Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - Divorcing And Remarrying And The Bible ......

Monday, April 17, 2023

Couch Convo - Divorcing And Remarrying And The Bible ......

The Bible does not support remarrying unless the other spouse kicks the bucket right?

So excuse me please, why are people remarrying these days and doing so in Church? Or is it that the part of the Bible which states this is man written and people are no longer following?

The writeup below kind of suggests that God cannot mandate people to be stuck with a partner and not find happiness....

What do you think?

33 comments:

1. God forbid, God forbid, God forbid but if anything were to happen and I have another chance at love and marriage, I will so so remarry. I’m sure a lot of things in the Bible can be explained in different ways and I will choose my own explanation for that.

1. Thank you oh. There's nothing wrong with divorce and remarriage.

2. Also just remember everything ends here on earth, marriage ends here. On earth and eternity is forever. God will not change just because y’all are woke generation. If you remarry even if you divorce your spouse, spiritually, you’re still married and committing adultery. Reason why folks need to seriously pray and seek God’s face when it comes to marriage but desperation no go allow most of you guys choose wisely.

3. God will not change but he changed for women's rights, racism, slavery, colonialism, protestantism, pentecostalism, generational punishments, priests marrying or not, democracy, (abi no be God day give prophecy about governor and president now?), children's rights, apartheid, covenants, and everything but when e reach a poor woman looking to be liberated, he suddenly changeth not?

Eni ti o gbon lawe n gbo. Olorun temi o roro. The God that did not give the woman at the well rules on length of skirt and dos and donts is the same yesterday today and forever.

2. I don't think someone shld remain single after coming out of an abusive or wrong marriage, Our God is not a wicked God, he is merciful and understanding

3. The Bible was not written by God.

1. You dey mind the slowpokes. Na man write Bible to control fellow men especially the weak-minded

4. Who cares? They brought the Bible as the absolute truth, basket of gullible embraced it. But we know that our hypocritical people are selective about which Biblical laws to follow. The embrace when it is convenient.

5. Adultery is the ground for divorce according to the Bible but that doesn't mean one shouldn't be forgiven if they sincerely seek for forgiveness. Remember Mary Magdalene. She was forgiven and instructed to sin no more. She wasn't even condemned as an adulter

Now on remarrying after divorce. I think if we're to go with the standard of the Bible, death is the only ground for remarrying. While adultery is a ground for divorce, it doesn't guarantee remarrying.

The Bible says in Mathew 5:32, But I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for sexual immorality, makes her the victim of adultery, and anyone who marries a divorced woman commits adultery.

Now let's look at 1 Corinthians 7:10-11.

10: To the married I give this command (not I, but the Lord): A wife must not separate from her husband.

11: But if she does, she must remain unmarried or else be reconciled to her husband. And a husband must not divorce his wife.

Just like the matrimony vow, 'till death do us part' that's a strong oath a good number of people take lightly.

This is why the Catholic church don't wed people on second marriage.

But to me if you ask me. I will say just like the constitution of a country that's been reviewed periodically, the Bible even as a Christian guide written by humans, some certain areas should also be looked upon. The world is evolving and the time it was written till now, many things have really changed and consideration should be made to preserve the sanctity of human lives.

The Catholic church is still evolving and changes are made from time to time.

1. It doesn’t matter if the world is revolving or times are changing. Gods word stays the same. He’s the same yesterday, today and forever so let that sink in.

2. If you continue to verse 15, it says if the unbeliever leaves, the believer is not bound. Catholic Church etc don’t like adding that part

3. The Catholic Church allows dissolvement of marriages and annulments provided certain grounds are met. Abuse of all kinds are one of those grounds, mental illnesses, fraud, etc are other grounds too. They just won't allow it if you fall out of love or don't like your partner again. That's why that 6 months of counselling is there. Priest say if hubby and I kno say we no fit see each other 10 years make we no marry kikikiki

6. There are different interpretation to a thing,for me I believe if you divorce based on sexual immorality and abuse from your spouse and you are separated for a long time and you meet someone that is better,why not? It is better than messing around.
    But if the woman or the man feels he or she can hold on.....then good but if they cannot control themselves,they can remarry,it is better to be separated from an abusive spouse than being married to one,God forbids,we have read many stories of women being killed by their husbands vice versa.

