Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EX Legislator Maria UDE Nwachi Sends A Memo To The Igbos

Saturday, March 11, 2023

EX Legislator Maria UDE Nwachi Sends A Memo To The Igbos

This is a must read!

Dear lgbo, stop the obsession with Lagos.

Let us stop the obsession with Lagos and its affairs. It is okay for Igbo to be concerned about Lagos affairs because we live there en masse but what is happening now is an obsession. We obsess over Lagos as if it is located somewhere in the Southeast of lgboland. 

No, Lagos is in the Southwest of Yorubaland and even if 80% of all Igbo live in Lagos, this fact will not change.

Even before this election period, you will see a lot lgbo (even lgbo that have not been to Lagos) very vocal about governance in Lagos, always holding them accountable for one thing or another, but you have a land called lgboland being decimated and desecrated daily by our own, and I see no outrage, I see no calling anyone to order, I see nothing but cowardice and pretending it is not happening, while it is going on even as we speak. 

Always poke nosing on anything concerning Lagos while ignoring the aru happening in your own land. lgboland is the only land any member of the various cells and militia terrorising our land, maiming us and brutalising us, can wake and say there is a sit at home and there will be a sit at home or all heII will break lose! 

There is nowhere else anyone outside state government or FG can come out and issue such other except our land and this is not worrisome enough for lgbo to be outraged about or riled about, and find a way to contain the unrest that has severely affected our land economically and otherwise, a land that was already severely abandoned and neglected by her children who are notorious sojourners by nature.

It is notable to point out that since all manners of kriminals have come together hiding under one umbrella to terrorise one once sweet land funded by some lgbo especially those living abroad, those living in our land that would not have even left are mostly running to Lagos, already over-populated by us, and other Yoruba states for safety and for economic reasons. Many a lgbo who loves visiting home now fear visiting home, some come from abroad and just stay back in hotels in Lagos, Abuja and to be close to lgboland, they stay in Asaba. They have chased our 1st 11s away, I don't wanna go into the many souls they have keed in the most brutal manner for no good reason, mostly over filthy cash, and nothing more.

This should be the number topic of every lgbo person and how to end it and not Lagos this and that.

Now we have an election (Governorship & House of Assembly) on Saturday, and all I see on my feed is the lgbo living in Lagos and outside Lagos talking about Lagos state election. What is freaking good? What on earth is going on? Hello??? The most important election for an lgbo should be the one happening in the five Southeastern states of lgboland, and not the one in the Southwestern state of Yorubland. 

It is very important who is elected to govern our states, they will decide your fate in life. You are only after Lagos election, you are obsessed with getting your way in Lagos when you should be obsessed with getting your way and your wish in your land. We have states in our land being governed in autocratic, tyrannical and peremptory style, you don't care, all you care about is the Lagos state governor and how to humiliate him and remove him. 

Tyrannous and dictatorial lgbo governors are the worst because they answer to no one, and have looted enough money to do as they want, despots! Even in these changing times, some of them still managed to rig the National Assembly election and declared 99% of their candidates winners against the wish and votes of the masses, yet to outrage from the lgbo, just obsessing over Lagos affairs and what Sanwo-Olu does.

LET ME SHOUT THIS: A region that realises they have a problem and set out to rectify them shall blossom. But a region that has a problem and pretends it doesn't exist or remedy it, would wither. It's a simple law of nature.
Lagos state governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, goes out to seek lgbo votes and you mock him and laugh at him, to what end exactly??? Do you know what a privilege it is for a governor in your land to seek the votes of another ethnic group? 

It means his state is advanced and has other ethnic groups living there em mass. Can any lgbo state governor walk around trying to placate and seek the vote of any other ethnic group? Who dash am? You are mocking what you should be wishing should happen in your land. The moment other ethnic groups start migrating to the Southeast is the arrival of a new prosperous and healthy lgboland. 

And this Sanwo-Olu seems like a jovial and considerate gentleman, even before the election period, I see him interacting with a lot of people from various backgrounds, carries himself with dignity, and always using soothing and healing words, while imperious and peremptory governors in our land are always harassing and threatening us openly and maltreating us in the most devil-may-care! They also openly and boldly tell us that their candidates will be declared winners whether we like it or not. We don't challenge them, na Sanwo-Olu we wan challenge and talk about only.

As it is, our land which is already severely neglected is now being destroyed by our own, imagine many lgbo abroad and beyond sending money home for pure purposes of its destruction, hiding under dubious guises. Once our hosts from all the regions we are packed in see we are even scared of going to our own land to visit much less live, you go see suffer. Only solution is we must make our own land safe, attractive and worthy enough for others to even migrate to.

We need to mind our business a bit. You will see an lgbo actress coming out openly to drag a Yoruba actress over her choice of candidate. If amour propre were a person! To what end? To what point? So everyone must support who we support? We have a culture now that basically stipulates that every lgbo must support whatever or whoever is popularly supported by most lgbo or be seen as anti lgbo, it is bad enough, but to transfer that unreasonable and undemocratic rascality to other ethnic groups is the height of crass entitlement, vainglory, snottiness, conceit, ostentation, self-importance, self-exaltation, and quite frankly narcissism. Can you imagine a Yoruba actor dragging an lgbo actor for supporting Obi? The outrage! Don't do to others what you will not want done to you. Let's mind our business a bit more. 

You can't just wake up and decide to force your personal choice on others. That is Amour de soi on speed. Others must like what you like or else. No, naa. Freedom of choice, remember??

I know diplomacy is far far from us, but without tact and diplomacy, we will be limited. People who are known to live in other regions should see diplomacy as major tool to be used to our advantage. I won't elaborate on this for now.
Lagos: There was a time it was just carelessly assumed by many Igbo that Lagos is some kind of a no man's land. In 2012 I started a campaign against such phrase and mindset, it was published multiple times on Ndi Igbo page which was the most popular page in our clime then and moved to Igboist which was also then a very popular platform, It worked like magic, as many lgbo called it a no man's land then purely out of ignorance and entitlement. That act was reduced drastically to the barest minimum. 

Frankly, I don't see a lot lgbo using such a phrase, I really don't, sincerely, but the few that missed the memo and continue to call Lagos that, read this: Lagos is not a no man's land, Lagos is the pride of the Yoruba. All Yoruba. An lgbo person will never allow someone from even another lgbo state to call his state a no man's land talk less of another ethnic group to call his state or land a no man's land. Don't do to others what you would NEVER tolerate from others. We are sojourners. We make other regions our homes.

These careless pompous utterances endanger Igbos. The consequences of these crass and callous utterances coated in empty pride are deep and carried out overtly or covertly. Also, other regions we populate are taking notes and implementing steps, again, openly and otherwise, to make sure you don't start calling their own land a no man's land in the future. This is the 2012 post:HERE

We are still a 3rd worId nation, it is not advanced enough that wherever you find yourself is your land. No matter how much you love to live and thrive in any land in our nation, if it is not your land, it is not your land. Respect your hosts, know your limit, don't cross certain boundaries, if not you will pay a steep price. Unfortunately, because we are the ones migrating to other lands/regions, this applies majorly to us.

Again and again: it is important for the lgbo man to build and beautify his own land and make it rewarding, safe, and conducive enough for even others to migrate to. This will stem the tide of us migrating and populating other regions en masse. That is the only way we can gain respect and regard in this country and beyond. We will continue to be at the mercy of others in this nation if we don't build our own land. Let's find a way to end the activities of those desecrating and decimating our land via ugm and co, (as it is pushing more Igbos away from our land & making us more vulnerable to our hosts in various regions) and then make a coordinated effort to build a viable homeland for us and beyond.

All else is noise, empty noise. And to the Igbo with many reasons and excuses why Igbos populate other regions and cannot build own land, hear this: The universe only comprehends results and not reasons.

LET ME REPEAT: A region that realises they have a problem and set out to rectify them shall blossom. But a region that has a problem and pretends it doesn't exist or remedy it, would wither. It's a simple law of nature.
Thank you all.

Yours truly, Maria Ude Nwachi.

178 comments:

1. Madam your statement holds no water. They have made Lagos our problem when they have decided to allow only apapa seaport the only functional seaport in Nigeria. Open Calabar and establish onitsha seaport so that people can migrate out of Lagos

1. U dey mind am?

2. I have called Igbos narcissists before, I'm glad that a fellow Igbo is admitting it.

3. Thank you!

4. Na this one pain me pass. This is one of the agenda of Peter Obi in his campaign. I trust him to do that.

Warri seaport, Calabar seaport and Port Harcourt seaport need to be operational in full capacity.

