Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor Yemi Solade Disagrees that Movie 'Living In Bondage' Is Nigerias 1st Home Video

Thursday, July 24, 2025

Actor Yemi Solade Disagrees that Movie 'Living In Bondage' Is Nigerias 1st Home Video

Is this true?

Actor Yemi Solade has disputed the claims that living in bondage is the first Nigerian home video. He claims that Yoruba movies had long existed before Nollywood came into play....

He said:

“The first Nigerian man that shot home video his name is Ade Ajiboye big Abass, he is alive. We have been doing it. We had the Ogundes, Baba sala, Baba Afolayon kunle Afolayon father, ola Balogun and so many other big names. Even when home video was starting, it was just an experiment that was carried out by the likes of Muyideen Aromire. We were all doing this drama and they brought a camcorder, let’s record what we are doing and they were placing them in bookstores. You know how all these televangelists sell their cassettes.

You as a shop owner, when people walked into your shops to buy books you will introduce the cassettes to them. But you see, my people in the Yoruba setting they didn’t document anything. that did them in. That is why the other side of the divide just stepped out ‘we started it’ heyyy shut up! When people like us are here, we will tell you, you didn’t start anything. Living in bondage was not the first movie ‘ehhh but it was from there’, it was not from there.

But because they romanced the media whereas my people were just doing the do. Agreed most of them weren’t schooled and they didn’t pay attention to the media they were just doing their art enjoying themselves. salami is alive Femi Adebayo’s father, Jide kosoko is alive we all worked together”

36 comments:

1. The Yoruba 'H' factor 🤣
      He her alive ni

2. He their correct 🤣

3. He dema correctaa .Bombomclata!

4. He we correct
      🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Crazy bvs!

Who is this Rasta man again

2. Evidence no dey, there's no need for all these explanations.Just tender one evidence make everybody rest.

1. Lol
      I am Niger Deltan. My family owned a musical record, cassettes, video shop since the late 1960s. He said the plain fact. The only fact he omitted is that the "Living in Bondage" movie broke most language, territorial, and acceptability barriers to recorded Nigerian drama or movies in Nigeria.

2. No evidence when the videos are there with their period of release and players still alive. You are the kind of people Buhari correctly called lazy youth.

3. The Ogunde's, Salami et al has been in the Industry before living in bondage.
    Just that they were not that
    popular. Living in bondage came and broke into all homes and all , lets give them their flower. That was the wake up call.

1. But no Babylon,s dragging dema flowers wi diem muan.

2. NK, chief Hubert Ogunde was well known, even beyond the borders of Nigeria.

4. What are the names of the movies? Everything in Nigeria is all about competition and show of supremacy. No wonder a whole country will say snake swallowed money. 12th poorest country in the world and all we do is blame game.

1. Abeg, it was a Jamb official that said snake swallowed money. She was convicted of the crime.. it was this current jamb oga that set up the panel of investigation where she made that useless utterance.

2. Hurbert Ogunde had films in celluloid even before.... . He toured the old Western region of Nigeria if not beyond with his films.
      There were Yoruba Films in Video cassettes before Living in Bondage.
      A surprise these two facts are in contest today.
      Setting records straight is not a matter of competition or supremacy.
      It is because we do not have records that is why some of us do not know that there was a time in Nigeria was not as it is today - that snake found it hard to swallow money, that relocation abroad if not for courses not taught in Nigeria was by those who could not make the scores into Nigeria Universities, that Nigerians generally paid the school fees for children abroad not that students paid feeding money to their parents and family members in Nigeria, that 1Naira was once $1.20+, that a male or female child could not go home with material things than his/her known visible and feasible earning capacity - parents will order the return of the items, call a family meeting or call the police. All listed, here I saw with my own very eyes.

Well kept history guides a Nation.

3. Is it all Nigerians that can speak Yoruba?
      Living in bondage broke the language barrier and was well publicised.
      The English speaking nollywood are smarter.
      Also, note that they were the first to enter Netflix and the rest.

4. You are old enough to produce more than complaints. What are you doing for yourself? The other 200 million will find their way.

