Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Weekend Arena - The Netflix Swag In Nollywood

Friday, May 29, 2020

Weekend Arena - The Netflix Swag In Nollywood

If there is any adaptive business model in Nigeria that is worth emulating, I think it is Nollywood. Forget the noise about when it actually started, but the system that evolved in 1992 or thereabout, with the phenomenal, ‘Living in Bondage’, still represents the spirit that has been driving that industry even in today’s Netflix era. 

I have spoken in many forums that the first need, Nollywood satisfied, aside from entertainment was playing the role of the investigative journalist without verifiable facts. People were speaking in hush tones that becoming rich in the contemporary Nigerian society as was presented then, had spiritual influences; and so came the suspicion of the wealth of every emerging millionaire. And in a flash, the Okey Ogunjiofors and Kenneth Nnebues came up with a film 'Living In Bondage' (we can call it a home video because of the poor visual quality sha) which attempted an explanation, giving such assumptions wings to fly.

Today, if you are rich and give money out freely, people would usually ‘bind’ the gift in their minds as they are receiving them.

Living in Bondage, became a success and like everything Nollywood, everybody jumped in with his or her version of the spiritual-money yarn. The trend has transitioned through themes, and we have seen when it was ‘setting up a church for profits’ in Endtime, to epic stories in Igodo and to when what mattered was to affix the word ‘tear’ in the titles: Tears Forever, Tears of Love, Tears From Heaven, Tears for Money. The idea was just to ‘tear’ up your movie title. The mentality of the industry drivers was behind this.

If a film was successful, everyone involved was also a success from the producer to the writers, directors to the actors and to the ‘waka-pass’ emergency actors.

The sponsors would call the producer of any successful movie and tell him he would double the production budget if he could replicate exactly what he did in Movie X for Chief A for him. He would want the same cast and crew and even a similar storyline, as if every creative idea can be gauged by the same parameters.

Ever since Genevieve Nnaji debuted as a director with Lion Heart, (which has recorded lots of feats, including being the first Nigerian production to be wholly acquired by Netflix) there appears to be a shift from cinemas to what can land a deal with Netflix. 

The corona virus pandemic, which has seen Netflix soar in business, has exacerbated it and as if the content-streaming company was reading the pulse of Nollywood, they have launched Netflix Naija, to harness that effect. 

At the moment, the gist is that some productions aimed at filling the gap for the company are ongoing in Nigeria and beyond and people are proffering that it would help take Nollywood to global audiences.

I see a trend where the filmmakers would be striving to satisfy that Netflix market, which are in the main Nigerians living abroad, who have all the facilities to enjoy online video streaming. 

In March 2020, the number of subscribers hovered around 55k, this may have increased fairly with the lockdown in various locations, but even at 200k, does that equate to global audiences over and above the millions of potential Nollywood fans in Nigeria?

Like everything Nollywood, the Netflix fad will leave some sour notes. 

First and foremost, only filmmakers who are the most-connected (not necessarily the most competent) will benefit from this gesture, which may in no time lead to a glut, like we witnessed when the cable TV services came on board.

In that case, expect the amount of money, Netflix is offering to acquire works today to fall when supply will overshoot the demand for such contents. Expect also that some ‘sharp guys’ will use it to defraud others. Of course, some will be urged to part with some money to get their works on Netflix, and film sponsors would be wooed with that Netflix line, carefully interwoven in the narrative of the proposal, oral and written.

I can bet, it will also change the way some actors see one another, while creating a false sense of self-worth for some artistes in the industry. Of course, Nigerian actors do not like to lag behind. They can show for Africa, and this will elicit questions like ‘how many of your works are on Netflix?’

For the wannabe acts, especially the females, be sure to have some of them ‘bend overboard’ (you know what I mean?) to impress that producer or director who will get them to feature in a Netflix Original. For those who will make it, I can bet they will screenshot such scenes for use as profile photos on Instagram and other social media platforms. 

It would not matter if the actor just did one or two scenes or if the only sign of her participation in the movie is her waving hand…it is one of her films and you must give her the credit.

*Hmmmm Ngozi your implications is not lost on me..So you are implying that some Nollywood actress engage in 'Script for hand,back for ground'?Please next time mention names if you have the liver...Or you want someone to EPP you?I have always said it that men with big bum bum no get liver at all...

This is a nice write up and you so hit the nail on the head that i would have to rename you 'Netflix babalawo' for this week's arena.
Let us meet next week (In da oza room?)

66 comments:

1. Ess, this Ngo is a he

2. Nice one. Very soon people will become tired of Netflix.

3. This article today is Apt.
      Ever since the movie lion heart got to Netflix, every movie now wants to be a Netflix original by force by fire and trust the white man to have one for Nollywood and the original for the rest of the world.
      The rest of the world, you can't buy your way through it but the one for Nollywood, every Tom,dick and harry will have a movie on it even the Aba kind of movie.

4. I think I'm the only one not on Netflix. Oga ngozi weldone,it was an interesting read. Till date i have not seen lion heart. I would rather read a book,than watch a movie.