Someone said he imported goods from China to Nigeria at the cost of 1m but from Lagos to the East, the agents at Lagos seaport charged him 1.7m over what he brought it from China.

5. I absolutely accede to your submission too @Anon1413
      Narcissistic much? Hell yes!

6. I agree with this! If other sea ports are functional, Lagos won't be clustered but then a Nigerian is entitled to stay wherever in Nigeria without intimidation or bullying. What some of us are doing now is actually what the corrupted and devilish politicians want to see happen but one thing is sure, Nigeria will be revived one day. I wonder what the 'must read' in this article. The contribution of people in a place of residence gives them some entitlement...reasons why some Nigerians are US, UK and Schengen countries citizens and are free to contest any elections. Abeg, let us face our major challenge which is bad leadership.

7. Anon 15:13 You people are over doing it. Mtchew

8. Most igbos are there to do business
      My major problem this election is calling everyone who is obedient an Igbo person yet there are plenty other languages who voted strongly even more than some Igbo speaking states.
      I know igbos who voted apc and pdp yet they group every Igbo person as an obedient yet they still drag Igbo people for not supporting Igbo people.
      Then I ask what is an Igbo man supposed to do.
      If we go by lagos not belonging to Igbo people then let’s also say it doesn’t belong to the entire Yoruba people
      Lagos belongs to lagosians cus that’s their land and they alone have the rights to that land
      No right thinking Igbo person will argue this with a lagosian.
      Remember lagos was also developed by tax paying igbos so somehow they will have a right to vote who they think will put their needs into consideration now that doesn’t mean they must vote who you want because they are staying in lagos, the last time I checked everyone has a right to vote.

Milky you are one to speak on narcissism when your character is very flawed

Push up (original)

9. Milkshake I don’t think you even know the meaning of narcissism cus a true narcissist are the Yoruba people forcing igbos to vote apc because they are staying in their lands when the number right of a citizen in the constitution is your “right to vote” not your “right to be forced to vote”

Push up (original )

10. So how is the fault of lagos state government??
      If there are non functional ports in other states, is that not the problem of those state governors or at best the presidency?
      You people keep jumping over the root cause of the problem and facing the ephemeral ones.
      She is saying hold your governors and executives responsible!!

11. Some of you here supporting this rubbish write up, are dunce. No apologies. How can you call it a privilege to a tribe, because the governor of such state asks for their votes. Jesus Christ. See mentality. So we who live abroad, and God has given us rights to vote, and maybe rep member or senate member of our jurisdiction approaches the African/ Nigerian community for a better living /votes/governance. Na over undeserved privilege right ? Lagos is a Yoruba state (no doubt) BUT as long as you are a Nigerian, the same damn entitlement covers you in every damn state. Dangote is from Kano but has been residing in banana island for as long as I know, who born monkey well to tell am this rubbish. The Adelekes are from Osun but resides in Lagos, Abi na only igbos this matter concern ? Abuja is free for all since Nigerian capital moved there but na only Lagos Dey get issues. Leave people to live and enjoy where Dey want. Nigerian law and constitution is the same in all 36 states plus abj.

12. How is this a must read? This is nothing but tribalism and backwardness at play. We have Nigerians living all over the world, participating in politics, winning seats in US, UK, etc. If anyone from these countries tell any of them to be grateful for the privilege and to focus on what is happening in Nigeria, the same Nigerians, including the author, will call them racists and bombard their social media with curses and call for them to be canceled. If South Africsns ask Nigerians to leave, we scream xenophobia. Why do we frown at racism and xenophobia but encourage tribalism? Why should igbos be grateful that a governor of a state where they live and pay tax came to canvas for votes? The premier of Alberta met with Nigerians. Why should he bother? He did because they live and contribute to his province. Is it not a law in Nigeria that any Nigerian should be able to live in any part of the country in peace and harmony? What or who stopped south westerners from moving to the east if they choose to? Because you fell out with your governor, you write an epistle telling others to be grateful that the governor of the state they live and pay tax came to solicit for their votes instead of asking the northerners in your state to stop traveling to their states to vote during elections but to start participating where they live.

13. Tell them. The obsession with Lagos is too much. The bitterness and hate is too much. Thank you Ms Ude

14. Wow I didn't know this lady is this intelligent, wise and bold. There's so much sense in what she has stated here. The issue is that most people don't see the looming danger and ethnic clash(GodForbid), if this is not handled properly. As an Igbo person, I hope others speak up, in other to mitigate the looming crisis. May God help us all; in Jesus' Mighty Name. Amen

15. Milkshakes...be here acceding, land in Lagos is almost finished, Ogun State;many hectares gone, they're approaching Kogi State.

Few years to come the same narcissists who reasonable Nigerians open their doors to come over and inhabit would have part of your inheritance in their kitty.

Go on, jump around while bridges are linking up.

16. 😂 my only question is; MADAME HOW MUCH WERE YOU PAID TO FO THIS WRITE-UP!

17. Many uneducated responses to this woman’s factual write up because of greed, pride, aggression & persecution complex. Facts:
      1. Igbos did not build Lagos, not even Federal Capital was the reason. Calabar was the FIRST capital of Nigeria! Yorubas welcoming nature and business & other leadership skills did. Up until 1983, nobody, even civil servants used “Tokunbo cars”. My late parents still bought a brand new Peogeout car (505) at N15,000 and a 504 at N12,000 in 1982. My Father in law used an S class he bought brand new as a professor! All civil servants coukd afford new cars from VW beetle, to Santana to Peugeot or Appel Record, Cadet, Lada, beetle, etc. Awolowo had free food in elementary since 1959, first university, TV station, high rise etc were all in Yorubaland. Refrigerators were made by Thermocool & bought BRAND NEW, Exide made brand new car batteries in Ibadan, VW, Peugeot cars were assembled in Lagos, Leyland Trucks in Ibadan, Elizade, Mandilas, Leventis, Kingsway, etc sold BRAND NEW electronics.

2. The Igbos with the importation of used items whether meds or spare parts etc were not in Lagos en masse. Those who were in Lagos did real business and were not many.
      3. Tokunbo phenomenon started with IBB’s structural adjustment program in 1983/84 and peaked under subsequent military regimes. We never bought used clothes, either tailor sewed or “ready made” from England as $ & £ were almost equal to the naira & visa was not required to visit the UK.
      4.Post war suffering in your landlocked areas pushed you out of your landlocked zones but lack of humility may send you back. I read it that the xenophobia for Nigerians in SA was triggered by the aggression of a certain group, same with Dubai, there are tapes of Thai police talking about Igbos as a problem in Thailand. Why are you disposed to picking the mote in other people’s eye while huge logs are in your eye? She wrote the truth but you won’t hear until it’s too late.
      5. It’s disingenuous to compare it to the US as even those of us with property there know the “real owners” of every city & town & live in humility. Go and brag in Mississippi, Alabama & you won’t know who burnt your house down till date. This woman here wrote the truth. The civilized world recognizes geography, maps and boundaries only greedy folks like Vladimir Putin who out of greed wants to take Ukrainian land doesn’t!
      6. Does any Igbo state share a boundary with Lagos? I ask because this nonsense reeks of ENVY., I thought you guys had so much money! How come you don’t know that Chicago is in the Midwest of US, does not border the ocean but has LAND ports and is the top 3 logistic hub for the entire US. All that property you own, I hope you know it’s leased for 99 years from the government! Be boasting with property they sold you that has 25 years left until your hosts pull the carpet on you. Northerners don’t want your aggression, Dubai doesn’t, SA doesn’t. Isn’t it time for self evaluation & development of your own territory? You think you will take over Lagos & the surrounding Yoruba states’ masses will watch it happen? The arrogance of most folks beats my imagination! Your states are like Myanmar with decorative houses used at Christmas like ornaments while crying over lagos! You are pushing the others to see you for who you truly are. Ahmadu Bello speech about the Igbo man’s aggression is on YouTube. He made the speech in 1960! How prescient! You cannot pull a Vladimir Putin on Yorubas. Akwuzu SARS is still killing but they go online asking Sanwoolu “who gave the order” like civilians give orders to the military! Charity begins at home and the aggression of Igbos that truncated the first republic with the very first Nigerian military coup carried out by Igbo officers that killed Ahmadu Bello, Tafawa Balewa, Ladoke Akintola, Okotiebo while sparing all eastern leaders threw Nigeria into the mess it is in till date. Humility is a Christian attribute, show it. Keep telling yourselves Yorubas are cowards till you believe it

18. Thank you @ 8:07, if we are even being sincere, Igbos are the most intolerant group in this country, they can’t stand non-indigenes, but we are not ready for this discussion, entitled peeps.
      Tcheww!!