5. Sir Yemi Solade is right

6. He's right 🙄🙄🙄

7. Living in Bondage was the first Nollywood Home VCR movie, not the other way round, nobody disputed that fact in the first place duh!..

1. Thank you.
      They also broke the language barrier.
      The English nollywood are smarter. They entered Netflix first. They went international first

8. There were also Onitsha movies rendered in Igbo language way before Living in Bondage. However, living in bondage marked the beginning of Nollywood.

9. He is absolutely correct. I watched baba Sala comedy movies on tv and that was long before living in bondage was produced.

10. Everything na competition with these people

1. The person making outage claims is not the one in competition? Correcting an inaccurate claim is not competition. You are able to understand why one party felt it necessary to stake a claim but not when others come to correct the claim. You do realize that these claims are tied up in people’s legacy and identity? SHM for you.

2. Unnecessary competition by Igbos is making them rewrite history. Theatre Arts based out of UI (the first university in Nigeria) pioneered celluloid and Cinema way before VCR which by the way is NOT the definition of Nollywood. It’s so ignorant to define Nollywood with VCR.

The Igbo jealousy of anything Yoruba prevented them from the pan African celebration that followed the Nobel win of Soyinka. The funny thing is that Yorubas are way ahead and are the ones to beat hence the competition by them. They gaslight with “we are the richest”, “we developed Lagos”? “You guys are beggars”, etc but verified facts by non Nigerian groups always puts Yorubas ahead of them. How do you compete with a group that is in 5 countries when you are only in a small part of one country? Is that even sensible? VCR and Idumota traders did not pioneer Nollywood. I grew up in the days of WNTV with the pioneer actors in Nigeria (including the Northerners, SS, etc). Your expansionist tendencies are making Igbos the most disliked ethnic group in Africa from Edo to Ijaws to South Africa and now Ghana where they are demonstrating to curb domineering tendencies. Cameroon has ann English speaking side that was part of Nigeria because they wanted to get away from Igbos. Phonics, Ijaws, Kalabari etc all don’t want you guys, why? Instead of taking feedback and being less aggressive they try to dominate and hijack everything turning round to accuse those better than them of envy. They dish out what they won’t take and turn around to gaslight, pretending that trading which they are involved in is somehow identical to business. Trading is NOT business. It’s a subset. Business includes trading and building institutions and Yorubas and other ethnic groups in Nigeria are actually better at building national and world class businesses. You guys destroyed the moral fabric of Nigeria with your desperation to get rich post civil war and now other groups are part of the deterioration with fake drugs, fake spare parts etc all over Africa!

Enough of your domineering tendencies, you lack contentment and lack self awareness and truthful feedback as a group. I won’t come back to read your insults and it backfires as I spoke no lies.

3. 23.06, not worth reading, learn to create paragraphs when you write.

4. Thought you had more sense than this statement @eka. You can do better. I know you can be biased, but this?

11. This man just want to deceive the ignorant and uneducated crowd in Nigeria.

There is a huge difference between plays, drama and movie. All those Yoruba actors he mention are mostly play and drama actors while living in bondage is the first movie in Nigerian screen.

All those lame excuses he is giving about keeping records doesn't hold water. Who kept records more than that generation?

1. Which play did Aromire play? You people don't read yet query why you are where you are. You own a phone smarter than you and won't even use it for basic research?

2. 16:35, , you hit the nail on the head. Everyone saying he is correct nope. It doesn't matter how long pa Ogunde and co. did it the onion of the matter is that living in bandage was the first movie on Nigerian screen. There is a difference. It is just like saying I have been a writer for donkey years and you did not publish a book another person publishes a book then you start saying I have been writing, were is the evidence?

12. Evidence, evidence, evidence please!.

Solade please, don't say "shut up' in an interview meant for the public.

Where are all the 'movies' mentioned by Solade. What were and are the impact of those supposed movies in launching Nigeria movie industry, Nollywood to the world?

Living in Bondage indisputably launched Nollywood and set the pace for the Nigeria movie industry.