dailypost

9 comments:

1. And what will they be doing with the monies they generate now that the Nolly films are sold all through Africa
    and to Nigerians in the diaspora?
    The Nolly folks should desist from living fake, vain lives on social media because that is what kills productivity and conservative financial tenets.
    They should also stop going to mediums and worship of Satan through pacts to undo one another.
    These are the real killers!

1. Thank you for your observation. With all the money they generate from filmmaking who have they helped? Except of course they've been giving us false figures. I feel really bad for the industry, because some of the producers team up With the cinemas owners to frustrate their other colleagues.

2. Everyone is calling on the FG to help them. Make a good movie and put them on cinema. Also, with the increase interest of movie streaming site like Netflix and showmax, there's a huge potential of making good money. However, there's no way they will list a crappy movie on those platform. Some Nollywood movies don't have a plot or uses a stale plot (e.g Wicked mother in-law, selfish brother, witches etc) which most Nigerians have moved beyond. The actors and actresses are awful, camera quality is shit, post production is crap, sound quality is bad (you hear echos). The industry also need good film critics who can assess movies without bias. Lastly, no tribe in Nigeria wear marks on their face or body, stop showing that shit

3. This comment has been removed by the author.

4. The movie industry is super saturated with the same storylines with the same low quality. Once in a while, Kunle Afolayan drops a massive work with a different twist and obvious effort. The rest are just churning out the same bull crap.

Bollywood needs to evolve from rituals and love stories to relatable plots. Even if you want to do the same plot let your dialogue be intellectual not the same insipid sh*t

5. Nollywood is crap please. FG shouldn't invest money into something or people that can't be smart to think outside the box. How can an industry as big as nollywood not think of doing a socially conscious movie besides 76 the movie (which was brilliantly done) and independence day abi na 1960, braveheart I can't say I have seen any amazing movie on our political system. Abacha died no movie about him, Abiola nko? Not everyday love movies with naked girls roaming around to be seen for money and personal gains. FG please invest in entrepreneurs and give smes tax exemptions.

6. I wonder why our industries cannot evolve without always asking for govt aid! Nollywood should up its content and delivery and people will flock to watch what you put out. Stop regurgitating the same lame, tired and unintelligent stories, elevate yourselves!!

7. Wey the one GEJ give una? Wetin una carry am do?