19. God bless you, Anon 8:07. Let me go and watch that Ahmadu Bello video on YouTube

20. If that is the case, people will not prefer alaba market for electronics than say agboju market. The market determines where people do business. Lagos is not the problem nor the port in lagos.

2. House of Rep member, see English. Igbo's are everywhere, Abuja, Kaduna etc but Yorubas have refused to let them be in Lagos. Get your facts right and enrol in adult education

1. Really? Yorubas have refused to let igbos be in lagos? Like are you for real?
      I'm not even from lagos state but this is nothing but a lie.

2. Big fat lie.

A great percentage of the land in Eti Osa local government area and Ibeju Lekki local government area are owned by Niger Deltans and Igbos.
      Some Anambra men own like 120plots of land in one axis, then singlehandedly constructing residential estates and solid business premises.

If they hated Igbos, those Eletu and Ogombo families wouldn't have sold lands to them in large measures.

The problem now is lagosians are scared of losing the absolute powers they had as the original owners but I'm afraid the "lands" are gone.

Lagos State is a Yoruba land,anyday, anytime, please.

3. Copied…” The Aworis of Yorubas settled in Lagos. By 1872 Lagos was a cosmopolitan trading center with over 60,000 people. Colonial Lagos developed into a busy, cosmopolitan port, with an architecture that blended Victorian and Brazilian styles.The Brazilian element was imparted by skilled builders and masons who had returned from Brazil The black elite was composed of English-speaking "Saros" from Sierra Leone & other emancipated slaves who had been repatriated from Brazil and Cuba.
      By 1872 the population of the colony was over 60,000, less than 100 were of European origin.
      In 1876 imports were valued at £476,813 & exports at £619,260. Telephone links with Britain were set up by 1886 & electric street lighting in 1898.
      In August 1896, Charles Joseph George & G.W. Neville, both merchants & unofficial members of the Legislative Council, presented a petition urging construction of the railway terminus on Lagos Island rather than at Ido, also asked for the railway to be extended to Abeokuta. Lagos history is rich in Yoruba tradition, trade, commerce, infrastructural development & cosmopolitanism."
      Lagos had telephone presence in 1886, Itu & Calabar got connected to Telephone in 1923, while between 1946 and 1952, a 3-channel line carrier system was commissioned between Lagos & Ibadan & was later extended to Osogbo, Kaduna, Kano, Benin, & Enugu.
      Communication tech is a major signifier of civilizations & if Yorubaland & Lagos were already making telephone calls 70 years before Igbos, where then did you get the idea that you developed Lagos?
      By 1856 Cable & Wireless Co of the UK had commissioned a submarine cable link between Lagos & London & in 1851 a post office was set up in Lagos; all these before Nigeria became a country in 1914. Where did the idea that Igbo developed Lagos come from? Or that Lagos was developed with Nigeria's money when Lagos was not even part of Nigeria until 1914. Calabar was the 1st capital of 🇳🇬 why didn’t it boom if it’s just about port?

I always feel ****** to hear or read these ignorant assertions”…
      The first Yoruba lawyer Christopher Alexander Sapara Williams was called to the English Bar in 1879 whilst the first Igbo lawyer, Sir Louis Mbanefo, was called to the English bar in 1937.
      The 1st Yoruba medical Dr, Dr. Nathaniel King, graduated in 1875 from the University of Edinburgh whilst the first Igbo medical Dr, Dr. Akannu Ibiam, graduated from another Scottish University in 1935. Where did the myth of the backward Yorubas who needed development by the Igbos come from?
      For the sake of our future generation, we need to teach facts as history, not just some ego-centric tales as facts. Recycling long tales steeped in pride should be discarded.

Awolowo will continue to be the Yoruba hero not because of blind followership but because he gave his people the system of free education, free healthcare and he introduced Television to the Yoruba; making Yorubaland the first region to have a TV station in Africa, all done with revenues from Cocoa. It is ignorant to claim Lagos was built with 🇳🇬money. Besides, where did the idea that the Igbo brought civilization to Lagos & Yoruba-land come from? The dangerous misinformation trending among some Igbo youths that Lagos is a no-man's land, that they built & developed should stop. You came to Yoruba-land like all other settlers & we welcomed & appreciated you. The claim that Igbo built & developed Lagos is a gross display of ignorance as Lagos was already developed before Igbo ancestors came here from their landlocked villages/towns. The first storey building in 🇳🇬 was built in Marina, Badagry in 1845, long before some of hinterland people gave up the idea of conical mud houses, before 🇳🇬 in 1914! Please desist from self-delusion & collective envy, greed & amnesia. Bishop Samuel Ajayi Crowther (a Yoruba man from Osogun) in 1857 wrote the first book in Igbo language, the Isoama-Ibo Primer in 1857. Nobody will tolerate any attempt by bigots who stoke ethnic hatred through incitement & arrogant claims of superiority over others”… copied

3. Though a lengthy one, it was a good read and a beautiful piece at that. I strongly condemn anyone saying Lagos is a no man's land. I believe they're just being despicably mischievous, cos I know there are original indigenes of Lagos.

But then I think I will also say, it's also wrong and disheartening to see some political elites instigating tribal war among indigenes and visitors.

Nothing is as beautiful as cohabiting with people peacefully provided they don't pose any threat or harm to the host communities.

I know where this recent brouhaha originated from and I have often say overtime, if that man who couldn't keep a wife keep getting away with his gibberish all the time, one day we will wake up to a tribal war in this country.

He contributed to the brouhaha currently happening in Lagos state. He's trying to instigate the Yoruba people against the Igbo by casting aspersion on the Labour Party Gubernatorial candidate cos he's married to an Igbo woman.

How can a full blown old man behaves in such manner? The fact his wife is Igbo does it make him less a Yoruba? This same man once married to an Igbo woman which we all saw how he treated her, yet comes out to spew gibberish all the time.

1. it's an ikegwuru situation. Once our politicians one to have their dubious way,they throw in the tribal and religion card. mtcheew. Even the maria nwachi herself is not any better.

2. You have spoken well Teejay, only in Nigeria have I ever heard of that "no man's land before" having said that, every Nigerian should feel comfortable in any Nigerian soil. Many tribes have been cohabitating peaceful in Lagos for decades until this election was made to be about tribes/ religion

3. You didn't say anything about what she said about Igbos focusing on the problems facing their land but instead carrying another man's land on their head. Also, Igbos can never be as tolerant as other regions are to outsiders. How many non Igbos live in Igbo land? But you see them all over the place.

4. People who're afraid of losing election in Lagos are the ones instigating this tribal war so as to use it as a weapon and to their advantage.

I see some of the points raised in her piece and would agree with her but not in all aspect of the write up. Some are trashy and unnecessary. You don't throw your people under the bus cos you seek to be seen as a good person or indirectly seeking favours in the incoming administration. There are better ways to pass a message like this and not with this level of venom and bile exhibited.

Maria,

Pls try to be balanced in your judgment and message. I don't think any tribe can survive what the Igbo people went through and forge ahead without pulling a resistance. These were people at the verge of extinction remember.

Just few days ago, we saw their markets burnt down by sponsored thugs cos of their political affiliation.

Maria, have you talked about that? In Abuja Dei Dei international market got burnt again last week not to talk about the big market in Borno state. All these just happened after the election. These are Igbo dominated markets.

What is their crimes?

An average Igbo man wants a peaceful environment for his business to thrive. It's you and your likes(politicians) fanning the embers of disunity and tribal war.

Saying Peter Obi will never win shows your hatred towards him.

Remember, it's not only Igbo that voted for him but people across Nigeria even from North as well.

Try and be fair when next you want to write a thing like this by balancing your judgment.

5. @anon 15:16, asking how many non-igbos live in Igbo land is disingenuous. You tell me how many non-igbos have been barred from living in Igbo land. You don’t force things. Non-igbos don’t migrate to the east because there aren’t any vast opportunities!!! Top international businesses are not situated or headquartered there, the FCT isn’t there, the seaports are not there, the infrastructure is not excellent to promote industrialisation on a large scale. So where are the opportunities that’ll attract migration en masse?

