Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Author Chimamanda Adichie Explains Why She Stopped Attending Churches In Nigeria

Sunday, January 03, 2021

Author Chimamanda Adichie Explains Why She Stopped Attending Churches In Nigeria

37 comments:

1. All right..you won't be missed.

Catholic church make too much demands? E be like you never these 'pen' churches.

Btw is it the priest that is pocketing your money? Just move..

1. You dey mind her? She criticizes every fly that passes by.

2. E shock you!! Someone wrote on her personal experience,you are here talking trash. Ever wondered where all your donations go to?

3. The one that was shocking to me was my father burial.... the priest started a collection /donation /launching in his name

Seriously there is a body in front of the church and you are doing money collection. Never seen or heard something so disrespectful. Catholic church needs to do better

4. Why asking where the donations go to after saying i'm talking trash? Keep it moving.

5. Most pastors/Rev should reduce this money money issue... Ihe siri nu ike abeg...

2. My own is to go church come back,any other thing na on their own.jesus Nigeria limited

3. She's saying the truth especially in the east. Christmas period is like fund raising for Anglican and Catholic churches in the east. Every year they'll be launching millions of things if its not church hall, it's parsonage.

1. I tire o. Attended one Anglican church for a Thanksgiving service,do you know they collected offering more than 10 times and no it wasn't in the east. It was in Lagos.

2. They even do it during weddings when they see strangers. Na then them go remember all the project wey them dey do.

3. Very true. Burials and special thanksgiving is an avenue for fund raising...

4. I remember during my fathers burial;they saw the dignitaries that came and the priest had the audacity to call for offering support so as to continue with my dads immense contribution to the church since hes no more.
      I was too sad that day to react but I was so disappointed.That was my last day in that church.

5. You should've acted like Charley boy....

Collect the microphone from him.

Inukwa....

4. Growing up in the Catholic Church, things were so different than it is today. Even priests that condemned the payment of tithes back in the days are today asking people to pay tithes. I haven't gone for confession for years, I am just there wondering what is going on the archdiocese of the metropolitan see of Benin. The choir now completely different. Abeg I am tired

Alexander

1. The tithe is not actually by force naaa

I didn't go for confession for almost two years, managed to go in December and I'm glad I was able to after a long time

5. She spoke nothing but the truth. Christmas mass n harvest in villa was just all about money, fund raising donations. I smh at how loudly they applaud for very high donations n barely clap for petit ones .
    I keep wondering if Jesus was really in our midst how would he feel about all these charade. They mock what tru Christianity is truly about.
    Bible talked about giving discreetly but no they were just announcing donations, applauding and hailing the givers.
    So wrong.

1. I don't bother going to church when I'm in the village and even if I do, whenever they star that their unending collections, I just dust my yash and go straight home.

6. Stella,hand go don dey pain this person wey dey help you hold the cardbord eee.

7. That’s her cup of tea. Relationship with God is a personal journey. The way you people use una eye follow offerings and tithes make una try follow una state allocations like that. Politician robbing you blind daily.

8. Did they put a gun to your head to donate?
    So which church does she attend now?
    Heaven is an individual race , do you ma!

1. She attends outside the country where she lives, where they aren't after money like they are here in Naija, you get that? Oya run along...

9. It's not Catholic Church alone. Our churches are gradually turning into that. You will even be preached to about the amount to envelop. Me, I go to church, pray and dance to my God, give what I came to offer my God and go back home.

10. Not only Catholic o, almost all the Churches are now so demanding.

11. Some churches tire you with their announcements and fundraising reminders week after week. The actual feeding of the food of the spirit is a small part of the show you must attend. Very tiring. I get her and I hope church leaders evaluate themselves.

12. I like how Chimamanda sticks to what she knows or has experienced. She talks about catholicism and igboism and refrains from other tribes or churches cos she probably has never been in a pentecostal church or doesn't know enough to talk about it. Anyways, lets be honest: money is needed to run any institution and any institution would crumble without funds. My angst is against church leaders who are greedy, live lavishly while church members live in penury, use religion as manipulation to make members fearfully donate, or market God as someone who wouldn't bless you if you don't give. It thrives in Nig cos of poverty and ignorance and should be condemned. However this isn't the norm for catholic churches from what I know.

But I know Chimamanda's thought process. Left Nigeria, went abroad to a place where the system works and hardwork yields fruit. You sow, you reap. She worked really hard and today enjoys incredible global success she didn't 'pray' for. God blessed man, and the land will yield to them who till it, and to a nation that builds itself. I wish Nigeria would be better so young people van simply till and simply reap. Shouldn't be that hard.

1. Madam also stick to what you know just like chimamanda. Can't you read what other said about numerous collection of offerings and donations by the catholic church.This issue is gradually becoming a menace in Nigeria and should be stopped .Don't make it look as if the catholic church is innocent of this allegation. It has become a general problem in Nigeria ,not just the catholic church ,and it should be stopped.

2. Never read a truer comment.thanks for assuring that some people still think before typing in Nigeria

13. Its not just the Catholic church even Anglican as well. My dad left after many years cos they kept making him chairman of any event especially new church building.

I left for University when they started fundraising for the church. Few years after NYSC that I came back, they are yet to roof it.

Joined Pentecostal and never looked back. I totally agree with her....esp in the East. Christmas period if you no wear lace and gold, you were considered poor. Serious competition among the women then. We the kids at the time weren't left out.

Oh well...c'est la vie

1. If you no give dem go kill or pursue you? I'm an Anglican till date, giving is not by force.

14. How e take concern us wey no dey go church?

1. Face front lol..preaching salvation is 10mins..financial preaching is ....