5. For me I enjoyed love is war and I wouldn't mind seeing it again has many times I could.

2. I like this weekend arena post, so far, this guy has impressed some of us here with his writeup.

Nollywood better bring their "A" game to the table and stop making fun of Nigeria movie industry. Movies like, Love is War, the Vendor etc has no place on Netflix, but, hype, influence and affluence placed them there.

Even some of those Asaba movies are better than most of the Nollywood Netflix movies.

1. That Love is war is one nonsense movie. I no go lie. I downloaded cos Isaac hyped it here oo. It took me days to finish. Now I finished it not because its interesting but I no dey like to stop things half way. I fast forward the movie a lot. Isaac well done Sir. You try. When I watch finish I regret the mb I use download am.

2. Love is war is a stupid film, very overhyped film.

3. 😂😂 ILMR i said i enjoyed it because the storyline was great and i have not seen such before, am sorry if you did not enjoy it like i did.

They are other few great nollywood movies on netflix now and you also get to see the top 10 movies in Nigeria and you can easily make your selection😊🙏🏾🙏🏾

Great write up on this post by the writer, oga sir you have said it all, and i hope our nollywood industry do not fall our hand on such a huge platform as netflix, i wish them creativity and success😊

4. That movie tire me. I stopped watching like 20 minutes into it. Waste of my data.

5. Did you notice that its movies omoni oboli featured in that are plenty on Netflix? Anchor baby, araromire, love is war, my wife and I, wives in strike, fifty etc

6. You people should stop with this your hatred for anything Omoni Oboli. Love is war is actually an enjoyable one and it is objectively better than movies like Lionheart, which is the over hyped one, actually.

7. The Vendor is one annoying movie. In fact, I was angry after watching it.

8. Btw, Most movies on Netfliex from Nigeria got on there through Hype and affluence. I dont way you give Love is war stick for something that cuts across. Not fair.

9. They will soon name the Nollywood Netflix after omoni oboli.
      I don't know why Nigeria producers can't invest in a good script writer, instead everyone is claiming "script writer,producer, director et al".
      Anything naija, corruption and mago mago must dey inside.

3. Stella you are funny...Not everyone has mind like you!

4. Please next time mention names if you have the liver...Or you want someone to EPP you?
    Omo I trust my BVs,always ready to help lol

I have always said it that men with big bum bum no get liver at all...Stella!!!!!!!!!! you too find trouble hahahahahaha

I get the drift tho,trust our actresses na...you don't know me?'I have featured in 15 netflix movies' hehehehehehe it also won't be the first time they will be using their bodies to pay for it.

5. Wow nice write-up, Can nigeria filmakers keep up with this Netflix bandwagon? Only time will tell

1. I like how genevieve started it and shift for others to follow. The girl no dey struggle to shine.

2. This is dumb. Genevieve didnt start Netflix for Nigeria. Like Seriously??

3. Anon 15:32.. Na me understand wetin I type ok. You understand the way you want. I no get strength to explain am better. Leave it like dat.

6. Netflix bawo... I no dey do.. You subscribe first and then you use data to download or watch. There're plenty free download sites one can use to watch movies even the living bondage has been uploaded on one 9ja free site like that. Foreign movie download is express, all you need is that night plan and you download plenty movies from free download sites. Netflix users ona well done. Even this YouTube I dey manage they enter these days I go soon stop. Na TMC carry me go back there that time I watched it. That thing can swallow data.

Talking of Living In bondage. Ramsey Noah sef. Guy is just Ageless. He's looking so fresh and so young the Papito role he acted just blend well in the movie. I've always liked him and I enjoyed that movie. Can't wait for the next one coming out.

Ngozi well done. Stella which one is men with big bum bum no get liver. lol

7. Stella, you're funny. Not just Nollywood, even Hollywood has its share of actors and actresses going the extra mile to get roles.

I share Ngozi's concern. Those who will get such opportunities are the IJGBs and the rich class. Any talented person who doesn't belong to certain cliques will have a really hard time. It will be difficult to get a Genevieve Nnaji or a Mercy Johnson case study. I'm mentioning these names because the ladies were not from the rich class when they began their careers.

8. Nice read, I still marvel at the bandwagon movement in nollywood, most of their stories lack originality, we still have a long way to go.

9. Living in Bondage? Very good movie, with little or no budget.
    But currently? Nollywood is constituting a huge nuisance. The nudity and soft porn is nauseating.
    I have a relation who is a writer/actor. The marketers tell him in plain language that if he wants his movies marketed, he should "produce what people wants to watch" and that means "some nudity and sex".
    That was not how Living in Bondage was acted. They had the freedom to do that but they did not do it and they
    still made waves.
    Please, the bloggers and journalists should help tell the truth and sanitize the industry. 🔔🔔🔔🔔

10. You know why living in bondage became the rave till date? It was a home movie and it was real, a real reflection of of the society.
    There are so many fakes now, fake actresses, fake scripts, fake and funny editing and effects.
    Too many faking is undoing them. 💀💀💀

1. God bless you very much Anonymous 13:27!
      This is what I've been talking about. Movies that speaks to us as a society, movies that people can relate to.

Hollywood make movies that its people can relate to sometimes, but, we're not Hollywood.