No one stops people from basing in the east. This is one of the lies used to propagate disunity. All non-igbos that have somehow found work or business to do in the east live there with no issues.

Mystic

6. 15:16 don't talk nonsense OK,
      It's not secret the Igbo's are very welcoming.
      How many Igbo states have you visited.

May your hate for Igbo's not consume you sha.

#onenigeria

7. Thank Teejay for ur very apt comments here. The Maria woman herself constantly appears to be playing up to one gallery or the other, every election season. That aside, her msg delivery tends to be pretty rough at the edges.

8. It's only the oil that flows from the Niger Delta that is from no man's land, apparently. Other lands and resources belong to one group of people/tribe or the other. Niger Delta oil is good to develop Lagos with but the ND people (Igbos included) are not good enough to live there and enjoy the facilities developed with their oil money.Where is the justice there?

9. Lagos was fine when Obasanjo held Federal funding for 4 years. Many southern states will be fine if federal funding is stopped - matter of fact, it's this funding thay has made governors lazy and has hampered development. We all need to start looking inwards and generating our own IGR.

4. Madam as far as we live and pay our taxes here. We have right to determine who rules us in Lagos

1. True.

And if you're born there, you can as well contest for some elective positions if you have gotten to certain age. Remember I wrote some elective positions meaning not all political positions.

2. Contest which elective positions?
      Igbos?
      Are y'all that free and welcoming?
      I haven't seen any juicy elective positions being held by Yorubas in the SE or you wanna fill me in?
      Jokers!

3. The only thing that made sense to me here is putting our foot down to get rid of UGM, that is the real menace causing havoc and crippling activities in the South East. Anybody living and working in Lagos has to be concerned about the elections because they will be affected by whoever is voted in.

As a matter of fact, the whole country needs to rise up.and stamp out insecurity completely, both in the North and South East, name and prosecute all their sponsors, ka mmadu h'uzo in this country.

4. @ Milkshakes jokers indeed. See teejay that doesn't reside in Lagos sef dey use GRV pic as dp? Funny much?? Make una just dey play

5. Vincent,

Let me give you 2mins fame. I know you're always looking for me to engage you here.

You're asking which elective position right?

Do you know James Faleke? Yes from your state. He was born on 25 December 1959 at Ekinrin Adde, Ijumu LGA in the old Kabba Province (now Kogi West).

Did you know he contested as a deputy governor in 2015 with late Audu Abubakar?

Same man won House of Representative in Lagos on Ikeja constituency.

What does that tells you? Isn't that elective position?

Who's the joker here?

So he can contest in Kogi and Lagos respectively.

I won't engage you politically again here. I only gave you once instance. There other instance but I won't engage you further.

6. It is true that you pay your taxes there and should be concerned about what us going in there, but you should equally be very concerned about what's happening in your state of origin.
      When they start making a roĺl call of indigenous lagosians, my dear your name no go dey.
      I learnt that lesson earlier on in my University days during bursary award.
      I was born bred, 'buttered' and even was schooling in ondo state but couldn't apply to get 1 naira of bursary grants for ondo state indigenes, why? My father's state of origin is not ondo state, period!!! Everybody go bear im papa name Las las.
      That's what that post is saying, this whole period has been everyone minding other people's business more than theirs, soo tey even people staying outside lagos are crying more than the bereaved.
      Lagos state even in its terrible 'state' is wayyyy ahead of most states if not all States in Nigeria and yet indigenes of those other states are not holding their legislators by the neck to demand for better governance.
      Na so all those other governors go dey rig dey go for this election because eyes are not on them.
      It's like leaving your soup on fire to burn while keeping guard of your neighbour's pot of soup.

7. Thank you Dainty

8. Dainty T you are blessed. Ojú òní ẹ ti.

5. Madam even the so called jagaban and his wife are not even from Lagos. So Lagos is no man's land

1. I don’t blame you, I just don’t blame you at all, I’m not Yoruba (I’m from calabar) but that ‘lagos is no man’s land’ pains me to my bones, then I wonder how the indigenes actually feel.

2. You're very wrong and you know that.

A land can't be said to be no man's land. There are main indigenes of Lagos but the truth is that, some strangers from the same South west came into Lagos and claimed over it using thuggery and agbero.

The real Lagosians know themselves. The current Labour Party gubernatorial aspirant is a true Lagosians from a family descent of great pedigree.

3. The current Labour Party gubernatorial aspirant is also Yoruba to the core. You can take that to the bank.

4. Anon 14:11, THANK YOU! They won’t take it if someone stands in Onitsha and says it’s “no man’s land”. There are tapes that are annoying Yorubas circulating of what SE folks say about us. Even the Old Testament us full of wars on ancestral lands and maps & boundaries are there for a reason. To think last year I was campaigning for their tribal leader thinking he was like late MKO Abiola, the truly detribalized Nigerian!

6. What is your problem with igbo people that you wrote a whole book just to say what I do not understand. Go have some honey .

1. Juoromya o, as if it's not the federal government that put things in place to attract a lot of tribe to the same Lagos. I expected her to tow the line of equity, telling the Federal government to at least build another port either in the south south or south east, and here she's talking gibberish, irrespective of the presentation.

Maria Ude, rest! We pay our taxes here in Lagos, and we have every right to complain about the state of things.

2. Calabar was the first capital of Nigeria. Why didn’t it work out.

7. "...autocratic, tyrannical..." this is how Igbos are, and they support dictators with such qualities. They love and support Putin, Trump and any evil men that arise. The part that surprises me is Igbos celebrating the destruction of Ukraine and loving on Putin while expecting God to give them an Igbo presidency. Life is very simple, if a people support oppression, the rod of oppression will rest on them... China is brokering peace between Saudi Arabia and Iran, in a bid to gather as many nations on their side to fight with Russia against the US in a looming 3rd world war, once again, Igbos are rejoicing over it. If Biafra were to ever form, it would be an oppressive, autocratic country just like North Korea, Russia and China. Look at what is happening in the east; Igbos are the ones in Nigeria actively killing their own people. I knew that Peter Obi will never win, simply because he represents people whose ideology is in opposition to God. God hates wickedness and evil. Oppressors cannot expect justice. I'm impressed by Maria Ude Nwachi, it's very unusual for an Igbo person to be so self-aware.

1. Igbo's have agitated for one Biafra , all the tribes resisted it and even locked one of the agitators. So since we shall all remain as one Nigeria, dragging any particular geographical zone by any person or group of persons is nonsensical. We all belong to the same country called Nigeria, Lagos is no man' s land , we die here

2. One or two ppl supporting Trump and Putin are not, I repeat, are not 'Igbo ppl/race'. Make ur assertions with authentic facts and leave baseless generalizations, pls.

3. Generalizing about an ethnic group is quite narrow and small minded. Just like saying Ijebu people are stingy. Not all Igbo support Trump and Putin. I and my household definitely DO NOT!! Did you actually take a poll of all Igbos to arrive at your conclusion? Reading your comments reveal a deep hatred for Igbos and you sound very self righteous. Peter does not only represent Igbos and if that's what you think then you need to widen your scope of acquaintances. Pls who are those people he represents whose ideology are in opposition to God? Girl/guy you need help fast!!

4. This one sounds like an Igbo fiance jilted her. Why are you shouting?

Be calming down with your pepper body biko.
      Inukwa Igbos support Putin? Like how?

The anony up there at 15:16 must be related to you. Or you're same?

All these uncouth vituperations won't stop an Igbo man from forging ahead.
      There are 5 eastern states with millions of houses erected,which of them is owned by a man from the North Central,South West or even core North?
      Turn it around then count how many houses the Igbos own in every region.

Face your frustrations and leave the Igbos alone.
      Find ice cold Fanta and suck on it.

8. Everyone knows igbo are undemocratic and too dictatorial but they ste the ones that cry the most about marginalisation.
    Sanwonlu is winning the election and this issue will be delt with.its a matter of patience.look at the voting pattern from the east you can easily tell the kinda peoppe they are.good thing is everyone go learn.actions have consequences and ehen they come,no one should cry foul.after mocking the yprubas claiming lagos is no man's land come and win elections we are watching you.dey play

1. Pls I don't understand, is any Igbo man contesting governor of Lagos state? How did Lagos elections become and igbo vs yoruba battle?