1. Excuse me aunty Helen. Is it only when you are separated for a long time that you are allowed to find and marry another? Please what time frame is long time enough to date or remarry? and what if you met that 'way better person' within a month or two of separation nkor? And what exactly does 'messing around" mean? I ask this last question because divorced people wonder if they are to wait till they find a single, unattached mature men/women in their age bracket b4 they date? or its okay to attempt to date and marry someone way younger without the society calling them cradle snatchers, cougar, shameless and other dirty names?

2. You can't meet somebody within a month and start planning marriage,even after separation,you need time to heal before jumping on the next wagon. This is the reason most people jump from frypan to fire

7. The Bible is the standard of God's word meant for only TRUE BELIEVERS. Just bcos its a hard teaching/saying does not change the fact that God remains who HE Is. When Jesus thought about this, the disciples said master if the case of a man be so with his wife, then it is not good to marry. But then he said unto them.ALL MEN CANNOT RECIEIVE THIS SAYING,SAVE THEY TO WHOM IT IS GIVEN. Meaning marriage is not meant for everybody. Agree or disagree all you want. God's standard will not check. Divorce is painful but when you remain in d Lord during the process, he alone will make it all beautiful again.

1. Gbam. As I dey so, I hate being married to my spouse and I know if I divorce or separate from him, I can’t remarry and to be honest after the hell I’ve been through with this marriage, I’m not interested marriage. I don’t want to be with any other naija man because most of you have that selfish, evil and mean traits. Only problem is conji as I’m still young. Don’t know how I’ll handle that.

2. The bible is for Christians only. How many percentage of humanity are Christians? Therefore, the bible can never be a standard for humanity. There are natural laws though. Laws that govern the entire universe and some of those laws live in your heart, your conscience. Both humans and animals, even the inanimate are subject to those natural laws. Try and broaden your horizon and stop limiting yourself to religious dictates.

3. 16:28 Bible is actually the standard for all humanity believe it or not. Don’t let other man made religion fool you. The Bible is the standard in which God will judge human beings. If you like believe, if you like don’t but have this statement at the back of your mind.

8. Honestly ehh, a Q and A session supposed to be held when we get to this heaven. So many uncertainties.

9. I have been pondering over this and I know God's words cannot change to conform to out standards. Unfortunately, I am caught in this. I married wrongly and I have realised that as every effort to right it has proved abortive. The man involved doesn't believe in God sef,committed and is still committing adultery,we are separated now and no hope of reconciliation. He has even admitted to having other women..now me,I don't even know how I closed my eyes and became unequally yoked to him because we ARE INCOMPATIBLE. I have been faithful and submissive in all the years of the union but when beating joined,I left. Now,I am tired of waiting for a man who doesn't understand the standards of the Bible about a man's duty to leave to cleave,love and respect your wife and the sanctity of marriage! It's a lost cause. I have prayed for God's directions,made reconciliatory moves but he feels he has the liberty to live as he wants so long as he has children. I have told God I cannot be unhappy the rest of my life because of a mistake I made in marriage,how do I cope with my needs? Surely,I can't be like a nun while this man is living his best life carrying women and does not even feel the need to work on having his family back. I have told my people to return the bride price o. Let me severe ties with him and his family,when I have found a better man I will initiate divorce proceedings or he does it,I will happily respond. I can't be in misery forever...