Nollywood market is still largely in Africa/Africans and maybe a little to the Carribbean.

They should stop Making Hollywood like movies with very fake fantasies that are so obvious.

2. Very well said.
      I started watching Living in Bondage but had to stop to watch the old Living in Bondage to refresh my memory.

I watched how Ayinna brought out the little girl and matcheted her, it feels so real, thought I was watching an old Nollywood home video.
      The brought that vibe I to the new living in bondage.

But the old one na die, three days now, Im still watching.

11. In the 90's and early 2000 -that was NOllywood.
    Late 2000 till now -it became Nollyweed.😏😏😏

12. "Netflix babalowo " 😂😂😂😂😂😂. Nice post.

13. Well written. Its more profit to Netflix and somehow its a loss for irokotv. A few years ago,after the cinema run of some of our movies we await its debut on irokotv but its not so anymore. Now its Netflix. However some of the movies from nollywood streaming on Netflix are nothing but total waste of time.

1. Iroko TV used to be good, I just don't know what happened to them. Everyone now is chanting Netflix upandan. They'll bounce back. They just need to figure out what went wrong.

2. @ilovemyrhapsody, irokotv indeed used to be good then because, it was individual filmmakers uploading their content on the platform for streaming, but ever since Rok studious started making their own movies, which is usually ready in less than a week irokotv became full of shit. In a week irokotv can release about 5 movies or more,and almost all the movies will feel like a child's play. They choose quantity over content.

14. You made a lot of sense in this write-up. Thanks and looking forward to another Friday 👍

15. True with the bandwagon effect. Most business ventures that come to Nigeria really don't work out or the Nigerian factor sets in. We can only hope for the best and allow the natural weeding of the dirt from the seed.

16. Can they also do a new version of diamond ring. With Liz benson and teju baby face.
    Lord that movie was scary. I watched it as a kid and couldn’t sleep for days.
    Amazing movie!

1. Yes, Diamond Ring and highway to the grave and even silent night and graveyard.

17. Ngozika my namesake thank you for this weekend starter

18. Rubish movies like mokaliki and almost all Omoni movies apart from araromire are the rubbish movies on netflix
    The only good naija movies in netflix are wedding party 2 and living on bondage, tatuu, king if boys, lion heart, iyore and some manageable ones like the bridge, and the one featuring kalu ikeagu and rita dom, up north, The set up. the rest nothing to write home about, some so called asabawood better than them. It also serm some have a connection to this netflix thing as i see some half baked naija actresses over the netflix self and same set 9f people.

1. You do know Mokalik is a Netflix movie dont you? Much like Lionheart? Plus, Netflix isn't about quality, i wonder when you people will get that. There are loads of crap Hollywood movies on Neflix too - infact the bad by far outweighs the good.

19. Incidentally, I watched Domitilla on YouTube yesterday.... Ada Ameh (Emu) has really come a long way I really enjoy her acting in The Johnsons. Her Pidgin English no be here

20. Very enlighten . Mr Ngozi i like the way you write. Keep it coming.

21. Kunle Afolayan's films have been on Netflix long before Genevieve's Lionheart got on the platform. In fact some other Nollywood productions and several Ebonylife series were on Netflix before Lionheart.

1. Lion Heart was it's first Original film from Nollywood meaning Lion Heart belongs to Netflix , just because a film is on Netflix doesn't make it Netflix original

22. My naive self watched a few Nollywood movies on Netflix when I was a newbie. Apart from Lionheart and king of the boys, others were a complete waste of time. These days I don't bother.

1. Really?? If you think Lionheart was better than a lot of those movies you class as 'waste of time', then you really have questionable taste in movies. I give you King of Boys though, fun movie.

2. Anon it's ok. Your hate for anything Genevieve will not consume you. You are everywhere!

3. @Lucent.. You know, they dont call people like you fans. They call you 'tards', and thats what you are exhibiting right now. Who has said anything about Genevieve? Get off my comment, i dont deal with tards like you. Come back when you are ready to be objective.

4. Lucent, so someone cannot sincerely dislike a movie because it's Genevieve? 😏

5. Anon...I said what I said. Your insults back to you in hundred folds. I don't have time to trade insults.

6. I love everything about lionheart, its an ode to old Hollywood. You can't just change my mind about that movie.

7. You don't have time to trade insults but you came back to reply 😏😏

8. @Lucent...But i am not a Tard, you are though. I just called you out on your BS. No need to get too emotional about it. Peace.

9. I see Omoni all over this post. Digvwe sista.😁

23. Beautiful read...welldone mr Ngozi

24. Beautiful read...welldone mr Ngozi

25. Will try and see living in Bondage. You guys have finally convinced me enough 😃

1. Bini don't worry you will enjoy it.

2. I actually didn't watch the prequel, but one thing I know is the sequel is worth watching. I've watched it like thrice now..

26. Please bvs shift let me spread my mat.
    Oga Ngozi bring it on, am here as the representative of readers club.

Since, I don't watch any movie apart my the ones showing in our local channel, let me just entertain myself with bvs comment. But wait o! This competition of a thing seem to be in every sector of economy, I can be proved wrong anyway.