2. I heard that Gbadebo Rhodes Vivour is half-igbo and he doesn't know how to speak Yoruba @Anon1516

3. Anon 15:16 FFK caused it all. Cos the LP aspirant is married to an Igbo woman and his father too is married to an Igbo woman too. So he termed the young man as an Igbo blood.

He orchestrated all this happening.

4. @Teejay, the young man you're referring to doesn't even like the Yorubas. Like calling us Afonja, who does that? Make he just dey play...

5. Are you hearing yourself
      So because he is half Yoruba (not of his making) he shouldn’t contest
      Yet in Nigeria we claim a child’s state of origin is that of his parents
      Sonwolu Is not even from lagos state but you judge someone cus his father found love in the arms of an Igbo woman
      Are you even supposed to vote based on where a person is from or how good the person is willing to perform?
      Sonwolu is running to start performing, something that if he was doing long ago would have spoken for itself, he won’t even need to campaign… his good work and sincerity will speak for him
      Wow
      Wow
      In 2023, you can’t even see the bigotry in your statement? Wow
      Why did you come seeking martins help the other day since you can’t stand Igbo people?
      You sound like those white racist that say things like “his mother is black so he is therefore black” in 2023 😳

Push up (original)

6. The internet never forgets.

FFK should remember he has four kids born by an Igbo woman and a time will definitely come they will contest for an elective positions in Lagos and they will be reminded of their father's utterances now.

He should continue playing.

7. @Ezege, that FFK na born-throway!!! Nothing good can ever come out of him. He is one of the worst political players I have had the displeasure of knowing. What’s worse is his relevance lies only is playing for his paymasters. Anywhere belle face politician, coated with good engrish. Mstewww.

When will we wake up to the ploy of the politicians in this country? They remind us of our differences to get our vote, but want to govern us together. Time will tell.

Mystic

8. Gbadebo's wife is a cool medic running things on the background from way back in 2019, he lost the Ikeja constituency by a stroke of luck to Adeola ,I voted him but the electoral process was married by violence and too many irregularities,this time? He's sure gonna win even when I'm not voting.
      Ikeja blokes ain't smiling.

To make you cry more.
      Dr Ify is from Umunze in Anambra State.
      We stay "🌟 starring nwanne".
      Onweadu ifve na eme!😋😂

9. Milkshake GRV the LP candidate is Yoruba with an Igbo mom. He is obviously closer to his mom’s culture as he speaks fluent Igbo but doesn’t even pronounce Eko well. That’s not the issue I have. It is hypocritical to ask Sowore to start as councilor while oroopingbup an inexperienced guy to govern the 5th largest economy in Africa. Igbos don’t care that he is inexperienced because of his affinity for them. Yorubas are suspicious and don’t want to substitute one godfather for a worse one ir for Yoruba resources to be used to fund causes outside Yoruba land! He is inexperienced and should start from the house of assembly.

9. This make sense, hope my people will hear and stop looking for trouble anyhow, work to build our land to be able to accommodate others same way Lagos accommodated us in peace.

1. Thank you @13 :55, I hope they listen
      The memo's conclusion is apt!
      May God Almighty help us
      Thank you Madam Nwachi God bless you for telling the truth.

2. Don't mind them. Ndi okamna na ama.

Licious babe

10. Well spoken. Maybe we should all pay more attention to the representatives in our respective states.

11. Great point you have. The Igbo’s should exercise same energy to rectify the wrongs in Igbo land

1. They should give Obi the mandate they stole from him first before we proceed

2. Lmao 🤡 @ 14:57. Dey there dey wait ...

3. 😂😂😂😂🤣
      No be small. mandate.

Licious babe

12. Afikpo chic you have spoken well. This is a mature council, especially this== "while imperious and peremptory governors in our land are always harassing and threatening us openly and maltreating us in the most devil-may-care! They also openly and boldly tell us that their candidates will be declared winners whether we like it or not. We don't challenge them, na Sanwo-Olu we wan challenge and talk about only."

Our governors are worse than Sanwo Olu but our people don't seem to bother calling them out for their evil and wicked acts but when it gets to Sanwo Olu's matter you see them raising heads to point out what is not their business.

Sanwo Olu is far better than most eastern governors but I feel people like to pick on him because of his affiliation with Tinubu. You guys should concentrate on Tinubu and leave Sanwo out of all that is wrong in Nigeria today please.

1. And that Maria should stop with the lies. If she doesn’t interact with many Igbos on a day-to-day basis, she should say so. Who doesn’t call out bad governance? There are so many governors whose histories are forever blighted because of the way they governed, and igbos call them out. Even when the masses voted against them, the elections would be rigged to install their candidates, is that in anyway evidence igbos do not call out their governors?

If in doubt, replace Peter Obi with Okorocha, let’s see how the election would have turned out. Igbos are known for being independent in their thought, and that is one of the reasons we find it difficult to vote as a block. How then can you say we don’t call out impunity on our lands. This woman doesn’t know what she is saying.

This discussion is only this loud cos it is Lagos state and most Lagosians are cosmopolitan and social media savvy. Most commentary on the east don’t happen on social media and the few times it does, doesn’t get as much traction nationwide because - who cares? On a national level?

This woman should park well. The most dangerous lies are those with half-truths embedded within.

Mystic

2. The way you people are talking carelessly without facts is amazing!
      You say we don't reprimand our leaders?
      Who are the most vocal people against their leaders ineptitude more than Ndi Igbo,from Rochas,Ipkeazu,Obiano to gburugbu no sane person in Nigeria that has a phone will be blind to say that they didn't see how our people drag the hell out of them for their poor delivery,even Soludo has been on the chopping block since for leaving his job to meddle in the presidential elections!
      So If you people want to dance like preying mantis because of Maria's eye service talk,you should get your facts right!

13. She said nothing but the truth for now. But if we all claim to be one Nigeria then any region u find yourself should be your home cikena...

14. The tribal war politicians are causing is sad. The funny thing is abroad, no one cares your state of origin - you are Nigerian, no you are African sef, in fact you become black. Your tribe disappears. You are your country or your continent. I live in America, the whole world lives here, it is no man's Land. We work hard, we pay taxes, we vote. My neighbor is chinese, my Landlord is vietnamese, my manager is Indian. And that to me, is a good thing.

1. They do. Where I live, the Igbos have Igbo school, radio etc in the US to brainwash their kids and perpetuate the persecution complex instead of evaluating their aggression.

15. Apart from one or two comments, I see the message is lost on a whole lot of you.

Good luck.

Thank you Maria Ude Nwachi. They who have ears......

1. I'm beyond shocked the message is lost on them, or maybe people just choose to be in denial. Even I a yoruba non-Lagosian who lived in Lagos for years took my lessons from what she said.

16. Apart from one or two comments, I see the message is lost on a whole lot of you.

Good luck.

Thank you Maria Ude Nwachi. They who have ears......

17. She is telling you guys the truth but una no wan hear. Thats why it would be hard for people from your side to rule. Everything is not fight. Diplomacy plays a huge part. Everything is not gra gra.

1. How do you mean hard to rule? But they can win election and be rigged?

Try and be objective.

2. Bad leadership dey reach everybody, side or not. Same bad roads, same lack of electricity, pipe borne water, quality education and quality healthcare. Same weak currency...

3. @ Varey B, thanks for this your comment. Honestly l don't know what is wrong with the igbos.

Licious babe

4. How many Igbos do you know personally? Or you're commenting based on a preconceived view. Are you guys actually suggesting that we all go back to the east to vote during elections? We live in Lagos and we need to vote here bcos we're NIGERIANS. This trash right here is the main reason why Nigeria is still operating in "analog". It's all about tribe with you guys and yet you'd describe yourself as a detribalised Nigerian.

5. People from our side don't want to be a ruler,but a leader. Nigerians are tired of rulers,we want leaders.

18. Replies
    1. Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwww

2. Castle. Hahahahahahaha.
      E pain you.

Leave this Maria to be wilding,Kenneth Okonkwo:s reply to her will be epic.

She made some valid points though but she's disrespectful. Kai.

19. I knew some people here won't understand this simple write-up. Basically, she is saying You can't leave your father's house that is burning and concentrate on quenching the fire that burning a neighbour house!

1. Yea right and she's absolutely spot on
      I like her already
      She's as blunt as anything

2. What we are saying instead is both our father’s house and our house are burning, so both concern us.

How can one keep quiet regarding elections in a state where we pay taxes? If the government wants it that way they can start by making sure only Lagos state indigenes vote in Lagos state elections. Same for all the other states. But that is not the rule currently, nor will it ever be.