1. You can’t be in misery forever but also remember we’re not in this world forever. Just because he’s living his life the way he wants does not mean he’s doing the right thing. He’s basically said he doesn’t give a damn if he goes to hell. Marriage has led so many to hell. I’m also going through hell in my marriage and working on separating from him. I don’t even care about remarrying because I’ve been through a lot with men in general. I want to focus on healing, and find out why I keep attracting shitty men and just heal my child hood trauma. A lot of us need to heal very well before embarking into marriage because marriage won’t solve our loneliness, sadness, neediness etc. anther human being can never make one feel whole. Only God can fill that void. My only problem is sex. How will I cope because I enjoy sex and a good D.🍆 if una have solution for this please let me know.

2. Oh so so sorry dear. Oh this is painful. The the peace of God fill your heart. May the good Lord hear your cries and wipe them away. May his joy feel your heart and may peace never depart from you. Amen

3. But what better man should like to be put on the back burner?
      Please sis, study Luke chapter 14.
      The law was made for man and not man for the law.
      First, in that chapter, Jesus healed, liberated/restored) delivered a man bound by sickness but regarding times on sabbath at risk of being sentenced to death. Yes, deliverance is that important.

Jesus asked the pharisees and other hypocrites how many of them would leave their cattle in a ditch because it's the sabbath. He said it's the same for the law. God will not permit a child he gave himself for to endure a terrible situation in the name of "rules are rules" . He gave this analogy on the day his unruly disciples were stealing from someone's farm on the sabbath, two crimes punishable by death. He reminded them that even in the days of the law, God said he preferred MERCY to SACRIFICE giving the example of how David robbed God, similar to breaking into the where the sacrament is kept and eating eat because he and his soldiers were hungry. Even this save just God paid the price with his life knowing that you couldn't fulfill it because of flawed human nature. He gave rights of sonship back to the prodigal who took his share, left and squandered it. Nothing can separate you from the love of this God, definitely not earthly rules.

I always marvel at the level of ignorance and brainwashing prevalent among so called Christians today and please know that I express this frustration out of genuine concern. With the number of worship centres and people using this Bible as a means to eat?

People are still this ignorant of who God is? Don't you remember these stories from Sunday school? Don't you remember how simple Jesus made life? Don't you remember the parable of the servants? The one who thought his master was wicked and looking to reap where he did not sow was the one who failed and the one who didn't inherit him. This God is your father. If an earthly father will lay down his own life for his child, how much more the one who clothed the birds of the air and provides for them? This is the same father who sent your brother to die that you may have life and have it more abundantly. If you see your maker as an abusive dad, you'll seek out such in people too and open yourself up to unnecessary suffering

They asked Jesus about a woman married seven times and instead of giving us the "heaven has strict rules" schtick, he said there is no marriage in heaven. Please leave that mess now. You are no bastard. Your father owns heaven and earth so why are you choosing to live like a prisoner of war?

10. Or should we tow the part of those who'd rather find a sinister way to kill their spouse instead of divorce them t, then quietly ask forgiveness in private?

1. Thou shall not kill is a commandment...but there is no commandment that says thou shall not divorce...it is better to divorce than to kill...God only said he hates divorce but permits it only on the grounds of adultery...hence another commandment: thou shall not commit adultery.

What am I saying? Divorce though hated is not forbidden...killing ,however is forbidden.

11. My own is if you are divorced and find another person I don't see the reason why you won't remarry, is not better the person remarries than sleeping around. God hates divorce but he doesn't hate the divorced as far as we are humans we are prone to make mistakes, if you get a chance to get it right I don't see the reason why you shouldn't try again

1. Hmmm ok ooo. Imagine if there’s no law or Bible, people go just dey do anyhow. Heck people are still doing anyhow… pray for Gods understanding.

12. 15 But if the unbeliever leaves, let it be so. The brother or the sister is not bound in such circumstances; God has called us to live in peace.

1 Corinthians 7 15
    If your spouse has left the marriage either physically or by adultery, you are not bound

13. 18 “Anyone who divorces his wife and marries another woman commits adultery, and the man who marries a divorced woman commits adultery.

Paul says it is better to Marry than to burn

14. Remember men wrote the Bible