Residents in a state vote in their candidate and reserve the right to criticise bad governance in that state, and in the rest of the country.

Fanning tribal embers must stop. And in case you don’t know, yes, that’s what this article perfectly masks. She is saying, Ibos, keep quiet. Lagos state gubernatorial elections don’t concern you. Hiding behind the ‘No man land’ phrase as though that is touted by most Igbos she knows. Even she admits it not that rampant, why then make it center-piece in this nonsense of an article, to be seen and balanced and objective?

Mystic

3. Everywhere in Nigeria is burning,foolani herdsmen,boko haram killing,police brutality and killing etc.If I live in a place and pay taxes,I have a right to decide who governs it.Nigeria is our home.Fix insecurity everywhere.

4. Milkshakes... I don't know if you understand hausa well, there's a proverb that says that 'IF YOUR NEIGHBOR'S BEARD CATCHES FIRE, you better pour water on your beard to exercise caution. Ka ji kwo?🤨🤷

Igbos wan buy Lagos State is an old axiom,now it's Igbos wan rule Lagos. E get why!🥺
      They're getting closer to Kogi State, ahaa, hope you know.

Abi how much is a plot of land in Lokoja now? 😂😉 Make I ask Ohiozei cousins?
      Go till your inheritance because they're close by.

Haha.
      Be guided.
      Be on guard,man.

5. It's still about "your" and "their" with you guys in 2023, and not "our". In other words we should go to the east to vote during elections? Do you guys THINK at all. You clearly do not interact with a lot of Igbos, or you would know how much we criticize them. I'm an Imolite, and you think I don't criticize the "supreme court governor"? You all need to widen your scope of friends

20. I did not even bother to finish reading this trash.
    .People now collect money from politicians and talk out of context forgetting the internet never forgets.. During last election. The oba said anyone that does not want to vote APC should enter lagoon. This lady and pay master heared it and said nothing.
    Obidients are not just Igbo. No igbo.man is contesting election in Lagos. People should please leave Igbo alone. Obi has changed the narrative. Perform and regain your mandate or Obi Tusnami will sweep you away.

1. @ Zaron they are 90% Igbos. Obi tsunami in south east only dear. Pin this!

2. So the Obi tsunami in Nasarawa Plateau and Abuja are also in the east abi? No matter how detribalised people think they are, during elections you guys revert to factory settings.

21. In 2023 we're still talking about "Igbo land" and "Yoruba land". Very primitive thinking. No wonder our presido is still attending conference of least developed countries. This "writer" is clearly in the sanwo camp. Yes, what's happening in the east bothers me a lot, but I live in Lagos and as a Nigerian living in Lagos, I have the RIGHT to vote anyone of my choice. I have to live with the terror of area boys who are thugs of the state and we have a state government that thrives on keeping them uneducated so as to do their bidding. Those that engage in the debate of "yoruba/igbo land" to me are small minded people bcos as far as each region is not allowed to manage its resources were going nowhere. And come to think of it, after years of using resources of the south/east to develop Lagos and Abuja, we now resort to factory settings. We allow the likes of ffk and his ilk to play us like ludo. Think of it, more Yoruba than any other tribe hold positions of power in the UK and USA. If oyibo people play the race card there, we'll all shout that they're rasicts.

1. It's a pressing issue that needs to be hammered on
      Racism and tribalism must be a thing of the past whether you like it or not
      More letters and stories like this one abeg
      Me likey

2. Milkshakes, you are even among the first three most racists on this blog. Until you and your likes repent Nigeria cannot be one

3. You that hate to see an Igbo person succeed

4. 14:30, very good comment.

5. Anon 14:30 which resources of the East developed Lagos and Yorubaland? Ondo has oil too, remember. You need to study factual history not the Igbo history classes where they brainwash you with one sided stories forgetting the SE officers killed Northern & Western leaders in the first coup & started the series of events that led to Biafra war! Can you dare ask the US to declare. “Confederacy day” in honor of confederate soldiers who fought during the American civil war? Lagos and Yorubaland is too small to take all SE people arriving daily so develop your place and stop the aggression. Double standard and hypocrisy is to complain of thugs in Lagos while IPOB, ESN and UGM run rampage in the east. Hold your leaders accountable. Stop focusing on Yorubaland like Lagos is the center of your world? Focus on developing the SE. Awolowo developed the West, cocoa House was built with cocoa money, it’s the first high rise in west Africa, WNTV is the first TV station in WAfrica, Queen Elizabeth Way in Ibadan is the first dualized road in Nigeria, UI was a campus of University of London. There is a reason it was put in the SW. Google has pics of Lagos in the 50s, 60s, 70, 80s.

My parents were civil servants and we bought everything brand new. Cars were bought brand new by govt workers & teachers! Thermocool fridge was made in Lagos, Mandilas, Elizade etc sold brand new electronics and we wore tailored or ready made clothes, before 1983 as there was no need for visa to England. The trading you guys boast about started under IBB who ruined the economy & introduced Structural adjustment program which caused hyper inflation. My late father in law, a Professor drove Mercedes s-class that he bought brand new! Your type of forex dependent trading started in 84.. so how did you build Lagos & Yorubaland. If you don’t listen to the voices of reason among Igbos you will lose out as Yorubas aren’t as docile as you think they are. It’s their geographical area and ancestral land so enough of the envy! There are Land ports you can build if you guys really make your area peaceful like the Yorubaland you want to destroy now. SW is the most peaceful in Nigeria but the determination to foist an inexperienced man because he has ethnic & language affinity to the SE while disrespecting his father’s lineage is absurd. It’s Nigeria and everyone cares about their ethnicity. Even in the US there are areas they still won’t sell homes to minorities, regardless of how rich. Dubai indigenes are only 11% but the 89% investors, property owners cannot take up any position in Dubai government. It’s not tribalism, it’s self preservation. You won’t allow it in the SE. I’ve been to Ariara & Onitsha markets and didn’t hear “ngbati”! You tried this in the north they chased you guys now you dare not. Stop disrespecting your hosts. The property you bought is leased under the land use decree. It doesn’t make it completely yours. Educate yourself.

22. "We have a culture now that basically stipulates that every lgbo must support whatever or whoever is popularly supported by most lgbo or be seen as anti lgbo, it is bad enough, but to transfer that unreasonable and undemocratic rascality to other ethnic groups is the height of crass entitlement, vainglory, snottiness, conceit, ostentation, self-importance, self-exaltation, and quite frankly narcissism."

All the Igbos who tried to force their Igbo candidate PitObi down our throats, Maria is talking to you.

🚶‍♂️🚶‍♂️

1. Thank you Eesah 👌🏼

2. Na here them go see you.Igbo matter giving you sleepless night,You can never have peace of mind

3. Hahahahahaha Essah go like this write-up very well

Licious babe.

23. I been dy read am ooo,but the write up too long...I finally give up before I reach middle🤷‍♀️

24. Nice write-up, but very long.
    Truth be told, there's sence in what she said .

The igbos should know that no matter how they support Lagos/Nigeria, they will not be allowed to ruIe the nation. An instance is Honourable Peter Obident. So it is high time the igbos build their own land.

Licious babe

1. Why do you think Igbos won't be allowed to rule the nation? are they less of human or what? Are other tribes created in a special way for that?
      Before anyone comes for me, I'm Yoruba

Felicity

2. Thanks Felicity.

Some people need to be objective in reasoning and writing.

3. Exactly
      Why treat people like they are less?
      What scares you about them
      Is it their resilience?
      This is how the whites call blacks “angry blacks person” meanwhile you have poked and maltreated and oppressed them, then you wonder why they revolt
      You refused to let them go, you refused to let them vote someone who will favor everyone
      What exactly do you want from them

4. We all knew the agitation by Bafrians, the threat to life, the sit at home that has caused a lots of havoc especially in the East, this has made the Nigerians leaders to be afraid of the igbos, becos of their dominating nature,
      No, the igbos are not less of a human. Infact, they are more blessed than every other tribe in Nigeria. But they don't have one voice. There's no love among them.

Licious babe

5. @ 15:23
      We all knew the agitation by Bafrians, the threat to life, the sit at home that have caused a lots of havoc especially in the East, this has made the Nigerian leaders to be afraid of the igbos, becos of their dominating nature,
      No, the igbos are not less of human. Infact, they are more blessed than every other tribe in Nigeria. But they don't have one voice. There's no love among them.

Licious babe

25. Well understood madam,charity begins from home.

1. The igbos should build their land. Charity begins at home.

Licious babe

26. Ma'am this is not a MUST READ biko. Her opinion about Ndi Igbo doesn't really matter. Who's she please?

1. She's your sister from the same region as you
      Stop asking an annoying question that doesn't make any sense

2. Vincent stay away from me. I didn't say you should help me answer the question. I knew it just a matter of time before you go back to your default setting, you didn't disappoint me.

You really wished you were Igbo but that ends in your imagination.

27. The politicians are trying to throw in ethnic cards. People should remain focus and vote in the right candidates

1. Exactly.

It's the handiwork of that old man in APC always spewing gibberish. The wife beater.

28. With this your comment who is more tribalistic?? Every where in this country, nobody talks about who owns the land but Lagos you will tell them to go to their village. My blame goes to the government and not the Yorubas. Igbo's will fare well if the government will create an enabling environment in the East.

1. I totally agree with your point, let them create an enabling environment in the east and see whether they won't fare well.

2. Honestly, l don't know what is wrong with the igbos.
      Will they ever learn?

Licious babe

3. At Fresh 15:24 if most folks in other regions are trooping to yours you too will not like it especially those of them saying they now own your place just because you were welcoming. If your neighbors house is flooded and you accommodate them in your rooms and they turn around to say they own your house baceise you charged fees, will you like it? They hypocritically talk of deteibalization like the onus is on others not them while voting over 95% for their man! The onus is on the SE to detribalize as they are the most clannish group in Nigeria!

The population of Lagos is increasing astronomically because the dream of every SE person is to go to Lagos. Not to make it in the SE! Why? Then you insult Yorubas. You really do not know the history of Yorubas. As to the Fakeye who is from Yoruba Kogi & contested in Lagos that is Yoruba’s business. Yorubas are in Kwara, Kogi & old Bendel has affinity with Yorubaland and Anthony Enahoro was Awo’s best buddy. It is our business if we are liberal enough to take Yorubas of any state as one.Emulate that & unite in your area. If you guys were united, nothing stops an Ebonyi person from being governor in imo as the culture & language is the same. You still have OSUs, your own people regarded as outcasts but you want others to detribalize? Fix the SE. Yorubaland cannot take every youth from the SE. it’s not big enough. Nigeria is NOT a country, it’s made up of nation groups who have to remember that and be sensitive to others. As to nobody stopping anyone from building in the SE, I say if the indigenes are so scared and consider their area inhospitable, why would outsiders want to go there and buy property. You come from there but demand that Lagos Gov perform like the president! With 25million people which is about 14% of Nigeria’s population trooping into Lagos daily to set up shop everywhere? People who think trading & putting pressure on scarce $ via importation is “business”? Humility takes people far. I have met several SE over decades, most are nice and friendly but aggression and persecution complex based on false narrative of the civil war is their common trait. check yourself if it seems everyone is “persecuting you”.

29. I know Igbo people are also concerned about their homes however where one resides is where he or she will protect. For the Igbos that reside in Lagos any policy made in Lagos will affect them. People in Lagos pay huge tax in their businesses so are you expecting them not to be concerned about who governs the state. Do your findings Lagos IGR is mostly from taxes.
    NOTE THIS
    IT'S WHERE YOU RESIDE THAT YOU WILL COVER

1. Go and develop the SE. property tax on those empty mansions in the SE can generate some IGR to develop those SE towns you abandoned for Lagos. Barely 10/15 years ago, Lagos population was less than 14m. Every day buses haul people from the SE into Yorubaland, why? Now it’s over 20m and yet you hold the Lagos governor to standards that your poor performing govs cannot meet halfway. Even Dangote won’t say he own Lagos. He goes around humbly! Spare parts traders say they Lagos! When many males now go into trading from high school why will ignorance not rise? Read the history of a Lagos & Yorubaland! Lagos developed before 1914 and Calabar was the first capital of Nigeria! It’s the hosts that made Yorubaland the most peaceful in Nigeria and like the SE & those places you quarrel with your hosts, you have started with peaceful Yorubas. Your SS minorities don’t trust you for the same reason. Work on those traits! The place cannot contain everybody. There is need for your governors to stop the rural urban migration into Lagos and the SW and keep the people there. Maps and geography aren’t scams. Putin is trying to take Ukraine and you guys are giving off Putin vibes. Yorubas aren’t happy about it.

30. Didn'y bother toread the long post all i see is how gorgeous she is.

31. Hahaha, why can't the igbos in the North say the north is a no man's land? They can't try such rubbish in the North

1. Why does that comment give you people so much bile? If misguided people say so, does it make it so?? Politicians know the average Nigerian through and through. Just throw in religion and tribe into the mix, and we loose our senses even the ones you'd swear are forward thinking. And yet Nigerians japa and seek elective office. So the UK and USA are also "no man's land" abi? Small minded people

2. When we seek elective offices outside, we are humble. Igbos are not humble. Telling Yorubas they don’t own Lagos has pissed off even the most educated PO supporting Yoruba, Edo etc I know. Don’t tell each other the truth.

32. She said the truth. This ethnic issues have always been underground, election only made it obvious. All these stuffs Igbos are doing in Lagos, they don't give other tribes that freedom on their lands. Lagos is a Yoruba land.

33. Jagaban is not originally from Lagos. It's time an Igbo man comes out as governor of Lagos sef. Once you are born in a particular state, you are eligible to run. If jagaban that is from osun state rules a state as governor. what is stopping us. Until we get to this point, we have not started practicing democracy

1. Jagaban is Yoruba. Lagos is a Yorubaland. You get??

34. We all applauded when Barrack Obama became the President of the United States. The son of a Kenyan became the President of USA, we were all proud of him as he went on to do a fantastic job in the role. Black citizens today in America can contest for any position. We applaud when any Nigerian in the UK gets a political position. We cheer them on the more when they perform well in their positions. We don't cry on behalf of the original landowners. The real UK born people don't even cry, they just want people who will deliver. What is our problem? Our problem is us the people. We are hypocrites in this nation. It's not the politicians, it's us the people. The politicians just use us as pawns in their games and it's annoying how many of us fall for it every time.

1. God bless and give you more wisdom Anon 18:04

2. Thank you for this comment. More wisdom to you.

3. Obama started as a Senator in Illinois state, then became a US Senator and with the help of “native chicagoans@ like the Pritzker family of Hyatt hotel fame, Valerie Jarrett , he HUMBly built a coalition with solid plans that made people vote him twice. He never insulted 🇺🇸by speaking Swahili to an English speaking electorate in Illinois or the US. You guys don’t get it. Your selectivity is why you asked Sowore, the only Gen X you could have rallied around to go for councilor while propping an 8-year APGA governor whose state is in anarchy, a baby boomer like the other two as the “youth candidate”. Sowore is more experienced for what he contested for than your candidate but the “linguistic affinity” fuels your ethnicity that you accuse others of. Do govs of Hispanic origin not speak English? Did Obama disdain the part of his ancestry that gave him a chance for the White House by speaking Swahili to them? The disrespect is why I jumped off the now obviously ethnic PO train. You don’t get it. If everyone dislikes you then you just may be the one with a problem.

4. Anon 09:34, what exactly are you arguing about? Tell yourself the truth, which camps are TRULY running campaigns based on tribe? Don't fall for the gimmicks of these politicians who stoke the tribal fires only during elections. Dem no send anybody but themselves and that's why I no dey send them when I wan cast my votes. I objectively examine each of them, select the best candidates whom I believe will deliver and vote. If you like,be my mother's only surviving brother. If you like speak the original Yoruba or Igbo language, I no send you. I only want to know if you have the capacity to deliver on the job.

While you are fighting, Igbo Vs Yoruba , Hause Vs Igbo, the politicians are busy calculating how they will share the national moimoi. Those that lost are already strategizing on how to Nicodemusly join the winning party. It is the masses that will eventually suffer but then we no too get sense for now. A time will come in Nigeria when Nigerians will stone these politicians that come with non-issue based campaigns because by then the suffer will reach everybody and everybody will have sense by force. Make una dey play fess.

35. All I see in this Lady's writeup is she's an apologist for apc, lagos governor under the guise of asking Igbos to be concerned about where they come from. Where was she when the Oba of Lagos said, igbos should jump into the Lagoon or can she claim to love igbo morw than the rest? I believe she has no record of history or she purposely turned a blind eye to the fact that what happened and is happening to the Igbo people was as a result of the unjust civil war and marginalisation suffered in the hands of this contraption called Nigeria that is still marginalising people today.
    Lagos as we know it today has gone through changes. There was once a time the Beninis ruled Lagos and they left it to the Yorubas that mingled with them and then came the white men... until this generation of Yorubas who are not Indigenes are claiming to own Lagos.
    Now, back to reality, if we are practicing Federalism and true citizenship, anyone born in a place or have settled in a place is practically a citizen of that place irrespective of where their parents come from. And they have every right to choose whomever they want to govern them and also have the right to be chosen to lead in wherewver they call home.
    At the last US elections several Nigerians both born and migrated where chosen to hold offices in the US. We all applauded it. Why didn't this lady write that they should come to Nigeria and lead and not be concerned about where they live?
    This writeup only reveals that she's a politician and like they do, know how to whip up sentiments to dissuade people from doing the right thing. She has collected money to come and launder Sanwo Olu who didn't campaign or visit the Igbo or go to TV to explain what happened and his role I the Endsars lekki massacre, but seeing the result of the last presidential election in which Obi won with high margin despite it being rigged, came out for fear and not for his concern for the people of Lagos.
    I feel pity for a lot of us who can't read between the lines.
    My dear Igbos, where your legs steps into and you are thriving there, that is your home, settle there and rule there. Remember, they caused you to leave your land to seek greener pastures, if they hadn't destroy your home and caused you to leave or allowed you to determine your destiny, then they have no moral right not to live where you set foot.
    Go out next Saturday and change your destiny, they know that when the Igbo nation rises, you will be the one making rules for yourself. In summary, if they can't give you Biafra, create one where you find yourself, anywhere you go elect whoever will accommodate you.
    You have collected money, you are writing a book of lamentations!

1. We die here!!@

2. Anon 18:06 they should “rule there”? Dubai has 89% foreigners & 11% indigenes but no foreigner is in Dubai local or city or any governance. This attitude caused the first civil war carried out by SE officers who killed Sardauna of Sokoto, Sir Ahmadu Bello, Tafawa Balewa the prime minister in the north, Ladoke Akintola the prime minister in the west which included old Bendel, and Okoh tieboh. They did not kill any SE in that very first coup that truncated Nigeria’s 6 year post independence democracy and you do not think the Igbos have any blame in the ensuing violence? The north retaliated and you would have too and the Igbos caused whatever they are going through because of too much aggression and inability to humble themselves and live in peace. I hear them compare themselves to Jews like Jews are traders in cheap imports, Igbos are the Arabs of Africa. Always fighting weather in SA, Thailand, North and now the most welcoming group, Yorubas! Go to Kano or Somoto and “rule there”! Aggression & empty pride!

36. I am sick of all these tribalistic war going on? What is all these hate for? Can't you guys see that this religious/tribalistic war going on is a tool these wicked politicians have instigated to further cause a division? Can't you guys see?

Nigeria is our own, Nigeria belongs to all of us, all we want is for things to work out, basic things for crying out loud.

I didn't finish reading that nonsense up there and yes I don't rate controversial maria ude at all.

1. My dear I'm tired. I can't believe these monsters in anon mode are the same people I shine teeth with here when they revert to their IDs. I commend bigots like varey b and milkshakes for not hiding under anon.

2. Ikegwuru Castle dear. Pretenders and chameleons.

37. Anon 13:32, God Bless you. The writer is myopic and shallow minded

38. Every sentence you made is the pure truth. It is the Ibo's that failed Obi.

39. It's pathetic when youths can't see through the archaic strategy of old school politicians to divide them along tribal and religious lines. Peter Obi does not represent any tribe. Peter Obi represents a NEW NIGERIAN ORDER.

Don't let anybody tell u anything different! Enough said.

1. Thanks for this comment,Peter doesn't represent any tribe...Peter Obi a system but some people are so myopic to see that

2. Peter Obi has been in three parties in the last 8 years. You rarely see people switch parties in the west because they are founded on strong beliefs or ideologies so you don’t switch parties anyhow unless you are a power grabber. PO is becoming a tribal leader.

40. First, I am not Igbo.
    Please those of us who read to the end, did she list what she did while in the HOR to remedy the challenges being faced by Igbos in Igbo land? Any listed motion, lobbying, memo submitted to the South East Governors, to the Federal Government, to any Federal agency like the Nigeria Ports Inland Waterway, etc.?
    If none, she appears to have no case.

1. She has a case and she made the case. A tree doesn’t make a forest and I’ve seen her write-ups as she is an intelligent woman. Tell your govs to develop SE, Yorubas are accommodating but Yorubaland cannot be taken over nor can it contain all Igbos who come in truck loads leaving their villages and still despise their hosts. Yorubas are now seeing your real character traits as a territorial, aggressive group who will do what Putin is doing in Ukraine rather than develop your landlocked area.

41. Una don see why Igboland nor fit progress from dis comments session. Throwing abuses at the truth instead of reasoning. Why not focus on the Southeast administrators to do the right things and using dem to put pressure on the federal government to also do the right thing for the region. Why so obsessed over other people's land? Are Igbos afraid of the Southeast administrators? Afraid of fellow Igbo brothers and Igboland. Seeking to dwell in a peaceful region and now drumming to bring chaos to that peaceful region.

42. Golden truth, una still dey yarn rubbish, respect your host simple as ABC. Because you are doing fine doesn't mean you should misbehave.i follow her on Facebook, she is a very intelligent woman, a rear gem from Igbo land who are mostly ignorant and abusive. Mind you I am nwanwa Ala Owerri.

1. So by respecting our host, we must vote who they want even though they've been there for 24 years and are stealing us all blind. If you're really "nwanwa Ala Igbo", then you're barking up the wrong tree

43. No rights in own Igboland, cannot demand or fight for same, no pride, no shame. Go claim and fight for rights in South Africa, other African countries and Obodo Oyibo, no pride, no shame.

44. @arc, they should respect their hosts and not turn around to torpedo their hosts. And they don't even love themselves, domineering aggressive never loyal.

45. Youths, Youths-at-heart and many others wanted Osinbajo, Obi or Wike for the presidency. Wike and Osinbajo got outplayed by big money politics. Obi switched party and all those who wanted Wike and Osinbajo switched support to Obi. Candidate Obi became all about a movement called "Obidient" where utterances from the movement portrayed candidate Obi as more of a tribal candidate. Some of the supporters who felt disenfranchised migrated to Atiku and Tinubu, others abstained from the whole process. Post election utterances have continued to confirm the dreaded tribalism that has been the presidency for the last 8 years. Obidients gave the presidency to Tinubu.

1. Worthless pride and stubbornness is not the solution. Deny above and continue to lose in all subsequent elections. You can tell yourself as many times as you want that the movement is not a tribal one but people perceived otherwise and departed. True color really showed when Igbo people who became successful in host communities started identifying more as standout staunch Igbos rather than members of their host communities.

46. It’s very disheartening to read and follow the current political climate in Nigeria. Tribalism will not move this Country forward, but the Easterners really need to stop provocative rhetorics about Lagos. They will make even the most enlightened Yorubas become territorial in their actions. Southwest is the most accommodating part of Nigeria due to the liberal nature of Yorubas. But to think that you can dominate your host while your own lands are ravaged by violence and perpetual lack of development or vision is ludicrous to say the least.

47. Let's me tell you my beloved sister Stella, You are Right, Desam mistake the Igbo made in Southern Kaduna State is also the mistake they are still making in Lagos State today.
    Thanks God for a fine opportunity you have and the reason you have for your people. They must think and understanding that Lagos is not an Igbo community, those giving them cockable stories are faking them that Lagos is no man's land.

48. Igbo kwenu! Igbo kwenu! Nzogbu Nzogbu Eyimba Eyin! I beg madam say it louder . Let our Igbo people hear word. What we will not allow in the southeast we want to lord it over the Yorubas. He no possible!🙄🙄

49. I am appalled by the submission of this Lady. What are we talking about? That you go out to vote lawfully and they are telling you to that you are lording over them. Is this what democracy is all about? What will happen is that there will be a constitution review where amendment will be made to read that "any one residing out of his birth place is ineligible to vote". Until that is done, let the tribalists know that they are practising what is unconstitutional.